Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Otto Electric Inc

Founded 1979 • With Angi since August 2006

4.5

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4469 South Mendenhall Rd # 1

Memphis, TN 38141

Description

All Electrical Services

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Tim M.
3.0
08/27/2019
quality of work was good, big job with multiple visits, different crew each time. Could not depend on them to show up, unresponsive to phone calls, ruined an indoor rug due to dirty shoes. Electrician and my contractor had a blow up in my driveway. Exceptionally unprofessional. There are too many good electricians out there to put up with stuff like that.
Description of Work
Install lighting, outdoor receptacles,
Category
electrician, lighting
Steven G.
2.0
04/19/2017
After three or four trips back to our house and about a month wait they finished all of the repairs. Each time someone had to take off work and be available for them to come back. Sometimes to be told, "oh they didn't tell me that need to be fixed or oops I forgot the bulbs you will have to schedule for us to come back out". On the last visit from otto electric my wife's wedding ring was stolen. It was never located but the employee from otto that was at our house was arrested the following week for stealing jewelry from another customer. Otto electric did not feel responsible for replacing the wedding ring since it was not found since there was not 100% proof his employee stole it. Needless to say we are out of a lot of money for work that should have been done right the first time.
Description of Work
Otto was the electrical company contracted by my builder to wire my house. Issues after the build included multiple call backs for light installed incorrectly, I paid for 86 LED bulbs and only received half, and lights incorrectly wired on switches
Category
electrician, lighting
Henry P.
4.0
01/15/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Everything went well except keeping me informed of what was happening throughout the whole project.
Category
electrician
Carol N.
2.0
10/22/2013
The tech came, worked for one hour, restored most of the electricity, but we still had no electricity in most upstairs outlets, he stated it would take two more hours, and we were fine with paying the double weekend rate, but we were told as it was no longer an emergency the technician had to leave to take another call. He left and we still don't have electricity in upstairs outlets. When we called to schedule them to come back after looking over work schedules, we were told they would only come back if we could be home during a morning or by noon as they needed a four hour window. They also suggested they could come without us being here, but I was not comfortable with that. The tech told us on Saturday it would take two more hours. We will be calling another company as we do not feel the tech should have left without repairing everything and the company is unwilling to work with us on scheduling the completion of the job. Please note that our F rating on Professionalism does not relate to any personal characteristics of the technician, but the fact the company sent him to another job without having him finishing our job.
Description of Work
We called for service on a Saturday as we had no electricity in our home.
Category
electrician
Camilla A J.
5.0
07/27/2013
Jesse was very professional and explained everything he needed to do. He also advised me of the advantage of getting the membership plan which I did purchase. He always wore plastic coverings over his shoes and cleaned up after the work was completed.
Description of Work
Replace hot water supply line to dishwasher Install 1 1/2 P-trap under kitchen sink and repair leak Replace emergency shut off valve behind master toilet Rebuild single handle delta shower valve
Category
electrician
Kim W.
5.0
05/28/2013
The electricians came when promised. They detected and fixed the problem within 30 minutes. They were very polite and personable, even entertaining. I would use Otto again.
Description of Work
The electricians detected a faulty wall socket which was making all the wall sockets on the same circuit dead.
Category
electrician
stephanie C.
5.0
06/20/2012
They had great service and they respond very quickly. They are very reasonably priced. They did the electric system in our house over 20 years ago.
Description of Work
I used Otto Electric for electrical services.
Category
electrician
Jelena C.
5.0
06/19/2012
We were having issues with several electrical outlets in our kitchen as well as light bulbs blowing frequently in the side of our house that included the kitchen. The serviceman found two loose wires in our electrical panel and fixed them. When he inspected the kitchen outlets he found many loose wires that were sparking which was causing our problems. He fixed those and also replace a cracked GFI outlet in our kitchen. He also inspected the remaining outlets in the side of the house where we were having problems. My only issue was although I was given a window of 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm for him to arrive, he arrived at 8:30 in the morning. This was a minor inconvenience but I would rather someone be early than late. But that is why I rated punctuality a B.
