Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mckinzie Mechanical

Founded 1985 • With Angi since July 2011

3.9

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1617 Hwy 31 W

Goodlettsville, TN 37072

Description

Additional DBAs - McKinzie Mechanical Heating and Air Conditioning LLC, McKinzie Mechanical Heating, Cooling & Electrical. Additional contact name - Kim McKinzie.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Michael W.
3.0
01/14/2017
They were professional when they came out and they were knowledgeable.
Description of Work
They would check for leaks and cleanliness of the unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael W.
1.0
01/14/2017
We have spent a lot of money with McKenzie. It was awful and then they did not back their product and then went out of business. We had a yearly service with them and then our A/C went out. We got the unit after it had terrible reviews and they said all units are the same. It was a Maytag. It kept going out on us and after a year we had to start paying for the parts, not the labor. It was, like, an endless cycle of problems with that unit. Then they went out of business. They were not upfront with me because I expressed concern while talking with the owner. I was so furious that I would never have anything positive to say about them. They came out when they said they would. They could have been more honest and explained the issues that people have had with this unit before. They could have sold us an extended warranty or told us they were going out of business.
Description of Work
We used Mckinzie Mechanical. We bought a new A/C unit and it went out.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael W.
5.0
01/14/2017
We had them for about three years. They came out twice a year to check our air and heat. They were punctual and informative. We always got a sheet with what they recommended. We usually went with that. It was different people throughout our contract. We would probably have stayed with them if they had backed their unit. I was satisfied with what they did.
Description of Work
We had a yearly service with them. Serviced the air condition unit and looked for any leaks.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David-Nancy D.
5.0
01/28/2014
I requested a bid to replace my split heat pump. They provided a pomp response; however, their price was higher than I wanted to spend. I accepted a bid from another installer using different brand equipment.
Description of Work
Bid to do work.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bernie G.
5.0
01/06/2014
The tech, Bryan Lynch, was right on time for the appointment. He completely examined the heat system in my attic, tested all the components, both individually and as a system, and even created/installed a drain tube cleanout port. He then cleaned and checked the air conditioning system outside.He was very thorough and very professional! McKenzie Mechanical offers a 2-yr deal of 4 system service tune-ups (1 every 6 mos) for $194, which I feel is an excellent price. I initially became aware of the company by listening to Steve McKinzie, the owner, answer questions on a weekly call-in radio show (Saturdays at 1 P.M. on WTTN 99.7 FM). He was obviously very knowledgeable, sincere, and helpful. He even gives out his personal cell phone number. In summary, I was very impressed and satisfied with their promptness, competency, thoroughness, demeanor, and price. I signed up for an additional two years of service; they offer excellent service and value for the money, and give additional discounts for parts and labor on future calls. In my opinion, Steve McKinzie and his company, McKinzie Mechanical, are THE GOLD STANDARD for HVAC companies in the Nashville and surrounding areas!!
Description of Work
Examined, cleaned, serviced, and tested my entire heating system (gas) and air conditioning system (electric).
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mitch M.
1.0
08/26/2013
They were totally incompetent. We are currently in litigation to recover the money. I was forced to hire a third party to get the unit working correctly.
Description of Work
Installed HVAC with heat pump.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
ronnie D.
5.0
06/17/2013
THEY WERE GREAT ON TIME PUT THE NEW MAYTAG HEATING COOLING UNIT and ITS GREAT.
Description of Work
THEY REPLACED MY OLD HEATING & COOLING UNIT WITH A NEW MAYTAG UNIT
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Priscilla S.
2.0
06/17/2013
wan to be robbed. He never follow-ed up with me. The only thing I will say for him is he did come out at 10:00 PM, however he was supposed to be there at ~ 5:00pm and I took off work early to be home for that appointment. I have had other bad experiences with the HVAC industry and I am wondering is there anyone anymore with any intergrity out there? If so please let me know.
Description of Work
Checked unit for an airconditioning leak and put ~ 7 pounds of R-22 refrigerant in unit. the cosst of refrigerant was $92.00 per pound which is exorbitantly high. I called a supply company and a licensed contractor can purchase 30 pounds for $535.00 which is less than $18.00 per pound. He quoted me that it would cost in labor $800.00 to put an evaporator coil in the attic split unit and I have had other reputable companies quote me $425.00 to do the same work. The follow up contractor said that it was possible to fix the leak if it was slow which the McKinzie rep. told me was impossible. I don't mind someone making a living, but I don't
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
James D. R.
5.0
05/20/2013
We will definitely do business with again. Steve was on time and very professional. This service visit was made about a week ago. Everything went well.
Description of Work
The visit was going to cost $45.00. We joined the maintenance agreement for two years, plus the starting/running capacitor was bad and we needed a little over a pound of Freon. They did a complete inspection and cleaning. We were pleased.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JEFF H.
5.0
11/19/2012
Everything went great and as expected.
Description of Work
We had them install a dryer vent on one side of duplex and hard pipe under the duplex for exhaust and they were half the price of Hiller and did a great job. They also cleaned both HVAC units while there.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
ronnie D.
5.0
03/06/2012
THEY WERE PROFESIONAL DID A GRETA JOB
Description of Work
THEY SERVISED MY HTG SYSTEM GREAT PEOPLE
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the high review of our company. We appreciate your business. Steve McKinzie
william B.
5.0
10/15/2011
very personable and professional
Description of Work
serviced heat and a/c by cleaning and insured that everything worked properly
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the high review of our company. We appreciate your business. Steve McKinzie
5.0
06/28/2006
My overall experience with them has been good. They were professional and on time. I would recommend them for any repair work.
Description of Work
My husband had McKinzie Mechanical fix our ice maker. We also had them work on our air conditioning unit.
Category
appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    First Class Plumbing & HVAC LLC

    We provide First Class service at a quality price! For repairs, service and installation on all brands of Heating and Cooling systems. Installation of new tank or tankless water heaters. We run gas pipe too! Call us now at 615-504-8313 to schedule your appointment with Austin!  

    Angi Certified

    GPS Heating and Air Conditioning

    Guaranteed Personal Service (GPS). Value and Integrity is what you will get when calling GPS Heating and Air. We do accept all forms of payment including major credit or debit cards!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Stevenson Heating & Cooling

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Repair and install air conditioning systems, indoor air quality & geothermal units.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mckinzie Mechanical

    How is Mckinzie Mechanical overall rated?

    Mckinzie Mechanical is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mckinzie Mechanical open?

    Mckinzie Mechanical is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Mckinzie Mechanical provide

    Mckinzie Mechanical accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, Discover

    Does Mckinzie Mechanical offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mckinzie Mechanical offers free project estimates.

    Does Mckinzie Mechanical offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mckinzie Mechanical does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mckinzie Mechanical offer a senior discount?

    No, Mckinzie Mechanical does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Mckinzie Mechanical offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mckinzie Mechanical offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mckinzie Mechanical?

    Yes, Mckinzie Mechanical offers warranties.

    What services does Mckinzie Mechanical offer?

    Mckinzie Mechanical offers the following services: Repair and install air conditioning systems, indoor air quality & geothermal units.