Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

James Pest Management

Founded 1941 • With Angi since August 2006

4.7

(93) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4246 Outland Rd

Memphis, TN 38118

Description

Award winning. James Pest Management is a third generation, family owned and operated pest control service provider since 1941.Servicing a four state area for commercial, municipal and residential pest management accounts from our home office in Memphis, TN and our Columbus, MS regional office. Our

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/08/2017


Jason P.

Completely unresponsive (specifically Marge). Led me to believe that the scheduling had been done only to find out that it hadn't. Now I need to scramble for an alternative because the purchase agreement deadline is fast approaching.

Description of Work
I needed a termite inspection on a property I am about to purchase

Category pest control

2.0

07/27/2016


Ruthie T.

They sprayed for the termites. When I called to schedule a visit, they put the manager on and he was very rude and unprofessional. He then claimed he would come out and check on the termites and he canceled day of. He made me fearful to have him in my home, and when they sent someone else out they never contacted me again. I called multiple times and was never met with a response.

Description of Work
They came out and treated for termites.

Category pest control

5.0

06/15/2016


Donna V.

They set us up for a yearly inspection after that.

Description of Work
We used James Pest Control when we first moved. We had termite inspection done. It is something that you should do upon purchasing a new home just to make sure and they inspected it and prevented it.

Category pest control

1.0

02/22/2016


STEVEN H.

We were under contract for pest control services with James Pest Management from the time we moved to Memphis in 2011 until 2015. The prior owner of our home used their services, and a sales person promptly contacted us when we moved in. He explained that they would protect our home from top to bottom from pests, including termite control, while we were under contract. We stayed up to date on all of our payments under the contract because they kept our credit card number on file and automatically charged all contractual fees due. There was no specific mention of exclusions from our contract coverage by the sales person, but as it turned out 3 out of the 3 problems we encountered while being under contract were NOT COVERED and we paid an ADDITIONAL CHARGE: (1) powderpost beetles (wood-boring insects) in our fireplace, (2) carpenter bees in our pergola, and (3) fruit flies in a kitchen that were spreading (actually there was no charge for the fruit flies because they just didn't treat for them; the technician explained that he did not have the necessary treatment in the truck and just gave me advice on "home remedies" for getting rid of them myself; he did not offer to come back with the treatment). Although these three events very much annoyed me, I did not cancel my contact with James Pest Management until there was a very upsetting incident that prompted me to speak with the owner directly. Not only was my concern mishandled (he did nothing about it whatsoever), but the owner treated me in a very bullying and disrespectful manner. Although the contract was canceled for cause, the services under the last contract for which I paid $290.00 were not fully performed and my contract fees were not refunded despite my attempts to obtain a refund.

Description of Work
We were under contract with James Pest Management from 2011 through 2015 for whole house pest control services, during which period we spent more than $1,500.00.

Category pest control

5.0

09/01/2015


Annie M.

They did a great job. They arrived on time and were very professional and friendly. Would ABSOLUTELY recommend

Description of Work
Bed bug treatment

Category pest control

4.0

05/12/2015


Linda F.

They kept sending other people out to see the issue and they don't seem to be willing to make a commitment since it is not a standard house. We live in a log cabin.

Description of Work
Estimate

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), You indeed have a log cabin with multiple issues and to best assist you we were getting as many “eyes on” your structure as it takes to help you solve your issues appropriately. You failed to mention that we are doing this at no cost to you. Please feel free to contact another pest management professional as you are under no obligation to our firm.
5.0

04/28/2015


cindi P.

It's really outstanding. I use them all the time. They are always 100 percent professional and I've never had a problem on them. They're always on time and their service technicians are always courteous.

Description of Work
It was James Pest Management. That was for the installation annually.

Category pest control

3.0

04/25/2015


Linzetta G.

They are supposed to inspect and spray for termites yearly. My problem is that when the tech came he only sprayed the outside. This happened twice. I was under the impression that my service was for a home inspection inside and out. When I called the office to find out if they would send Michael back out to inspect the inside, they told me that according to the law they only have to spray the areas that they are able to access. They do not have to inspect the inside is what the first customer service person told me. When the tech came we were at home but we did not hear him knock on the door. I explained to the office that I have a wrought iron door and the house is a two story house. If he had used the door bell we would have heard him. She explained that they had already been out twice and they would not be returning again. Until this year we never had a problem with this company. Perhaps it's me I'm just sharing my experience.

