Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Memphis Home Renovations

Founded 2007 • With Angi since September 2011

4.5

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2889 Poplar Av

Memphis, TN 38111

Description

Official dealer for Wellborn, River Run, IKS cabinets. Offering kitchen cabinet sales and design. Full kitchen remodels including stone counter tops and tile. Cost is determined by the job. Memphis Home Renovations focuses their skill and expertise on making sure your choice of cabinets is the

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Robert P.
5.0
07/22/2014
It went well. Three or four people came to work on it and it took about eight weeks. The area was left clean and all the work was done. I was satisfied with the work. They do good work and they make sure it's done correctly before you pay them. They are easy to work with.
Description of Work
They remodeled the kitchen and bathroom.
Category
home remodeling
Calvin M.
4.0
04/11/2014
They were a little difficult to communicate with and rather busy. I had them come in for the design. They provided a drawing. I never followed up with them on the project.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $75 for a Custom Kitchen Design Plan.
Category
home remodeling
Jeff M.
4.0
03/27/2014
.
Description of Work
Paul was very helpful throughout the design process. In the end, the cost of our renovation turned out to be more than we had budgeted for and we elected to postpone. I cannot speak to the quality of his work, but his design ideas were good and the drawings very helpful.
Category
home remodeling
JAMES S.
3.0
08/13/2013
In buying this coupon I was expecting that the contractor had a computer software program that allows designers to inlay possible improvements over a picture of the kitchen and bath. Other designers provide this service in kitchen and bath design. This contractor took pictures and measurements, discussed possibilities and provided a written estimate. Basically I paid $75 to get an estimate that I could have gotten free by calling the contractor directly. In fairness I would say that the contractor was very pleasant to work with and after I expressed my displeasure with the coupon ad he went to great lengths to provide information and samples of material. His actually workmanship could be outstanding but no actual work was performed.
Description of Work
Discussed possible renovation and provided a job price estimate.
Category
home remodeling
Karen M.
5.0
06/27/2013
They were professional and courteous. I thought there estimate was too high.
Description of Work
They gave me an estimate on a bathroom remodel.
Category
home remodeling
Cynthia F.
5.0
06/14/2013
We had an awesome experience with them. They were terrific. They followed up with us really well. When you are doing renovations there are always going to be glitches but they handled them all very professionally. I really liked them. Price-wise they were right on target. The glitches weren't specific to them: it was more in the area of permits and that kind of stuff. We would use them again in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
Memphis Home Renovations renovated one bathroom and added a half-bath in the crawl space.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Bill R.
3.0
06/14/2013
they were prompt and for $75 the work they did was satisfactory. But it was not adequate for a full scale kitchen renovation. They did not have the expertise to do architectural drawings to the degree homeowner required. They wanted to do the construction work and initial drawing seemed designed as gateway to full control of project. Homeowner already had contractor. Ended up paying a architect over $1000 to complete detailed plans for contractor but it was necessary expense to let contractor know exactly what was needed.
Description of Work
consulted with homeowner about kitchen renovation. made drawings from computer program
Category
home remodeling
Earle S.
3.0
03/27/2013
I was not terribly impressed. The design work was haphazard and the proposed ideas were uninspired. In fairness, they offered back my $75.00, but I declined since they had put in a decent amount of time.
Description of Work
Took the Big Deal for bathroom design. No design was completed before I terminated the arrangement
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling
Suzanne A.
5.0
03/27/2013
It went as it should. No hickups or bumps.
Description of Work
Installed granite in two existing bathrooms.
Category
home remodeling
Dorothy C.
5.0
01/15/2013
The kitchen is beautiful and my Mom is overjoyed with her new kitchen. The new cherry cabinets, the glistening granite countertops, the warm stone flooring, the dishwasher and everything else associated with her new kitchen is absolutely stunning. I would recommend Memphis Home Renovations to anyone looking to deal with honest, hard-working people who work hard to give you what you want. They know you work hard for your money and you want a good value and quality workmanship. I started doing research and set up meetings in March 2012 for a project that was set to begin mid June 2012 and met with 5 contractors and MHR was not the least expensive but promised to deliver the completed project in the allotted time-frame. It helps that they are a cabinet distributor and work directly with the granite fabricator. This saves a lot of time! A few of the other companies order their cabinets from Paul. Our project was a success and it was because the team at MHR. My Mom probably still cries at least once a week when she looks at her brand new kitchen.
Description of Work
Memphis Home Renovations was one of 5 companies I contacted to do a cosmetic renovation on my Mom's 30 plus year-old kitchen. We wanted to replace the cabinets, flooring, countertops, sink, dishwasher, lighting and add more electrical outlets. Our project was time sensitive and complicated because I live in Canada. I was the project manager and financially responsible for the project so all communications were with me and they were willing to do so long distance. We made our selections before the project demolition started which ensured the project would be completed on time. We were able to select our cabinetry, granite countertops, stone flooring, and undermount sink through Paul and Tony which made the project go smoothly in the limited time allotted. The team suggested retailers and I was able to purchase the dishwasher, faucets, vent a hood, light fixtures, etc. Paul and Tony picked up items and took care of everything from the plumber on. MHR set up the refrigerator so that my Mom would have access , covered furniture, and treated her home as if it was their own. They cleaned and gave us updates daily. There was someone working on the kitchen every day. There were only minor missteps: one damaged cabinet that had to be reordered (but still arrived within the 2 week time frame) and a missed meeting at the granite warehouse (the owner of the granite company did not show up). These were rectified very quickly because Paul and Tony were available by cell phone or email at all times.
