Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping

Founded 2000 • With Angi since April 2013

5.0

(160) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2501 Virgil Rushing Way

Knoxville, TN 37914

Description

We are a lawn care, landscaping and tree service that does our best to be "A Cut Above" the rest. In business since 2000. we pride ourselves on exceeding our customers expectations. We are licensed and insured with a guarantee on our work....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/23/2020


Sarah I.

Always conscientious!! Perseveres through challenging circumstances. Have used their services in the past for trees, yard maintenance (>2 acres). Great to work with, dependable and competitively priced/fair. Would definitely use again!!

Description of Work
Retaining wall

Category tree service, hardscaping

5.0

06/23/2020


Brenda P.

A+++Absolutely gorgeous landscaping job! Everyone who comes to our home brags on the sidewalk and landscaping on the front of our house! These folks are a joy to work with! Honest, pleasant, hardworking... and they go above and beyond to make the customer happy! My yard looks SO much nicer! They have removed an old sidewalk and overgrown shrubs and replaced it with a beautiful stone walkway, a stone border, and lovely plants. Since that job was completed they have returned to fill and seed around a new concrete driveway, and to do mowing. Their prices are very reasonable, and best of all, these are people you can trust to do what they say they will. I will definitely be calling them for any type of landscaping!

Description of Work
hardscape/ landscaping

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

06/23/2020


Connie M.

Absolutely beautiful work! My retaining wall looks fantastic, absolutely perfect… Very professional, cleaned up tidy after the job, the job is done in a very professional and quality workmanship like manner. I would absolutely recommend and hire again!

Description of Work
retaining wall and landscape

Category hardscaping

5.0

11/17/2018


Jay A.

They were quick, professional and all around great.

Description of Work
Tree/vine removal

Category lawn service

5.0

06/20/2018


Andrew F.

Jason did a great job. They cleaned up our front flower beds, planted new shrubs and plants, and mulched. They also cleaned up another flower bed. They arrived when they said they would and completed the work that day. Price was good too.

Description of Work
Landscaping and Clean up of Front Flower Beds

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. Much appreciated!

5.0

06/14/2018


Beth C.

Jason is wonderful to work with. Very professional, punctual, knowledgeable, listens and offers suggestions. They mulched flowerbeds, removed two shrubs, and regraded and seeded an area of the lawn. I couldn't ask for better quality work and it looks wonderful.

Description of Work
Mulching and landscaping

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much! You are a pleasure to work with and we look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

05/23/2018


Apostles A.

I can't recommend Jason and A Cut Above enough. We got multiple bids for the job and his was the best we received. He gave us a clear idea of his availability and once the work was completed, we were thrilled with the result. He does good work!

Description of Work
Trimmed five 25ft. tall hedges/trees

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Glad you were pleased with our work.

5.0

01/29/2018


Kathleen C.

These guys are amazing. We have been using them for several years now. They always do a thorough, neat, and professional job. Jason and his crew go above and beyond to ensure the lawn looks perfect. Not only that, but they never leave any trash, not even a cigarette butt, behind.

Description of Work
Lawn mowing, mulching, and leaf removal

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! Glad our work has always been above par.

5.0

12/23/2017


Anne O.

We were very happy with services. Jason was great about getting over to the house to provide a quote and before/after photos since we couldn’t be there in person. He cleared out brush, took down a gigantic tree, and even worked with us to provide a stack of firewood from the leftover wood. His prices were fair and competitive, and he went above and beyond when he discovered a bunch of cement had been poured into a part of the tree to cover up lightning damage. We will definitely use him again!

Description of Work
Large tree removal, clearing excess brush

Category hauling services, lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you leaving us a review!!

5.0

12/12/2017


Franci M.

Jason was wonderful. He responded to my request quickly and came to our house to give us an estimate. He quoted a very reasonable price for the work, including stump grinding for incomplete previous work, by someone else. He noted he would not be able to complete the work for a few weeks, due to his heavy schedule. He contacted us a few days prior to arriving, and was very kind to schedule the work time to accommodate our schedule. He was to clean up messy work by a previous tree trimmer and complete additional trim work on other trees. He arrived at the time promised and quickly completed the necessary work. He was very thorough and made sure we were pleased with the work completed. We had gotten his name from friends who had also utilized his services, with positive results. After checking on Angie's List, we made contact throuh the website. We are extremely pleased with not only his work product, but with his friendly attitude and desire to meet our expectations. His rates were amazingly reasonable, especially compared to the previous work we had completed. Wish we had contacted him in the beginning! While we had to pay someone else to clean up the mess left by our first attempt at getting the work completed, Jason left the area clean! Beautiful!! I would recommend Jason, with no doubts that he would meet the expectations of any client. We are very pleased! Thank you Jason and your men!

Description of Work
Cleaning up work unsuccessfully completed by unskilled tree trimmers and several additional trees needed attention.

Category lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It is much appreciated!

5.0

12/05/2017


Brenda P.

A+++ We are doing several projects inside and outside of our 25-yr-old home, so I have had the opportunity to meet with lots of contractors over the past few months. Some were late or never returned calls...some were much more expensive than our budget permitted...some were very unprofessional with language and appearance...and then I found "A Cut Above." Mr. Storts is such a pleasure to deal with! From the first phone call, he was on time for appointments, he made suggestions on ways to improve the area, he helped me keep costs down, and his work is just beautiful. This was not an easy job and required the removal of an old 20+ft. concrete sidewalk and brick step that had shifted/cracked...Mr. Storts replaced it with a gorgeous stone walkway that is curved to connect to a concrete drive that is in our future plans. I know very little about plants and he recommended plants that do well in our area, in the location we were landscaping, and that would not require a lot of maintenance. Every person who has been to our home since the job was completed has complimented us on how wonderful it looks! I would especially like to brag on Mr. Storts' son who helped him on this project. What a talented, professional young man! He worked particularly **** ** the sidewalk install and it is beautiful! I didn't really have an opportunity to talk with the rest of his crew but I can say that they worked hard and did a great job. Hats off to you, Mr. Storts, for building a company that is exactly what customers like me are looking for. I absolutely will be contacting you again for any landscaping we do, and will recommend you to family and friends!

Description of Work
Replacement of sidewalk and steps, removal of old plants, design and installation of plants, rock and mulch.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the great review! You were truly a pleasure to work with and we look forward to working with you again in the future!

5.0

11/13/2017


Janet A.

Jason responded the day I contacted him to request a quote. He got me the quote quickly, and it was more than fair. He let me know the day they were coming out and the work was completed that day with no issues. All debris was removed. There was no trace that they were there (except the trees were gone). I HIGHLY RECOMMEND A Cut Above. Professional, Punctual, and Courteous!

Description of Work
We had 2 cedar trees that needed to be cut down. They were nestled between power lines leading to my home and my neighbor's.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! You were a pleasure to work with and we look forward to working with you again in the future.

2.0

11/08/2017


David P.

First of all, I did not hire this company for the work. Let me explain why. I contacted this company to obtain a quote. I was advised I would be contacted the following week on when he would be able to come out and give a quote. The next week came and went along with almost another whole week when I reached out again. He advised he never received the text I sent with the requested info. He advised he would be by that week to give a quote. Low and behold he never came out again. He ended up asking me to send a picture of what I needed dropped and he would give me a price through that. I obliged and sent the picture. He came up with a price and I think asked about a coupon I saw on Angie's list. He proceeded to advise that there were no coupons on Angie's list. I advised that I had looked at it and he said it was not valid as there was not supposed to be any coupons on Angie's List as it was his busy season. When he advised he would not honor the coupons on this site, I decided I would not be moving forward with him. I am glad that I did not purchase it before mentioning it.

Description of Work
Dead tree cut down and into firewood length pieces.

Category lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. I'm sorry I was not able to accommodate your needs at this time and let me explain why. We have been extremely busy this year, running three to four weeks out, nearly all year. When we first spoke, I let you know I would be out as soon as I could and you indicated that time was not a huge factor. Due to our busy schedule ( this happened mid-summer, I believe) and you living 45 minutes away and the fact that I was working daylight until dark most days, I could not find an hour and a half in my schedule to go look at the job so I asked you to send me a picture. I gave you a price and then you asked about a coupon we had on Angie's List and I told you I didn't think we had any at this time because I had asked my rep at Angie's List to remove it several weeks before. However, it had not been removed and I apologize for not being able to honor that. We normally run deals when we are trying to generate business during our slow times but when we are swamped we can't afford to work at a discounted rate. Hope this makes sense and if the need ever arises, I would love for you to give us another chance.

5.0

11/07/2017


Lenny B.

Jason came in right when he said he would, cut it into a size I could handle for firewood, and didn't damage any property (despite having to get over a car-port, a fence and 2 neighbors yards!). He kept in communication the best he could, had the lowest cost of 3 different quotes and had the whole thing done in a matter of hours. Definitely professional, definitely a great job. Would recommend and will use again!

Description of Work
We had a pretty big tree in our back yard that was had branches falling off and dying, it was old, tall and brittle and just needed to come down. The back yard is fenced in and there was no easy way to get to it.

Category lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

11/02/2017


Steve H.

Went well from the very beginning. Good communication with Jason and good responsiveness on his part. Work was accomplished safely and satisfactorily.

Description of Work
Had one semi-dead tree removed that was a threat to fall on my house.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the tone to leave us a review!

5.0

10/30/2017


Claudia F.

Jason did a great job! Very prompt with getting back to us. Came out to give us a very reasonable quote. The job was completed right on time at the cost we were quoted and Jason did an excellent job. We would absolutely recommend him and are already on the books for spring!

Description of Work
Landscaping, trees cut down, overgrown hedges cut back, mulching, shrubs replaced

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again in the spring.

5.0

09/07/2017


Mindy B.

Everything went well. Jason quoted us a price and kept to his word. I found Jason's company on Angie's List and glad I did. I checked with another company who quoted me a lower price but their communications was sub-par. I would definitely use Jason's company in the future for similar needs.

Description of Work
Several trees removed.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review [Member Information Removed] we look forward to working with you again!

