Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Olshan Foundation Repair

Founded 1933 • With Angi since March 2009

4.3

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

611 E Governor John Sevier Hwy

Knoxville, TN 37920

Description

Established in 1933, Olshan Foundation provides cost-effective foundation solutions to residential and commercial property owners. Services are backed by an available lifetime warranty, friendly customer support and convenient financing options. Free, no-obligation structural assessments are performed by Certified Structural Technicians. Since no two homes are alike, our Technicians carefully inspect the problems affecting your home before developing a comprehensive repair plan designed uniquely to your property. Olshan is the exclusive provider of the Cable Lock ST Plus repair system. This hybrid design combines the penetrating power of concrete with the long-term durability of steel, providing a longer, deeper more secure repair. We also offer drainage and root barriers to help prevent foundation damage. Schedule a free, no-obligation assessment now. Your home’s structural integrity depends on the strength of your foundation. It supports everything else – walls, windows, floors, doorways, roof – so when your foundation is damaged, it can cause serious problems throughout your home. Like most things in life, your foundation is subject to environmental stress. Expanding and contracting soil, excessive moisture and inadequate drainage are some of the most common threats to your home’s foundation. Over time, environmental stressors can cause a foundation to shift, crack or settle unevenly. And homeowners often miss early warning signs of foundation damage. Homeowners spend about $4 billion annually stabilizing faulty foundations, and those costs may increase as more homes are built in areas known for shifting soil. Understanding risk factors and signs of foundation problems can help you protect your most valuable asset from irreversible damage....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

04/10/2017


Diane H.

Took longer than expected

Description of Work
Foundation repair

Category foundation repair

4.0

09/02/2014


Gerald R.

They had several carbon fiber strips that they were putting in and I liked the appearance of that much better because it just blended right up with the wall. That was our choice if we went through and then we did call them back and said that give us an estimate on something a little less expensive, but we didn’t hear back from them.

Description of Work
We’ve got an estimate from Olshan Foundation Repair.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Hello Mr. {removed member name}, We had been experiencing some phone problems during the time frame you reached out to us. If you are still looking for help please give us a call at (615) 367-2800 or email us at olshan@olshanfoundation.com. We would love to help you find a long-lasting solution. Thank you.
5.0

08/10/2013


Jacqueline A.

Given the incorrect start date by Judy at the Knoxville main office. Bad start. Crew arrived the next day and began working hard and diligently to complete the repair in a timely fashion. Weather and difficult shale soil slowed the work somewhat. The crew chief Brian, as well as the entire onsite staff were professional and dedicated to a job well done. I could not be more pleased with the results of the lift and clean up. Kudos guys!

Description of Work
Raised foundation and installed 5 concrete and steel cable supports to restore dropped corner of home.

Category foundation repair

3.0

10/22/2011


Burt W.

Did not explain well what we were getting, or how long it would take before we could put house back together. Did not adequately protect from dust.

Description of Work
Flood control system.

Category plumbing, basement waterproofing

1.0

08/22/2011


Denise A.

It has gone horrible. Olshan refuses to fix our front porch columns (putting them back in place and securing them so that they no longer shift). That is what they were paid to accomplish. All they want to do is fix the parts that are easy fixes and give us a partial refund on the parts that are going to cost them money to do. Of course, they want us to release them from all liability on the work that they refund on. Terrible way to do your customers and run a business! We are extremely unsatisfied and routinely tell people of the poor service we have recieved and the apparent not so good lifetime warranty offered by this company.

Description of Work
We noticed movement of our front porch columns and settling in our porch with some cracked bricks on the side of the porch. Olshan and other foundation repair companies bid the job. Olshan awarded the job based on name recognition and "lifetime warranty." Olshan was very quick to estimate the job and do the repairs. However, we continued to notice movement of our columns and we contacted Olshan approximately six months or less after initial repairs to make them aware of this. It took multiple requests to get their representative to come look at our porch. Once there, the representative said to the effect "it's only been six months, sometimes it takes a while for all the settling to finish. Let's give it a couple more months and then we'll look at it again. If any repairs are needed, we'll take care of it." Nobody every showed up again. Last fall (2010), we contacted Olshan again after multiple attempts. The manager came out, looked at our porch and said (paraphrased) "The problem with your columns is that they are free standing. Nobody out there can keep those columns from moving." After a number of emails, the general manager of Olshan Knoxville wanted to send some contractors out to "make the columns look right." After much review, it became painfully obvious that the Olshan manager was not talking about repairing our columns like what they were paid to do, he was basically wanting a carpenter to come replace some boards that should butt up against the columns to make it appear that they were not moving. We are appalled that he wanted this kind of shoddy work done on our home. It also leaves us open to future litigation by any person we sell this home to because of this hidden and unresolved problem. We are at a complete impass with Olshan Foundation Repair Knoxville. They have offered to repair part of our porch while refusing to repair the columns which they were paid to stop movement on. All they want to do there is offer a partial refund while demanding that we sign a waiver of liability for any future claims against them for the columns. We are not foundation repair experts. That is their job. They should have recognised that our columns were "free standing" and told us that the work they were bidding to perform would most likely not work. They had no problem in taking our money but seem to have a great problem in correcting and fixing what we paid to have fixed TWO YEARS AGO! How disappointing!!!!

Category foundation repair

3.0

08/18/2011


Richard M.

Estimation process was okay.

Description of Work
Got estimate from Olshan for foundation repair. Was not impressed by their "cable lock" system. They drive concrete cylinders to refusal then use them as a base to jack up and hopefully stablize your foundation. I preferred and used another firm that drove continuous steel piers to bedrock instead of concrete cylinders. I felt that was a more robust fix. Both are guaranteed for the lifetime of your home. The Olshan rep was punctual, competent and responsive. No issues with customer service associated with the estimate process. I just did not care for the product.