Category
remodeling
Jason U.
1.0
01/14/2013
Business must be great if MHR can afford to walk away from remodeling jobs sight unseen. If they actually come by for a consultation, and then present an estimate, consider yourself very lucky! As it is, because of their no-show, they have walked away from 3 more bathrooms and a kitchen remodel that I will be bidding out to another company.
Description of Work
Judging by the other reviews, MHR does great work. I wouldn't know, because I can't get them to come over for an estimate. I called on Wednesday, 1/9, not expecting an immediate response. However, I did receive a call back the next morning of 1/10, from Mr. Vysniauskas. He seemed eager to come over to estimate our bathroom remodel, and asked if I could meet, and suggested a specific time that Saturday (1/12). I agreed. The appointment time came and went, without a phone call in the days since. I figure, as the (potential) customer, it is not my duty to follow up, so I'm moving on to the next Angie's A-lister.
Category
home remodeling
John P.
5.0
01/07/2013
We are awaiting his bid along with others. We are very disposed to take his bid even if he is slightly higher.
Description of Work
Tony gave us an detailed kitchen workup complete with an online program drawing of his proposal. He was friendly, helpful and easy to understand. He put no pressure on us, saying only he was willing to work with us in any manner to assist us. We have invited him back to give us a bid on the entire project.
Category
home remodeling
Valerie F.
4.0
12/21/2012
Not applicable.
Description of Work
This was one of Angie's List monthly deals. I took advantage of the deal because I am considering making changes to my kitchen and I was looking for suggestions. Although I did not use their services, they made good suggestions to me relative to expanding and moving things around in my kitchen. I would use them if or when I make any changes to my kitchen.
Category
home remodeling
Barbara S.
5.0
12/20/2012
I haven't had them come out yet due to my busy schedule, but they have graciously agreed to honor my certificate. They have been very responsive with all communications, and I look forward to working with them soon.
Description of Work
I hired them to do a kitchen design for me.
Category
home remodeling
Erin M.
5.0
12/04/2012
I contacted Memphis Home Renovation shortly after moving into my new home. I knew I wanted to do quite a bit of work in the kitchen and one of the bathrooms when I bought the house. My husband and I enjoy doing some home repair ourselves but knew some of the work that needed to be done was out of our league. That's why we contacted Memphis Home Renovations and they were able to get somone out for an estimate right away. I was very happy with their responsiveness and the figures that they gave us. Several of the other places I called never called me back or never got back to me with the estimate once they had come out. I appreciated Memphis Home Renovation's willigness to work with us regarding our ideas and the things we did and didn't want to address right away. I wanted to install a farmhouse kitchen sink in our kithcn and they were able to build the custom cabinet for it. Throughout the process they were very positive and open to communication when I had any questions or concerns. The kitchen and bathroom they remodeled are now my two favorite rooms in our house. They did a great job all around!!!
Description of Work
Kitchen remodel: new tile, new countertops, new custom cabinet, new farmhouse sink, dishwasher, and faucet install. Bathroom remodel: exterior window installed, bead board, custom built shelving, new toilet and sink, new tile, new light fixtures installed, and tile work done in the shower.
Category
home remodeling
Raymond S.
5.0
11/19/2012
I like them because it is a company that is easy to deal with. They always follow through on what we agree to and they always finish the job. They are the best.
Description of Work
I am using Memphis Home Renovations for a bathroom renovation.
Category
plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
John K.
5.0
10/29/2012
They were very friendly and quick to respond to my needs. They told me how to avoid clogs in the toilet, which was very helpful.
Description of Work
I have used Memphis Home Renovations. They unclogged a commode for us.
Category
plumbing
Robert D.
1.0
10/23/2012
On October 4, 2012 Tony from Memphis Home Renovations called and after a discussion he stated the following tasks to be done. On Friday October 5, 2012 he would email me the amount to be paid for the down payment. On Saturday he would come to the house and pick up the shutters. None of that happened. As of October 23, 2012 I have not heard back from Memphis Home Renovation. Once they do the estimate or in this case proceed with the project I leave it to them to follow through. I do not call them back , I should not have to call to find out why they are not responding. The Business information on Angies List states that they accept credit card but Tony indicated that he was unsure if they did. I did not see credit card acceptance information on their website. This is an ongoing problem that I am having with contractors that do not reply back with an estimate or in this case do not follow through on what they say they will do. I just have to move on to someone else who will respond.
Description of Work
This was to be a Paintable presswood shutter installation with decorative hardware. Installation on five external windows at a cost of $200.00 per shutter. To be painted and installed over fiber cement siding. Front door to be repainted same color along with other miscellaneous work to be done on several windows. Total cost of project was to be $2400.00
Category
replacement windows, home remodeling
Lewis C.
1.0
09/24/2012
