Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ram Jack of South Carolina

Founded 2000 • With Angi since November 2008

4.3

(86) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2075 US Hwy 21 South

Ridgeway, SC 29130

Description

Not all foundation repair companies are the same. Choose Wisely. Choose Ram Jack! Ram Jack offers affordable, guaranteed solutions for failing foundations. Call for a free, no obligation, on site evaluation from one of our certified foundation repair consultants - (866) 735-3085....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/01/2019


Tammy C.

It wasn’t something Ram Jack could do but I appreciated how honest this Company is. They’re out to help the Customer. Joshua is a great!!

Description of Work
I needed Ram Jack to come out to my home and look at possible brick separation. Joshua came and was very truthful to what the problem was.

Category home inspection

3.0

06/09/2017


kim M.

I like the fact that they were prompt and steady workers. I dislike the fact that they tore up my deck and would not replace it. I did not like the fact that they left gaping holes around my house where the pylons went in. I did not like that nobody would talk to me about my deck.

Description of Work
They lifted up my house.

Category foundation repair

1.0

02/22/2017


Ryan N.

This is a copy of the dispute letter with my credit card company that gives the details of what happened with this contractor. Dear Mastercard Dispute Representative, Case ID # - D-XXXXXXXXXXXX This letter is in response to your request for documentation about our disputed charges with Ram Jack. On 08/12/16 XXXX, the Ram Jack Salesman, came to our house at 701 N. Almond Dr. and explained to me that they would install 6 piles across the front of my house. He also said that they would be able to jack the house up to reduce the size of the crack in our front wall. He even added that the jacking portion is what the installation guys love to do because that is the rewarding part. Another thing that the salesman stated was that the quote was for up to 25 ft per pile and that I would pay $22 per foot of piles driven. Later, they charged me for the full 5 ft stick they started even though they cut 2 to 3 ft off of most of them. When I got off work on Friday August 19th I went by the house. They had half of the holes dug and had driven one of the piles, they said to 40 ft. After that I was upstairs in the house but keeping an eye out the front window at the 2nd pile they had just started to drive. I saw them attach five 5 ft sticks to the starter auger, which counts as 1 stick, that was sitting in the 2nd hole, which equals 30 ft. I went outside and asked the guy how far that one went. He said 45ft. So on the third hole I stood there and watched them drive a little over 40ft of pile into the 3rd hole. They had attached a 9th stick but were unable to finish because they blew a hose on their system. I’m assuming because they were over stressing their system to get the pile to drive as deep as he said the previous one did. They quit for the day. Day 2, they showed up at 8:45 am Saturday, August 20th and slept in the truck until 9:45 when they got out to start working. I was upstairs in the house but they did not know I was there because I walked down from the house I live in a few doors down. I did this intentionally because of what happened the day before and did not trust them. I wanted to watch them to see how many sticks they actually drove in the ground. About 10 minutes later I hear someone come up in the house and start rummaging through items in the kitchen, where we had piles of brass, silver and other items of value. I then took pictures of this guy loading these items along with my chainsaw and hedge clippers out of the garage. The Ram Jack guy was the one that opened the garage door that morning to let this man into our house and was standing there watching him load the items in his car. I texted my wife and told her what was going on and she called the police who showed up a little while later. I then confronted the Ram Jack crew chief about what was happening and after dealing with the police and talking with the Ram Jack Project Manager (XXXXXXXX) I allowed the crew to continue work. They then drove three more piles in the 30 to 35 ft range. On August 22nd at 9:04 a.m. I called XXXXXXXX to discuss how they did not jack the house when they were there on the 21st and to make sure someone was going to fix the corrugated drain line that they cut a 2 foot section out of on both sides of the porch when they dug those holes. Mr. XXXXX assured me that he would send the materials for the fill in crew to fix the pipes and that he would send a guy