Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Apex Ironworks, Inc.

Founded 2000 • With Angi since August 2012

4.5

(10) Verified Reviews

Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Description

Apex Ironworks, Inc. has been in business in Memphis, TN for over 12 years. It has grown into a well-respected and trusted ornamental iron gate and fence fabricator both in the the local and national market. Our website includes a large portfolio of completed work, tons of pictures, customer reviews, product information... too much to list here. We custom build and install and / or ship all styles of Iron fencing, garden gates, automatic driveway gates, railings, ballusters, iron mailboxes, and custom fabrication projects for customers in residential, commercial, and government settings. Contact us for a complete list of references. If you want it done quick and cheap, we are not for you. If you want CHeap, CHinese-made products, we are not for you. If you want high-quality custom built ironwork that you will be proud of, and that will last a lifetime, then we are here for you. Monday-Friday 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Central Time. Call us. Either Megan or I will answer, and you can get top professional service from either one of us, or Mike, Joe, Karl, or Jack. We are all listed on the website under the 'About Us" page. Unlike virtually all of our competition, most of us at Apex have bachelor's or graduate degrees and professional certifications from several 4-year Universities, including University of Kentucky, University of Memphis, University of Tennessee Knoxville, Fresno State, William R. Moore, State Tech Memphis, University of North Texas at Denton, and even an M.D. from the University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center at Memphis. Credentials of this caliber qualify us as sharp, intelligent, and professional craftsmen fully capable of any project you are considering. Also, on eBay we have had a 100% Positive Feedback Profile, for over 10 years. Both buying and selling. Our eBay profile is simply 'apexironworks'. Buy with confidence from the professionals at Apex Ironworks, Inc....

Other local Pros in your area

Df construction llc

Give us a call, or click for an estimate, today!  

Creative Landscapes

Creative Landscapes is a Quality Company and a Confident Choice. We specialize in Outdoor Living and Landscape Projects. We can handle all aspects of the project from planning to the installation of Irrigation Systems, Lighting Systems, Drainage, Fences, Arbors, Outdoor Kitchens, Patio, Pavers and more. With our excellence craftsmanship youll enjoy your outdoor space for many years to come. Call today 901-497-1176  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Creative Landscapes on Angi
S & M Customs

We are a complete home repair and remodeling company as well as a handyman service. We install windows and doors, paint interior and exterior, remodel full bathrooms, repair rotten wood and termite damage repair, install ceramic tile and laminate flooring. We are insured, licensed, offer great discounts and give free estimates within 100 miles. We are a family based company so our customers are our priority!  

Offers by S & M Customs on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/17/2015


Sharon S.

I called and left a message on their phone, after 4 days no response. Called back and voicemail box was full. Either they don't want my business or they are too busy. Either way it is not a professional way to conduct a business.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category wrought iron

5.0

06/18/2014


Frederick R.

Description of Work
He repaired an Iron Gate that some one had kicked in. He also made some improvements so that it would not happen again.

Category driveway gates

5.0

06/03/2014


Grant L.

Went great. Excellent work

Description of Work
Fixed Iron Driveway gate. Put up some new Fencing

Category driveway gates

5.0

02/25/2014


mark W.

Looks great!

Description of Work
Made and installed a drive thru gate extension.

Category welding,wrought iron,signs,driveway gates

5.0

10/27/2013


debbie K.

Mark is a very professional business owner and very conscientous about his products and advice he gives customers. He delivered my gate and all accessories to my farm in Tryon NC from his shop in Memphis at a very reasonable rate. It was as ordered and he was extremely helpful on how everything needed to be for our installer. Overall very good experience. As a small business owner who is experiencing a large amount of growth the company may not have the time for frequent emails and phone calls for feedback, as some may want (including me) so, as I found out, please bear with them, as I got what I ordered and expected, and would do buisness with them in the future.

Description of Work
built custom iron driveway gates

Category driveway gates

4.0

05/20/2013


Brian R.

Project was well scoped and specified. Pricing was approximately 5% higher than other bids but we selected Apex based on their attention to detail in the scoping process and examples of previous work. Contract was delivered within 1 week and we paid 50% up front. Completion time was given as 4 weeks. Ended up taking 12 weeks!!! Numerous contacts to Apex were made, and they were pleasant, but continually stressed that they were booked 100% and were behind schedule. Finished project was very well done and quality / installation met all expectations. I would recommend to others with the caveat that you need to be very specific about installation dates and perhaps negotiate discounts or other recovery if they are late in delivery.

Description of Work
Created a two door gate and additional iron fencing for our pool enclosure

Category driveway gates

4.0

01/31/2013


Debra M.

