Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5773

Founded 1979 • With Angi since August 2006

TruGreen is the nation's largest provider of lawn and landscape services. We make it easy for you by delivering customized care solutions that are effective, innovative and responsible. TruGreen® provides a full suite of tailored lawn and landscape services. From fertilization and aeration to tree & shrub services and much more, TruGreen delivers superior results backed by our Healthy Lawn Guarantee.®1 We also offer effective solutions to help control and prevent lawn damaging insects, like chinch bugs and grubs. Our passion for lawns sets us apart, and we’ll help you achieve a lawn you love. Contact us today to start your tailored lawn plan.

Verified Reviews

4.1

(184) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 184 reviews
Kevin P.
5.0
03/19/2019
They did the applications within the right time windows to get the weeds gone and fill in thin spots. I didn't have to be home for the service. It isn't rocket science. So really the best thing for me was being able to call without feeling like I was complaining and say I have a few stray weeds. They come out and spot spray free of charge as advertised without having to get gangster on the phone.
Description of Work
Annual weed & feed, pest control, aeration for lawn
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
May W.
1.0
11/28/2017
I hired Trugreen around 3 years ago. I had a fence and gate installed and was still charged for the area that they could not access. I found it difficult to community with them about setting up a time to access the area behind the gate. I paid for the entire area even thought it was served less than 4 times. Late summer I received a call about a promotion. I accepted and prepaid. For some reason there was another account set up. The new account had a credit. The old account had a balance. I was unaware of the account split. I have been receiving collection notices since October. I called them the second I received the first notice and they said my balance was 0. The notices kept coming. I called again. They explained my account had been split and I had a balance and they would not call of the collection company until it was paid. I told them to transfer the positive balance of the 2nd account to the negative balance of the 1st account and I sent a check for the difference. Collection action continued. I called again. They said they received the check but billing hadn't had time to clear accounts and call collection company. I gave them a week and called again. I was just told she wasn't sure but she thought I needed to send $105. The collection notice was for $131.73. My positive balance was $105. I sent $26.73, which was what the 2nd Trugreen rep told me to send. Simple math $131.73 negative, $105 and $26.73 positive gives you a 0 balance. Not so with Trugreen. Just got off the phone with them. They said they weren't sure and would have to call me back and the collection agency is still involved. If you value your time and credit score DO NOT USE Trurgeen!!!!!!!!
Description of Work
DO NOT USE TRUGREEN!!!!!! Read below!!!!
Category
lawn treatment
Donna P.
1.0
09/25/2017
DO NOT HIRE!! This is the WORST Lawn Care Company out there and I've had a few in the past 18 years that were terrible! Sadly, I chose to ignore their reputation and give them a try. From scheduling, to customer service, to the techs that came out to treat... in a word - INCOMPETENT! They scheduled my service every four weeks which required my calling each time to reschedule. We repeatedly discussed treatment every 6-8 weeks which is customary but apparently the customer service reps on the other end of the phone had a difficult time comprehending this request while assuring me otherwise. Of course, it's a computer generated system but it still falls to the HUMANS who input and update the CORRECT information. I should have realized the level of incompetence when I first called in May of 2017 to add lawn care services to my already existing service of irrigation provided by them. I got a complete run-around and was told I needed to sign up online even though I was already an existing customer. It took just about 4 weeks to get anyone out here for an estimate, much less the first treatment. I should have fired them right then and there knowing it was only going to get worse. They dropped the ball repeatedly with my scheduled treatments and when I finally got someone from corporate on the phone he apologized all over the place and managed to reschedule me in the next 2 days to make things right... only for them to not show up with no phone call informing me. I emailed the same corporate rep stating I was done and I had no longer cared to continue service with TruGreen! He insisted on giving him another opportunity to make it right, stating that the "branch" had rescheduled my appointment unbeknownst to him, he apologized that I was not notified and even offered to provide the next two treatments free of charge. I thanked him and refused his offer, explaining this was beyond the cost - and that the existing issues of incompetence involving customer service, scheduling, the BRANCH and the entire company would still exist even if they gave me a lifetime of free treatments. Well, none of that mattered as the technician showed up and treated 2 days later anyway. My gate was locked, he didn't knock, didn't ring the bell... nothing. Attention to detail is none existent with TruGreen. They FAIL on every level from customer service right down to the lack of knowledge their techs have. They're obviously too big to care which must be why they're the cheapest out there. Huh, you get what you pay for has never been more true! Again... DO NOT HIRE TruGreen!
Description of Work
Lawn treatment and fertilization as well as tree and shrub treatment.
Category
lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

