Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GLEN HUTCHISON INC

Founded 2004 • With Angi since June 2006

5.0

(128) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7576 PEWITT ROAD

Franklin, TN 37064

Description

We are a licensed general contracting company that focuses our attention on the customer's needs and quality work.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Robert Q.
5.0
05/23/2019
Great quality work by the team! Estimate was slightly off, but overall very pleased with the work done.
Description of Work
Ship lapped fireplace; crown molding; b-board in bathroom;
Category
remodeling, woodworking, interior painters
Gerard K.
1.0
07/17/2018
Mr. Hutchinson came promptly and looked at our job. The job was to replace siding on a 1930s bungalow. We received a proposal in a timely fashion but the price was so far out of line I was insulted. Mr. Hutchinson claimed there are lots of hidden issues with older homes and his proposal implied our home should be condemned. We had another contractor do the work for about 1/3 of Mr. Hutchinson's proposal, the project flowed smoothly and we did not experience any significant issues. Mr. Hutchinson's company may be terrific but my only comment is that if you have an older home you might want to consider another contractor.
Description of Work
Received quote for siding replacement
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

Sorry for this misunderstanding. I did not intend to come across as insulting to his house nor did I want to suggest condemning his house. I really actually enjoy old houses and the character and the history they keep and display in Nashville. He asked for a firm estimate on what it would take to complete the replacement siding work on his 1930'[Member Information Removed] house. This was high work involving ladders and possibly scaffolding. There were at least two layers of shingles to be removed before siding could be installed but we did not know just how many layers of shingles there were or what the condition of the wall would be in once they were removed. Again, this house is around 80 years old. Knowing that it is an older home I explained to him the difficulties in giving a firm price as we really do not know what we will find once we remove the shingled siding. What is okay for shingles used as siding may not be fine for hardi-siding. Asphalt shingles can bend and flex and hide certain blemishes/problems that hardi-siding may not be able to do so easily. The house boards may be loose or may need to be replaced. There may have been water damage. The trim around the windows may have needed work before the siding was installed. Bottom line is that it is really difficult to give a firm price on this type of work unless you inflate the estimate for the unknown. Both in person and in emails I expressed to him my hope that he would be able to find a less expensive company to perform the work. I am aware that we are not always the best price. A problem with all the building going on in Nashville is that specific siding subcontractors that I have used in the past and are less expensive are so busy with new construction that it is hard to get them out to work on a smaller siding job. I did not see the quote from the other contractor so I cannot do a side-by-side comparison but I am glad he was able to get the work done without problems.
Pat T.
5.0
06/25/2018
As usual, Glen’s team was punctual and professional. They are true craftsmen.
Description of Work
Handled deck work and other household repairs.
Category
decks, handyman service, masonry, remodeling, woodworking
Brett B.
5.0
08/29/2017
Wes and Lowell did a FANTASTIC job - we could not have been more pleased. They were incredibly tidy while working. During the dustiest parts of the job they put up small containment areas, and at the end of each day Wes swept and consolidated all work materials, which made it possible to use the rest of our kitchen without interruption. No detail was overlooked - in fact, Wes fixed several other small things around kitchen/dining room while he was here. (The oven cabinetry was in better shape after they moved it than before!) They were efficient and finished ahead of schedule and just under budget. The finished product is beautiful - If you didn't know that a section of cabinetry had been removed, you would never be able to tell! Thanks so much for a wonderful experience!
Description of Work
We had the doorway between the kitchen and family room widened (involved removing part of our cabinetry, moving our oven over, creating a wider doorway, tiling a small part of our backsplash, moving an air vent, and moving a light switch.)
Category
remodeling
Donna K.
1.0
06/01/2017
Contacted the company to get an estimate on bookshelves and cabinets for my bonus room. My husband spoke to someone from the company over the phone who gave him an estimate based on general information. There was no offer to come to the house and provide options based on cost or design. I have never contacted a company that was so dismissive.
Description of Work
Bookshelves and cabinets
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am really sorry for the confusion of this phone call. I did not mean to come across as dismissive. Your husband called during the lunch hour as I was writing out a check for one of my employees. He described wanting built-in shelving unit across a wall 20-25' long x normal ceiling height which I guessed to be around 8' tall. A built in unit typically will stretch from floor to ceiling but he said that it did not need to go all the way to the ceiling so I figured on a unit 7' high. I expressed the fact that this is a long length of wall for a built-in unit and quickly calculated a rough cost based on other projects to be close to $12,000 but said it could possibly drop as low as the $10,000. He said this was more than what he thought you guys would want to spend. I mentioned to him that buying furniture for that wall that is built in a factory could be cheaper and the possibility of shrinking the size of the unit and just building something in the center of the wall. Neither of these two options seemed to be what you guys wanted. He mentioned that the shelving could be really simple. So I asked him if he was searching for something closer to $5,000 and he said that this figure would be much closer to what he thought you guys wanted to spend. ( I never heard an actual budget but tossed this number out for conversation purposes.) I expressed to him the difficulty in having custom work done in his home (even simple shelving) and painted in this price range and again mentioned that something smaller could work. I then gave him a couple of possibly less expensive options and mentioned IKEA or Discount Cabinets but told him I was not confident that you guys would get exactly what you want with these other two options. He said that he would discuss these options with you and get back to me. The total conversation lasted over 8 minutes. I tried to listen thoroughly to what he described and to give thoughtful advice as to how to proceed. Again, sorry for the misunderstanding. glen Update: I called this morning and spoke again with your husband and apologized to him for the misunderstanding. He was very nice and explained to me his perspective on the situation. I certainly do not want to make enemies and it really troubles me that I came across the wrong way to you guys. If you would like for me to come out to look at the space then please let me know. Thank you for your understanding, glen