Still waiting on them to deliver the "plans" for my kitchen remodel and bathroom addition. Last contact was 9/19/2012. They have been working on the "plans" for over a month. On 9/19/2012 I received the cost estimates but not the plans I paid for. I was told by email "there was a technical problem with converting the plans to a pdf file". I suggested they just fax the plans since I have been waiting on them for over one month. I was told by email "you will have them by the end of the day" on 9/19/2012. Today is 9/24/2012 and still no plans!
Description of Work
They were supposed to deliver the plans for my kitchen remodel and bath remodel that I paid for along with an estimate to do the work. They came by my home over one month ago to measure and emailed the cost estimates on 9/19/2012. Today is 9/25/2012 and I am still waiting on the "plans" for which I paid $170!
Category
home remodeling
James R.
5.0
08/28/2012
Memphis Renovations came out immediately and gave us a quote. They responded immediately to my questions. Overall, we felt more comfortable going with them since they seem to be so attentive to any questions.
Description of Work
Memphis Home Renovations gave us an estimate on our kitchen.
Category
home remodeling
Ethel C.
5.0
06/14/2012
Overall the job went well but there were a few communication difficulties. At the outset Tony came out to measure my vanity and provide an estimate. This was done in a few days after calling Paul. Upon discussion of my budget going custom with the poject was not an option and Tony still agreed to do the work. We planned to do "install work" including vanity,faucet and small amount of tile flooring infront of the vanity after I bought the materials. The the contractor Tony was nice and flexible with his schedule to meet me after my work, to pick-up the items I purchased at Lowes. While at Lowes he made a few suggestions about potential tile work for the floor and vanity surround. He started on the work on a Friday a day after picking up the supplies because the faucet shut-off valves were faulty and thus the water main had to be turned off just for him to remove the old vanity. This stalled the project, and he was great, went to the managment office and got things worked out. The follwoing day he went to work and I cam out later that day to discuss aesthetic changes, buying matching granite vanity surrounds instead of using the tile we bought. The work was near completion. That day we agreed that the work would be completed Saturday, he was going to pick up from lowes the rest of the granite for the vanity surround and leave an invoice for me Saturday. I was not available to come by Saturday, due to work obligations but came out Sunday. Sunday I had great expectations to see completed work but instead the vanity was unfished, and Tony's work tools, supplys were still there. I was concerned, and little frustrated and called and texted him several times and called paul, to find out what had happend, I didnt not get a response from either. I was holding my breath, this seemed unlike him but I was worried the job had been abandoned. I finally heard from Tony Monday near noon. He did explain a personal emergency happened and how he forgot his cell phone over the weekend. He apologized for this, and completed the Job Monday evening, a almost two days after he agreed to complete the project and left an invoice. He let me know there maybe a haze on the tile floor, that should come up with soap and water. I saw the work late Monday night after leaving work, the work looked solid, but some of the caulking wasnt so refinded and the granit counter and faucet had sticky material in several spots, like adhessive had dripped on it or something or clear caulk. Im hoping this will come up with some elbow grease and soap and water. I have since spoken to Paul, on 6/18/12 (10days after the job) which is why I have ammended my rating as above. He offered then to provide a discount on the job, or to re-do the job then but I declined wanting him to acknowledge the frustration I went through as his client, which he did.
Description of Work
I found this company recommended on Angies list. I needed to update the old master bath vanity which included faucet, cabinet etc. I wanted to replace it with bre-fab/box brand cabinet and vanity plus faucet to keep my costs at minimum.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Jesse S.
5.0
05/03/2012
My overall experience with them was excellent. Their prices were very reasonable.
Description of Work
I had a leak by my window, and they did some interior trim repair.
Category
roofing, replacement windows
Raymond S.
5.0
11/11/2011
Work was completed in a professional and timely maner
Description of Work
Needed to increase water service and sewer line up to existing code due to the addition of a full size bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Alice W.
5.0
10/28/2011
Amazing! I called and got Paul. I advised him of the work and he gave me an estimate based on time, travel and materials of $95. Based on the prices that I saw quoted on Angie's list, I thought the job would be too small for him. He said he could work it in. We played phone tag for a few days after that but finally confirmed an appointment time. He showed up. Performed the job quickly and beautifully. (I supplied the grab bars) Then he said he did not have to use but one diamond bit to drill through the tiles so he was only charging me $65. I was blown away and very satisfied!
Description of Work
Needed 2 grab bars installed over the bath tub in the bathroom that I use for my mom that lives with me and has Alzheimers.
Category
remodeling
Aaron P.
5.0
09/17/2011
Owner Paul V. is incredibly trustworthy and does excellent work. And because of Paul's low overhead not being a large company, he's able to offer the same services as larger renovation companies but at a much lower price. The best value of all is in his kitchen cabinets. Excellent high quality cabinets at a fraction of the cost of the big box home improvement stores. Paul does not cut corners and is a jack of all trades. I highly recommend MHR and will continue to use its services in the future.
Description of Work
I am a real estate investor and have used Memphis Home Renovations for several home renovation projects as well as my personal home. Services performed for me by MHR include: complete kitchen and bath renovations, new bathroom construction, siding replacement, tile installation, hardwood floor refinishing, door and window installation, roofing, and more. At one time or another MHR has done just about every aspect of home renovation for me.
Category
custom cabinets, ceramic tile, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors, stamped concrete

