Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Coleman & Owen Construction Inc

Founded 1995 • With Angi since December 2012

4.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2345 Bobbitt Rd

Memphis, TN 38076

Description

All inclusive home remodeling and repairs. Exterior of home and interior. We are a full service remodeling/service and repair company company with over 30 years experience.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/04/2016


Linda H.

.

Description of Work
Did a built-in entertainment center to coordinate with fireplace design they did previously. |

Category decks, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

4.0

09/04/2015


Robin D.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel, Sheetrock work was shotty. Tile work was good. Will not use this contractor again. Will hire job specific laborers. Will cut out a middle man.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/20/2015


Christina V.

Description of Work
Condo remodel/repair from tenant damage

Category decks, drywall, handyman service, remodeling

5.0

05/24/2015


Doug V.

All went very well. The estimate was reasonable, installation was smooth, and we could not be happier with the quality and fit of these all wood custom cabinets. We had no doubt Coleman and Owen Construction once again would deliver these results.

Description of Work
Build and install custom kitchen and laundry room cabinets

Category remodeling, home remodeling

3.0

11/06/2014


Dale L.

The cabintes were installed about 3 inches too high, and you can see where the old cabinets were. Mr. Own told me that the standard height for cabints above the countertops were 18 inches. Mine were installed over 20 inches above the counters. When I complained to Mr. Owen about this, he made an appointment to come out and take a look at them, and then failed to show up for the appointment. This project with them started in May. It is now November, and things are still not right. The cabinets themselves are beautiful, but they were installed improperly. Only one pair of the knobs on the cabinets were installed evenly, and the rest are all crooked. The glass carousel of the microwave oven is about 24 inches above the stove, which is too high, and one of the cabinet doors is warped, and does not close all the way. I have written them a letter asking for a refund of 25% due to the fact that they were installed wrong, and for extremely long amount of time that this project has taken.

Description of Work
Cabinet Installation

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/05/2014


Linda H.

The fireplace tile was replaced by marble and they built and installed a new mantle (from pictures and design discussions). The fireplace is just as I wanted---they did an excellent job. I can't remember the exact cost, but it was reasonable according to the other estimates I got.

Description of Work
Remodeled fireplace.

Category remodeling

5.0

06/30/2014

He was perfectly helpful and customer service was great. He did a great job and his workmen too. He was just quite laid back to work with.

Description of Work
They did repairs and remodeling work.

Category handyman service, remodeling

5.0

05/11/2014


Doug V.

This was the second time we contracted with Coleman and Owen Construction (Definitely return customers!). Work began and was completed on time, employees were professional and exhibited exceptional workmanship. See the pictures of before and after. Hopefully you will be as pleased as we are.

Description of Work
Finished bathroom ceiling and wall work roughed by a prior contractor. Removed living room coat closet adding footage to living room while moving living room coat closet to unused space under stairs.

Category remodeling

5.0

01/22/2014


Linda H.

It turned out very pretty. They did a good job. It took them about 3 or 4 weeks. Other than that, they were nice to deal with and they got the job done quickly. Everything was good except that it took so long to get out here. The boss responded quickly. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Coleman & Owen Construction Incorporated replaced the mantle and tile on the fireplace.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling

5.0

01/16/2014


Doug V.

We are extremely pleased. Everything was completed for use in 3 days. This was a job where Coleman and Owen Construction Inc. corrected a whirlpool tub installation that another contractor "botched-up" a few years ago. As seen in the attached pictures, the tub's tiles and stand-up shower's tiles are all tied together so when reinstalling the tub, Tom Owen and his crew (Casey and Bill) had to construct the tub's frame to an exact height that when the backer board, thinset, and tile are installed on the supporting frame, they meet up with exact height of the back wall of the shower, which they did perfectly. (Note: When the previous contractor installed the tub, the edges of the tub were not supported preventing a permanent seal around the tub's edges. Basically the tub was previously set on the floor and the ceramic tile was installed to the top edge of the tub vice installing the tile on a supporting frame and the edges of the tub set on the tile and supporting frame.) Notice in the attached picures that the faucets were moved to a more convenient location in the front corner of the tub; perfect! Also, to access the motor, electrical, and plumbing, the left half of the tiled tub side (side beneath the faucets) is removable since a wall or closet opposite the plumbing is not available. The grout around the left half is a "sanded" siliconized acrylic caulk which matches the grout's color and texture. Works and looks great! These guys work hard, are clean, considerate, and professional. Throughout I was provided a status of what they planned on accomplishing each day, what was accomplished, and the plans for the next day. And as for the qualify of work; the Jacuzzi sides are properly supported and secure and the tile work looks great; level, even, and clean grout lines. I can now continue with our remodeling work in this bathroom finishing the ceilings, walls, and trimming out the window. This was our first time having work performed by Coleman and Owen Construction and based on how happy we are with the way the installation of the Jacuzzi went, we plan on having Tom and his crew back to perform other projects on our house. He is currently working an estimate on another project which creates ample storage space under our stairs.