Category foundation repair

5.0

06/26/2011


Rena M.

Tom, the certified structural technician, was very professional and did a thorough inspection inside and outside. He explained everything clearly on possible solutions. He even suggested some new positive alternatives to trey before committing to a major repair.

Description of Work
Evaluate my dampness and water seepage problem in my finished basement.

Category plumbing, basement waterproofing, foundation repair

5.0

02/24/2011


Robert N.

The service was good and it was quality work. They were responsive and sent a number of people to do the work. I'm sure it was really hard work. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I used Olshan Foundation Solutions to stabilize the foundation on my house. They had to jack up the house.

Category foundation repair

5.0

05/07/2010


Kenneth T.

I think they did a very good job. The drain pipe was dug (by day laborers) but installed by Olshan personnel. Constructed well and it works. This was a wet spring. Haven't seen the french drain in action (only during testing and acceptance) and hopefully I never will. They showed up on time both days and provided information and updates on the job all the way through. The crew chief was experienced and knew what he was doing. I sat down with the estimator initially and he presented his approach of my water problem (water in the crawl space). He did a detailed inspection of my crawl space and I selected Olshan based on his evaluation of my problem. I probably could have gotten the work done for a little less but I wanted a guarantee on the work from a company that has been in business for more than a few years (they have been business since 1933).

Description of Work
Olshan installed 80 ft of drain around my house to catch and divert runoff. They tied the down spouts into the drain at four points around the house. They also installed a french drain with a sump and pump around the footing in the crawl space of my house.

Category foundation repair

5.0

03/23/2010


david B.

Their service was excellent, the guy was wonderful and he gave me an honest evaluation about what was going on. He told me that I did not need to spend any money and the steps that I was taking were already steps that should be taken. I was extremely happy with their service. He takes time and analyzes something and tell you at that point, that is work. He drove out of here within an hour of looking at stuff and the foundation.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Olshan Foundation Solution 3 or 4 weeks ago.

Category foundation repair

5.0

11/18/2009


Sharon G.

They were good. I will use them again.

Description of Work
I used Olshan Foundation Solutions to do the foundation for my house as it was sinking and it was supported by one beam. They put hydraulic things under the house and they put new beams to level the house.

Category foundation repair

5.0

11/09/2009


AMY H.

We made appointments with three companies for estimates. One company did not show up, one company seemed to be charging more for less service, and Olshan had the most logical solution and it seemed that we would be getting more for our money. They came out about a month later. The work took about two days. They were very professional and kept us informed about everything that was going on. They took my husband on a tour of the foundation to show him what all had happened. It was very informative for us.

Description of Work
Olshan Foundation Solutions repaired two small cracks in our foundation.

Category foundation repair

5.0

03/26/2009


Debbie S.

Overall they really seemed to know what they were doing and fixed the problem. They were really easy to work with and they worked late into the night to get the job.

Description of Work
They elevated one side of the house to minimize the cracking in the bricks do to the drought situation that we had.

Category foundation repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Thomas Waterproofing Company, LLC

    At Thomas Waterproofing Company, you will never meet a salesman. You will meet an owner of the company to personally evaluate your problem. You won't have to sit through a 2 hour laptop presentation, and you’ll never be pressured into buying our service. With over 40 years of experience in the industry between the owners, you can be confident in the evaluation and solutions proposed to you. We will never compromise integrity for profit. We will offer the best, most affordable solutions to fix your issues.  

    The Plumbing Authority, Inc.

    Make Stressful Plumbing Problems Disappear!! Plumbing problems are frustrating and stressful! The Plumbing Authority provides dependable plumbing solutions. We send licensed plumbers to your home so you can relax knowing your problem is solved. At The Plumbing Authority we know that you want to be able to relax and not deal with plumbing problems. Undependable plumbing causes you stress and frustration. You deserve to enjoy your home without worrying about your plumbing. We don’t just care about plumbing. We care about you and your home. We’ve helped thousands of homeowners solve their plumbing problems for over 25 years. Don’t let unexpected plumbing issues ruin your day. Instead find relief when you call or schedule online and let us help you get comfort back in your home  

    Offers by The Plumbing Authority, Inc. on Angi
    AFS Foundation & Waterproofing Specialists

    AFS Foundation & Waterproofing Specialist, founded in 2000, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Alabama, Tennessee, Georgia, and Mississippi. AFS is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Offers by AFS Foundation & Waterproofing Specialists on Angi
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available, Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Foundation repair, waterproofing, basement waterproofing, exterior water management, wall anchoring, crawl space repair, crawl space encapsulation, wall repair, indoor air quality, wall anchoring.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Olshan Foundation Repair

    How is Olshan Foundation Repair overall rated?

    Olshan Foundation Repair is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Olshan Foundation Repair open?

    Olshan Foundation Repair is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Olshan Foundation Repair provide

    Olshan Foundation Repair accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available, Check

    Does Olshan Foundation Repair offer free estimates?

    Yes, Olshan Foundation Repair offers free project estimates.

    Does Olshan Foundation Repair offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Olshan Foundation Repair does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Olshan Foundation Repair?

    Yes, Olshan Foundation Repair offers warranties.

    What services does Olshan Foundation Repair offer?

    Olshan Foundation Repair offers the following services: Foundation repair, waterproofing, basement waterproofing, exterior water management, wall anchoring, crawl space repair, crawl space encapsulation, wall repair, indoor air quality, wall anchoring.