Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Brown's Hardwood

Founded 2000 • With Angi since July 2013

5.0

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

unknown

Johnson City, TN 37601

Description

Hardwood Flooring, Installation, Refinish, and Repair. I use Dust Containment to keep dust at a minimum. I take Pride in my work and really appreciate all my customers. Please give us a call and let us make your Hardwood Flooring Dreams come true!

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
josh M.
5.0
01/19/2019
Absolutely some of the best group of people to have at your house. Very polite and very professional. Amazing job on the floors. The floors are perfect. Almost so perfect they look fake. These guys know what they are doing
Description of Work
We had the floors sanded and went with a dark color from a natural look.
Category
hardwood floor
Michael L.
5.0
08/17/2017
The job went great and the results were the same. The crew was very professional: arrived when promised, explained the job as they went, kept the dust to a minimum and floor looks better than new.
Description of Work
Oak floor refinishing
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Sarah E.
5.0
06/22/2017
Ricky and his crew are very professional and provide a quality service. Ricky responded within 12 hours of my first call, came to quote the job within two days and was eager to work. The team of installers was very effective and the product is great. I have confidence that the installers did all of the small things that I will never see to ensure that this will be the last floor I install in my house. I will use Ricky and his team for all of my refinishing in the future. I recommend Brown's Hardwood for installation and refinishing of hardwood floors.
Description of Work
1300 sq ft. Remove old linoleum and tile. Install and finish hardwood flooring.
Category
hardwood floor
Michael L.
5.0
05/01/2017
Ricky was polite and helpful, and he did an amazing job.
Description of Work
Refinishing of original hardwood floors in a craftsman house
Category
hardwood floor
Richard G.
5.0
07/25/2016
The work went very well. Ricky Brown and his crew were prompt and diligent, and did an excellent job, with lots of value-added touches.
Description of Work
We needed three rooms of old hardwood flooring stripped, sanded, and refinished.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Mike F.
5.0
07/21/2016
We are very pleased. Ricky Brown and his staff did an excellent job. The white oak floor looked brand new by the time Ricky's crew finished. They found 2 large old floor heating vents that had been badly patched over with pine planks. They restored those areas so well it's impossible to see that there has been any kind of repair to those areas. The laminate floor is beautiful. Ricky's staff is wonderful to work with and kept us updated on progress and time needed to finish the job. We would highly recommend Brown's Hardwood to anyone needing wood flooring installation or repair.
Description of Work
Refinishing a 60 year old white oak bedroom floor and installing laminate flooring in another bedroom. The white oak floor was in very bad shape under a carpet. It was stained with mold, paint and dirt.
Category
flooring contractor
Nina M L.
5.0
06/13/2016
Ricky Brown's Hardwood is a top notch outfit.;Ricky and crew are honest, hard working and very dependable. Ricky gave us a quote to refinish the oak flooring in our home which was in pretty bad shape. The price was very reasonable.Ricky and crew arrived when promised and began work immediately. I was really impressed with the dust control procedures that were utilized. The Brown crew worked each day till around 6 and finished my flooring job on time. ;The quality of their work is outstanding! I will definitely use Brown's Hardwood again should the need arise.
Description of Work
Refinished 2800 square feet of flooring
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Mary N.
5.0
02/03/2016
Very well - excellent attention to detail and high quality work.
Description of Work
Refinish almost floor in 2 large halls and five rooms in a hundred year old farmhouse
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Susan M.
5.0
12/04/2015
A true professional and a really nice person to boot. A very good listener and took the time to really grasp what our 1960's ranch house needed. His crew is professional and respectful, and they all knew what they were doing on a technical level. I would hire them again in a minute.
Description of Work
Installed a new hardwood floor and repaired some older hardwood areas.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Charles S.
5.0
02/04/2015
Initially contacted due to excellent reviews here on Angie's List and they weren't wrong. I set up an appointment with Ricky who arrived on time and provided an accurate estimate for the install. We set up an install appointment and his workers were punctual and arrived at the scheduled time and completed the job on time without any issues. Flooring was installed in a professional manner with quality in mind with hardly any issues with dust. They even vacuumed before leaving. The only problem was on my end by not ordering enough quarter round to finish the job. Once the shipment of quarter round came in, I called Ricky and was impressed when he said they would come back out and install it without charging me anything additional. I fully espected to be charged for another appointment but he worked me in. He even made a statement to the effect that customer satisfaction was his primary goal and he meant it! I would wholeheartedly recommend Brown's Hardwood to anyone who needed flooring services!