We would like to apologize that you feel we have dropped the ball. We were extremely disappointed to learn of your unsatisfactory experience, and we agree that the concerns you reported are simply unacceptable. We strive to provide the very highest quality of service on-time and as requested, and are very eager to correct the issues you have outlined. We recognize that your time is valuable, but if you could contact us directly at: 1 (800) 515-3380, we will be more than happy to assist.
FRANK I.
2.0
07/21/2017
After years of paying Trugreen in advance for weed control and fertilization I fired them. I would not recommend them because I feel that this company is too big to care. Lots of lip service over the phone but no actual results in killing weeds.
Description of Work
I am still having major problems with common weeds like Crabgrass, Spurge, Wild Violets, Nutgrass, Wild Strawberry, Poison Ivy and numerous of other weeds I can't identify. I have had to call Trugreen back for years about the Wild Violets in my yard. today.
Category
lawn treatment
Randy M.
5.0
02/23/2017
They're good. I like their punctuality, and the treatment was done exactly how I think they should be doing.
Description of Work
It was lawn work, they were putting a lot of holes in the yard.
Category
lawn service
Christopher W.
5.0
11/18/2016
I've had a good experience with them.
Description of Work
They come out every other month.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
KATHY F.
4.0
09/30/2016
They do well. They work like they don't do both services at once you know and I can sort of pay one at the first of the month pay one at the end of the month. So I like that and I have, anytime I call them they've been more than helpful so that's another good company. I still think they are awfully pricey.
Description of Work
I use TruGreen for lawn fertilization and treatment.
Category
lawn treatment
Marion B.
5.0
09/14/2016
I've had them under contract since 94, when we had ice storms. About every two months, they come in fertilize and spray for weeds and stuff. It's just a lawn treatment and maintenance. They do it six times a year. I will use them until I get ready to move.
Description of Work
They treat my lawn year round.
Category
lawn treatment
Marion B.
5.0
09/14/2016
They come about 6 times a year. I am still using them and will use them until I get ready to move.
Description of Work
I've had them under contract since '94 when we had the ice storm. They treat my lawn year round. About every two months they come in and spray, fertilize and spray for weeds and stuff. It's just a lawn treatment and maintenance.
Category
lawn service
Hector C.
4.0
02/17/2016
I used them for a while. I used them for four years straight. They're a little pricey. Basically, what I got is you get what you pay for in a sense. I regret leaving them. Everything seemed okay. I've been meaning to call them back with my new house.
Description of Work
They do a year round service. They did two or three different treatment throughout the year.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Adrian B.
1.0
07/22/2015
I expressed concern about the soil condition, but the "specialist" said the areas were poor because of shade. No soil samples were taken for analysis.
Description of Work
Sprayed lawn with fertilizer and weed control. Did not evaluate soil condition.
Category
lawn treatment
Nancy B.
5.0
05/18/2015
I pay them annually. One takes care of the trees and shrubs and the other the lawn.I am very happy with them because the yard looks great.They gave me a discount. They have great quality. They call me a day before they go to do the work. I would grade them excellent in all their services.
Description of Work
I have a contract with them. They take care of my yard,flower bed ,trees and shrubs.They cut the grass after every ten days.They maintain the flowers,trees,fertilizing the beds, weeding .They spray the insects.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Orit G.
5.0
05/17/2015
I hired this company 6 month ago to take care of my lawn and tree& shrubs. So far I am happy with their service. My landscape looks green and healthy. Yes, I will recommend this company.
Description of Work
Tree & shrub service
Category
lawn treatment
james R.
1.0
05/12/2015
We were with Scotts and had one of the best yards in the area but now we have more weeds in our yard after using their service. I would not use then even when their savings.
Description of Work
They did the lawn spray and service for weeds.
Category
lawn treatment
Scott G.
3.0
04/23/2015
Had been using them for two years. Front year about the same, and back yard has gotten worse. Not happy with the investment made and no return. One time the technician failed to spray back yard, I called him up, and he mentioned there were no instructions to spray back yard! (?). However the invoice that was left showed that sprayed both (7000+ sq ft), but makes me wonder how long they had been charging me for front and back, yet not spraying the latter. Perhaps that's why the back yard looks worse today. Final straw was when they notofied me of raising their fees. Decided to try another company.
Description of Work
Annual lawn maintenance program.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Steven J.
5.0
02/19/2015
I would recommend them. Their pricing was in line.
Description of Work
I had used an irrigation company. It was RainMan.
Category
irrigation systems
Michael G.
1.0
09/18/2014
Trugreen representtives named Zane (813) 470-8996 came to my door on August 28, 2014 soliciting service. I said I would authorize one treatment and depending upon the result, may authorize more. They asked me to initial a contract on their phone and said Trugreen would call me. Truegreen never called but emailed me a contract with a forged signature obligating me for more than $400 in treatments. They have been calling me to go forward and I have pointed out the illegality of their employee forging my signature on their treatment plan.They forged my signature and then have been harassing me since to get the service started. They use language stating the agreement (which I did not sign) is not a contract but the document has the Florida wording that says you have three days to back out of a contract. They will not use the word contract but they ask you to sign an agreement to deliver services over a period of time for a specific amount of money. This is the contract I did not sign and upon which they forged my signature. I can't get them to stop contacting me to go forward.
