Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Knoxville Hardscapes

Founded 2009 • With Angi since July 2011

3.9

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

118 N Peters Rd Suite 129

Knoxville, TN 37923

Description

Owned & operated by Blake Grantham....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

05/17/2016


Dianna D.

Description of Work
Run for the hills. Don't do it!

Category hardscaping

4.0

06/30/2014


Joey B.

It took a while to get it done. They built a patio. They had to come back and redo it. They came back and redid it, but they did about 80% of it. There are still pending things, but they never got back to me. The real thing about them was that it was run by Blake, and he is the company, he is the guy that come out and estimates the work, supervises the work, and he has other work. The price was good.

Description of Work
I used Knox Hardscape.

Category patios

5.0

03/30/2014


terry W.

Things couldn't have gone any better.

Description of Work
Replaced a short garden wall in the formal garden in front of out 100+ year old home.

Category hardscaping

5.0

11/11/2013


Jim P.

I had a retaining wall built in Sept of 2012, In less than a year the wall was falling down. Blake's crew tore down that retaining wall, loaded the old concrete blocks (weighted about 20 lbs.) and move them. They cleaned everything up, put in the correct base, drainage gravel, landscaping cloth behind the wall. they put in another French drain and made They install the correct concert blocks (weighted 97 lbs.) They put in the Wall was level, straight and sure it would drain. The crew put in the correct back fill soil. When the wall was complete and the crew leader was satisfied with their work, myself and my wife was well please with the work. They cleaned up all of the debris and hauled it away. They were here when Blake said the would be and did an 'OUTSTANGING" job. I would use Knoxville Hardscape any time I had something like this to be done. I would highly recommend him to anybody. His crew was great. The answered all our questions and if my wife was not satisfied with something, they corrected it with any problems. I have never had anyone do better work that these men.

Description of Work
His crew removed old retaining wall and put in the approximate wall.

Category drain pipe, hardscaping

2.0

11/06/2013


Debbie S.

In April of 2013 We contracted with Knoxville Hardscapes for a 75 foot long, 6 foot high retaining wall to be built behind our house. The price which was $15,228 included engineering, building materials, block, gravel and the geo grid fabric and labor. The contract stated that the wall would be completed by the end of July. Throughout the summer we were given several start dates that we made a point to be home for and no one showed up. Blake Grantham, the owner, had engineering done for our project that called for the wall to be 8 feet high and required additional back fill. So on September 6, 2013 Blake revised his price to $18,709 to cover the additional material cost and told us that he would cover the additional labor. Excavation started but stopped a few days later. We called Knoxville Hardscapes repeatedly but Blake didn return our calls. Then on September 16th Blake met with us explaining that he was financially over extended and did not have enough credit with his suppliers to order the materials or rent excavation equipment and would not be able to complete our job unless we took over paying directly for the materials, block and gravel, and the excavation equipment rental. At that point we had already given him checks totaling $10,614 and had little more than a set of engineering drawings and some preliminary excavation. We were extremely uncomfortable with the position we found ourselves in. But we decided that our best chance for finishing the project and not losing the $10,614 we had already paid to Knoxville Hardscapes was to continue working with them and pay Blake's suppliers directly for all the materials and excavation equipment rental needed. The crew of men that built the wall were very competent and hard working. In the end, the wall was completed and we are very pleased with how well built it is. Our total cost to date for the wall has been $27,244.59. Knoxville Hardscapes received $12,914 of that for labor and the balance was spent for materials and equipment rental. Knoxville Hardscapes left a mess and damaged both the curb at the street and our driveway. At our request they came back out to clean up the job site and attempted to repair the street. But not to our satisfaction. We have received two additional final invoices from Knoxville Hardscapes. One for additional labor that we had not discussed or agreed to and then a second invoice for a per block labor cost that also was never discussed or agreed to. Blake is charming young man. But he is not a good estimator or manager. I don't like leaving negative comments, but would not want anyone to go through what we have.

Description of Work
Built a large retaining wall behind our house.

Category hardscaping

4.0

10/15/2013


Lisa Y.