Description of Work
Installed engineered hardwood flooring in residential living room and hallway, approx. 280SF. I provided flooring, underlayment and quarter round.
Category
hardwood floor
Kimberly H.
5.0
01/31/2015
As before Ricky's crew did an fantastic job. Very professional. On time. Made an real effort to minimize the mess. Cleaned up after themselves. Job was completed ON TIME and ON BUDGET!
Description of Work
Tore out carpeting and laid hardwood flooring in master suite.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Debra K.
5.0
09/22/2014
The work went well. The workers were very professional. The were excellent craftsmen. Very friendly and polite. Kept us informed of any problem or concern, which were few. They enjoyed their work as indicated in their cheerful mood.
Description of Work
The company installed hardwood flooring in our house.The finished product was outstanding. There were no delays and was finished two days earlier than proposed.
Category
hardwood floor
Linda G.
5.0
07/14/2014
Great. Punctual. polite. NO DUST anywhere in the house when they finished. Very Happy with work. Will use again at primary home.
Description of Work
Refinished hardwood floors in second home (nearly empty)
Category
hardwood floor
Chris C.
5.0
07/10/2014
We hired Brown's Hardwood Flooring after considering others, Ricky's quote was competitive and less expensive than others we received. He showed up on time for the quote, shared with me how we would approach the job and was a straight shooter. After awarding him the work, he took the time to come back to put some stains on the floor so we could see and select the one we liked best. He started the job on time and even sent me pictures of progress. He kept the mess to a minimum (as much as you can when refinishing hardwood). He also got job done on time. Only opportunity for improvement would have been to tape up the shoe mold on our baseboard to avoid having it repainted. All in all, I would hire Ricky again and recommend him to others.
Description of Work
Refinished hardwood throughout home and stair treads of staircase.
Category
hardwood floor
Sharon D.
5.0
07/01/2014
Ricky Brown came out and gave us his honest opinion and we talked about what might be done. We did not hire him at that time because we really did not have the money to do anything, but I just needed to know for planning purposes. He was just delightful. I will hire him when I get ready to do the work. He was very easy to talk to. He was a Christian man and clearly a Christian man. He was willing to work with us on the price and so we tried. We do not have any super extra money coming in. So, he was willing to work with us and negotiate what could be done and not done to keep the price reasonable. We were just very happy with the way he dealt with us and his willingness not to charge us anything for coming out and taking a look. We did have a little difficulty scheduling. Our schedules did not match, but it did not bother me one way or another.
Description of Work
Brown’s Hardwood came out to give us a quote to refinish the hardwood.
Category
hardwood floor
William S.
5.0
06/22/2014
Ricky and his crew did a fabulous job! They were there were he said they would be and got the job done on schedule. The 12 year old floors looked better than when they were new. Ricky also came back afterwards to make sure we were satisfied with everything. The price was excellent for all the work they did. We had some water damage from leaking failed inlet valves in the washer, dishwasher and the refrigerator (we had a bad pressure regulator on the main water line). When they were done you would have never know that we had leaks from those appliances. Excellent work! I would highly recommend Ricky and his crew for any of your hardwood needs.
Description of Work
Refinished oak hardware floors.
Category
hardwood floor
Carrie U.
5.0
06/18/2014
Ricky and his team were great to work with! This job was for an older lady at my church and they accommodated her needs by doing the work in two phases. The old hardwood was restored to its original condition and is just beautiful. I know this added much value to her adorable little house. I would highly recommend them to anyone and will not hesitate to use them again in the future.
Description of Work
Removed old carpet and pad and refinished hardwood floors in five rooms.
Category
hardwood floor
Richard J.
5.0
06/14/2014