Description of Work
Fixed two loose wires in our electrical panel, fixed loose wiring in kitchen outlets, replaced a cracked GFI outlet in our kitchen. He also inspected the remaining outlets in the side of the house where we were having problems.
Category
electrician
Jonathan H.
5.0
03/07/2011
Called Monday afternoon and scheduled an appointment for Wednesday from 8am-12pm. The technician arrived at 9am (with the clean boots over his shoes on already which was nice), took a brief look, and got straight to work. Whole process took less than 30 minutes and was very clean and neat. I had a couple of other questions after the light was installed about future work which the technician took the effort to survey the area before giving an answer (a low-voltage cable run the cable company was unwilling to perform). The technician was very professional in both the work he performed and in answering the questions I had about other potential work. I was quoted $85/hour for labor and the first 1/2 hour was charged as travel time. I was appropriately charged for 1 hour worth of work. I plan to schedule with Otto Electric for future electrical work as well. Excellent job.
Description of Work
Had a fluorescent fixture replaced in the kitchen.
Category
electrician, lighting
Troy W.
4.0
09/13/2010
They weren’t pushy, but their quote was higher than the other company that I worked with. The guy that I worked with was pretty busy when he came in. However, he was thorough and answered the questions that I asked him.
Description of Work
Otto Electric Incorporated gave me a quote for some electrical work on my house that included putting some outlets, finishing the breaker box and getting the electrical to my house in June.
Category
electrician
John Ruffin B.
5.0
08/30/2010
Serviceman arrived on time and did very good work. He took the time to explain what he was doing and why. He was unable to repair our foyer light because we needed a new fixture, so he took the time to explain how I could replace it once we had the new fixture. I was pleased with whole Otto experience, from he time I setup the appointment until completion.
Description of Work
Otto's serviceman 1) replaced ballast and bulbs in flourescent light fixture, 2) installed light kit in bedroom fan, and 3) replaced door bell.
Category
electrician
Dale K.
5.0
07/05/2010
They arrived on time, gave estimate, I said do the work, they started right away. The were professional, friendly, and helpful. Family run business
Description of Work
Installed security lights front & back. Installed two kitchen ceiling fixtures.
Category
electrician, lighting
Tracy C.
4.0
06/09/2010
I was trying to get my pool ready for the summer time and the pump wouldn't come on because I had no power at the outlet. I was off from work and wanted someone to come out that day. Called around that morning and a rep from this company said he would come by and diagnose my problem. He did and the technician came out and repaired that afternoon. Quick and fast service.
Description of Work
My outside pool pump electrical outlet had no power. These guys came out and replaced electrical outlet and installed the correct breaker in the panel.
Category
electrician
Alan V.
5.0
06/10/2009
They just needed to know where I wanted everything and they went and installed it where I wanted.
Description of Work
Added a dedicated computer line, installed two ceiling fans using one switch to turn on both fans and one to turn on both lights, installed chandelier on cathedral ceiling, and added a phone line connection to a room.
Category
electrician
5.0
02/14/2007
I would like to say first off that Otto finished their part of the job in a timely fashion. It was nice to know that they did everything as properly as they should have. I am very satisfied with the work that was done by them specifically. I have no complaints about them or their work. I am quite pleased and I would gladly recommend them to anyone who may need them in the future. The price for this was not a separate bill; it was all included with the building of the house. The house cost about $160,000 to build.
Description of Work
Otto Electric installed the entire electrical wiring in my four bedroom home. Included in this was a breaker box, quite a few circuits and about four ceiling fans and all the necessary wiring needed in the home.
Category
electrician
5.0
02/14/2007
These subcontractors were thorough on all of the electrical work. There has not been one single issue with any of the work they performed. We would recommend them to anyone. Our contractor had hired them and paid them, so I am not sure of what the total price was.
Description of Work
Otto s installed all the electrical work in our new 2200 square foot house. They installed the service underground, both panel boxes including a 220 line. They also installed all of the outlets, switches, hot water heater and ceiling fixtures.
Category
electrician
5.0
02/14/2007
The general contractor handled all the arrangements with them and also paid them. Their crew arrived on schedule and got right to work. They were very helpful as they even suggested additional places for convenient outlets and switches to be placed. We highly recommend these contractors.
Description of Work