Description of Work
The provider forged my signature on a contract and then started harassing me.
Category
lawn treatment
Shaz M.
1.0
08/25/2014
A neighbor recommended Scotts LawnService for routine herbicide and pesticide application to my lawn. I requested a free lawn analysis from the Scotts corporate website, and was called by a local representative providing me with a price quote over the telephone (the free lawn analysis appeared to be a hoax ... bait-and-switch???). Apparently, they guestimated the size of my yard using Google maps. I agreed to $40.00 per visit (no contract), with free interim visits. Scotts agreed to treat an area of my yard beyond my back fence within that price. Scotts said they would call prior to their visits, leave signage that the lawn was treated, and the invoice on the door. I started to receive automated calls from Scotts. I would hang up immediately. After a few calls, I listened to one all the way through, and realized that they wanted me to pay for specific services. Funny thing was, they had not treated my yard! I called to complain, and was told that the yard was treated --- the signage and invoice must have been "blown away by the wind". After a few rounds of calls and complaints, they came to treat "again". Again, no one came to visit. It turns out they had been treating the wrong house (apparently, they hire illiterate technicians). After speaking to management (again), they finally started routine visits(they only messed up once, when they treated my neighbor's house ... they weren't happy to have their lawn fertilized twice). Additionally, Scotts would not fully treat the area beyond my fence, as was agreed to. I had some more issues with interim treatments. Customer service wasn't logging my requests. The last straw was when I called for an interim service. They promised to come almost every day for a week. Finally, they came, but I saw no evidence that they had sprayed. My lawn has more weeds than before I started with Scotts, and my lawn was not green. I finally cancelled service. I apply my own chemicals now, and my yard is coming back to life.
Description of Work
Periodic herbicide and pesticide application.
Category
lawn treatment
Lois S.
5.0
07/08/2014
They are excellent. I have had them for years. The top reason I use them is that they are very good and very responsive. The other reason for using them is the cost, I can't find anyone to do it for the amount that they do it for. They are very reasonable for what you get. They always come when they say they will be there.
Description of Work
They do 6 or 7 treatments per year on our yard for weeds, and if they are not dying, they will come back out and do them for free. They are very good.
Category
lawn treatment
Geri B.
4.0
06/30/2014
They don't always show up on the scheduled date and I had them come back a second time when weeds grew back worse than ever!
Description of Work
Lawn treatment: weed control, fertilization, etc.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Chris A.
5.0
06/02/2014
Great experience. Everyone I've talked to from TruGreen has been very polite and professional. Told them my concerns about a certain type of weed we had growing in our lawn, and they focused on it, and within 3 treatments, lawn looks fantastic. Highly recommended!!!
Description of Work
Lawn maint for the entire year. Spraying for weeds, dandelions, etc.
Category
lawn treatment
GRANT S.
3.0
04/10/2014
They show up and spray or spread there stuff and things remain the same.
Description of Work
I'm not convinced their service is worth the cost. I really haven't noticed any improvement in two years.
Category
lawn service
shannon S.
5.0
04/08/2014
They are very good. They always call before they come. They do a good job. Our lawn looks great. We are going to continue with them.
Description of Work
We use The TruGreen Companies LLC. They come seven or eight times a year. They take care of all the weeds and fertilizing.
Category
lawn treatment
Jeff L.
3.0
04/03/2014
TrueGreen did a very nice job in the front yard. The problem is they charged me for my side and back yard as well. They would not enter the back yard anytime the dogs were not on a leash (thats why we built a fence) and as a result, the back yard is a wasteland. We had a similar sized yard in Tulsa, same dogs, and used TruGreen - they had no issues keeping the back yard as nice as the front.. They were willing to come out and look at it, agreed the back yard should have been fertilized on schedule but it was too late. I have invested over $1500 and a LOT of my time replanting the back yard. They did refund part of the service but the bottom line is the back yard should have been treated, it wasnt and it has cost me.
Description of Work
Lawn treatment
Category
lawn service
Joseph C.
5.0
03/24/2014
I rehired them. They had good prices and I got a discount this time. They were professional.
Description of Work
They killed the weeds then came back and did the fertilizer.
Category
lawn treatment

Other local Pros in your area

Nationwide Pest Control

With over 15 years in experience, Nationwide Pest Control offers Termite and Pest Control including rodent exclusion and trapping, mosquito treatments, bed bug treatments, stinging insect treatments, crawlspace repair, etc.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Wolfe Brothers Electric LLC

We always put the customer first! If you need electrical repair, home security installation, generator installation or electrical remodeling services, turn to Wolfe Brothers Electric, LLC. All work and material are guaranteed for a minimum of 3 years and some products carry a lifetime manufacturer warranty. We will accept Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal, and Cash as methods of payment and we also offer financing through Synchrony Bank for larger products and services.  

Angi Certified

Ecocare

House Cleaning & Carpet Cleaning  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

6855 Appling Farms Pkwy

Memphis, TN 38133

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5773 is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5773 does not offer free project estimates.

No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5773 does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5773 does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5773 offers warranties.

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5773 offers the following services: Residential and commercial landscaping, lawn, tree & shrub care.