We found Brown's Hardwood Flooring on Angie's List. Their reviews were very positive, which strongly influenced our decision to contact them. We had a somewhat unusual situation, in that our kitchen hardwood floors were in pretty bad shape, but the rest of the floors were not. Unfortunately the flooring was continuous, so we knew it was going to be difficult to refinish the kitchen floor only and get it to match at the intersection with the rest of our floors. We contacted Ricky and scheduled an appointment for him to look at the problem and give us an estimate. I asked him if he could find an intersection point to use and then refinish the kitchen floors only, since the rest of the flooring was in pretty good shape. He was very reluctant to do this. He explained that stained floors change colors over time due to traffic, sunlight, oxidation, etc., and it was almost impossible to match an old finish perfectly. I pushed him to try, and he agreed, although he said he could not guarantee a match. We decided to go with a provincial stain that seemed to be the best match. The process involved considerable sanding. His equipment is equipped with vacuum devices which really do keep down most of the dust that has been common with hardwood floor refinishing in the past. The dust really was not bad in the house during the process. After sanding had been completed, the stain was applied, and then a coat of polyurethane finish. This was allowed to dry and cure overnight. This coat was sanded slightly and then a waterborne polymer coat was applied. This coat dries and cures more quickly and, after again sanding slightly, a second coat was applied about 4-5 hours later. The floor looked wonderful when this process was completed, but unfortunately, as Ricky had predicted, there was a visible difference where the old floors and the refinished kitchen floor met. We decided to have Ricky come back and do the rest of the floors in a similar way. He came back about five weeks later to meet our schedule and repeated the process on the rest of the flooring. The first refinishing of the kitchen floors only was completed in two days. The rest of the house required four days to complete when he came back for the second visit. The match between the kitchen floors and the rest of the flooring is perfect. The junction of the two jobs is imperceptible. We found one hardwood flooring board in the kitchen that had a thin loose veneer in it after the job was completed. Ricky and his crew were able to use Superglue to cement this back to the board. However, Ricky said if this did not hold, they could replace the board at a later time. He provided me with three finished boards to keep if this needs to be done in the near future. He said they would return to do this at our request. Overall, we were very pleased with their work. They are very customer focused and pleasant to deal with.
Description of Work
Refinished all hardwood floors in our home (kitchen, dining room, living room, Great Room and hall)
Category
hardwood floor
marianna B.
5.0
04/26/2014
Ricky and his crew are very professional. They did an excellent work on my living room and hall floor. My floors look better today than they did in 1960 when they were new. I was extremely pleased with their work and would recommend then to anyone who wants excellent work at a fair price.
Description of Work
Refinished my living room and hall floor.
Category
hardwood floor
Kimberly H.
5.0
03/18/2014
Ricky and his crew were very professional from first contact to last. Ricky listened patiently while I described EXACTLY what I wanted done and the look I was going for. They did a fantastic job! We are very pleased with our new flooring and fully intend to use their services again. We just can't say enough good things about the quality of their work!
Description of Work
Removed carpeting and airconditioning floor vents from living room. Laid new hardwood flooring in livingroom. Placed shoe molding around baseboards. TIghtened up subflooring, laid down a moisture barrier. Stained wood on fireplace and stained new wood floor vents. Cleaned up all dust and wood particles.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
CHERYL K.
5.0
01/29/2014
It went great. They showed up when they said and did a wonderful job. The floors look like they must have when the 1930s house was new and they cleaned up....you couldn't tell they had been there with the exception if the beautiful floors.
Description of Work
We rehabbed a 1930s house with original. They refinished those floors and made them look new again.
Category
hardwood floor
Michael L.
5.0
12/17/2013
UPDATE: The floors in our 100-year-old home look brand new! I actually can't believe it. A couple of things to note: -Ricky made great recommendations regarding stain, including the fact that we needed it, rather than just polyurethane, and what color to use. -He was really patient in helping me choose a color. Including putting several different samples on the floor until I found what I liked. -He kept me involved in every step of the process so I knew exactly what was going on and what to expect. It went really well. Ricky redid all of the hardwood floors in our rental, and he was aware and responsive to the fact that we needed it done quickly. He was able to fit us into his schedule and It only took about a week total. Ricky was really up front about cost and the amount of time it would take. He was really responsive to all the questions I had, which was a lot. I ended up with exactly what I wanted. The floors turned out beautifully! They turned out so well, in fact, I'm hiring him to redo all the floors in my home. We have a 100 year old home and the floors that are scary bad. Again, Ricky answered all my questions and helped us out with a really fair price and some great advice on getting them ready to be redone. I would highly recommend Ricky to anyone. Professional and beautiful work. Btw--I didn't include the cost because it seems to me there are a lot of variables that go into it. I will say, however, after talking to other friends about their refinishing experiences I am very happy. Also, I really liked that Ricky was very up front with the cost of different add ons (eg stain, different finishes, the effect different types of floors have on price, etc) , which definitely helped me to make an informed decision about what I wanted for my floors.
Description of Work
Ricky refinished the floors in the entire house. Sanding and polyurethane.
Category
hardwood floor
Liv D.
5.0
10/20/2013
I had two different people give me estimates on what the job would cost, and even though Ricky's price was a tad higher, I liked the way he communicated and demonstrated knowledge of hardwood refinishing. He was always responsive and professional. He and his team arrived on time as identified each day (sometimes arrival would change based on his schedule but he always gave me a heads up). Since it was a span of 5 days, we had no choice but to leave him in our house alone while we were at work, but based on our interactions I trusted him. It all went great. He always kept his crew in line (though they were never out of line). After the first sanding, (the floors looked incredible!) he put down several samples of stain in order to match the other portion of the house that had already been exposed (no carpet). I have a hard time making decisions sometimes, but he was very patient with me and helped me through the process, not giving up until he was confident that I liked what I saw. When he made the estimate, we hadn't completely removed the carpet in all areas. We finally finished removing the carpet and there was some repairs to be made based on the outline of a preexisting closet wall. I warned him of this, and said I would be happy to pay the cost that it took to repair. He repaired it and now the floor looks seamless, no one would be able to tell that it had looked like a mess. He did not add any price to the original estimate despite my insistence. We also had to trouble shoot in order to fix the threshold between the bedroom and master bath. He gave me various options, and even though I chose the option that required the most work, he never onced complained or tried to sway my decision. After about the third day I called with some concerns of some nail holes not having been refilled in a particularly noticeable area. He knew exactly what I was talking about and they were fixed the very next day. All in all, Ricky and his guys were great and we will hire them again.
Description of Work
I had Ricky and his team refinish the hardwood floors in two bedrooms and a hallway. The floors had been carpeted (my husband and I removed the carpet) and while the floors were generally in good shape, there were many many holes to fill which they did with no problem; that service was included in the quote.
Category
hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed] can you please contact me.
madelaine G.
5.0
08/08/2013
The floors looked better than i had emagined. The areas that needed to be patched matched up perfectly and the floors looked beautiful. They looked like brand new floors.
Description of Work
My husband hired them to repair and refinish a rental home.
Category
hardwood floor
Harold H.
5.0
07/01/2013
Ricky Brown was referred to me by Sim's Hardwood Flooring since they did not do refinishing work. He was very responsive in terms of providing an estimate and then working with us on the logistics of shifting furniture between rooms. Since we work from home, it meant that the office functions had to keep going. The work was done well, with minimal dust and confusion. He was also able to repair several places where previous repairs did not match the existing flooring. Would recommend him to anyone.
Description of Work
Refinished and repaired approximately 800 sq. ft of Heart Pine flooring in my 90 year old house.
Category
hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Footprints Floors of Asheville

    Committed to PROFESSIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE unheard of in the flooring installation industry. You deal directly with only one person during the whole process -- from estimate to finish. All of our crews have at least 5 to 10 years of experience. We offer flooring installation and refinishing services in Asheville and the surrounding areas to help you get the perfect look. Because floors are all that we do... we do them best!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Hardwood Flooring Installation,, Refinishing, & Repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Brown's Hardwood

    How is Brown's Hardwood overall rated?

    Brown's Hardwood is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Brown's Hardwood provide

    Brown's Hardwood accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Brown's Hardwood offer free estimates?

    Yes, Brown's Hardwood offers free project estimates.

    Does Brown's Hardwood offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Brown's Hardwood does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Brown's Hardwood?

    Yes, Brown's Hardwood offers warranties.

    What services does Brown's Hardwood offer?

    Brown's Hardwood offers the following services: Hardwood Flooring Installation,, Refinishing, & Repair.