Description of Work
Sprayed outside for termites.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

To clarify Ms. [member name removed] "complaint", the facts need to be presented. Yes, Ms. [member name removed] has a termite protection agreement with James Pest Management. On an annual basis, James Pest Management is required, by State Regulations and contract agreement, to make an annual visit to the property to "inspect" accessible areas for termites. This is fact for all pest control companies in this venue. James Pest Management schedules appointments with its customers for this procedure however it is not required by regulation to make an appointment. Not only do we schedule appointments our protocol when technicians arrive at the appointment time and no one responds to a door summons (ringing door and/or knocking), the technician would call the phone number on his inspection ticket. If there is no response, he fulfills state requirements and contract requirement by "inspecting" accessible areas. This completes our obligation fully. In Ms. [member name removed] case we went the "EXTRA MILE" in customer service to schedule another visit to her home to inspect the rest of her structure, again, she failed to respond to our scheduled appointment time. Ms. [member name removed] refers to "inspect and spray for termites yearly". We do not "spray" for termites yearly as this would be a violation of State Regulations which applies to all pest control companies. However, as another caveat for our termite customers, if requested, we will provide a limited exterior only perimeter application for pest without charge. Without question, James Pest Management's customer service with this customer was our usual, outstanding effort and worthy of our reputation for providing the very best in customer service. Ms. [member name removed] first appointment time 11:00 am 3/21/15 James Pest Management Technician arrived at 10:36 am - no response Ms. [member name removed] second appointment time 8:00 am 4/25/15 James Pest Management Technician arrived at 7:52 am - no response Verification by GPS equipped vehicles and cell phone records. Ms. [member name removed] complaint is not valid.
2.0

04/07/2015


Teresa R.

In September 2014 I requested an estimate for the termite, general pest, and mosquito services. The salesman who came to my home was pleasant and informative and answered my questions. Their termite service is quite involved and seemed thorough but I stated I was protected until sometime in early spring but I wasn't sure of the exact date. The salesman said it would be no problem to sign a contract now and let the person scheduling the service know as soon as I looked up the date from my old company when to begin that service. He put October as a start date but I stated I didn't want service then and he said just to let them know when they called, it was no problem. I began general pest service and was pleased with the thorough manner my home was looked at and treated and the technician was knowledge and pleasant. Around the end of Sept or 1st part of October I was called and let the termite schedulerer know what I had told the salesman regarding the early spring and to call me in January about an exact date. She told me that they had to do the service a month after the contract was signed which was not what the salesman told me. The next thing I knew, in November, I was being contacted by a Collections manger that I was in breech of contract for not having my termite service done in October. I explained to her what I had explained to the person who previously called and she would not hear anything I had to say, only I was in Breech of Contract for not having the service in October. The harassment continued through December and January so that I finally let my technician know I liked him and his services but didn't want to work with a company whose office staff was so offensive and combative and untrustworthy. I sincerely desired their services based on the reviews on Angie's List and am sure they do a good pest control job and had no complaints about the technician doing my general pest and mosquito work. But I found their office staff unprofessional and unpleasant and unbending. I discovered the reason I was encouraged to sign the termite contract even though I didn't need it yet was because they aren't allowed to come back and have me sign another contract at a later date. When discussing the issue with the head of the company I was called combative and basically called a liar without using those words when I kept repeating I wanted the service and I never indicated I didn't but was misinformed by the salesman in regards to how the termite service could be scheduled. I was treated unprofessionally and in a threatening manner from the moment I began explaining to the office staff what I was told by the salesman as to the date the termite service was to begin. The head of the company was insulting and offensive and apparently doesn't appreciate women who are bold enough to attempt to provide a picture of the circumstance that differs from what he understands as he let me know I reminded him of his ex-wife which was incredibly unprofessional. No matter how good their product was and how knowledgable and pleasant their technician that came to my home for 6 months was, the manner with which you are treated by the office and the apparent poor communication skills they have with their customers in the office, I would not recommend this company.

Description of Work
I requested service for general pest, mosquito, and termite protection.

Category pest control

Service Provider Response

Due to forthcoming legal action with this customer, we are limited to our response to [member name removed] allegations. Categorically, we refute this customer's allegations as erroneous, libelous and unfounded verbal misdirection of known facts; facts that are documented will be forthcoming to this site at the conclusion of the legal proceedings. James Pest Management is proud of our reputation for quality pest management service since 1941. We are blessed with a wonderful customer base and abundance of new customers referred to us by these customers. James Pest Management business model is "taking care of our customers", with honesty, fact based information, and customer oriented personnel at all levels. Unfortunately, we are sometimes challenged with individuals with unknown intentions as many other businesses would concur. We appreciate ANGIE'S List unsolicited ranking our company. This speaks volumes as to our reputation and integrity.
5.0

04/01/2015


mary R.

It was fine. The interactions were fine. They are professional.

Description of Work
I use them for termites. They sprayed the house.

Category pest control

5.0

03/09/2015


jim K.

I started using them three years ago and they come every three months. They do a very good job and I haven’t seen any pests. They are very good.

Description of Work
I use James Pest Management for pest control.

Category pest control

5.0

02/17/2015


Tia B.

They were kind enough to let me take over the contract the previous homeowner had with them.

Description of Work
Termite inspection.

Category pest control

2.0

12/10/2014


Hugh M.

I have only done business with this company for a very few years. Those that came to my home in the past were professional and thorough. There is a significant disconnect between those people and those in their office. I will most likely be canceling my service at the end of this annual contract.

Description of Work
My wife paid our annual termite treatment bill on 20 Oct 2014. No one called us to make our annual appointment. I noticed this today, 10 Dec, and call their office. After talking to their scheduling person twice, I requested to talk to their office manager. Was forwarded to "Marge" who told me they have up to one year after the renewal to perform their service. My last service was in Oct 2013, and this allows them until Nov 2015 to service my home? Marge was not able to comprehend why this is not acceptable as I paid for an ANNUAL service. She told me I should read my contract. During this conversation I was informed that they need to go inside our home for their annual service. I scheduled our 2013 appointment and at that time, was told that they do not need to go inside the home. The paperwork they have from that visit stated that "home-owner declined inside service". That was not at all true. I was NEVER told they needed inside access.

Category pest control

3.0

09/04/2014


Stacy H.

When the sales person came to my house to give me an estimate, I specifically stated that I wanted to pay for a one-time treatment, and I would then decide if I wanted to commit to an annual contract after the initial treatment. He had me sign a document which I assumed was permission/quote for one time service. I later discovered that it was a contract for 4 quarterly treatments. I should have read the fine print, and I liked Rob, the gentleman who sprayed my house, so I didn't dispute and allowed them to continue services. My main issue is with the office staff. I requested twice that they have someone contact me regarding a termite contract, and no one ever did. There are no other major incidents with their office, but there is definitely a disconnect with those girls whenever I have to call them. They just don't seem like they're all there, and I definitely don't feel like customer satisfaction is a priority. When I called to discontinue services, they didn't even ask why or if there was anything they could do to keep my business.

Description of Work
I love Rob, the gentleman who performs the quarterly pest services at my house, but he's the only reason I stayed with this company after the first year's contract. The office staff are sub-par and don't seem to care whether they keep your business or not.

Category pest control

3.0

07/19/2014


Robert M.

I called our contact to start the agreement process. He came out to our house to retrieve my signature and a coupon I found on a clipper magazine. He said that the office would call to collect payment and schedule our initial service. The office eventually called, but they were very confused about the amount of our bill. The lady who called sounded like she was goofy drunk and had no idea what was going on. We somehow managed to schedule service. However, we have yet to pay. We called back and spoke with different people, but no one seemed to know was was going on. Thankfully, no one has taken payment yet. We're still waiting to settle the bill. We have carbon copies of what we signed. The experience hasn't been great so far. Hoping things will get better.

Description of Work
We had a termite contract a few years ago with another company that I foolishly discontinued to try to save money (even though I knew that our subdivision did not properly treat the slab foundations against termites). When termite activity reappeared, I scrambled to find a service provider. I called a number of companies for estimates and made a chart. Ultimately, I wanted to go with All State Pest Control. David Johnson was fantastic and by far the most thorough inspector. However, they were the most expensive by a significant margin. If you have money, I would strongly recommend going with All State. However, if money is tight, James Pest Management is an excellent value for the money. They were not the cheapest estimate, but they were fairly thorough in their services and inspection.

Category pest control

5.0

06/16/2014


Seth R.

The work was thorough but not exactly quick; the provider was very, very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the problems likely to occur.

Description of Work
Established service contract; did a walkthrough (one every quarter) and set down spray barrier (inside and out), monitoring traps in attic and basement, and through-window treatment for basement. Looked for traces of problems past and present; brushed away webs, etc. from porch.

Category pest control

5.0

06/11/2014


Jeff S.

We started with this company 2 years ago when we moved to the area from out of state. We have been very pleased with their service. They are very helpful and professional every time they come to the house. They put covers over their shoes when they step inside, which I greatly appreciate. They are very accommodating with their scheduling. They have always been on time to every appointment.

Description of Work
Quarterly Pest Control

Category pest control

5.0

06/03/2014


David H.

We like them. The technicians have all been very good and professional. We have been customers with them since 1992. They get the treatments done in less than an hour.

Description of Work
They come twice a year and treat both the inside and outside of the home for pests.

Category pest control

5.0

04/24/2014


Elizabeth M.

I appreciate that an employee of James Pest Management calls you directly to set up your quarterly appointment instead of a pre-recorded message. Also, you receive a reminder the day prior to ensure you will be home if indoor access is needed for the treatment. The actual appointment for mosquito and pest spraying went very well. The technician was very professional, knowledgeable, considerate and efficient. He had great recommendations for treatment options and provided extra education on causes for certain issues we were having with pests. He definitely went above and beyond compared to other companies I have used in the past! I highly recommend James Pest for all termite and pest services!