Otto Electric installed all the wiring in our newly constructed 2350 square foot house. This work included numerous outlets, switches and ceiling fixtures. They also put in the panel boxes for both 120 and 220 lines.
Category
electrician
4.0
02/14/2007
They did a fine job. They were on time as scheduled. There were no delays in the performance of their work. The company seemed trustworthy and reliable. The workers were friendly when I saw them. I was happy overall with the service. The cost of the service was included in the construction costs.
Description of Work
Otto Electric did all the electrical work for our new 2400 square-foot home. They did all the lighting inside and outside. The installed my outlets. The kitchen appliance electrical work was completed by them also.
Category
electrician
5.0
02/14/2007
I felt they did not do a rush job with our home and they thoroughly checked all their work. When we moved in, every light switch and every outlet worked right from the start. We even had them come back to convert the gas utilities in our home to electric ones. We appreciated the good service. Our builder handled the pricing on the subs.
Description of Work
Otto Electric was the electrical sub contractor for the construction of our new 3000 square foot home. They handled all the wiring, lights and outlets.
Category
electrician
5.0
02/14/2007
My house has been completed two years now and we have not had any problems anything. All the outlets work fine and we have never had any shorts or circuit problems. They had everything completed before we moved in. I never met them as I let my builder handle everything. He also paid them.
Description of Work
Otto Electric installed all of the wiring in the walls, the circuits and outlets in my new 2000 square foot home.
Category
electrician
Claudia T.
4.0
02/14/2007
There have been no problems so far and I would recommend this company to anyone. They were friendly and on time and I really thought that they put a lot of detail into the house. The cost of the house was $113,000 and the monies from that were divided among this company and other sub-contractors.
Description of Work
When my 1200 square foot home was built all of the electrical was done but this company for the house. It was a new construction so everything from the floor up had to be installed. Things that included outlets, lighting, wiring, alarms, etc.
Category
electrician, lighting, home security systems
5.0
02/14/2007
This contractor was very thorough and nice to deal with. They made sure all aspects of the project was completed on time and done to our satisfaction. They also made sure to clean up after themselves before they left.
Description of Work
Otto Electric was hired by our general contractor to install an entire new electrical system in our 1800 square foot house. The work included all switches, outlets and light fixtures. They also installed the new panel boxes for both 120 and 220 lines.
Category
electrician
SHARON B.
5.0
08/08/2006
Otto Electric did an excellent job. They were extremely professional and courteous with me. They were also very prompt in getting to my home and getting the work done. It didn't seem like it took them very long to finish the work. I was also impressed with their prices, which were extremely competitive. All my work was done under a warranty.
Description of Work
Otto Electric came out and installed some new circuits in our new room.
Category
electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    ADT

    ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    A Willing Hand

    We offer quality and affordable electrical and HVAC services.  

    Angi Certified

    Wolfe Brothers Electric LLC

    We always put the customer first! If you need electrical repair, home security installation, generator installation or electrical remodeling services, turn to Wolfe Brothers Electric, LLC. All work and material are guaranteed for a minimum of 3 years and some products carry a lifetime manufacturer warranty. We will accept Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal, and Cash as methods of payment and we also offer financing through Synchrony Bank for larger products and services.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    All Electrical Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Otto Electric Inc

    How is Otto Electric Inc overall rated?

    Otto Electric Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Otto Electric Inc open?

    Otto Electric Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Otto Electric Inc provide

    Otto Electric Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Otto Electric Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Otto Electric Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Otto Electric Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Otto Electric Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Otto Electric Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Otto Electric Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Otto Electric Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Otto Electric Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Otto Electric Inc?

    No, Otto Electric Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Otto Electric Inc offer?

    Otto Electric Inc offers the following services: All Electrical Services