    Other local Pros in your area

    Your Flooring LLC

    In Business Since 2021 We take great pride in our experience, expertise, quality, and customer service that we provide to meet the consumer's needs. It is our mission to provide excellent workmanship and complete customer satisfaction from start to completion of a project. In order to understand the needs and expectations of our customers, we take great care to work and communicate with every customer in a professional manner. Our reputation is based on service, safety, and quality, regardless of how large or small the job.  

    Angi Certified

    JG Flooring

    JG flooring is a family owned business. We have 9 years of commercial and residential flooring experience. Including all types of repairs and installments with any floor. Our team consists of over 10 skilled installers providing fast and insuring picture perfect flooring. Call today to get your estimate today @ 901-267-9824.  

    Angi Certified

    Harris Landscape & Design

    Harris Landscape & Design is a premier full service landscape company. HLD specializes in custom masonry and concrete services. We also prices detailed 3D designs complete with 360 degree views and video pictures. HLD wants to take your project from start to finish and give you the landscape of your dreams.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Cabinet sales, design, and installation. Granite counter tops. Complete kitchen and bath remodels and expansions.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Memphis Home Renovations

    How is Memphis Home Renovations overall rated?

    Memphis Home Renovations is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Memphis Home Renovations open?

    Memphis Home Renovations is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Memphis Home Renovations provide

    Memphis Home Renovations accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Memphis Home Renovations offer free estimates?

    Yes, Memphis Home Renovations offers free project estimates.

    Does Memphis Home Renovations offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Memphis Home Renovations does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Memphis Home Renovations offer a senior discount?

    No, Memphis Home Renovations does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Memphis Home Renovations?

    Yes, Memphis Home Renovations offers warranties.

    What services does Memphis Home Renovations offer?

    Memphis Home Renovations offers the following services: Cabinet sales, design, and installation. Granite counter tops. Complete kitchen and bath remodels and expansions.