with them to jack the house before they fill in the holes. I expressed to him that I would like to be there when they jacked the house and for him to call me when they were coming out. On August 25th at 1:21pm I called XXXXXXXXX to find out when they were coming out to jack the house and finish up. He said that they were out there that day. So, I immediately drove to the house to find that they sent one guy, the fill in crew, who had already filled in one of the holes without fixing the corrugated pipe that Mr. XXXXXX said that he would have the fill in crew fix. XXXXXXX, the Ram Jack fill in guy, proceeded to tell me that he cannot jack the house and that he did not have the jacks or the pipe to fix the corrugated pipe. I went back to work and attempted to call XXXXXXX to express my concerns about what had happened. When I returned home that evening my wife and I rode down to inspect the job and there was a fire truck, an ambulance and an EMS truck in front of our house. XXXX, the Ram Jack Salesman, trying to get in touch with the general manager of their office to discuss what had happened and how I did not get what I had paid for. XXXX gave me a phone number for the manager, XXXXXXXXX (shown on the attached sheet), that was no longer in service. I have tried to contact XXXX, XXXXXXXX and XXXXX multiple times with NO answers or responses. In regards to the Final Inspection document. I was informed that I had to pay and fill out that form on August 20th, the day they finished driving the piles. The job had not been completed at that point but they assured me that the fill in crew would come the next week after the inspection was complete and fix the drain lines at that time. One third of that filling in patching the concrete and cleaning up has still not been done and is now holding me up from work I need to do to the front porch and to complete the project. I paid to have my house jacked up and to be re-supported and to have that hat done without damage to existing drain lines. As of now I am left with an incomplete project with bags of concrete tarps with dirt, pieces of concrete they left and holes in the porch that have yet to be filled with concrete. I have tried multiple times to contact these people to negotiate a solution but no one will answer or call me back. See attached photos and screenshots of texts and call history. Thanks! Sincerely, XXXXXXXXX Here's a second letter... Dear Mastercard Dispute Representative, The sale of these services started on 08/12/16 by XXXX, the Ram Jack Salesman, when he came to our house at 701 N. Almond Dr. I had called XXXXXXXX, the project manager, on August 25th at 1:21pm to find out when they were coming out to jack the house and finish up, he said they were already there. After getting to the house and finding out that there was one guy there that had already filled in two holes and did not replace the drainage pipe, that they cut, nor did he even have a jack to jack the house up. I called Mr. XXXXX again. That is when he stopped answering my phone calls or returning messages. I would like to point out as well that I have not received any paperwork from them stating that the work has been done nor any information in regards to the transferrable warranty that is supposed to be provided with their service. This is another key part of why I hired them as well. I will be putting this house on the market in a few months and for me to try to sell it without a warranty and/or documentation as well as an un improved crack in the front wall will make that sale difficult and probably end up in reduction of the sale price. I was told two things by XXXX, the salesman, that DID NOT happen. One, they would jack my house up. Two, I would receive documents in the mail covering the transferrable warranty. I was told 3 things by XXXXXXXXX on August 22nd that DID NOT happen as well. One, He did not call me when they were coming out to jack the house up and fill in the holes. Two, they didn’t even try to jack the house up, (didn’t even send the equipment). And three, didn’t repair the corrugated pipe they cut (did not even send the materials to do that). Supposedly XXXXX, the fill in guy, went and purchased the materials and fixed it on one side of the house but the other side had already been filled in. I also have NO warranty paperwork and a house that has been left in a huge mess that I now have to clean up. Sincerely, XXXXXXX

Description of Work
Salesman SAID they would install 6 auger cast piles and jack up the front of my house to provide additional support and lessen the crack in the foundation. Told me that any piles driven past 25ft I would pay $22 per foot.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

