Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Earthadelic

Founded 2006 • With Angi since August 2013

3.1

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2115 Indian Hills Dr

Knoxville, TN 37919

Description

Earthadelic is a leading, full-service company providing inspired landscape and hardscape design, expert installation, best-practice maintenance and exceptional customer service to all of our clients in the Knoxville area. We listen to our customers and work hard to bring their unique vision to life. So, whether your project is large or small, our designs are creative, cool and reflect your personality. Once your project is completed, we will partner with you to maintain its health and beauty for years to come. Visit us at earthadelic.com! We do all of this with a unique approach that includes intelligence, passion, integrity, good humor and a commitment to environmental responsibility. We’re so confident that you’ll love our work that we back it with our 100% customer satisfaction guarantee - if we don’t deliver, you don’t pay. That’s the Earthadelic difference....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/07/2020


Kari N.

we used earthadelics to do landscaping and hardscaping around our pool with pavers. they were extremely over priced when pricing the same work from other companies. they justified themselves and their cost stating they were the best and it would be done to last for years to come. well we were bamboozled. our pool pavers have to be redone. they are sinking, separating, weeds, grass all growing around it and drainage issues everywhere. all of our landscaping died within first 2 years. we replanted majority of our trees and redid all our flower beds because nothing they planted survived. stay away from this company. they are over priced and liars

Description of Work
pool pavers and landscaping

Category landscaping, hardscaping

1.0

04/26/2019


Fred H.

I don't know where to start and will be adding more to this review in the future. In short, Earthadelic misrepresented the supplies they were using to build a patio cover to be of a higher quality than what they actually used, they committed many installation errors resulting in a faulty drainage solution, they reused old excavated dirt filled with debris and gravel to regrade my yard leaving it full of trash and gravel. I wasn't able to see the gravel and trash in the yard because of thick straw covering laid down after seeding. When I noticed the numerous problems I contacted the owner Dale. Three times he told me he would come out to my house to inspect the issues but never showed. I've come to realize that my only recourse is legal action to recover some of my losses and reached out to the owner one last time. He informed me that he was unwilling to do anything to help correct any of the problems. I'm planning to move forward with legal action against the company.

Description of Work
Paver Patio construction, landscape excavation and drainage installation.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

1.0

03/28/2018


Troy A.

No services were performed by this company. After calling to schedule an appointment for an estimate to repair/replace a retaining wall, the first appointment was rescheduled by the service provider. On the day of the re-scheduled appointment, the company representative called to say he was going to be 10 mins late, that actually turned out to be 20 mins late. Ok, things happen, but we were not off to a great start. When we went to the back yard to evaluate the work needed, the estimator immediately began telling me all of the things that would need to be done just to be able to get to a point were the wall could be worked on: large shrub would have to be removed, two very tall/mature trees would have to be cut down, special disposal of materials that were used in current wall (translation: more $$), etc. Then, when I asked for him to write it all up in an estimate, I was told that a written estimate would cost $600 because his company wants the customer to "have some skin in the game" before they spend any time/resources to work on a detailed estimate. When I told him that I was not going to pay $600 just to get an estimate so could he just give me a ballpark idea of what we were looking at, he said "at least $10,000, maybe more". At that point I knew I was being taken for a ride so I thanked him for coming out and let him know that I would not being using their services. Since then I have obtained a second quote and have contracted the services of a very reputable landscaping service in Knoxville who is going to do the same job for $5200, which is about what I expected to pay...and no trees or shrubs have to be cut down.

Description of Work
Retaining wall

Category hardscaping

3.0

08/25/2017


Tom B.

The work was completed on time and seems to help with the drainage issue. However, the work was rescheduled at the last minute to the day they called me, a day I could not be present. They then unilaterally changed the plans we had made, did not install one of the features and installed another. They then realized they had "forgotten" to include mulch. The final cost jumped from $5000 to over $7000, including $500 for the small amount of "forgotten" mulch. I have since had to install the skipped feature myself and noticed they used cheaper landscape cloth to line the drainage bed and not pond liner as stated in the invoice. The work was done well but I came away feeling cheated.

Description of Work
We contracted with Earthadelic to have underground downspout drainage tubes replaced, foundation water diversion work and the creation of a water diversion stone-lined channel installed on our hillside to help keep our basement drier.

Category landscaping

3.0

11/24/2016


Flash B.

A rep came out to view the services that I needed done. He was very courteous and had some excellent ideas for additional services. Unfortunately I waited two weeks and never received a quote. Due to the delay I went with another company. My original plan was to go with Earthadelic because of the ideas that the rep provided.

Description of Work
Mulching, bushes cut, flower beds removed, and trees trimmed.

Category landscaping

5.0

12/31/2015


Arnold B.