5.0

09/02/2017


Nelson G.

The work went well and I contracted to have additional trees cut down plus some branches trimmed. The job was very difficult and the A Cut Above Crew performed brilliantly.

Description of Work
Trees were cut down and removed very neatly. The debris was contained and removed.

Category lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! We appreciate you choosing us to take care of your trees for you. Look forward to working with you again in the future.

5.0

08/30/2017


Susan K.

Unfortunately for me they were not taking on any new mowing clients in my area at this time, nonetheless I was contacted promptly and professionally. I would be happy to use their services in future if a slot ever opened up.

Description of Work
Needed lawn mowed 2X a month

Category lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for leaving us a review! I hate to say "No" to taking on new clients but sometimes it is best so we can continue to give quality service to the clients we already have. Possibly we can help you out in the spring.

5.0

08/30/2017


Tim C.

Work performed exceptionally well, and the site was left in excellent condition.

Description of Work
Cut and removed large pine tree.

Category lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review!

5.0

08/17/2017


Neil S.

Went great! Father and son duo! Cut some tree limbs off of the roof and removed english ivy that had taken over the side of the house. HUGE difference! Would definitely recommend and hire again!

Description of Work
Tree and vine trimming

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and look forward to working with you again!

5.0

08/02/2017


heather F.

I contacted several professionals thru Angie's List, I received a couple of estimates. When A Cut Above contacted me, we exchanged details about the job and he went over to do a quick estimate. I didn't even have to be home for the estimate!! He called to tell me about my situation and stated he could take care of it ON THE SPOT!! Awesome service. You can now sit on the patio furniture without tree limbs hanging over you, less leaves in the pool, and there is still plenty tree for shade. Great work, I will be calling them back when the time comes!

Description of Work
I had a tree overhanging the pool area that needed to be scaled back.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! Glad we could help.

5.0

06/26/2017


Benjamin P.

They did an excellent job. We had to reschedule the first attempt on account of rain but they were out the next morning before 9:00 to get started. They got the tree down completely in one day and then came out the next day to finish the mulching and clean-up. All in all, they were very professional.

Description of Work
I had a large tree within a few feet of my house that I wanted taken down, both for safety reasons and because my new home owner's insurance inspection called attention to the large limbs hanging over the roof. I called multiple tree services to come out and give an estimate. A Cut Above was the only one that returned my call AND made it out when they said they would.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! If we can ever be of assistance again, don't hesitate to give us a call.

5.0

06/26/2017


Bradley J.

They are very responsive and do a wonderful job.

Description of Work
Tree work and yard cleanup.

Category lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks you!!

5.0

06/23/2017


Linda R.

Contacts and follow-through were immediate. Jason provided a reasonable estimate, maintained contact and completed the work within the time frame discussed. The job was difficult to accomplish, due to the location. Work completed was above expectations and cleanup was complete (this all happened within a nine day time frame). We will definitely recommend Jason to others and will contract with him in the future. We are thankful, as we had previously contracted with another recommended business that never showed up, never responded to calls or cancelled over a 3+ month period (this lag resulted in the leaning tree falling and damaging property).

Description of Work
Removal of a fallen walnut tree, logs and one tree cut and removed. The walnut tree had fallen on a neighbor's fence.

Category hauling services, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you contacted us and look forward to working with you again in the future.

    Other local Pros in your area

    King Floyd Junk Removal

    King Floyd Junk Removal is a full-service Junk Removal and Hauling company. We have 3+ years of experience in getting your project cleaned up. My name is William Clark, I am the owner and operator. We specialize in junk removal, hauling, debris removal, estate cleanouts and much more. Quick turnaround to complete your project. I will price match any offer! Call us today!  

    Offers by King Floyd Junk Removal on Angi
    Extra Quality Service

    Veteran Owned and veteran operated business specializing in duct cleaning and pressure washing. We strive to provide affordable and quality work for all of our customers. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Landscape Services By Sean Harris

    Small, American owned landscape service company. Providing service in Knoxville, Tennessee and the surrounding counties. Licensed and insured. Down payment of half is due at beginning of any installations. Balance then due upon satisfaction of completion of job. Maintenance and some services are billed at an hourly rate, unless previously agreed upon. Please allow 4-6 weeks for scheduling. Military and Senior discounts upon request.  

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Grass cutting, weeding, mowing, lawn care, mulching, decorative rock, landscaping, weed control, core aerating, overseeding & fertilization, trimming & pruning, seasonal lawn cleanup & leaf removal, tree care

    Services Not Offered

    Gravel Delivery, Excavation, Topsoil Delivery, Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping

    How is A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping overall rated?

    A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping open?

    A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping provide

    A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping offer a senior discount?

    No, A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping?

    Yes, A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping offer?

    A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping offers the following services: Grass cutting, weeding, mowing, lawn care, mulching, decorative rock, landscaping, weed control, core aerating, overseeding & fertilization, trimming & pruning, seasonal lawn cleanup & leaf removal, tree care

    Are there any services A Cut Above Lawn & Landscaping does not offer?

    Gravel Delivery, Excavation, Topsoil Delivery, Ask for details