Lee V.
5.0
01/31/2017
They're timely, accurate in their estimates and quality of work is better then expected. They did the work in three days.They're professional. They exceeded expectations, accurate in their quote and ability to understand what we wanted. The workmanship overall was very good.
Description of Work
He put in a tile floor, as well as put in some light fixtures in our kitchen and did some cabinet work for us.
Category
custom cabinets, ceramic tile, electrician
Jason M.
5.0
09/26/2016
Glen and team did a very nice job with a bedroom addition. The project was completed on time and the room turned out better than we expected. Would highly recommend Glen for a remodel project.
Description of Work
Bedroom addition
Category
remodeling
Cameron B.
5.0
06/20/2016
Glen was very honest with when he would be able to come out, and actually was able to get to the work earlier than planned. The quality was remarkable - before fixing the rotted wood, he had someone come out and extend the roofing a little to make sure it would not create the same issue years from now. After completing the work he followed up to make sure the work was to our liking, and we actually came in under budget. I would not hesitate to use Glen again, or recommend him to a friend.
Description of Work
We had some wood that had rotted out over our porch, underneath our gutter. Glen and team repaired/replaced the wood.
Category
woodworking
LOUANN J.
5.0
02/07/2016
Glen was professional, courteous and on time throughout the entire process. His electricians, drywall specialists, and everyone else he used were all extremely good at their jobs. They showed up on time and were very pleasant and professional. Work was completed on time.
Description of Work
removed spiral staircase, repair ceiling/floor, upgrade electrical panel, install extensive electrical, audio, and ethernet cable, extensive drywall and trim work, replace door, relocate furnace venting and hvac return, insulate walls, install lighting
Category
drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, woodworking, doors
Suzanne S.
5.0
09/19/2015
As usual, everything went beautifully. Glen is fabulous for keeping in touch with clients and for returning telephone calls and emails. I used Glen and the rest of his crew, including Jeremy, in 2007 when I bought my first condo. Glen installed the same kind of drawers in my kitchen and bathrooms in my first condo, that I recently re-ordered for my new condo. Glen also built and installed the most beautiful TV/entertainment center with sliding drawers, that everyone who visited my old condo, complimented to no end. Regrettably, my old condo flooded three times within a three year period. Glen and his crew were wonderful helping me replace baseboard and re-installing bookcases that needed to be pulled from the walls after the Servepro team finished with flood clean-up in 2010. Unfortunately, my condo flooded again in 2013, and I decided to move. I miss having the TV/entertainment center Glen and his team built. I have asked Glen to re-build an entertainment center and renovate the kitchen in my new condo, but I am too pressed for time. I recently learned the storage facility where most of my furnishings have been sitting since the 2013 flood, will be closing. I need to make my condo "move-in" ready asap, otherwise, I would rely upon Glen and his team to do any work that requires skill and flawless work.
Description of Work
Glen and his carpenter, Jeremy, installed drawers for my new kitchen and two bathrooms, installed shelves for my laundry area, adapted two closets for hanging clothes, adapted another closet for use as utility storage, adjusted several wood doors to hang correctly, and removed a few inches I needed to accomodate a new refrigerator.
Category
custom cabinets, contractors, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Anne C.
5.0
09/03/2015
We were so pleased with the results of this work. Our kitchen is just what we wanted. Glen was so responsive throughout the process, and his workers were excellent. They were mindful of our needs and were very thoughtful as we dealt with the stress of having limited or no kitchen for awhile. They were also great about responding to our requests for completing small jobs around the house that could be done by someone on the crew. We highly recommend Glen. His follow-up is outstanding, and all of his communications with us have been timely and helpful. If you want high quality work from a company that you can trust, I suggest this one.
Description of Work
Glen's team remodeled our kitchen and repaired and painted the exterior of our house.
Category
handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters
Sandra M.
5.0
07/01/2015
It took a few weeks to get started due to the weather and other jobs they had but Glen kept me informed. When I asked if I should just replace all the wood with hardie board, Glen said not to waste my money and just to replace what was bad. His team did quality work and were very polite and professional. I was very pleased. The price quote originally was $2,300 but once they began working, there was things Glen didn't see when quoting the job. I have a two story. I asked that they replace every piece of bad wood they found with hardie or pvc, plus, I added several masonite boards that needed to be replaced around the window. I think the price ended up being comparable to another quote I obtained, so I felt it was appropriate.
Description of Work
Glen's team replaced rotten wood around corners of house, including parts of bird boxes, soffits, fascia boards and trim, with hardie board. As they worked they found more bad wood that wasn't included in the original estimate and I noticed bad masonite around my bay windows which they replaced as well.
Category
contractors, masonry, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking
Philip B.
5.0
06/09/2015
Glen is pretty top-notch. Only minor complaint I might have is that his estimate was low by a little more than 10%, but the work was super high-quality, and explained to my satisfaction why the estimate was low. Glen is not always on-site, but he's always available--he'll call you back right away if you have questions, and his workers are all polite, professional and know what they're doing. I would highly recommend him again, and I have worked with dozens of contractors over the years. We do tons of due diligence, yet I would recommend less than half of them. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you use Glen.
Description of Work
Added covered roof structure over patio that was constructed simultaneously by another contractor.
Category
remodeling, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! This was a fun project.
John B.
5.0
02/25/2015
Great! Glen is very responsive via email or phone during the job, his folks are friendly and trustworthy and we enjoyed working with him. We are already looking to do so again.
Description of Work
General contracting services for an insurance job. Refinishing hardwood floors, drywall repair & replacement, new stairwell rail, balusters, etc.
Category
drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling
Ashley Y.
5.0
02/13/2015
Glen was prompt and on time at my house for the estimation meeting and was a pleasure to work with. He was very responsive to any calls and emails and always quick to answer any questions I had. His bid was competitive and I felt confident that had I hired Glen that he would do an excellent job. I ended up selecting a different contractor for various reasons, but I will definitely contact Glen for bids for any future projects.
Description of Work
Got an estimate from Glen for a kitchen remodel.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Patricia W.
5.0
01/31/2015
It was a great experience working with Glen and his team. It took a while to get started and the process took longer than I expected, but the finished product was worth the wait. Glen and his team are very professional and made every effort to limit the mess and disruptions that come with this type of renovation. Eva, the designer, was very helpful in guiding our choices and we are very pleased with the way it all came together. After the renovation was finished, there was one small part of their work that I did not like and they returned to make it right. I highly recommend Glen and his team and will definitely call them for future jobs.
Description of Work
Renovated 2 bathrooms, Repaired retaining wall, Re-caulked kitchen backsplash
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, masonry, remodeling, home remodeling
Jennifer B.
5.0
01/30/2015
We had a wall removed between our formal living room and den area in our traditional colonial to make the space more livable/lighter and it is stunning. the hardwood floors match perfectly with our old floors, which everyone else in town told me couldn't be done. they obviously didn't know Glen and his awesome hardwood installer Joe! they also took great care with our dentil moulding and other details so our house maintained the colonial character. Glen and his crew are beyond a dream to work with and did it in record time. we are due with our first child so the deadline had to be pretty firm. i didn't stress one bit because they finished weeks before we anticipated. their work is top-notch and the craftsmanship is gorgeous. you won't find better people anywhere in nashville - trust me; i did a lot of research and estimates before signing on with Glen! Glen also worked very hard to stay within our budget, and watched the numbers throughout the whole process double checking with me when i added things that added to the budget. his estimate was 100% right on. not a penny over. Glen is the most punctual and professional person i have worked with as well. he responds to emails within minutes and is open to all ideas you have and executes them beautifully. His crew could not have been kinder and they are incredibly skillful paying attention to every detail. they are also so clean (i don't know how they kept our home so livable considering we had a whole wall removed!). you can tell they have been working together a long time and are good friends outside of work. it was so nice having them around and not a disturbance tour lives really at all (and that says a lot because i work from home every day!). we have more remodeling to do in the future, and I won't be calling anyone but Glen.
Description of Work
wall removal and added support beam. new hardwood floors. electrical work. salvaged all the beautiful moulding and placed back where it was.
Category
remodeling
russell C.
5.0
12/08/2014
Essentially saved me from purchasing a new door.Glen came out and reviewed the situation and decided he could fix rather than replace.
Description of Work
Dug out wood rot from the bottom of a door and replaced it with PVC
Category
remodeling, woodworking
David S.
5.0
08/04/2014
All work was excellent, on time and priced right! I can't tell you how happy we are with Glen Hutchinson's service ane we love our new gutters!
Description of Work
Install new gutters
Category
remodeling, roofing
Rhonda S.
5.0
06/26/2014
I found him on Angie's List and he is about to complete the project. He is a great find and we will use him again. The job is excellent. He is a very good craftsman. He shows up when he says he is going to. One of his workers came and explained some other stuff they had to do. They come, do it and pick the debris. It looks great and one can't tell they where here. They are painting the last 2 buildings now. You don't find craftsmen like these guys around very much. They are dependable. The actual cost was a little more than the bid because they found some undiscovered damage when they took the wood off. It was just 15% more than the bid which I think is great. His bid was the most reasonable because I had some who estimated twice his bid. They did fine work so it was all worth it.
Description of Work
We are using Glen Hutchison Inc for some roofing repairs, gutter, pressure washing and painting. He came yesterday to get some feedback and his painters are here today. It has been a long term project.
Category
home remodeling, interior painters
paula F.
5.0
04/17/2014
They were on time and did good work.
Description of Work
I have used Glen Hutchison Inc. They remodeled a kitchen for me.
Category
home remodeling
Corinne T.
5.0
03/19/2014
Glen had great communication, great subs, and was responsive to the inevitable issues that always arise. I also found him especially helpful with design/layout issues. His estimate was $35k, we added $2-3K of work through decisions we made after the estimate (e.g., more expensive trim options) and the total was about 42K. We were happy with that.
Description of Work
Finished the 2nd floor of a detached garage into a guest suite with a kitchenette.
Category
remodeling
David H.
5.0
01/27/2014
The quality of the work is tremendous. I found his prices to be very fair. Straight to the point. Very easy to work.
Description of Work
Remodeled our kitchen
Category
electrician, handyman service, home remodeling
Paulette H.
5.0
01/06/2014
Almost Complete remodel. Glen and his crew were outstanding.
Description of Work
.
Category
home remodeling
Barbara P.
5.0
01/03/2014
Took the room down to the bare studs, upgraded lighting and new dry wall. Great Job! Excellent craftsman...
Description of Work
Remodaed family room
Category
remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Monkey Construction

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    El Zorro Concrete

    With over 16yrs of professional experience, EL Zorro Concrete is family owned and operated! We are here to serve you and all of your concrete needs and we're never satisfied unless you are! We service the Middle TN area and offer free estimates and 10% off if you mention you heard of us through Angi. Contact us today, we look forward to serving you!  

    Angi Certified

    Nashville Painting Company

    Nashville Painting Company is full service painting contractor committed to helping improve and protect. Our entire mission is to help customers have an amazing contractor experience, while providing the highest value. We have a project minimum of $1000.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Licensed
    Trade License Expiration
    03/31/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We are a full service remodeling company that specializes in additions and remodels. We also perform routine home maintenance, and can take care of simple to extensive repair needs.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not offer landscape services.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GLEN HUTCHISON INC

    How is GLEN HUTCHISON INC overall rated?

    GLEN HUTCHISON INC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are GLEN HUTCHISON INC open?

    GLEN HUTCHISON INC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does GLEN HUTCHISON INC provide

    GLEN HUTCHISON INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does GLEN HUTCHISON INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, GLEN HUTCHISON INC offers free project estimates.

    Does GLEN HUTCHISON INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, GLEN HUTCHISON INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by GLEN HUTCHISON INC?

    Yes, GLEN HUTCHISON INC offers warranties.

    What services does GLEN HUTCHISON INC offer?

    GLEN HUTCHISON INC offers the following services: We are a full service remodeling company that specializes in additions and remodels. We also perform routine home maintenance, and can take care of simple to extensive repair needs.

    Are there any services GLEN HUTCHISON INC does not offer?

    We do not offer landscape services.