Description of Work
Install a Jacuzzi whirlpool tub including framing, tile installation, plumbing, necessary electrical work, and installation of shower glass. We also had the old water shut off valves to the tub replaced with ball valves.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] was a great customer. Very clear on communicating his wishes and understanding of construction ups and downs. It has been a pleasure working with and for him. He payed us promptly and even bought lunch for the guys. I'm very grateful for the gracious review of our work.
5.0

10/08/2013


Sara C.

The company's carpenters were very nice , listened to the Homeowner's suggestions and completed all the work that was agreed upon. Homeowner was very satisfied with the quality of the work.

Description of Work
Removed old gutters and damaged wood on exterior of home gables, window, trim & two fence partitions. Used carpentry skills to saw wood correctly and replace the damaged areas on the house and patio fence partitions. Primed both sides of all new wood furnished and cleaned up and removed debris, old damaged wood & gutters from property.

Category remodeling

5.0

09/11/2013


Georgann P.

Great job, everything looks great, fresh and new. they have great advice and patience with getting everything done right and finished properly. Not the cheapest job, but you can be sure it will be finished and how you want it to be done. Honest, trustworthy workers you can feel secure working in your home.

Description of Work
Remodel of master bedroom, bathroom, hallway and stairway. Painting, new stair rail, new tile floor, new light fixtures, new toilet, woodworking.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/12/2013


Georgann P.

Fantastic company. Tom makes sure everything is right, and all his people all do a good job. He has good experienced people for all the jobs, and will make sure it is done correctly. They are honest and fair. He is doing a lot of our work and will be continuing more work in the future. I would just keep him on full-time if I could as there is always the next thing to have done!

Description of Work
New tile floor, new back splash, 6 new faucets, sheet rock repairs, painting rooms and ceilings, carpentry repairs and additions. Future- new deck and more remodeling

Category ceramic tile, decks, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

12/21/2012


Erin S.

Tom's men were able to come out within two weeks of our request for an estimate and service. They were able to complete the work within a day. The men were professional and friendly. Tom came out the next day to inspect the work. The work ended up costing slightly less than anticipated. We have had some rodent problems since, but hope to have Tom come out and resolve in the near term.

Description of Work
Exclusionary Work: Locating and sealing various problem areas where rodents could come into our home.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks Customer! It was a pleasure working with you.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Eagle 3 Painting

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Hall Construction

    We can take care of all of your construction needs.  

    Fullington & Sons Services

    Home remodeling and restoration, pressure washing, handy man, painting, home repair, flooring, plumbing  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Full Service Remodeling. Bathroom & Kitchen Remodeling, Floors, Painting, Trim, Bookshelves, Windows, Doors, Siding.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Coleman & Owen Construction Inc

    How is Coleman & Owen Construction Inc overall rated?

    Coleman & Owen Construction Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Coleman & Owen Construction Inc open?

    Coleman & Owen Construction Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Coleman & Owen Construction Inc provide

    Coleman & Owen Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa

    Does Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Coleman & Owen Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Coleman & Owen Construction Inc?

    Yes, Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offer?

    Coleman & Owen Construction Inc offers the following services: Full Service Remodeling. Bathroom & Kitchen Remodeling, Floors, Painting, Trim, Bookshelves, Windows, Doors, Siding.

    Are there any services Coleman & Owen Construction Inc does not offer?

    Ask for details