Blake is a honest nice guy with a hardworking crew. Once they came to my property it took them 2 days and installation went very smoothly. Did not leave a mess, and all was done professionally, and we love our patio. We had issues with getting a confirmed work date. We signed a contract in June and the job was done in October. It was clearly communicated to us by Blake that they do big jobs, and when he has openings he puts in smaller residential jobs in so that his crew has an income year round. Summer is one of their busiest times during the year with big projects, so we were aware that there can be delays, and he is priced at a low rate for residential work because that is not where he aims to make the most profit. However, due to the excessive rain and growing pains for Blake's business it seemed like our job was significantly delayed than expected. Obviously I waited so for us it turned out ok, but I can see how this would be a frustrating experience for others. I did end up with a now it really has to be done moment so I asked Blake to get the job scheduled or give me my deposit back, and after that the job was done without a hitch within a week. I am happy to have worked with them, and as long as I am ok that there may be a long wait I am happy to work with them again. I do believe that this delay was out of the ordinary for Blake as well, and it will not happen in the future.

Description of Work
Installed paver walkway and patio in my backyard.

Category hardscaping

1.0

09/30/2013


Jeff M.

I received the quote from Blake Grantham the owner on July 16th 2013. On July 19th we met Carlos at Acme block and brick to see the block and pavers. After viewing the block, I wrote a check for 2000.00 for the down payment. At that time I was told the project would begin the following week, or two weeks at the latest. Mr. Grantham contacted me on July 26th and gave me a start date of August I2th. After the job was not started on the promised date, I attempted to get in touch with them, the last time being on August 28th. On September 3rd I emailed the company requesting repayment of my deposit by September 13th . I received a email on September 5th stating that they were behind because of rain, and they were doing everything they could to catch up. In that message I was given a start date of Wednesday September 11th, and maybe as soon as September 7th. As of today September 30th the job has not been started, nor have they contacted me again. As I stated in my previous email to them, it appears I will have seek repayment through legal means.

Description of Work
They came out and measured, and gave me a quote for a small retaining wall and paver walkway from the deck to the driveway.

Category hardscaping

4.0

08/20/2013


Brian S.

It went pretty well. I would probably use them again in the future. The owner is very nice guy, and easy to work with.

Description of Work
They did some paver work for me. It was an underdeck patio, and they tried to help me out with some drainage as well.

Category hardscaping

4.0

08/19/2013


Debbie S.

The price was too high for me to be able to afford at the time, so I ended up going with another company.

Description of Work
They provided a quote for pavers.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry that the pricing was to high. We try to keep our prices as compatible as possible. If we would have known this the owner would try and work around your budget. Please try us again if you ever need work done we will do the best we can to keep it in your price range. Thanks again for the opportunity to work for you.

1.0

08/12/2013


Tina F.

I needed an estimate to have concrete poured for a deck, but no one from this company bothered to call me back. I left 2 messages and never got a response.

Description of Work
I needed an estimate to have concrete poured for a deck, but no one from this company bothered to call me back.

Category concrete repair, decks

3.0

06/27/2013


Sharon L.

The experience was mixed. The first half of my job went really well. I got exactly what I wanted and it was well done. The second half of my job in the back that was done the second year, I had a couple of problems with that and I haven't been able to get them to come back. It is supposedly guaranteed work; but they set 4 lime stone stairs for me and didn't put the proper base. The rain has washed it out from underneath. I can put an arm underneath the stairs like up to my shoulders. I have called them so many times and they always say that they will come out to look at it; but it just doesn't happen. I am really pleased with what's here, but a couple of things need to be addressed. I know they are at the height of their work season and all that. When they were here, they were nice guys and worked hard. Their work is good. I think they just made a mistake in this one place and another place just needs addressing, that's all. The portion of the work was good. I am trying to get them to resolve all this. I have used them twice. I like them enough to call them back. I like the young man and I don't think he is fundamentally dishonest. He is not taking care of the business like he needs to. It is like 95% being happy and 5% of the things that needed to be done.

Description of Work
I hired Knoxville Hardscapes to do the full pavers, work on the walkways and driveways.