The estimate was completed by Mark and a contract was signed on September 21. I specifically asked if he thought the fence could be completed before Christmas a 3 month time frame. In the contract he indicated a competion date before Christmas unless there were weather problems. I agreed 25% down. 25 % at start and 50% at completion. Since I have a dog he assured me the time between the take down of the wood and install would be minimal. At the beginning of December he requested MLGW to locate the power lines. Around Dec 10 they took down the wood fence installed the new posts and told me they would be back the following week to install the fence They used a power auger to install the new posts and took the old post out of the ground unlike some who just saw off the old posts. His crew left without taking the 25% at start check. The yard was open from around Dec 10 until the fence was installed on January 21. The install was about 4 months after the contract was signed. The fence is high quality and the gate has a deadbolt lock with key. We are very happy with the quality of the materials.

Description of Work
I called Apex Ironworks and rquested an estimate to remove part of a wood fence and replace with an iron fence with gate about 60 feet.

Category driveway gates

5.0

12/05/2012


Bob H.

I searched for welding on the list, and several providers were listed. I called the first four to see if this was something they could do and to get an estimate. After reading the Apex company description, I thought they would not want to do something this small, but I called anyway. I got the answering machine and left a message. Later that day, Mark returned my call. I described what I needed and he said he would be able to help me out. They had an offsite job to do the next day, when I wanted this done. But he said if I came by between 8-9 am, he would have someone there. I got there about 8:30 the following morning and was greeted as I came up to the shop. Since the person there seemed to know exactly what I was looking for and started examing the cart, I assumed it was Mark. But I later learned it was Mike, Mark had just let everyone know to be expecting me and what I was looking for. Mike took the cart into the shop and we looked at it to determine exactly what needed to be done. I pointed out the spot weld I thought I needed, but after doing this, Mike went ahead and reinforced the other welds to make sure I wouldn't have a repeat. In the meantime, Mark had come over, introduced himself and took a look at what we were doing. He thought bigger washers on the sides of the wheels would make it more stable. As it was an ususual size, the drilled out washers to create slightly bigger holes that fit perfectly. Meanwhile, Mike had finished the welds (which was all I was expecting for the price I was quoted) but then began to grind them down to a smooth finish. After doing this, he then proceded to paint not only the welds, but also a couple of other spots that had gotten scuffed up over the last couple of years. Mark and Mike went way beyound my expectations and I will definantly use them again. I got to see the other iron products they were working on and plan on contacting them when I replace the ironwork over my patio door on the rear of my house. Everything I saw appeared to show a hight quality of workmanship, and pride in the work they were doing.

Description of Work
I needed to have a spot weld redone on a small travel cart I use for getting groceries. I searched for welding on the list, and several providers were listed.

Category metal restoration

5.0

09/28/2012


Mark J.

My husband called Apex after a friend of ours found out we were in the market for a new driveway gate. They had a fence done by Apex last year and were very pleased. So, we visited their shop and looked at getting an estimate. It was a very busy place! Several very nice gates under construction that we got to see. Joe was very informative. He showed us a lot of styles and finish options. We learned a lot about the process and decided to get the gate from them after shopping around a little bit. It took about 8 weeks total but it was well worth it. All the posts were put in concrete and the workers were very organized and polite. While they were there one of their guys (Mikey?) took a little time to explain to our very inquisitive young son what all they were doing, and how the work is done. Zach is 8 and it made his day. Overall it was a very good experience and we love our new gate. I keep meaning to take a picture of it so I will post it as soon as I can. I would definitely hire them again and would not hesitate to give them a good reference!

Description of Work
New iron double driveway and iron fence to connect from our house across the driveway to the neighbor's fence.

Category driveway gates

Service Provider Response

This was a driveway gate for a house in our neighborhood. Automatic gates are my favorite thing to build. Mike Hendricks is the welder they are talking about. The boy there kept calling him Mikey, so we all started calling him Mikey. Mike is kind of a kid at heart anyway (he's a golden boy from California). Anyway, this was a custom designed gate with a dark brown powder coated finish. Apollo brand gate operators (the best value for the money and extremely well-made). We are now in the process of planning to build matching iron fence for the entire yard (300+ ft.). I love customers who take an interest in their home and understand that QUALITY is not a rush-job. I would rather take more time to do the job right and have the customer love it, than the other way around. Thanks for the great review and we can't wait to get going on the fence! Jim, Mike said he is bringing his basketball when we come back over there... :) Thanks guys!
3.0

08/20/2012


Barry W.

I received no contact for 4 weeks. I called several time to inquire about the status and was told they were backed up and very busy. I noted that the time frame called out was 5-8 weeks. Mark Johnson the owner stated that is why he hadn't cashed the down payment check. The down payment check was cashed in early June. Another 4 weeks went by (there were some follow up calls in there - again I was told they were backed up) with no activity. Finally I got the owner on the phone and pinned hime down on a date to come by and take final measurements on the patio. they finally came by 7/13 to take measurements and explain that they'd install mounting brackets for the posts and weld the posts together and install them then take measurements to complete the rail sections. 2 week later I, 7/27, I received a call asking what finish i wanted on the posts and was told the posts were welded and needed to go to the finisher. 2 weeks more went by no contact. I had left a couple of messages previously as well as emails and did not receive a response.finally i got the owner on the phone and was told the finisher was backed up. today is 8/20. nearly 4 months has passed and i've spent $1450 and have nothing but 16 bolts drilled into my patio. Seems like a very nice man with good employees but response is terrible and follow up is terrible. UPDATE : 9/28 the rail was finally installed September 21. I feel that the quality of the work is good and the people on site to install were professional, courteous and good at what they do. UPDATE: 10/16/14. Much of what is said here is true. I wanted the job done right. The sad part was that all of my face to face dealings with Mr Johnson were positive. He talks of his workers doing good work - no one ever disputed that. They were never the issue. Joe was the most pleasant person to deal with in his shop. What it all comes down to is that i was told 6 weeks by contract ( that is off of memory) once it was signed he said it would take 8. What it ended up taking was 16 weeks. the finish I chose he suggested. he said it was new and would go with my house. No one is disputing the quality of the work. The issue is his not returning phone calls or emails and letting promise dates glide by with no notice. I was forced to go to Angie's list in some hopes of getting a response. and that I did. the minute my payment processed he called me wanting me to take down my commenst on agies's list. I explained they woudln't be there if he'd been more responsive. With that he raised his voice at me. That was the entire issue. His offer to remove the railing was phrased as " we will come and rip it out if you want!". Disappointing. I manage projects for a living. I know responsive and not responsive. He wasn't. If he's busy I understand but you can't expect someone to wait double the contract date without updates and be happy. All he had to do was work with me. The attached explanation from him was more than I every got from him in 16 weeks. My intent was to come on here and remove my inital post until I saw his reply blaming his customer for being difficult and demanding. I'm disappointed with how he handled it. No one here is quesitoning his workers. it's his responsiveness that is the issue. We all get busy. Blaming customers is not the right path expecially when they've waited so long. 80(

Description of Work
Had been in discussions for quite some time to have an Iron rail installed around the front porch of my home. Inital impression was positive. I had drawn out exactly what I wanted with pictures and part numbers. Job was to install approximately 34' of hand rail and 4 cast iron posts. Contract was signed first week of May 2012. Owner was very responsive and came by the house to pick up the signed contract. Which called out an estimated installation time of 5-8 weeks.

Category wrought iron,driveway gates

Service Provider Response

This project was very demanding and that is why he called us to build it and not another company. It was a lengthy process due to the customer's special order parts and specifications, extremely busy summer, hottest summer on record for 30+ years, all vendors involved also were very busy and this was a special project with a special powder coated antiqued finish. The customer insisted to be called in for meetings to discuss virtually every aspect of the internal welding process, which we were happy to accomodate (but it only adds more time that way). All the welding was cast iron and solid steel, at a below average price. These railings will easily last 100 years. Customer was told in the beginning it would be a long process. He was fine with that, because he stated he wanted the end result to be right. And it was. Railings were finished, customer paid for them, and I am happy to provide pictures of the finished beautiful work, and full documentation of the numerous emails from the customer showing how hard we worked to satisfy this (self-described) VERY particular customer and build it per his exact specs and materials. The competition in Memphis doesn't take the time to do that. The customer's review was written before the work was even finished. When I read it, I called him and offered full refund to remove the railings if he was unhappy. He said no, he liked the railings and was happy to pay for them (see the catch-22 this is headed for?). He even said to me that he wrote it in an emotional state after a bad day at work. End result: Work is finished, photographed, and documented, available to send to anyone on here by Apex via our email, customer paid and loves the railings, and said he would edit the review (he wrote before we had a chance to finish). He has still not ammended his review as he promised, as of this writing. Would I work for this customer again? Absolutely! And I would charge a LOT more next time to deal with countless emails and a very high-maintainence personality. The railings are fabulous. I am proud of Joe's hard work and expert attention to detail. Look up Joe on our website and learn more about him.

    Apex Ironworks, Inc.

    Founded 2000 • With Angi since August 2012

    4.5

    (10) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    850 N Graham St

    Memphis, TN 38122

    Services Offered

    High-quality, custom ornamental iron products, American made and built BY US IN OUR OWN SHOP in Memphis, TN. We can install in the Memphis area, or ship nationwide to the Continental United States. We build iron fencing, gates, automatic driveway gates, railings, doors, and iron mailboxes of all types and styles. All powder-coat finishes. Also custom welding projects, iron foyer gates, and many other products. We use high-quality Apollo brand gate operators, made in the U.S.

    Services Not Offered

    Cheap, low-quality, imported, pre-fabricated junk on a shoe-string budget, spray-painted finishes, the product thrown up in a hurry- (then nope. we are not for you). We also do NOT use cheap, flimsy GTO (or similar) brand gate operators, like our competition often does. We do not ship our high-quality products outside the United States of America. We are an American company serving hard-working U.S. Citizens only. We get it right, the first time.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes