Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gallet Handyman Services

Founded 2009 • With Angi since August 2011

Commercial and Residential Handyman Services.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

2.6

(10) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews
Michael M.
3.0
03/10/2016
unknown
Description of Work
They replaced a custom shower floor that had originally been installed incorrectly. Got the estimate right away, and I thought it was high, but I could not get any other repair outfit to even come and give me a number for several weeks. so I went with the price given by this provider. |The work was done by two craftsmen that appeared to be knowledgable and skilled. However they attempted to leave the shower floor with the drain in a ridiculous fashion, that was very unprofessional. I had to call them back twice to correct things that should have been caught.
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Mary S.
1.0
05/18/2015
He is almost impossible to get in touch with. He had measured the job on Feb 18 and sent an estimate a few days later. We agreed on a price and signed a contract. I had explained that I was working with a cabinet maker and would be in touch as soon as I had had an estimated day for installation. I would e-mail periodically that I was still waiting for a date. He asked for a week's notice. About 10 days before the cabinets were to be installed on May 5, I e-mailed him the date. No response. I called and left messages three times. Finally, my husband called on Friday May 1 and Mr. Gallett returned his call. He and a helper came on Saturday and removed the cabinet and countertop in one bathroom and the helper installed some wiring for the new electrical outlet but did not connect it. Mr. Gallett was almost boastful about not returning calls. It was obvious there was some friction between him and his helper. On May 5 the helper returned to remove the other bathroom cabinet and countertop then returned later in the day to put the old countertop temporarily on the new cabinet and hook up the plumbing. He measured for the knee wall. We determined the knee wall would not work and asked if he'd like to start sheetrocking where the medicine cabinets had been removed. He said Mr. Gallett had not paid him on the day promised for work he had done (before our job) and he wasn't going to do anymore until he was paid. We - including Mr. Gallett - knew it would take a week to 10 days to get the countertops made. As soon as I knew they would be delivered on May 13, I began e-mailing and calling Mr. Gallett and got no response. I tried calling his helper directly and got no response. The morning of the 13th my husband was able to get someone else to come and install an outlet before the countertops were installed knowing that it would be impossible to do with that countertop in place. Since then, he has worked around other jobs that were already scheduled to get faucets installed at all three sinks, patch the sheetrock, etc. Within a day or so all the work we expected will be finished. Meanwhile, on May 7 we got an invoice from Mr. Gallett for work done on the 2nd that was for more that agreed on for that portion of the work. I e-mailed that his check was ready and when he came to tell us when he would complete the work I would give it to him. Repeated phone calls and e-mails to him went unanswered. Finally, on the 13th after having someone else put in the new electric box, we told him his services were no longer needed. On Saturday the 16th we got an e-mail form him saying he was too busy to finish the job and we needed to get someone else. R
Description of Work
He was supposed to remove cabinets and countertops in 2 bathrooms, remove 2 medicine cabinets, patch the walls and paint new sheetrock, install and paint a 30" knee wall, install an electrical outlet behind a drawer stack, disconnect plumbing after removing cabinets. After new cabinets installed, reconnect one bathroom sink. After countertops installed, install new fixtures for 3 sinks, connect plumbing, remove old towel racks, repair holes, install new towel racks. We paid an extra $50.00 to have him take to old cabinets and tops to Habitat for Humanity.
Category
handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
Deborah G.
5.0
10/24/2014
I have not used this provider
Description of Work
I have not used this provider
Category
handyman service
Jim W.
1.0
03/31/2014
After calling and verifying the date and time that Mr. Gallet would meet me at the house to do a walk-through and get an estimate for repairs, Mr. Gallet neither showed up for the appointment nor called to explain why he hadn't met me. I've moved on to other, more professional contractors.
Description of Work
Wanted an estimate for repairs on a home I recently bought.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