Pricey but well worth the cost. Nothing performed was less than sterling. Work was designed and installed as agreed. Four new trees, resloping of lawn area by bobcat work, dirt and debris hauled off, reinstallation of irrigation of sprinklers and termite things. Corrected a slab alignment fault from original house construction of 18 years ago. A big concern of mine was the replacement of the existing beautiful rock work in the culvert. Wow, did they do a great job of new rock work exceeding the old stuff by light years. Work crew headed up by Daniel was extremely efficient and friendly to us and to our neighbors. They even pressure washed the street where construction dirt and other construction debris normally spills. Entire project went exactly as proposed by Mike and was well executed throughout. This company is great and I would recommend them to anyone looking for a high quality job/materials/performance standard. It just doesn't get any better.

Description of Work
Beautiful design and installation of new paver driveway and reconfiguration of yard landscaping.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us! It brings us much pleasure that your project turned out exactly how your envisioned. We'll be sure to tell everyone that contributed how happy you are with the final product!

2.0

06/21/2015


Valerie M.

Horrible. They gave me an estimate of 26,000. For a simple landscape plan. Outrageous!

Category landscaping

2.0

06/16/2015


darini A.

Initially I was given a guesstimate of $10,000. Told they would have a quote early next week. Following week lheard nothing . Several weeks later they finally came with a quote that was at $17000 but didn't include the pond. It was for drainage , planting a large flower bed and patio. Said full quote would be done by next Tuesday . Tuesday came and went. Finally they said they would come following Monday . Didn't show up. When called they said they thought appt was Wed. Came later with quote that was over $17000 for just pool and waterfall ( didn't include patio which was another & 7300) . Total quote was $26000. They had left off the flower bed in this quote so still didn't have a complete quote Having giving me a ball park figure of 5-7000 for pond. You would think they would deveiop the pond based on that number. Instead they developed a pond with several tracks of waterfalls into a pond from top of hill to bottom .

Description of Work
Gave me a quote on a drainage issue and pond

Category landscaping

5.0

06/02/2015


ANGELA B.

I called for estimate. They came out and reviewed what I wanted done. They provided me with an estimate of work that I couldn't afford.

Description of Work
I received an estimate for work but it was way out of our budget so we did not proceed with this company. They were polite, professional and I surely would use them had I had the money.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Greetings (removed member name)! I'm sorry we couldn't be of more help. Please consider us next time!

2.0

04/21/2015


David W.

Got the card from the representative but never heard from them again.

Description of Work
Received a card from the company at a home show and signed up for them to call me about giving an estimate.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Home and trade shows can get chaotic, but we're glad we did get a hold of you, [member name removed]. Dale can't wait to meet with you next week and get started on your project!

5.0

03/24/2015


James S.

My experience with them has been great. They had a plan and they stuck to it. If there was any problem, they got it resolved immediately. They have been a pleasure to work with. The crew has been fine. The supervisor has been very helpful to me. They explain what they are doing and explain what I need to do. It has been a positive experience.

Description of Work
Earthadelic are doing some work for me now.

Category hardscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], we're so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

2.0

02/11/2015


Deanna L.

All of our dealings with Earthadelic, save one, were with Michael Martin, Senior Representative. Mr. Martin was knowledgeable, charming, and appeared sincerely interested in our project. Unfortunately, nearly every appointment or scheduled contact with Mr. Martin was cancelled or overlooked by him, and promises of performance went unfulfilled. Approximately a month after I began looking for a landscaping company, I was no closer to a decision and was dissatisfied with my options. Based on discussions with us, Mr. Martin suggested that the planting design we were working from did not clearly reflect our vision for the property and offered to prepare a new one, at no charge to us. (Presumably the cost would be included in the final project cost.) At this point, I was not ready to be tied to a single company and so insisted on paying for the plan separately. My expectation was that I would review the proposal over the winter and, assuming it was satisfactory, have all four companies submit proposals to execute it in the spring. Accordingly, I gave Mr. Martin a check for $1,500 on August 19, 2014. After one missed appointment, Mr. Martin interviewed us, asking a series of questions apparently designed to elicit a sense of our design style. He also e-mailed us two lists of plants, asking that we each look at them and rate them for their appeal, which we immediately did. Approximately one week later, I accepted the fact that completing the project before the onset of cold weather was well nigh impossible. Accordingly, I asked each of the four companies to submit a proposal for the lawn, irrigation, lighting, and selected plantings. These I received from the other three companies within a few days. At the end of September, almost six weeks after paying Mr. Martin to prepare a new planting design and a month after requesting a proposal for the initial (reduced) phase of the landscaping, I had received neither. I called Mr. Martin and set a date, I believe about 5 days later, by which time I expected to have his proposal in hand. The proposal, when I did receive it, covered substantially less of the work than I had requested and was substantially more expensive than the other proposals I received. The planting design was, according to Mr. Martin, not yet complete. At this point, I advised Mr. Martin that I was terminating discussions with Earthadelic and, since the planting design was not complete, requested a refund of the $1,500 I had advanced him. Approximately a week later, I called Dale Madden, owner of Earthadelic, to reiterate my request for a refund, explaining the problems I had had with Mr. Martin. Mr. Madden was very courteous and apologetic. We received a check refunding our deposit approximately one week later.

