Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Wildwood Land Design, LLC

Founded 2002 • With Angi since March 2012

4.9

(55) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

205 Fox Rd

Knoxville, TN 37922

Description

Wildwood Land Design is a full service Landscape Design/Build Company. We are family owned and operated and have been serving East Tennessee for 12 years. We offer free initial consultation and a free estimate on most landscape work. Creative Ideas. Custom Designs. Complete Landscape Construction....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/06/2017


Mitchell B.

They were very prompt and had all the work done within 3 days -- all the work was top quality. My only "beef" was two loose connectors on the irrigation system that cost me an hour's work on my own to install clamps and washers (not fun with my arthritic knees) and an extra $10 on my water bill until I found where the irrigation system was leaking after I connected my water hose to it and turned it on without checking the connections first . . . which I should have done.

Description of Work
Replaced river rock borders around several beds of bushes alongside my driveway and around 3 sides of my house with pavers set at 90-degree angles to one another. Pulled out cement paves from an Azalea bed and, after elevating the bed, set new pavers along the front and one side. Filled a large mulch bed that had mostly been washed away by the rain with all river rock. Extended an irrigation hose to another river rock bed along the south side of the house. Installed additional flagstones to make a walkway on the north side through the existing bushes.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

09/22/2017


Susan M.

Grant created a design that gave me just what I wanted. The team executed his design per the plan and did a great job. They were very professional and friendly, always happy to answer any questions I had. I love the results.

Description of Work
I bought a new house and wanted more landscaping around the house and in the yard.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

3.0

09/08/2017


Roger M.

We had to wait 2-1/2 weeks to have Grant come over for an initial meeting and review of the job. He was very nice and helpful and expressed interest in quoting/doing the job. We then waited 3 weeks for them to get back to us with a quote, only to hear from Grant that he is leaving to take a new job elsewhere and that we should find someone else to do our job. We wish him well, but also wish we didn't have to wait so long to find out Wildwood couldn't do the job. Should have been handled more professionally.

Description of Work
We contacted Wildwood for a sizeable landscaping job --- in part due to excellent reviews on Angie's List. Job includes grading, making beds, planting 10 trees, 50 plants and seeding.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/15/2017


Leslie P.

We are very pleased with the work. The irrigation system works great and the border wall looks very nice. The staff worked very hard and were very professional. Our grandchildren liked to watch the progress of the work and the workers were very nice to them. They easily accommodated two small changes to the work plan as it progressed. The work site was cleaned up after the job was completed and our lawn and garden areas were restored to their prior condition as well as could be expected. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
We had a stone border/retaining wall and irrigation system installed in and around garden areas around our house.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

5.0

07/09/2017


James C.

The project started earlier than planned, which was convenient for us. Grant was very professional during the pre-planning, landscape desIgn, and construction phases. The crew was prompt, courteous, and professional. We were extremely pleased with their work. We had a couple of minor issues afterwards, which were rapidly dealt with and fixed. We would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
We needed the flat part of our back yard re-excavated to improve drainage and replace barrier and gravel. We also needed to install a stacked stone 3+ foot wall behind the bonus room.

Category hardscaping

5.0

06/23/2017


Kevin S.

We had a few different meeting with Grant Smith to come up with a comprehensive landscape design for our property. He was kind enough to come out to our house on at least 3 occasions to make changes to the initial design. He was very responsive to our comments and suggestions and ultimately came up with a great design for our property. The installation process could not have gone any better. The crew was always punctual and professional and did a great job with installation. The crew even had a few suggestions as we went along for improvements. Not only was the design and installation superior, but we were also pleased with the quality of plantings they brought. We will definitely use Wildwood again for our landscaping needs.

Description of Work
My wife and I contacted Grant Smith at Wildwood to come up with a complete landscape design for our entire property. We have a few acres of land with some very steep slopes so the proper design was critical. We needed a major landscape overhaul and were so glad that we contacted Wildwood.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/21/2017


Jeanine F.

The crew was very professional, hard working, and easy to interact with. We were very pleased with what they did on our landscaping and pavers. It all looked great.

Description of Work
This is our second year to hire this provider for maintenance for our landscaping and pavers.

Category hardscaping

5.0

06/13/2017


Dale C.

The owner Doug took his time to work with us to insure we got the most for our budget. We are very pleased with the pattern, style, brand and craftsmanship that this company represents. Wildwood is in Knoxville TN and our place in in Gatlingburg TN, his team were there when they said they would and worked long hours to finish the job on time. One of my neighbors, who is retired from the construction business, complimented the craftsmanship as "top notch". Many of my other neighbors complimented that they asked for the dirt/rocks/plants that were removed to be relocated and the staff were very accommodating. Our patio required a lot of additional handling because it is in a resort with a lot of rules, no motorized access to the back of our property, and required a retaining wall. Take my advise, I got 4 quotes, done a ton of research on each of quoting companies who were all listed on Angie/BBB................... this is a very special professional company and you wanted be disappointed. Their prices are fair and you will not have to chase them to get the job started and/or completed. Doug and staff, thanks for making our vacation home stand out. Kind Regards, Dale and Naomi Crow

Description of Work
Add a new Paver Patio extension to current concrete patio

Category hardscaping

5.0

05/12/2017


Robin R.

I was very pleased with the work, which was started as promised (I was kept informed when the arrival time was very slightly delayed) and completed quickly and professionally. The workers were very kind and polite as well as professional and worked hard to get everything just like I wanted. They did a good job of cleaning up also. We love our new look!

Description of Work
Landscaping upgrades - stone edging, new plants, mulch

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

5.0

05/04/2017


Rose G.

Outstanding. Doug and his crews were very professional. We will definitely recommend this company. While we haven't received the final bill, the estimate was $6800 with additional cost to reevaluate and make changes to our irrigation system. We are very pleased with Wildwood Land and Design.

Description of Work
Tear out 10 years old landscape and replace.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

5.0

03/14/2017


Danni V.

Very well. Installers were very professional and friendly. They cleaned up everything and left the property in good shape.

Description of Work
Installed an irrigation system at residence to include watering beds and grass. Install plantings in beds.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch

5.0

03/10/2017


David T.

I can highly recommend Wildwood Land Design. Grant came out promptly and looked at and photographed our site and then worked with us to come up with a design. We reviewed his design in his office and made a few changes, and picked out materials, based on his recommendations. Brian and his construction crew came out as scheduled (adjusted for adverse winter weather) and did a great job. They field-engineered and installed a substantial six-foot retaining wall to anchor the patio. The detail work of cutting and fitting the stonework was incredible. (Our neighbor who observed the construction said, "Those guys must be great at jigsaw puzzles!") We are very pleased with the results. Due to the very wet weather during construction, there was considerable damage to the surrounding yard, but Brian and crew regraded and reseeded it after the patio was complete. Grant came out several times during construction to check on progress. They were not the cheapest bidder, but their cost was in the ballpark of other bids I received, and the quality was the best.

Description of Work
We needed a patio designed and installed to fit a difficult location with a steep slope on our property.

Category hardscaping

5.0

09/25/2016


Daniel B.

Project went great. Grant and Doug are very quality and detailed oriented. The installation crew was very efficient and friendly. Overall, the project turned out better than expected.

Description of Work
We had pavers overlaid on a concrete patio under our deck off of a walkout basement.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

09/19/2016


Roger C.

Once construction began it went very smooth. The project did take longer than we and the provider estimated. The finished product was worth the wait.

Description of Work
Designed and built a beautiful hardscape in order to make our backyard very user friendly. They were very professional and were very proficient during the build. They stressed perfection and customer satisfaction. Thanks to all involved.

Category landscaping

3.0

08/31/2016


TERRIE W.

There were about 30 different plants involved in about a fourth of the front yard. This was done in November. I cared for the plants by watering as instructed after the planting and in the Spring. In June, one of the plants died and another (the same type plant) in August. I contacted Grant and he told me that they do not insure the life of their plants unless there is an irrigation system involved. He said that with the hot summer and the lack of rain that it was likely nature's fault that the plants failed. I was very good to water all of these plants. I believe that if I did not water them that more of them would have failed. I feel that the plants were not in good condition when they were planted. I feel that they should have been replaced by the company since it is under a year and they did not survive.

Description of Work
landscaping

Category landscaping

5.0

06/23/2016


Wayne H.

The project went as near perfectly as one could hope. They planned precisely and executed in the same manner. They came on the scheduled day and completed the work when they said they would. They sanitized the work site at the end of every day and were concerned about never making it a typical work site eyesore. Their hardscape work was engineered and executed with the precision of a space scientist. Their soft scape work was performed flawlessly. Their nursery stock was healthy and high eye appeal. The installers were of high quality in every respect, very polite and respectful, no foul language hard working and very skilled. The best job overall that I have ever had done, bar none.

Description of Work
Designed and installed a serpentine shaped decorative block wall, landscaped it magnificently, reworked the irrigation system to maximize the delivery of water to the newly planted ground cover, flowers, shrubbery and trees, replanted grass (even though extensive efforts were made to minimize damage to existing grass), mulched completely and did a cleanup second to none.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping

5.0

05/28/2016


Jeanine F.

Grant Smith designed our complete landscaping a couple years ago. We were so pleased we called him to come out and help us with what needed to be replaced, etc. as explained in the paragraph above. Three guys (one here two years ago) arrived in the morning and started working until they were finished in the afternoon, even with a slight rain Put down large bags to gather all the dead weeds, plants, etc. and hauled away. Power washed our patio and all sidewalks after finishing. We had Grant add us to their list of clients for next April.

Description of Work
: Removed shrub and replaced with Dragon Lady. : Pushed rock back 1" and fixed edging; replaced outside of edging where excess rock was with sod. : Removed dead five dead plants and replaced with Plum Yews. : Planted three Blue Angel Hostas in a blank area with edging and filled with mulch only. : Reinforced edging around a Holly. : Trimmed Dragon Lady Holly and shaped box woods. : Selectively trimmed and pruned all plants. : Pulled all weeds. : Applied a pre-emergent to keep weeds from germinating. : Mulched all areas.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

05/28/2016


Astra C.

Before starting the project, Grant Smith met with me to view the property and discuss my preferences. A couple of weeks later we met at his office to go over the design plan that he had created. From the design plan, it was apparent that Grant had really listened during our initial meeting. He went over the plan with me in detail, showing pictures of the various shrubs and plants to be included, and discussing options. With it being a peak time of year in Spring, the installation date was set for about a month out. Grant followed up on the scheduling prior to the installation. The crew arrived on time and worked efficiently. The Wildwood Land Design team did a great job, and I'm very pleased with the transformation to the front yard of our home. I obtained multiple estimates for this project, and although Wildwood was a bit higher than others, it was worth it for the level of professionalism and quality service provided. I highly recommend working with Grant Smith and the team from Wildwood Land Design.

Description of Work
Designed and installed landscaping for front yard of home. This included removing a small tree, creating flower beds, with river rock, shrubs, plants and ornamental trees, as well as installing a drain box beside the driveway to address a drainage issue.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel

5.0

05/03/2016


Brad D.

Wildwood Land Design did a great job for us. Doug and his staff were all a pleasure to deal with. Doug listened to our ideas about what we envisioned for our back yard, and came up with a solution that matched our vision. The paver products they use are locally sourced, which meant a lot to us. The installers were friendly and professional, and seemed to enjoy what they do. They were very patient with me and had no problem explaining their process to me. The final product looks great, and we're enjoying it already. I would definitely recommend using Wildwood Land Design for any landscape/hardscape project.

Description of Work
Wildwood Land Design built us a stone paver patio approximately 12 feet by 22 feet, and mulched the flower beds in our back yard.

Category mulch, hardscaping, patios

4.0

02/25/2016


VICTORIA T.

The runoff of the rain all does down that dry river run. That helped the irrigation. I had several trees placed in a very wet area and the trees did not do well. I thought the price was a little high.

Description of Work
We used Wildwood Land Design. They renovated everything, front and back including ripping up the yard, doing a stone patio, trees, shrubs, laying mulch and designing beds. They even got some big rock boulders in there and put down a river rock bed. We have a stream running through our back yard and they kind of laid a dry river bed down.

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, patios

5.0

12/08/2015


Leslie P.

Results exceeded our expectations. The retaining wall is very pretty and makes a graceful sweep around the front of the house. It is absolutely level. The work was done promptly and quickly, within a few days of my first contacting the company. They cleaned up completely after the job was done. This was relatively small job, but I felt that I was treated with all the respect that would be given to a much larger job. It was a pleasure dealing with this company.

Description of Work
Constructed a stone retaining wall and border in our front yard

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

11/26/2015


Joe M.

Grant Smith did a good job of listening to what we wanted which he used to develop a very nice preliminary design for our new flagstone patio and walkway. He has a great aesthetic design sense, and that preliminary arrangement was very close to what we eventually went with. We then were able to interactively fine-tune the design at Grant's office until we arrived at the final scope. He was open to ideas to that would save us money while still preserving the original overall concept. Grant then supplied the design drawings that we needed to attach to our application for approval for the project from the local HOA. Demo of the previously existing concrete pad in the area was started on the day promised. Bryan and his crew then took over and put down a solid gravel sublayer before coming back with the flagstones and polymeric sand. Bryan was very meticulous to make sure that the patio had the proper slope to ensure good drainage, and that the stones fit together properly to create a great-looking final installation. Bryan and his team then put down amended soil and planted the trees that were part of the design, and then covered the remaining planting areas with mulch as planned.

Description of Work
Wildwood prepared the design for our landscaping project, supplied design documents to help us secure HOA approval, demo'd the existing concrete patio, and then provided all labor, materials and plants to implement the new design.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

08/16/2015


Martha M.

Wildwood Land Design sent an outstanding team to do the work. They arrived at the appointed time, were most pleasant and created a beautiful design with the creek stones. They finished in one day; we are completely pleased and will use them again.

Description of Work
Wildwood Land Design lined our driveway with creek stone.

Category landscaping

5.0

07/28/2015


Sheryl B.

I contacted Wildwood and spoke with Grant Smith. Take my advice and ASK for Grant!! He was so wonderful. He came out to my house and I explained exactly what I wanted - all of the horrible shrubs and bushes removed and replaced with a cohesive design that was low maintenance. Grant listened to my wish list and even walked around the block to look at a design idea I liked. He then went back to his office to work up a design. Grant called me about a week later and we met at his office to view the plan. I loved it! It had everything I asked for. After getting another estimate we decided to go with Wildwood. I was really impressed with the level of detail and the continual communication from Grant. He kept me informed as the date of my installation. He kept me informed every step of the way. I absolutely love the look of my landscaping now!! I've even posted pictures on Wildwoods Facebook and I would recommend them without hesitation. Thank you GRANT for helping me love the look of my house again!!!

Description of Work
Provided and executed a landscape design for my front yard

Category landscaping

5.0

05/22/2015


Tara H.

They were very timely and very nice. The design of the yard was really extraordinary. I had neighbors and passersby slowing down just to look at my yard and neighbors stopping me on the street to tell me how amazed they were with the transformation. They were exact about when they could start and how long it would take. Considering the amount of work they did, the price was very reasonable. They even worked in the rain just to make sure the job got done. I really can't say enough good things about the quality of the work and the kindness and professionalism of the staff. I was really blown away.

Description of Work
I used Wildwood 2 times in the past 2 years. The first job was late Spring of 2014 and they completely redid my backyard. They started with Bobcats and cleared everything out (because the entire yard was unfinished berms and vines and weeds). They transformed my backyard from a mess to an incredible, immaculately manicured, beautifully designed, oasis outside my back door. They redid all the berms and planted bushes, flowers, and seeded grass on about a 1/2 acre of property. They also used boulders and drainage ditches to help with the runoff. They brought in a subcontractor to build a custom fence around the yard as well. This Spring (the job referenced in this review in March), they came back and redid the mulch and trimmed bushes. They planted more seed also.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

    Other local Pros in your area

    Landscape Services By Sean Harris

    Small, American owned landscape service company. Providing service in Knoxville, Tennessee and the surrounding counties. Licensed and insured. Down payment of half is due at beginning of any installations. Balance then due upon satisfaction of completion of job. Maintenance and some services are billed at an hourly rate, unless previously agreed upon. Please allow 4-6 weeks for scheduling. Military and Senior discounts upon request.  

    Top Notch Service, Inc.

    We specialize in excavating, leveling, dump truck hauling , gen. Yard leveling , drainage. ( for driveway). Etc. footers and more! Stone, gravel or sod delivered and leveled. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, ( striving to please, the lord).! while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Southern Acres Lawncare and Landscaping

    Southern Acres is a lawn care company based out of Knoxville, TN. We take care of clients in Knox County & surrounding areas.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    on most work
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscaping, Irrigation, Landscape Lighting, Hardscapes, Patios, Pavers, Flagstone, Retaining Walls, Streams, Fire Places, Fire Pits, Fire Features, Outdoor Living Spaces, Outdoor Kitchens, Grills, Pizza Ovens, Outdoor Audio, Landscape Maintenance, Seasonal Color, Mulch, Drainage

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Wildwood Land Design, LLC

    How is Wildwood Land Design, LLC overall rated?

    Wildwood Land Design, LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Wildwood Land Design, LLC open?

    Wildwood Land Design, LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 AM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 AM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 AM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 AM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 AM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 AM

    What payment options does Wildwood Land Design, LLC provide

    Wildwood Land Design, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Wildwood Land Design, LLC offer free estimates?

    No, Wildwood Land Design, LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Wildwood Land Design, LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Wildwood Land Design, LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Wildwood Land Design, LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Wildwood Land Design, LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Wildwood Land Design, LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Wildwood Land Design, LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Wildwood Land Design, LLC?

    Yes, Wildwood Land Design, LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Wildwood Land Design, LLC offer?

    Wildwood Land Design, LLC offers the following services: Landscaping, Irrigation, Landscape Lighting, Hardscapes, Patios, Pavers, Flagstone, Retaining Walls, Streams, Fire Places, Fire Pits, Fire Features, Outdoor Living Spaces, Outdoor Kitchens, Grills, Pizza Ovens, Outdoor Audio, Landscape Maintenance, Seasonal Color, Mulch, Drainage