FRED REMMERS RUG CLEANERS & ORIENTAL RUG GALLERY

About

Founded 1881 • With Angi since September 2006

Your rug partner since 1881 with four generations of experience, Fred Remmers Rug Cleaners carries on a tradition of Oriental rug cleaning and repairs. Throughout this time, we have earned an honorable reputation as one of the top eight rug cleaners in the country and are recommended by Oriental Rug Buyers Guide. **New Location just opened in Nashville!**...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.6

(40) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

29

4

9

3

0

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

carpet cleaning (34)oriental rug cleaning (24)carpet installation (2)
Showing 1-25 of 40 reviews
5.0

06/07/2017


Allen L S.

Well-have no complaints. They delivered to house after finishing.

Description of Work
Rug cleaning

Category carpet cleaners

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/07/2017

5.0

04/13/2017


Judson W.

Satisfactory. Turned down the deodorizing treatment, and now I wish I hadn't.

Description of Work
area rug cleaned

Category carpet cleaners

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2017

5.0

02/20/2017


Sheila S.

Great job.

Description of Work
Rug cleaned and fringe repairs

Category carpet cleaners, carpet installation, oriental rug cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2016

5.0

08/13/2015


Dorothy H.

They picked up rug, cleaned it and gave me a verbal appraisal.

Description of Work
They picked up rug, cleaned it and gave me a verbal appraisal. It was returned in about one week. Excellent service.

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2015

5.0

11/03/2014


Beck B.

Excellent. Reception & drop off was very easy, efficient, & professional. Quality of work has always been top notch. Rug was ready for pickup as promised!

Description of Work
Cleaned a 4' x 6' oriental rug.

Category carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Cost $55

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2014

5.0

10/06/2014


MITCH M.

clean-cut, professional crew.

Description of Work
cleaned a few large area rugs, including one which is very large.

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2013

5.0

07/08/2014


Robin M.

Frank came to my house on time. He picked up the oriental rugs and explained the whole process, He noticed a strong smell of pet urine and offered me a great deal to remove the stains/odors for both rugs. The whole process took about a week or so and the rugs were delivered back to my home when promised. I would recommend this company to everyone!

Description of Work
Cleaned & removed pet stains/odors from two oriental rugs..

Category carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Cost $920

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2014

4.0

01/28/2014


mary H.

It went fine. Just really expensive. Fred Remmers has been sold out of the family who owned and operated it for so many years. The new owners have kept the Remmers name.

Description of Work
Pick up and delivered very large carpet. Cleaned, deodorized and scotch-guarded rug.

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $425

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2012

5.0

01/27/2014


Jay M.

I bought the rug at an estate sale in Mississippi. The house was old and decrepit with falling wallpaper, water stained walls and ceiling. I could see that the Karastan rug could be restored to it's natural beauty. They did a tremendous job as the colors are very vibrant and the wool is very clean. Overall, they are expensive even with a coupon but do a great job.

Description of Work
They picked up rug and delivered it as promised.

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2013

4.0

12/23/2013


Scott B.

Fred showed up as scheduled and provided good information on the cleaning process for the type of rug we were cleaning. The carpet came out looking like new but there were some remnants of pet odors left in the rug after cleaning. If you have pet stains, I would suggest specifically indicating the area(s) and requesting deodorizing for the rug.

Description of Work
Cleaned a 10x12 area rug.

Category oriental rug cleaning

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2013

5.0

10/02/2013


Thomas H.

The picked up the rug and delivered it back to us on time. The rug was covered, unfortunately, in urine stains from our Dogs. The rug came back fresh and clean.

Description of Work
Cleaned our oriental rug.

Category carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2013

5.0

06/27/2013


Betty T.

Rug came back good as new. Stains and more importantly, the bad smells were gone.

Description of Work
Cleaned (to remove cat urine) a 6' x 9' tufted rug.

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2013

5.0

06/08/2013


Lynne P.

Picked up investment grade oriental rug (8' round) and pad. Returned both in one week. Both technicians were prompt and professional.

Description of Work
Cleaned rug and pad

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $140

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2013

1.0

04/17/2013


Shaina Z.