Category marble & granite, hardscaping

5.0

06/14/2013


Lois H.

Knoxville Hardscapes were very reputable and very easy to work with. Their price was reasonable. They were prompt, they were there when they said they were going to be there and they were very professional. They had samples. It was nothing to do with them, we just repaired what was there rather than doing something additional.

Description of Work
We got a quote for a patio but we decided against the project not because of them.

Category hardscaping, patios

5.0

05/10/2013


thomas S.

The project went very well. Blake Grantham (owner) was very diligent throughout the project. His dedication to keeping us informed for every step in the project, and his presence on site, ensured we had good communication for managing details. As in any sizeable project, solutions to challenges involve choices. The clear communications enabled us to quickly resolve each issue and to maintain continuous progress efficiently and effectively. For example: The location of drainage under the driveway needed to be established early in the project to be sure water from gutters would be well managed after the driveway was installed. Another example: trenching for electrical conduit required to enable later landscape lighting and electricity supply to the dock needed to be prepared, conduits layed, and electrical permit inspections completed before paving proceeded. Due to our open communication, Blake was able to maintain project pace while ensuring the necessary steps were completed for a well executed project. Another example: The motor home has specific wheelbase and clearance measurements. The slope of the driveway needed to be very critically managed to ensure the motor home would not drag its ends or its belly as it moves from the roadway to the garage. Although we hoped to complete the project in an extremely short schedule, rain conspired to cause delay. Nevertheless, we were very impressed with the achieved schedule and the quality of the work. Blake tried to stay within the budget, but we made changes that required extra work. Nevertheless, he remained faithful to the overall budget limits we established, managed each modification fairly and left us satisfied that he had treated us honestly with respect to price. Pictures of the project have been taken, and if I can figure out how to post them, I'll do so later.

Description of Work
Knoxville Hardscape constructed several elaborate retaining walls, a serpentine pathway to our waterfront, and driveway. The project was complicated by the steepness of our lot, the shortness of our schedule, and the particular geometry of the driveway required to allow a motor home to move from the roadway to a garage floor 9 feet lower than the roadway without scraping the driveway. Of course, having a 20 ton vehicle regularly make that trip demands a very solid foundation for the driveway. So, the services provided were terrain adjustment, retaining wall foundation construction, pathway/driveway paver foundation installation, drainage pipe installation, and finally the visible portions of the project (retaining wall block and paver block installation).

Category landscaping, lakefront landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

05/10/2012


Sharon L.

The work went very well. The rain caused a few lost work days, being January, but the men worked hard and got it finished within 2 weeks. I feel that I got my moneys worth. There were no surprises. It was all broken down clearly and we signed a formal contract. His work crew left my lot clean and they were very polite and hardworking. It was a great experience and I recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Blake and his crew came and removed our old asphalt driveway, expanded it a few feet, put in a 48 foot x3 foot retaining wall, put down a paverstone driveway with custom concrete drain, reworked the drainage at the front of the house added a long sidewalk, covered the front stairs and landing with pavers, installed another small retaining wall and 4 large limestone stairs. (A small dogwood tree and some large old tree roots had to be dug out in the process.)

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe, driveway pavers, hardscaping

5.0

02/14/2012


Sharon L.

I watched them the whole time, and they did a better job than what code requires. The went with the best methodology. He also gave us a 5 year warranty on his labor.

Description of Work
This was a comprehensive job where the old asphalt driveway was removed and a new paverstone driveway was installed along with a retaining wall, limestone stairs, paverstone sidewalks and small landscaping retaining walls. I am very pleased. The work was well done with 8" of crush and run limestone for the base, 1" of sand, placement of the pavers followed by the appropriate elastomeric sand in the joints. The drive and walks were then cemented at the edges. To date I have had a bobcat, an 18 wheel truck and other delivery equipment on the drive with no problems. More amazing was the price was only slightly greater than the cost of poured concrete from my lowest bid. The job was less expensive than my highest concrete bids. It turned out to be not only functional, but beautiful.

Category landscaping, driveway pavers, hardscaping

5.0

07/21/2011


terry W.