Please note that this client is mistaken for somebody else. I do not recall any client with that name. Thank You
Cassie P.
1.0
01/20/2014
We had contracted for specific work to be done. When he put doors on the bedrooms he said that his estimate did not include door knobs or the fixtures to close the doors. When we asked him to do something he always said that he could do that. He did not give us a price until one or two days later. We recognized what he was doing and we always asked the price and he would say a million dollars. The fans in the bedroom were put in but the switch to turn them on is in only one bedroom. Both fans are connected to the same switch. The outlets that we contracted for and paid for were supposed to be on the outside of the closets were not done. The fixture inside one of the closets was covered with mud from the drywall and this was one of the outlets that was supposed to be on the outside. The outlet in the bathroom restricts room for putting in the vanity and mirror. We had to take back the vanity that was there for him to measure. The ceramic tile installation is terrible, there are tile missing. The grouting was not completed. The hole where a light fixture was removed was not covered when they did the ceilings. The plate that was taken off should have been put on. No thresh holds were put on the doors. He said that I could do that. Once again we were counting on him to advise us. The dry wall work and the ceiling work is bad. The ceiling has one coat and you can see through the point it is so thin. He was supposed to do a second coat. The light in the bathroom is just hanging. It is not tightened up and it leans forward. You were supposed to insulate the outside of the bathroom. This was not done. The shower fixture is not sealed from the inside. He told us that he would do it. He did not. There is the stripping you put on when you drywall. Painting of the bedrooms and shower was not completed. The trash was picked up when we asked and it was put in the bathtub instead of being taken to the dumpster. It took 4 of us to remove the mess in the bedrooms from the drywall and ceiling. The last thing was when he told me he was going to Florida. I said that the job had to be finished before he left. He said ok, But he came one day and said he was leaving the next day and had the subs lined up to finish the job. I was not happy. Two of the subs did not show up. (the electric and the drywall) The electrician finally showed up two weeks later. At this point I asked him to not come back. I would have other people finish the work that I have described above.
Description of Work
put in a ceiling for two bedrooms. put a wall between the bedrooms. built closets in the bedrooms. Put in shower and tub and expanded bathroom. Installed fixture for bathroom. put up fans for the two bedrooms.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

All comments were not true at all. Work was completed prior to me leaving for Florida on scheduled project. Please note that client owed me money and used numerous excuses for not paying. All work was inspected by them prior to leaving the home. All contracted work was completed and space cleaned by me personally. Noted items by them were not my responsibility. Please note a an official lien was placed on their home for non payment. Remember it is all about money. Have pictures of my work justifying my position regarding this client.
Shirley K.
5.0
02/20/2013
On day one, the door jamb was repaired, new security lock plate installed, new piece of drywall put into place and taped, and part of door trim installed. This allowed me to be able to lock my door rather than having to barricade it at night. On second day, remainder of the door trim was installed, the door jamb painted to match, and the drywall compound applied to even up the new drywall with the existing wall. Over the next several days, the drywall was sanded and additional compound applied until an even finish was accomplished. On the last day, the new drywall was painted, and additional work and cleanup was completed.
Description of Work
Front door was kicked in during home invasion. Damaged door jamb was removed and replaced, door trim removed and replaced, damaged drywall was replaced, new security lock plate installed, and drywall sanded and painted to match wall color.
Category
handyman service, doors
Priscilla L.
2.0
02/02/2013
timeliness was stressed before work started
Description of Work
carpentry repair- couldn't repair what he looked at initially
Category
contractors, handyman service

