Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION

Founded 1990 • With Angi since June 2010

4.7

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

318 DOWNS BLVD

Franklin, TN 37064

Description

Our inspection is FREE! No obligaatn what-so-ever. We recommend only the repair the vehicle needs and you know the exact cost without disassembly. Free Local Towing withing 50 miles with Rebuilt or Remanufactured Transmission. 2 Year Nationwide Warranty and 5 Year Warranty Available. ASE Certified Mechanics. Please visit our website at www.colemantaylorfranklin.com...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/08/2018


Dan M.

They offer a free, no obligation analysis and were very thorough. When the transmission checked out fine (whew!) they looked further for the noise and discovered other potential issues, in my case a bad belt tensioner as the source of the noise, occasional misfires on 2 cylinders and a motor mount needing replacement. They were very detailed in their inspection and kept the vehicle long enough to be sure they had time to be certain of the diagnosis. All at no cost to me! I then did the repairs myself but had it been a transmission problem I would have had them do it. They're good will gesture has made a future customer of me.

Description of Work
Diagnose suspected transmission noise

Category transmission repair

5.0

09/18/2017


Matt H.

They were as honest as can be!

Description of Work
I was told by the local Nissan dealer when I light came on that I needed a brand new transmission. They told me it would cost $6500. I took it to Coleman and they saw no issues and the car has run fine months later.

Category transmission repair

5.0

04/30/2015


Michael H.

Description of Work
He diagnosed a transmission problem and flushed out my transmission and replaced the fluid.

Category transmission repair

5.0

04/16/2015


Dawn N.

Description of Work
Another mechanic charged us $137 to diagnosis our 2008 Mustang GT. He said it was a transmission problem and would cost $2000-$4000 to repair. We were looking for price comparison on repair and called Coleman Taylor. He recommended we bring car in to him, would double check the diagnosis for no charge and then give his quote. He found that it was not a transmission problem but a much simpler coil problem. He only does transmissions so recommended someone else. We got the problem fixed for much less money. Coleman Taylor did not charge us anything. That is what I call a professional and someone I would trust. If I ever do need transmission work, no one else but Coleman Taylor will do it.

Category transmission repair

5.0

06/24/2014


Pennie B.

Fast service, friendly service, a joy to work with.

Description of Work
Went in to get my transmission checked. They ran test drove the truck checked everything out and didn't charge me a dime!

Category transmission repair

5.0

05/06/2014


Douglas B.

They were extremely friendly and worked our car right in. We were fearing the worst with our transmission (new transmission) but they found the issue withe pressure sensor and we were out of there under $100 I think. We found them to be highly recommended, honest, friendly people to do business with!

Description of Work
Replaced a pressure sensor valve

Category transmission repair

3.0

07/21/2013


mark W.

I scheduled a free evaluation to investigate a vibration I'd been experiencing in my car. I thought a transmission problem was possible becaused I ruled out a tire issue and it persisted after changing the fluid. The facility was clean and the staff very polite. I was informed that my transmission needed rebuilding and it would cost $2,600.00. I took the vehicle to another transmission shop for a second opinion. The owner of the second shop gave my car a lot of personal attention. After driving, computer analysis, and inspection he informed me that, although he was in the business of selling transmissions, he could find nothing wrong with mine. It was most likely a motor mount causing the vibration. I've given Coleman-Taylor Cs because I did not pay anything but now I am suspicious of their motives.

Description of Work
Free evaluation of suspected transmission problem because of shudder/vibration.