We took our 5x7 rug to this place to have a stain removed, and to have the rug Scotch Guarded and deodorized. The cleaning cost $88.88, and the deodorizing and Scotch Guarding cost $19.75 each. I went to pick up the rug when the it was ready and had a 20% off coupon from Angie's List, which the woman working the counter would not allow me to use. She told me it had to be presented at the time we dropped off the rug, not at the time of pick up, and that the coupon had not even come out yet when we dropped off the rug. This was simply untrue. The coupon was on Angie's List before we dropped off the rug. I know this for a fact because I only learned of this business in the first place by finding it on Angie's List, where the coupon was located. It stated nowhere on the coupon that it had to be presented at time of drop off. From a customer service standpoint, this struck me as a very odd choice on their part. I was a first time customer there, and own many rugs. In not allowing me to use a discount that they had advertised, they saved themselves about $30 in the short term, but ensured that I will never bring another rug to them for cleaning, thereby losing the business hundreds of dollars in the long run. This seems petty and short sided in my opinion. Most businesses go out of their way to earn new business, yet this one went out of their way to lose it. What really adds insult to injury, however, is that when I got the rug home and unwrapped it, THE STAIN HAD NOT BEEN REMOVED. Yet, they never mentioned to me that they had been unable to remove the stain when I picked up the rug, and they still charged me the full price of the cleaning, despite the fact that the rug was brand new and didn't require any cleaning other than the removal of that one stain. So in summation, I spent $140 to have a horrible customer service experience in which they arbitrarily refused to honor a coupon that they had posted on this site AND on top of it all, they did not even perform the service that they overcharged me for. There are other places in town that clean rugs. No one should ever use this place.

Description of Work
"cleaning" of 5x7 rug

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $140.26

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2013

Service Provider Response

We issue coupons in order to increase our customer base, that is true and our primary goal is to provide excellent customer service while following the company policy. The service provided for this customer did include cleaning , scotch guarding, and deodorizing, but no stain removal. We can not guarantee any stain removal as it states on our receipt that was signed by the customer. We do our best to remove stains but in some cases some stains are permanent. When it comes to the coupons , we have a clear store policy that states " ALL COUPONS AND PROMOTIONS MUST BE PRESENTED WHEN SIGNING THIS RECEIPT OTHERWISE THEY CANNOT BE APPLIED AT A LATER DATE" - This was signed by the customer on 03/25/2013. We understand that the customer might be unhappy but in the same time they never called to talk to the management about this issue in which case we might have made an exception. We strive to make all of our customers happy and we will continue to do so but in some cases like this, our employees go with the policy and as stated in the case the customer is going against what they have signed. We are sorry that they feel like they were not provided good service but looking at the facts - you be the judge of that.

5.0

10/30/2012


Pat G.

An amount to pick-up, clean and return the rugs was offered - I accepted - the rugs were picked up, cleaned and returned on the date they said they would be. My rugs had been pretty beat up when our home was damaged - Fred Remmers Rug Cleaners got them back to usable once more! Their representatives I plan on having another cleaned in the near future.

Description of Work
I had two hand tufted rugs cleaned and was very happy with the result.

Category carpet cleaners

Cost $326

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2012

5.0

05/02/2012


P H.

I give them "A" and I would use them again if needed.

Description of Work
They cleaned and extensively repaired my carpet.

Category carpet cleaners, carpet installation

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2012

5.0

03/22/2012


Chip E.

We invested in two handmade Oriental rugs 7 years ago when we moved into our new home. Recently we awoke in middle of the night to the sound of our dog getting sick (from both ends). Our dog didn't want to mess up our hardwood floors so he used the rugs instead! We were able to clean it up a bit but the odors were unbearable! The next day we called Fred Remmers. They arrived the next morning at the time scheduled. They provided a $ and time estimate then moved the furniture, rolled up the rugs and took them away. Eight days later, right on schedule they delivered the rugs and put them back in place. We were thrilled with results. The spots and odor were gone. And we could once again notice colors and details that had become muted with 7 years of foot traffic. I would definitely recommend Remmers. They did a great job at a fair price.

Description of Work
Cleaned two Oriental rugs - 9X11 and 9X14

Category oriental rug cleaning

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2012

5.0

02/27/2012


Thomas G.

He's one of the best carpet cleaners! It couldn't have been a better experience. He regularly offers coupons in the local paper so we always try to time their ads because they're such a good buy. He does it all and he does extremely well.

Description of Work
He had to repair our oriental carpets that had some frayed edges, as well as clean the carpets. We've used him several times for other services including cleaning the pad, repairing other carpets.

Category carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2011

5.0

09/29/2011


Jolene S.

went very well. no problems. i was glad to have found them on the internet and would recommend them to anyone who asked.

Description of Work
cleaned my oriental rug.

Category oriental rug cleaning

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2011

4.0

07/27/2011


Henrietta Fauzia B.

They did a very professional job. The real estate agent who sold the property gifted the service for us. They did a good job for the condition that the carpet was in.

Description of Work
Fred Remmers Rug Cleaners & Oriental Rug Gallery cleaned our carpets in April in the house that we bought.

Category carpet cleaners

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2011

5.0

06/29/2011


Bruce B.

I dropped off several valuable oriental rugs, some with stains. they did an exceptional job in the proper cleaning manner for rugs of that type. Price was good, service was done on time. I will use them again. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
oriental rug cleaning

Category carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2011

5.0

12/14/2010


Deborah L.

They did a good job and were professional. We've used them once or twice in the past and we were very pleased with the people and the work they did. The price was fair for what they did.

Description of Work
We used Fred Remmers Rug Cleaners to clean a small oriental carpet. It was 4 feet x 6 feet.

Category carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2009