We want to thank you for reading about Ram Jack, and how we attempt to answer customer concerns. Customer states that we did not lift, we charged for partially used extensions, that corrugated pipe was damaged, and issues occurred that were unrelated to Ram Jack or the work. The following explanation with facts may help our customers. First, we do not state verbally or in writing that we can obtain a lift where we install piles. No one can. We hope to lift to overcome any prior settlement, and our crews want to obtain a great result for customers. But at the time our specialist collects data for the engineer (who designs the plan), we do not know the condition of the foundation or its depth. In this case, our notes indicate the concrete at the footer was brittle and prone to cracking where we would lift, the footer was set deep into the soil (we have a picture that this format does not allow us to print - but it shows a Ram Jack pile at the bottom of an estimated 10 foot deep hole) and a heavy soil type exists at the site. Our first concern is supporting the foundation, not breaking it. While our crew wanted to lift, conditions did not allow it. This customer wanted to sign a waiver requesting us to lift beyond what our professionalism demands. Our notes indicate the Customer was not present at the site when we arrived to conduct such a lift. As a result, our helical piles support the area above the pile so it will not move downward. Once again, think about the effect of lifting a brittle piece of concrete from 10 feet below ground with tons of soil above it. The foundation will crack. We support foundations. Second, we install all of our patented helical piles to the proper depth. Our notes indicate each of the six piles was installed to the necessary depth for purposes of stability and our warranty. We do not want to go deeper than necessary. We charge by 5-foot extensions because if any part of an extension is used, and then sawed off to obtain proper depth, the remainder is scrap metal. No one can use it. If we install a pile at 20 feet in any one pile location, and we have a full extension that we can use at another pile location, then we give the customer a credit for that 5-feet if we go beyond 25 feet on another pile location. We want satisfied customers and always attempt to treat our customers fairly. As to the corrugated drainage, even when carefully digging holes through roots and clay, it is understandable that one can damage rigid materials. While we exclude damages in our contract, we conduct minor repairs for customers when possible. Finally, we understand that an unrelated individual entered the property and took personal items from the customer on a Saturday morning. Our notes indicate the garage door and a 2nd story window were open when the crew arrived. Passing by the crew, an unrelated individual told the crew leader that he knew one of the owners and entered the garage attached to the home. Since the Customer was at home and this unrelated individual stated he was an acquaintance, the crew assumed the Customer knew the individual. Our crew could not see this individual taking any items because his vehicle was backed up to the garage. At the same time, the Customer was present in the home. It was not until later that the crew was informed that the individual had taken items from the home. That was certainly a horrid occurrence for our Customer, but the crew was an innocent bystander without knowledge of what was occurring or had occurred. They were only working at the site. The police did arrest the individual identified as the acquaintance. As to the crew resting in their truck at the site, we charge a fixed price as stated in our contract. Our crews work 12 hours a day performing hard, physical labor that most of us would not think of doing. It was a Saturday morning, usually a day to spend with families. A small amount of rest probably helped the customer. Resting is not policy, but our crews are people, not machines. Once again, uncovering and supporting a foundation is tough, hard work and we do it every day for you. While the Customer may not agree with this response based on his initial statement, it is factual, based on our notes and interviews with our crew. We can't make everyone happy, but we do make a great effort to satisfy all customers. We are professionals. When you want it done right the first time, call Ram Jack. Thank you.
4.0

12/28/2016


David Z.

They are not bad but they were just making it perfect. They were too pricey Pricing would be below a B. I wouldn't rte them down for anything else other than that. They might be right in the long run, I really don't know. They came out pretty quickly. They are very nice. The only thing was the price. They wanted to do more than everybody else. They might be right in the long run. I can't run them down for anything else.

Description of Work
I got an estimate for foundation repair.

Category foundation repair

1.0

10/05/2016


Oriana S.

We were selling our house and had Ram Jack come to inspect work covered under the warranty they provide. Instead of checking the warranty they pointed out additional issues they felt were a problem. We had previously had three different foundation companies check the house and the only area the companies actually agreed on being the problem was the one area we had Ram Jack fix. So, Ram Jack's unsolicited advice to make more money off of us cost us the sale of our home. They also drilled through our porch which later caused it to sink into the disturbed dirt and we had to pay another company to have it fixed.

Description of Work
Foundation

Category concrete repair

5.0

09/09/2016


Charles D.

Sank huge poles into ground and pushed everything up and secured it. I have huge steel posts sunk deep into ground with concrete. They did a beautiful job! They were finished in about 2.5 hours. Our insurance took care of the payment.

Description of Work
They propped up my house settled.

Category foundation repair

1.0

07/29/2016


Sharon B.

My house was falling down on the garage end so my husband called for an estimates for the foundation repair. In May, a few months after the estimates, he got admitted to Hospice. He didn't want to leave me with one end of the house falling in so we called Ram Jack of South Carolina because he thought they would be the most reputable. