The Premier Handyman

About

Founded 2013 • With Angi since January 2014

The Premier Handyman specializes in all phases of home repair, painting, handyman services for residential and commercial establishments.24/7 Emergency services... Whether you are looking to remodel the kitchen, bathroom,upgrade the office environment, or just have the office repainted, we can help. We are an insured and bonded handyman company that goes the distance to provide quality workmanship you can count on. We offer free estimates, guaranteed customer satisfaction and exceeding industry standards with our 2 year warranty on every project and the materials we use. Lend your trust in The Premier Handyman and we can help you easily navigate your home improvements. We'd love to help with your "TO DO" list Sometimes it's the smaller things that you need done. With previous customers our handyman services have included: moving large safes up and down flights of stairs, power washing homes, sidewalks, driveways, commercial parking lots and drive-thru lanes with "gum removal". Installing doggie doors, home made book shelves, ceiling fans, faucet repair or replacement, towel bars, toilet paper holders, screened in porch, tree, bush and shrub trimming. But not limited to!!! With The Premier Handyman you can mark all of these problems off your "To Do" list. The best part about it all, you only have to contact one company to do it. Contact The Premier Handyman to help with your pesky "To Do" list... We're glad to help with your large home repairs as well....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A small bath remodel

+61 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(276) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

240

4

14

3

8

2

4

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

handyman (239)drywall (52)electrician (40)plumbers (38)interior painting (33)woodworking (33)door installation (30)lighting (25)decks & porches (21)flooring (19)home remodeling (18)general contractors (17)
Showing 1-25 of 276 reviews
5.0

06/27/2022


Shelby J.

Premier Handyman were great to work with. They were polite and direct when inquiring about our request as well as scheduling. We had some back and forth with the invoice, and they went above and beyond in helping alleviate any questions we had. We will surely be hiring them again!

Description of Work
Cat Door Install

Category doors

Cost $186

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2022

5.0

05/11/2022


Beth C.

The Premier Handyman service is reliable, responsive and professional. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Kitchen sink replacement

Category appliance repair, electrician, plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2022

5.0

04/15/2022


Dianne S.

Excellent! Employees are professional, courteous, neat. Gets the job done efficiently. Jobs are reasonably priced.

Description of Work
Replace some boards on the deck and add stairs from deck to ground.

Category deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2022

Images

Review for The Premier Handyman - 5901 Chapman Hwy, Knoxville, TN - 39699572
5.0

12/31/2021


DEBRA M.

They understood about Tesla and EV chargers and requirements. Breaker had to be replaced. The first circuit breaker did not work and they returned with another one to fix it. We have an old house with an older breaker box, but plenty of amps coming in. Took a LOT of wiring because the carport is very far from the circuit breaker box. Very nice to work with. The estimate was accurate and less than another electrician.

Description of Work
Installation of TESLA level 2 charger on carport and move other EV level 2 charger on carport

Category electrician

Cost $1,495

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2021

5.0

12/29/2021


Benjamin H.

Overall, pleased with the results. It was a significant & complex job for a "handyman". A combination of scope creep and underestimating led to some delays and overages along the way. I do think the crew could improve teamwork to ensure communication and boost efficiency. The important part is that they eventually finished the job squared up at the end to help make it right and left with a guarantee to fix anything after a year.

Description of Work
The crew framed in two walls, french door, door, new pantry, hung prefab kitchen cabinets, new trim.

Category remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2021

3.0

10/23/2021


Justin K.

Does good work, but not the best at communication.

Description of Work
Finish 2 small rooms in basement

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, lighting, interior painters

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2021

Images

Review for The Premier Handyman - 5901 Chapman Hwy, Knoxville, TN - 39518490

+1 More

1.0

10/11/2021


Steve H.

By calling "Premier handyman) I thought I could get various projects done to my house to get it ready to sell...Corey is the person that was responsible for the people who came to my house.. The inside painter took 9 days to paint three small bedrooms, a small half bathroom and one small full bathroom. His estimate was 5 gallons of paint for the three bedrooms and baths...and 25 gallons for the exterior of my home..(which I supplied). The interior wound up being 7 gallons (painter ran out) and the exterior took 35 gallons... The interior painter used up 5 gallons of paint without cutting or edging any of the rooms... he did not even paint any of the small half bath...then he ran out of paint on day 7... the result after two more days (I was charged for) was a different shade of paint was used to cut in all three rooms he painted...it was a mess.. I would up with all of the wall surfaces having different shades around the ceiling at the top of the walls.. and my half bath was simply never touched... Corey never once came to check the progress or even care about the job that was done.. the bottom line is I paid this company for 9 days at $63.00 per hour for a man that did something this bad...I had to re paint everything myself... After discussing this with Cory he first said he would fix it..but then when he realized how long it would take ..he changed, became insistent it was somehow my fault that his painter ran through 5 gallons of paint without finishing one room.......and it turned into him screaming at me in public....in the front of my house..... I believe, so I would throw him out...and he would not have to fix his mess.....which I did.. The bottom line is, this person, Corey is not trustworthy..I supplied the paint that he estimated for this project.....his policy of charging a 30% surcharge on materials that his workers need..turns into another gimmick because he will never give you the opportunity to go and purchase the products yourself and save the ridicules surcharge..he ran up a bill of over $500.00 for the "materials" need to do this job..(masking tape, brushes and rollers to paint three rooms).. anyways.. he will no doubt blame me..for being difficult..as he did when he was in public in front of my house yelling and calling me (his customer) a jerk...my friend was there to witness this mess...His accountant is no better than he is ... tried to tell me that the painter had been fired...which was supposed to make me feel better... but the painter still works for this company and is probably painting some other trusting customers house today.... In conclusion..Just do yourself a favor and get anyone else but Corey and Premier Handyman to do your job... If you dont ,you will be sorry (like I am) you called on this company... This was $10,000 I spent... and got about $5000.00 worth of actual usable service.. never hire this company for anything.

Description of Work
Painting indoors, misc.carpentry outdoor, masonry painting

Category appliance repair, house painters, interior painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2021

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed] leaving us a review without all of the facts is very unfair and lacks integrity.So first let's start by telling all of the facts that support both sides of this story. The most important facts I'll start with. #1. This customer purchased the paint for this project. I recommend him a PRO MAR 300 from Sherwin williams. Not lowes they don't sell it.He did purchase 5 gal of interior Pro Mar 300 from a Sherwin williams store so we applied that to the walls, once we ran out we gave this customer the opportunity to buy more paint as he requested to purchase all materials. he said he would go get us more.After we ran out of paint on this project, Mr [Member Name Removed] decided upon himself to go buy Sherwin williams paint from lowes. Not Pro Mar 300, because they don't sell that model of it. So he got a basic brand Sherwin williams paint. Now any Painter know that no matter what you do, you can NOT change your brands/models of paint or where you purchased the paint...Same brand and all MUST be used in order for it to blend properly. **So when this customer decided (he didn't want to drive to Bearden hill Sherwin williams as he told me) to get the correct paint, he only went to lowes because it's 20 minutes down the road** That is why your paint didn't match on your walls /trimming in the rooms..BUT I 100% STILL OFFERED TK FIX THIS FREE OF CHARGE. NO DOUBT ABOUT IT AND STILL WOULD. #2 As to our markup of 30%, I mentioned this to you at our estimate SEVERAL times this is why you chose to buy most materials yourself, but failed to provide us with brushes tape and rollers plastic, floor covering materials etc. I see you mentioned 3 bedrooms and 2 baths but failed to mention we also painted the entire outside of your Raw brick home which is now green. All of your fascia and sofit as well. Not just 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and a hallways. That takes a lot of tape, plastic, etc for ensure we protect everything properly. at least we don't have any complaints from you about our cleanup or prepwork right?? You are only telling the bits and pieces of your story. Only the parts that make you look good and us bad to be completely honest. #3 When we met at your home after the job was complete, I never once yelled at you. I assured you over and over again that we would fix ANY issues that you did have 100% free of charge AND we were under my estimated budget by 4k.. I brought my lead guy ( a retired police officer and the guy who painted your home) with me so I had witnesses of the events and he could see any issues that needed to be fixed so it was clear. I know for a fact I never screamed at you as you say. The reason YOU got upset was because I found the paint buckets in your garage and pointed out that the paint blending issues in the bedrooms Was NOT OUR FAULT. You purchased the paint and we applied it. You mentioned you never knew that you couldn't buy different paint brands and it wouldn't match. Again that's not my responsibility when a customer wants to buy their own materials. If I bought the materials this issues would of never happened. In fact, this job and occurrence had us issue a new company policy where we no longer allow the customer to buy their own paint. 12 years of allowing customers to buy their own paint without a single hiccup and now this. So we put in place a new rule and now we must buy the paint for all interior and exterior painting projects to avoid an issue like this again. When customers buy their own materials and don't buy the same paint as we applied AND REQUESTED prior, we can't be held responsible for that. Even though you bought the paint, I still assured you we would fix it 100% for free without a doubt and you kept loosing your cool and told me to get off your property once we realized your mistake of buying lowes paint. You were even upset that I brought a witness (he was the guy who painted your home not a stranger ) with me to the meeting at your place. You got mad as soon as you got out of the truck and asked "WHAT THE F*** HE WAS DOING HERE". You were so uncooperative during our meeting, there wasn't anything I could to to fix it even though it wasn't our fault. But again, we painted the entire outside of his brick home. Single story ranch home. In 9 days. He mentioned zero about that here. [Member Name Removed] told me himself the work was great on the outside and he had absolutely zero issues with that work. Just some of the inside work on the painted walls. Even though we offered to fix the issues 100% free of charge, Mr [Member Name Removed] was to upset at the facts . Facts are he purchased the wrong paint and it made our job take 2-3x longer than it should have on the inside. then when the paints he purchased didn't match, he blames us. However I still offered to fix it all free of charge no matter how long it took. nothing ever changed as he mentioned. What happened is, Mr [Member Name Removed] got upset at the end once I noticed the paint buckets differences in the garage and mentioned this to him. Also let me note, this customer agreed to a 14k invoice and got a 10k bill. we had days left to work to fix any issues and he told us not to come back. . I agreed to fix any issues he had with the interior work and he refused. he was very difficult to please.
5.0

07/31/2021


Paul T.

This is an older house that hadn't been painted for a number of years. The crew did a meticulous job of prepping the exterior before painting, including replacing boards that had water damage. The crew was punctual, very courteous, and highly professional. They did a thorough job of applying paint, then went over the job with a fine-tooth comb to be sure it was up to their standards. This inspection resulted in re-sanding and repainting a few boards that did not have the appearance they wanted. When the job was finished the crew did an excellent job of cleaning up the work site. I would not hesitate to recommend The Premier Handyman and will call on them again for my next project.

Description of Work
The Premier Handyman painted the exterior of our house

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2021

5.0

07/09/2021


Kevin S.

Everything went really well! They did an excellent job!!! Can't say enough good things about our overall experience, from them working around us being in and out of the house to the thoroughness of the job that was done. Needless to say, we are extremely happy with how everything came out and will be using them again!

Description of Work
Deck repair and staining, Gutter cleaning, Power washing of house and several other smaller projects around the house

Category decks, electrician, gutter cleaning, handyman service, leaf removal, lighting, deck cleaning, house painters, doors, mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2021

5.0

05/24/2021


Andrew K.

Excellent quality of work on 2-day job. 2-man crew was courteous & efficient, clean-up was perfect. They didn’t want any $ up front or even upon completion, but sent an invoice a week or so later. Price was on the high side, but worth it for quality of work. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Interior ceiling drywall repair & painting, exterior column replacement

Category decks, drywall, handyman service

Cost $3,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2021

5.0

12/16/2020


Stephen W.

Can't praise Premier Handyman services highly enough! Two technicians arrived at the assigned time and promptly began the installation of our downstairs kitchenette: base cabinets, counter top, sink (to existing rough-in), wall cabinets, and a ceiling fan bracket in our main kitchen. They were fully prepared, knowledgeable about the job at hand, polite and mindful of our personal space, and paid close attention to not only the installation but also the cleanup. There was NO wasted time and their rates were quite competitive with others in the area. This is our second service from Premier Handyman and will definitely use their talents in the future should the need arise. Additionally, I have already recommended them to others in my immediate area!

Description of Work
Install kitchenette and ceiling fan mount

Category handyman service

Cost $530

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/07/2020

5.0

12/11/2020


Thomas B.

Corey showed up on time to do an estimate on the building and pantry. The crew showed up on time daily, as scheduled, to provide services as contracted, and hauled off all the old vinyl and doors. We are very pleased with the quality of work and the professionalism of his employees.

Description of Work
Replace vinyl siding, install a window and put in two doors on a 12' x 15' building. Build a 4' x 9' pantry in our kitchen.

Category drywall, hauling services, replacement windows, garage builders, woodworking, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/19/2020

5.0

11/14/2020


Josh J.

The job done was excellent. The guys showed up when they said the would, and made a few changes for me on the fly. The estimate was good, and they even came in a bit under. I like that I paid for the work by the hour, and could see what I was paying for. The were very responsive, and always called me back quickly if I could reach them. I have a few more projects in the future, and will definitely be using The Premier Handyman again in the future.

Description of Work
I had water damage to floor joist and cedar siding

Category handyman service, roofing, woodworking

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2020

Images

Review for The Premier Handyman - 5901 Chapman Hwy, Knoxville, TN - 39023929

+4 More

5.0

10/31/2020


Jeanne L.

Corey was great. Attentive to issues, punctual, and presented best options at a fair price. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Shower drain repair and garage lift repair.

Category garage doors, plumbing

Cost $325

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2020

1.0

10/30/2020


Kathleen M.

Summary: For your own sanity and possibly safety, do not hire. The owner, Cory, offered an arrangement where any work that went out budget could be paid at a later date after funds were drawn out of a home refinance. Key work was left unfinished, and prior to even sending out any invoice, the owner reneged on this arrangement, threatened to place illegal liens on the property, threatened lawsuits, and threatened to report (what he thought were) unsafe conditions in the home to the city, conditions which his company was hired to fix. He then attempted to extort illegal late fees after the fact with no signed contract, all of which were well above the limit for such fees under Tennessee Prompt Payment Laws. He has some good men that work for him, (one was drinking while on the job sadly), but he is profoundly unprofessional, unstable, and has little knowledge of and/or respect for the law. Details: I am a local real estate investor and I like to do as much renovation work as I am able, but I had both given birth and had heart surgery in the summer of 2020, and was thus unable to do the work myself. I originally booked Cory’s company for another project I was about to begin, but called to cancel roughly 4-5 days before the start date since my last project remained unfinished and the contractor that had been working on it had vanished into thin air. Cory pressured me into keeping the booking, claiming that I was putting him in a bad spot by cancelling last minute, and that he’d be willing to “work with me” on my budget and payment schedule. I relented and had him to come and take a look at my unfinished project to see if it was possible to finish it within the budget, which was funded through something called an asset loan. (For those that don’t know, an asset loan is a high risk/interest only short term loan by which a private lender provides purchase and/or repair funds for a real estate investment. They only fund for fully completed items on a draw schedule, so when work is finished, they send a home inspector out to check the work is complete, and only then are funds provided.) I explained that there was roughly seven to eight thousand left in the asset loan, and that there were a few items we’d discovered that needed attention that were not on the lender’s list. Both were necessary for a tenant to move in safely; one issue was a leaking roof, and the other was rotting wood that left the back deck unstable. The rest of the work involved installing some lighting, replacing some quarter round, tiling in a shower, replacing a few broken windows, and putting down some laminate in the bedrooms. Cory assured me all could be fixed within two weeks of work (amounting to roughly 8K), probably even in less time, so I kept the booking and allowed his men to begin work. In the event the work went over budget, he made the offer to take 60-70 percent of the total amount and accept the rest later. I told him that in such an event, the rest of the funds would have to come out of a home refinance, something I was planning on doing as soon as the home was finished and I had a signed lease. After two weeks of work, the home was still unfinished, so I agreed to have one of his men stay on to finish what could be finished for another week. At this point I started to receive daily calls and texts from Cory demanding payment, which was extremely confusing, since I hadn’t received any invoice from him to date, and because I had been very clear that funding was only awarded to me when the work was fully completed. He informed me the roof was structurally unsound and was too dangerous to be fixed by his men, so I said I would find someone else to fix it. Towards the end of the third week, it was clear the work still wasn’t going to be finished, so I put my son into day care and came the last few days to help get the work done in time. It was at this point I noticed the man working on the job was taking 90 minute lunch breaks in his truck, much of the time at the property (meaning I was paying for this time), and that he’d come back to work after his breaks smelling like beer. Not the worst thing in the world I suppose, but not something I’m happy to be paying for, and probably a contributing factor to the extended time frame. This employee also lost his ladder and two small windows from the property, the former I replaced for him at my own cost (I felt partially responsible since the home was in a bad neighborhood.) At the end of the third week, the inspector was able to check off the items on the list (thank goodness it wasn’t raining that day with the leaking roof), so I provided the owner with seven thousand (two payments of one thousand and another of six thousand). I had to hold a small amount back (temporarily) to fix the deck and the roof, since if neither of them were finished the home couldn’t be leased, and if the home couldn’t be leased, I wouldn’t be able to get an investment refinance and pay him the full amount (keep in mind I still didn’t know what the final total was at this point since I still had not been sent one invoice). The owner then threw a fit, demanded payment in full, claimed I wasn’t keeping my word, and began threatening an assortment of things. He claimed I hurt him as a small business owner and messed up his payroll. This was confusing since he was the one that offered the arrangement to begin with (I wanted to cancel). I apologized and asked him why he would offer an arrangement like this if he couldn’t afford it, which only garnered more rage. He demanded to know when he was going to be paid in full (again very confusing since we had already discussed these terms) and demanded a time table. I had assumed he as a professional in this industry would know what a refinance time table was, so I had not specified that in the beginning, and he didn’t ask me until this point. I told him a week or two to finish the work and lease the home, and probably 4 weeks for the refinance process (title, appraisals, and legal). I had someone come and look at the roof, and it turned out there was nothing structurally wrong with it; it was an old home with a very steep pitch that hadn’t been built without collar ties, which aren’t structurally necessary for the roof in terms of safety. All that was wrong was it was missing a couple shingles, which I had replaced by another contractor, who financed the work for me, and I was able to finish the deck myself and a little help from the contractor. A couple days later Cory texted me and informed me he was placing a mechanical lien on the property, and that he would be charging late fees of three percent per week until the balance was paid. I calmly informed him that mechanical liens cannot include interest or late fees, and that that level of interest couldn’t be charged without a signed contract. He ignored this and then threatened to call the city and report (what he thought were) unsafe conditions in the home. Note I (still) had not received one invoice at this point for the work done. (Imagine for a moment threatening to report someone’s property for work you were hired to complete but failed to do. Insurance and/or workman’s compensation can often be separate and more expensive for roofing than other construction work, so my guess here is he didn’t want to tell me from the get go he didn’t have the coverage for roofing work and instead fabricated the “structural issues” with the roof, but I could be wrong.) He also looked up my home address and the home’s worth and demanded I pay him (since I could apparently afford it because of the net worth of the home, or some other convoluted argument; I informed him I don’t own the home in which I live anyway.) This was particularly creepy as a woman; it seemed like a a subtle, “I know where you live” type of threat. For this reason I particularly encourage people to not hire his company, especially if you’re female. I assured him he would be paid in full and that all of these threats were completely unnecessary. I had to hire someone who (fortunately) financed the work for me and finish the work myself so someone could move in. When a tenant moved in, I sent him the first month’s rent, and when my refinance was completed, I sent him the rest of his payment, which amounted to a few thousand, minus his late fees. He continued to threaten a mechanics lien for solely his late fees, which cannot legally be included in any mechanical lien (only the fee for filing the lien and moneys for work done to the property can be included in such a lien). While I attempted to keep calm and address him professionally throughout this ordeal, throughout the entire process he was rude, bombastic, unprofessional, and downright unhinged, save for the facade he put up in the beginning to make sure he got and kept my booking. I consulted with my attorney on the matter, and I was informed that without a signed contract there is a ceiling to what can be charged for outstanding balances according to Tennessee’s Prompt Payment Laws, and the owner was well above the limit attempting three percent per week on an outstanding balance. My attorney also confirmed that even though any lien attempts by the owner at this point will be unlawful and therefore unenforceable, I will still have to fit suit to vacate the lien, which will cost me significantly since I will have to pay my attorney to file the paperwork, and then I will likely have to file suit to recover my damages from the owner. From the other reviews I’ve read here, it seems legal threats are a pattern for Cory. My attorney is going to have to now do research on the owner’s legal activity with his customers to see the results of all of his small claims court and mechanical lien threats. So far he can’t find a contractor’s license for the owner (which isn’t necessary for small home remodeling under 25K, but may be necessary to file a lien.) So, a false offer made in bad faith without a signed contract coupled with uncompleted work resulting in attempts to charge illegal late fees and threats to file frivolous liens and an assortment of other threats is my experience with the Premier Handyman. All in all it was roughly six weeks from the date of my first invoice (at which point he already had the majority of the payment) to the small rest of the balance being paid off. I have to wonder if this entire thing was a set up from the beginning, and part of a pattern for the owner to scam people out of additional money. It is unlikely a professional in his industry couldn’t know what a home refinance time table looked like, so the fact he was so surprised at the time table strikes me as bogus. My guess is that Cory has a pattern of attempting to extort additional money for jobs from clients, which is why he works without a contract, fails to send timely invoices, and then uses this to pressure people into paying him what he is not legally entitled to, since most home owners will balk at the idea of potential legal issues and/or liens. If you’re reading this and in a similar situation involving these threats, please consult with an attorney. I will update my review as this legal nightmare progresses, and I’m including screen shots of what was discussed over text (if allowed by AL), as the owner likes to claim in some very similar negative reviews that he has “no record” of the client in question. I’m also providing screen shots to show when I received my first invoice (September 8) and the attempt at charging exorbitant late fees.

Description of Work
Roof leak, some flooring, some tiling, light electrical, back deck wood replacement, broken windows

Category remodeling

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2020

Images

Review for The Premier Handyman - 5901 Chapman Hwy, Knoxville, TN - 38998123

+6 More

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review. However if you're going to leave us a review please be sure to leave all of the facts. There's a few very important pieces you left out. Number 1. We absolutely DO HAVE a TN state contractors license. which can easily be viewed anytime by anyone at https://verify.tn.gov/Details.aspx Your attempt at Slandering (like you told us you would) us, saying we don't have a contractor license is officially discredited! Number 2#. let me just start by saying never once in our entire history of being a business have we agreed to waiting over 10 weeks for payment on a project. That's just not the way that we operate . truth be told we agreed to wait 1 to 2 weeks for payment on your project . Nothing more . You surprised us after we passed our inspection that the check didn't cover our invoice because you wanted us to stay one week longer than we originally agreed to to do other work . Our agreement was never that we would wait 10 weeks past the completion date of our project for payment.( originally a two-week project but she loved our work so much it ended up being a 3 week project) When we made the agreement to do the work with you, the initial agreed-upon time frame was 1 to 2 weeks after the completion of the project. Once that time frame came and all of our work passed the the first inspection by the customers mortgage companies inspector, The first shot. We were supposed to get paid from that in full. The customer failed to disclose that the amount of the check she was getting would not be enough to cover our invoice. Pr even 1/4 of it. Four weeks after we completed we got a partial payment. $1,200 on a $13,000 invoice. Then we were told that we had to wait for a complete home refinance which should be another 5 to 6 weeks during this pandemic and there was nothing she could give us. . This was never part of our original agreement which we would never have agreed to wait that long for payment on such a large invoice. Number three. The customer States key work was left unfinished. That is not true at all. We discovered a very very unsafe roof support issue. In which we immediately disclosed to this customer. And told this customer that it would be very unsafe to rent this home to any person until this was fixed. We then told her that it was 100% out of our scope of work to fix this issue. And she should find somebody else to fix that particular issue. We never agreed to initially fix this roof support issue. Once we discovered it a few days into the project we let the customer know. She had ample time to find somebody else to complete that task. The customer was stating that she needed to get the home rented before she fixed it. She was more concerned with making a dollar then people' safety that lived there Number 4. About our late fees we applied to the invoice. From the estimate date to the day you got the first invoice hour late fees are clearly stated and very bold letters on the top of our estimate and on the top of our invoice. We didn't apply any late fees to your invoice until after 7 weeks of being late. Hour late fee typically starts after 2 weeks of being late. So a total of 10 weeks late and we applied 3 weeks of late fees to you. Which you didn't pay anyways once we received your final payment. for reference. we started this job on August 7th. we were supposed to be paid 3 weeks later before August ended. we got final payment minus late fees, on October 26th. nearly 90 days after we started. in 13 years of doing this, we've never once had a customer fail to pay for so long. also, in 13 years, we've only ever charged a late fee 2x. also. Numerous times throughout the course of our 10-week wait. I text and call this customer requesting a good-faith payment. This customer flips homes for a living. This is what she does to make her money. Yet us as a contractor have a $13,000 invoice with a customer and she can't pay us anything in good faith to ensure that we are going to get paid? And yes we did tell this customer that it was possible we may place a lien on the home that we worked on if we did not receive payment. However. We did not place a lien on her home. There would be days on end where we would text this customer and call and we are unable to leave voicemails because her voice mailbox is always full. And she would not respond for days. This customer played the victim since the day we met for an estimate. Told us tons of stories about other bad dealings with contractors. But now we see what the true source of the problem is. You cannot expect contractors to work for free and wait 10 weeks to be paid at your leisure. If you think we're inconvenient try being without that much money as a small business with six employees during a pandemic. this customer borrowed one of our ladders. Told our employee she would return it the next day. 6 weeks later I messaged her about the ladder because she still hasn't returned it and has been ignoring the issue ever since. She finally decides she's going to have a ladder shipped to our office brand new. Because she lost our ladder. this customer also stated an employee of ours was drinking? The employee that she's stating this was has been with us 9 years. In 9 years we have not had one single complaint. This gentleman actually has a health concern that doesn't allow him to drink, if we're being personal here. But I had to clarify that since this customer wanted to try to make other false accusations. This customer took this review and plastered it all over the Internet attempting to ruin our reputation. However I assure you this customer played victim from the start. Adding to that, her stating I mentioned how much her personal home was worth, that was because at the estimate, she was sure to flaunt the amount of money her home was worth. im guessing this was an attempt to validate that she could pay her debt to me? Im not sure, we've never had a customer like this one. side note. our job at this home, was to fix other contractors mistakes that this customer said "screwed her". literally 3 weeks of work, 40 hours per week for 2 men, fixing other contractors shes been "screwed by" "stolen from" and they "stole her money" . this customer told us all of the stories in the book at the estimate for this project. basically trying to tell us how much of victim she was in this situation, truth comes to light now 100% .. Again we appreciate your review. Truth be told we would rather not work for you again either it was a complete nightmare for us as well. We have a great reputation in town with over 300 reviews among several sources. We take very good care of our customers. We handled your situation with respect. Dignity. And a lot of patience.
1.0

10/17/2020


Anthony M.

it never went the estimate was insane, no card so i cheked with better business bureau observed a D rating and cancelled? Two man for a one man job? Then said maybe cheaper use i man.To much ********?