Our landscape wall was falling down, literally. Blake Grantham, the owner, promptly returned our phone call, came out and measured and within a few weeks provided an estimate. I already had 5 other estimates. His was the lowest. I called to make sure he had included everything we had discussed in the estimate. After Blake explaining his estimate to me, I was very impressed and felt comfortable that he was the contractor I would hire. Other contractors wanted approx. 2000 dollars to remove the old wall. Blake assured me he had included this in the quote. Blake told me it would only take a couple of hours for them to do this and that 2000 dollars was way out of line. Well, Blake was correct. They had the old wall down and a good part of the new wall up by the end of day one. And as Blake had expected by the end of day 2 it was done. They even came back the third day and cleaned up the site. Blake was knowledgable, professional, courteous and most of all honest. I would definitely use his company again. In fact I am already saving for my 95 foot wall for the front of the house and intend to hire Knoxville Hardscapes.

Description of Work
Our landscape wall was falling down, literally. It is about 30 feet across on one side and 25 feet across on another side; both sides are no more than 3-4 feet tall. The area is the entryway courtyard for our turn of the century home. The old wall was removed. Utilizing the existing footers, a new block was installed (kingstonian from Acme).

Category landscaping, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Plumbing Authority, Inc.

    Make Stressful Plumbing Problems Disappear!! Plumbing problems are frustrating and stressful! The Plumbing Authority provides dependable plumbing solutions. We send licensed plumbers to your home so you can relax knowing your problem is solved. At The Plumbing Authority we know that you want to be able to relax and not deal with plumbing problems. Undependable plumbing causes you stress and frustration. You deserve to enjoy your home without worrying about your plumbing. We don’t just care about plumbing. We care about you and your home. We’ve helped thousands of homeowners solve their plumbing problems for over 25 years. Don’t let unexpected plumbing issues ruin your day. Instead find relief when you call or schedule online and let us help you get comfort back in your home  

    Offers by The Plumbing Authority, Inc. on Angi
    THE MAD HATTER AIR DUCT CLEANING & CHIMNEY SWEEPIN

    WE'RE BACK OPEN!! WE WERE CLOSED FOR 2 MONTHS DUE TO COVID-19 BUT WE ARE BACK OPEN AGAIN. SAFETY IS OUR MAIN CONCERN! THE MAD HATTER IS A FAMILY OWNED BUSINESS. WE OFFER OVER THE PHONE ESTIMATES FOR AIR DUCT CLEANING JUST COUNT YOUR SUPPLY VENTS AND RETURN VENTS. The Mad Hatter offers a full line of Chimney Repair Services. GIVE US A CALL 865-947-0755  

    Offers by THE MAD HATTER AIR DUCT CLEANING & CHIMNEY SWEEPIN on Angi
    Top Notch Service, Inc.

    We specialize in excavating, leveling, dump truck hauling , gen. Yard leveling , drainage. ( for driveway). Etc. footers and more! Stone, gravel or sod delivered and leveled. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, ( striving to please, the lord).! while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installation, maintenance & repair of pavers, retaining walls, stone sealing and stone cleaning, hardscaping & landscaping. We also do excavation and hauling.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Knoxville Hardscapes

    How is Knoxville Hardscapes overall rated?

    Knoxville Hardscapes is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Knoxville Hardscapes open?

    Knoxville Hardscapes is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Knoxville Hardscapes provide

    Knoxville Hardscapes accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Knoxville Hardscapes offer free estimates?

    Yes, Knoxville Hardscapes offers free project estimates.

    Does Knoxville Hardscapes offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Knoxville Hardscapes offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Knoxville Hardscapes offer a senior discount?

    No, Knoxville Hardscapes does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Knoxville Hardscapes offer emergency services?

    Yes, Knoxville Hardscapes offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Knoxville Hardscapes?

    Yes, Knoxville Hardscapes offers warranties.

    What services does Knoxville Hardscapes offer?

    Knoxville Hardscapes offers the following services: Installation, maintenance & repair of pavers, retaining walls, stone sealing and stone cleaning, hardscaping & landscaping. We also do excavation and hauling.