Description of Work
Outdoor mosquito spraying and inside/outdoor quarterly pest control.

Category pest control

5.0

04/15/2014


Jennifer L.

James Pest Management was successful in killing all the bedbugs in my house. The instructions were excellent and the treatment was performed in a timely manner.

Description of Work
James Pest Management killed all the bedbugs in my house!

Category pest control

5.0

10/02/2013


Shonna W.

Extremely friendly and professional! Most thorough pest control service I have ever received. Very impressed!

Description of Work
Highly recommend!

Category pest control

5.0

07/30/2013


Kerry W.

I like the fact that he's always on time. He's very polite and conscientious about my pets and he doesn't use any products that would harm them in any way. He's very thorough.

Description of Work
I've used James Pest Management.

Category pest control

1.0

06/09/2013


Julia T.

I called James Pest on May 30 regarding a one time spraying for a rental property that had recently been vacated by tenants. I spoke with their sales person (think his name was Ken) who quoted me a price of $174 to spray a 900 sq ft home that was empty. I expressed to him that I felt his price was excessive, given that I have a pest control contract on another rental property and it's larger than 1000 sq,ft. He said, and quot;how about $145?and quot; I expressed that was still too much for a one time spraying for a repeat customer. He said to let him talk with his office the following day and he would give me a call back. That has been almost 2 weeks now and he has still not returned my call with an estimate or quote. He basically ignored my call. Even if the price was unchanged, I feel that he should have returned my call as he had promised. In the future, I will be looking for another company to provide pest control treatment for all my rental properties.

Description of Work
Sales representative, Ken, fail to return my phone call to provide an estimate.

Category pest control

5.0

05/28/2013


Milton B.

Inspection results were clear and concise, showing some continuing traces of wall pests. One minor deficiency was the difficulty for the technician to make complete examination of attic space.

Description of Work
Regular quarterly inspection, including bait placement, spraying where needed.

Category pest control

5.0

04/02/2013


Abiola L.

They're pretty good. You can always call them if you see a kind of strange bug in your house. They'll come out the next day and spray again. They let you know what type of insect or bugs they are and why they're coming out. They're really good at treating any kind of extra stuff that you noticed after they came out. The price is great. I have been using them for the last three years.

Description of Work
James Pest Control come in and spray the house outside and inside for any bugs or anything like that.

Category pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pest Patrol

    Pest Control Service in Memphis by Pest Patrol, LLC. We provide Pest, Termite, and Ant Control, in the Memphis area and surrounding cities. We are the #1 Pest Control in Memphis.  

    Angi Certified

    Dart Pest Control LLC

    When pests invade your home or business, you will want the help of a company with the experience and knowledge to take care of the problem the right way. Dart Pest, Lawn & Wildlife is that company! Here are some qualities that make Dart Pest the smart choice for pest and lawn solutions in and around Memphis: Customer service is our #1 priority, and we stand behind our promises. We offer both residential and commercial pest control options. We have an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB). We are a local, family-owned and operated, and woman-owned company. We provide excellent pest control services at affordable prices. We treat for a wide variety of common Memphis pests. We stay up-to-date on the latest methods and technology in the industry. In addition to pest control, we also provide lawn maintenance services. The owners bought the company in 2003 and had 15 years of prior termite control experience. As a small, locally-owned business, we offer a high level of service at a low price point that nationally owned companies can’t match. Here at Dart Pest, Lawn & Wildlife, we care about our customers – not only because of the business they provide us, but because we are neighbors and members of the same communities. Let the pest control professionals dedicated to providing exceptional customer service and with a commitment to excellence take care of your pest problems.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    JPM is a pest management firm that provides commercial, municipal and residential pest control. Programs are also available for structure damaging pest (termites, re-infesting wood beetles, carpenter ants and bees) and as well municipal, commercial and residential mosquito abatement.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about James Pest Management

    How is James Pest Management overall rated?

    James Pest Management is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are James Pest Management open?

    James Pest Management is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 AM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 3:00 AM

    What payment options does James Pest Management provide

    James Pest Management accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does James Pest Management offer free estimates?

    Yes, James Pest Management offers free project estimates.

    Does James Pest Management offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, James Pest Management does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does James Pest Management offer a senior discount?

    Yes, James Pest Management offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by James Pest Management?

    Yes, James Pest Management offers warranties.

    What services does James Pest Management offer?

    James Pest Management offers the following services: JPM is a pest management firm that provides commercial, municipal and residential pest control. Programs are also available for structure damaging pest (termites, re-infesting wood beetles, carpenter ants and bees) and as well municipal, commercial and residential mosquito abatement.