Service Provider Response

Why would she write things about me like this when she asked me to quote additional work in her house. This women is off her rocker.
Nancy B.
3.0
11/19/2012
The individual arrived promptly upon the agreed upon time. He was polite and professional and very conscientious about cleaning up his work areas and not tracking any materials throughout the house. He worked quickly and did a good job of installing the faucet. The door and the towel rack were also quickly fixed and done right. Upon finishing the he again went and checked to ensure the areas he worked were cleaned up. Revision to review::: Since the above work has been completed the towel rack has became loose and needs to be repaired again. The fans were installed with a very little cutting of the ceiling to install just one of the fans by another contractor.
Description of Work
I used the service to have a kitchen faucet installed, repair a bathroom door that did not close, and to repair a towel rack. I had also planned on having three bathroom fans replaced, but the units could not be replaced without cutting into the ceiling.
Category
handyman service
Yves G.
5.0
11/16/2012
It went great. Work scheduled correctly. Performed on time.
Description of Work
1. Painted three rooms and hallway. 2. Installation of flooring ( ceramic tile) and new plumbing fixtures in bath. 3. Installation of new appliances in kitchen.
Category
ceramic tile, decks, drywall, handyman service, leaf removal, remodeling, water heater repair, ceiling fans, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, mobile home remodeling
william C.
1.0
09/29/2011
I contracted with Gallet Services to repair or service a variety of smaller projects on the inside and outside of my home and agreed to pay a daily fee of $300. On the first day he showed up at 9:30 a.m. and left a little after 4:00 p.m. but wanted to charge me the full daily rate. He also stopped for a short lunch. He attempted repairs to some wood trim on front porch columns. The trim came apart a short time after he made the repairs leaving them in worse shape than before he started. When he was shown photographs of the trim, he said he would repair it again for an additional $150.He painted a back entry door with the incorrect white paint. At the time he did this, I mentioned it looked wrong and he said it was due to the fact the new door was metal. In fact, it was the wrong paint and it is painfully obvious. He refused to correct this problem.He painted the media room but did not blend the paint around light fixtures, etc. In full light it looks OK, but in dimmed light it can be seen clearly.He varnished the front door leaving streaks, runs, and drips all over requiring the door to be sanded and redone.On the last day he was at my home, he convinced my wife to pay him in full (even though he had not dealt with her on any of the repairs). This took away whatever leverage I would have enjoyed and was a "smart move" on his part. Gallet Services did substandard work at premium prices, refused to correct inadequate repairs and services, and took his money and ran before I could get home to inspect and approve the work. UPDATE: I have read the response to my review written by Gallet Handyman Services. All I can say is my initial review is 100% accurate. The rates he mentioned about less than four hours or more than four hours are brand new to me....totally and utterly false.
Description of Work
Paint media room and back entry door. Re-varnish front entry door. Repair trim on front porch columns. Service various small door/window problems.
Category
contractors, decks, handyman service, interior painters

Service Provider Response

The customer comments tottally false. Amount charged was based on an hourly rate with parameters. The customer statements regarding my work is totally falacious because it was only brought after two months of completion of work. He only wanted for me to perform work for free which was not part of my original verbal agreement. For the record, the customer was present while I was doing the work at his house and could have mentioned his displeasure then and there. He had an issue with one area of my work which I went back and took care of it. Apparently he was upset that I would go back to repair some trim in front of his house for free noting that it was the work that I did. The work he indicated was not the work he authorized to do. I went to the house to inspect the work he was talking about and told him that it was not the work that i did. He threaten me. My daily rate was told to him which was correct for work an excess of four hours because additional cannot be schedule. It would be a lost day. My rate was set at a daily rate of $300.00 over 4 hours and $150.00 under four hours. Apparently his recollection seemed to have been lost. My summation of all this stupidity is lack of understanding the customer and myself on how this work should been charged. Since this issue, Gallet Handyman Services no longer charges by the hour or daily rates but by the task. It is all about money. If he had an issue with my work, he had ample time to do so while i was doing it. Yves Gallet Gallet Handyman Services 423-475-5904

Other local Pros in your area

RRG Roofing

Roofing Resources of Georgia offers NO COST roof inspections and free estimates for repairs and replacement of residential roofs. We serve the North Georgia/ North Metro Atlanta areas. We strive for 100% customer satisfaction with references to back it up. For storm damage repairs we are specially trained to help you work with your insurance company to establish your claim and maximize payments so repairs are properly funded with quality results. Call 678-517-4211 or visit RRofGa.com today!  

Angi Certified

GreenFrog LLC

We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Dogs dumpster service

I offer dumpster rental for the cleaning out of your House, Business, Outbuilding, Garage or land . I deliver the dumpster and return when you are done. I also offer extra dump and return of dumpster for bigger jobs. I will stay in touch with you and provide service as fast and conveniently as possible. I also offer tractor work. I can repair driveways, clear brush, tilling of gardens, and much more  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

3153 Forest Shadows Dr

Chattanooga, TN 37421

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Services not offered included landscaping maintenance, roofing, new construction electrical and plumbing.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Gallet Handyman Services is currently rated 2.6 overall out of 5.

Gallet Handyman Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Gallet Handyman Services offers free project estimates.

No, Gallet Handyman Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Gallet Handyman Services does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Gallet Handyman Services offers emergency services.

No, Gallet Handyman Services does not offer warranties.

Gallet Handyman Services offers the following services: Residential and Commercial Handyman Services including but not limited to ceramic tile and wood floor installation, complete maintenance service for income property owners, ceiling fans, light fixtures, plumbing fixtures installation, interior and exterior painting. complete home and modular home maintenance service.

Services not offered included landscaping maintenance, roofing, new construction electrical and plumbing.