Description of Work
Earthadelic was asked to submit a proposal for executing a landscape design we had previously commissioned from a Landscape Architect. Of the four companies contacted, Earthadelic was the first scheduled to meet with us -- and the last to submit their proposal.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

[removed name] and Angie's List Members, I am Steve Polte one of the Earthadelic owners. My business partner, Dale Madden, and I are appalled by and deeply apologetic for the performance of our sales representative in the business interaction described by [removed name]. One of the core business tenants on which our business is built is professionalism. We strive to provide our customers the most professional business interactions in everything we do, not just in Knoxville, but in the industry. In this instance and in a previous instance noted in a previous Angie's List review this member of our team did not perform at the level our company demands. Dale and I take full responsibility as the owners of the company. We have spent a number of sessions and many ours with our entire sales team debriefing on this incident, breaking down the failures, and ultimately gaining understanding of the underlying causes. As a result of this effort we’ve implemented measures to minimize the likelihood of any future Earthadelic customer having a similar experience. We invite members of our Angie's List community to give us a chance. We will not disappoint you like we did [removed name]. You have Dale's and my personal pledge on this. Our 100% satisfaction guarantee is not some sleazy marketing ploy. This pledge is a reflection of the way we've always conducted our business - delivering the highest quality and craftsmanship in a professional high service oriented manner. Always standing behind our work. Above all our business is built on integrity. Our entire team is acutely aware of our service failure described in this review. As such, we the Eathadelic team pledge to never again let a customer down. Please give us this chance. If you need assurance please call me, Steve Polte, 865-806-1125.

3.0

12/18/2014


Nancy M.

Description of Work
Arrived late but notified us ahead. Very knowledgeable about the work we needed done. Said we would have an estimate in 7-10 days but never received one.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Ms[removed member name] and Angie's List Members, I am Steve Polte one of the Earthadelic owners. I am appalled at the lack of responsiveness our sales representative exhibited with [removed member name]. This representative, over the years, has demonstrated a high level of professionalism, a keen eye for detail, creative landscape designs, and an incredible work ethic. We do not take it lightly when anyone on our team comes up short in satisfying our clients. We will take this opportunity to learn from this shortcoming and will implement measures to make sure we improve our future performance. I offer my most sincere apology to [removed member name]and the Angie’s List community for not meeting expectations and performing below the standards Earthadelic has worked so hard to establish. I hope the Angie’s List community will give us a chance to demonstrate our commitment to quality, craftsmanship, and great service. This incident was an anomaly, however our entire team will strive to not allow to happen again.

5.0

06/07/2014


Molly D.

Their representative was a real expert on all things fish, plants and water. He went above and beyond to work with me and was extremely sympathetic to my situation. While I could not afford to do what they suggested right now, I will definitely be using them when its time. Their estimate was $25,000 but I loved their idea and vision so much that I chose to wait until I could afford them rather than going with a cheaper company.

Description of Work
Gave an estimate for converting my dilapidated swimming pool into a natural swimming pond. Their estimated cost was way above my budget, but as a temporary fix they suggested and delivered plants to clear and oxygenate the water.

Category landscaping

4.0

05/31/2014


Wayne W.

.

Description of Work
Tuck pointed brick steps.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Smoky Mountain Deck Builders LLC

    Smoky Mountain Deck Builders specializes in custom Decks, Screen Rooms, Arbors, Docks, Under Deck dry ceilings, and Gazebos. Unlike a majority of companies offering deck services, we focus our business around our outdoor structures only, allowing us to perfect our trade with consistency, speed and efficiency. How can you be the greatest at what you do when you attempt several trades? We build beautiful outdoor structures 50 weeks a year, 5 days a week. Why only 5 days a week? How can you be passionate about your work without a personal life, without time for family? We do not expect you to believe in us, we expect you to believe real people in your community. Check out our reviews! Smoky Mountain Deck Builders  

    Offers by Smoky Mountain Deck Builders LLC on Angi
    Dudes Company

    We offer quality and affordable pressure washing services.  

    Beautiful Homes of TN

    We offer a wide range of services to be a one stop shop for our customers  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Hardscapes, Landscape Design & Installation, Lawn Maintenance, Pool Decks and Renovation & Water Features

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Earthadelic

    How is Earthadelic overall rated?

    Earthadelic is currently rated 3.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Earthadelic open?

    Earthadelic is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Earthadelic provide

    Earthadelic accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Earthadelic offer free estimates?

    Yes, Earthadelic offers free project estimates.

    Does Earthadelic offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Earthadelic does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Earthadelic?

    No, Earthadelic does not offer warranties.

    What services does Earthadelic offer?

    Earthadelic offers the following services: Hardscapes, Landscape Design & Installation, Lawn Maintenance, Pool Decks and Renovation & Water Features