Category transmission repair

Service Provider Response

We ran a complete diagnostic test on Mr. [member name removed] daughters vehicle. His complaint when the vehicle was brought in was "CHECK OUT DAUGHTERS CAR. SHE TRAVELS TO AND FROM FLORIDA FOR COLLEGE. HAS BEEN SHUDDERING FOR APPROX 1 YR. HAD TRANSMISSION FLUID CHANGED A FEW WEEKS AGO BUT DID NOT MAKE A DIFFERENCE. NOTICING SHUDDER AT 35-40 MPH INTERMITTENT". When we inspected the vehicle and checked for error codes stored in the vehicles computer, there was a code P1781 for 3rd gear ratio error. When test driven I noticed the transmission was slipping in 3rd gear and testing showed that pressure was much lower than normal. The torque converter clutch was also slipping. This problem was easily verified with the proper equipment to check transmission and computer systems. The transmission and its own computer show that there is a transmission problem. I have no idea why another facility couldn't find the issue as it was stored in the vehicles computer. As Mr. [member name removed] stated when he brought the vehicle in, the problem was intermittent. So I have to assume the problem was not evident at the time the other mechanic checked the vehicle. But there was still and error code stored in the vehicles computer and following Mitsubishi's own diagnostic flow charts, it was determined to be an internal failure. Last, but not least, my motives that this customer questions are pure and simple, HONESTY AND INTEGRITY. I am a very reputable business that has very good standing in our community. We advertise very little because almost all of my work is repeat customers or referrals. We have a very good reputation and are an A+ rated BBB business that also won the BBB's highest award for Marketplace Ethics. The 2013 Torch Award. Stuart Mays Manager Coleman Taylor Transmissions 318 Downs Blvd Franklin, TN 37064 615-790-7993
5.0

04/22/2013


Jarrell C.

Called for an estimate of a transmission repalcement/rebuild for my 2000 Lexus ES300. I called the Coleman Taylor in Nashville first, but they were persistent that they see the car before making estimates. I asked if they worked on Lexus sedans and the man said plenty of them. I asked about averages and the high end and he was only pushing to see the car. He did say the high end was $6,500. I called Coleman Taylor in Franklin and a nice lady on the line gave me work performed on past ES300s, the mileage, the cost, and the repair the customer had performed. She also gave me the break down of the range of prices. When I told her my situation of hitting a huge bump in the road, she asked me about all these symptoms the car might have to help get to the source of the problem. She was knowledgeable, willing and very helpful, and just all around awesome. Not sure about the work they perform, but I just want to acknowledge the customer service on the front end. The company might not receive my money right now. My car has 214,000 miles, might have to call the car a lost cause, but hopefully this review is helpful or leads someoen to try out their services. Didn't think Franklin provided any more information that any car service company could provide. I'm not expecting a solid, legal, contracted, quote, just ball park figures.

Description of Work
Just called for Quote on a transmission repair/rebuild for 2000 Lexus ES300.

Category transmission repair

2.0

01/22/2013


Danny S.

other than the cost quoit to fix the transmission everyone was nice

Description of Work
Gave an estimate much higher than the BMW dealer and warranty was less than BMW

Category transmission repair

5.0

02/16/2011


Connie S.

I was one of the unfortunate Honda owners who bought a Honda during the 2001-02 period that Honda put defective transmissions in their Accords. Due to this known problem, Honda extended the warranty on the transmissions for 100k miles or eight years. My car fell outside the time period and I was unable to get Honda to assist on the repair. A friend recommended Coleman Taylor. I found Stuart Mays, the Manager at Coleman Taylor in Franklin TN, to be very knowledgeable and professional, as were all his employees. When I first picked up the car after repair, I did notice a scraping sound and I returned the car to them. The brake shield had been inadvertenly bent; they repaired it and I have had no further problems. My transmission repair at Coleman Taylor saved me about $500 from the quote given by the dealership. I would recommend Coleman Taylor for any transmission repair.

Description of Work
Rebuild Transmission Assembly for 2001 Honda Accord EX, PO740 error code for defective Torque Converter Clutch Circuit Price also includes extended warranty costing $289, for 36mo/50k miles

Category transmission repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    AAA Transmission and Automotive Technology

    Since 1986, AAA Transmission Technology has been assisting you with all of your needs. Please contact us today - calling works best. Additional phone - (615) 812-2310. Additional contact name - Melinda Smith.  

    Auto Transmission
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Free Transmission Inspections, Fluid Service, Transmission Flush, Transmission Rebuilds, Transmission Replacements,Repairs

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION

    How is COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION overall rated?

    COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION open?

    COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION provide

    COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION offer free estimates?

    Yes, COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION offers free project estimates.

    Does COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION offer a senior discount?

    No, COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION?

    Yes, COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION offers warranties.

    What services does COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION offer?

    COLEMAN TAYLOR TRANSMISSION offers the following services: Free Transmission Inspections, Fluid Service, Transmission Flush, Transmission Rebuilds, Transmission Replacements,Repairs