Description of Work
ceiling tiles

Category appliance repair

Work Completed On 10/17/2020

Service Provider Response

sir your project was hanging a new ceiling on your 12 x 12 screened in porch. this was also a product that you had only a pamphlet on. Showing us the product asking us to give you an accurate estimate, on a material that we had never used before is very difficult. we provided you an estimate. If we finished early you would have been billed less and I explained that to you in depth at our estimate. not sure what else we could do for you sir. imagine writing someone an F review for coming out to your home and providing you a free estimate. Was on time for the estimate, called you before he came. Had a paper estimate in your email inbox before he left your home. Yet you still felt compelled to write our estimating representative an F review because the estimate was higher than you anticipated? Pretty unfair if you ask me . We've also called this customer and left 2 voicemails. Both of which were requesting a call back to duscuss what went wrong here and how we could fix the situation at hand. Mr. [Member Name Removed] didnt call us back or even try to ley us remedy the situation. You can't please everyone unfortunately.
5.0

09/10/2020


Judy R.

They were all great! Cory came over quickly after my call to give me a quote. Darryl & James showed up exactly when they said they would and promptly got busy. Not only was it fixed but the quote went down. AWESOME! Also I got a call from Cory making sure I was satisfied. I work. with the general public so I recognize good Customer service! I will use again!

Description of Work
Water leak on sunporch

Category appliance repair, decks, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2020

5.0

09/04/2020


Cricket E.

As always, showed up on time for estimate and gave great ideas for job that needed to be done. Workers arrived on time day of project and were very polite and hard working. Both men worked constantly until job was completed and always kept me up to date with project. Owner called during the day to check on how I thought things were going and to make sure I was satisfied and then called next day to follow up. Have used them before and will definitely use again when needed.

Description of Work
Decorative rail/fencing along ramp and gutter cleaning

Category decks, gutter cleaning, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2020

5.0

08/29/2020


Robert N T.

It went great. Not enough words to describe how well job went. Have another job I'm looking at now

Description of Work
Caulk and paint entire rear window wall. Paint and repair inside window wood. Paint inside and out front door and casement.

Category appliance repair, interior painters, doors

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/29/2020

1.0

08/25/2020


Kristi H.

I had recently moved to the area, needing repair work done for several things in my home. I looked on Angies List and found "The Premier Handyman". I had him scheduled to redo two bathrooms, i.e. tile, flooring and plumbing as well as building a new deck off the master bedroom. Very bad experience with owner. I had to have the lead guy and his second come out three different times to fix issues on the deck. which they knew they needed to do. They did not haul off the debris from the old deck, it laid in my yard for 2 weeks until I moved it with my tuck to the street. They finally hauled it off after I called and complained. The owner was on vacation, while my deck was being built and when he returned he phone me screaming and yelling at me for not going through him to have issues corrected? He told me I was way to "Picky" that the boards are made that way, but I did not have them out about the boards natural look it was the workmanship, the actual cuts they had made. I had no problem paying him for the work that was done as long as it was done to my satisfaction. I paid the invoice less the 2 hours it took me to load the debris from my yard. The owner told me he was going to take me to court for payment of the two hours I deducted all the while still screaming at me. I did not want him in my home to do the other work I needed done. I cancelled the job. Two months later when I went to stain the new deck, there were 33 decking boards that had only 2 screws in them...really. I had to call another contractor and pay to have the deck boards screwed down correctly; 75 new screws needed. I recommend you DO NOT HIRE this company.

Description of Work
Rebuild for a deck off of master bedroom

Category appliance repair, decks

Cost $3,443.54

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Miss [Member Name Removed] I'm very sorry for your experience. However I'm not finding your name anywhere in our invoice program, our estimating program or in our scheduling program. so I believe you have the wrong company. Sorry for your experience 😔
5.0

06/27/2020


Phil W.

Corey did a great job and is a very competent professional!--Premier Handyman provided a great service at a fair price!

Description of Work
Installation of an over-the-range Microwave.

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2020

1.0

05/26/2020


Robert B.

They never came when they were scheduled canceled once and never came back called the office and no one would pick up

Description of Work
Install dishwasher

Category appliance repair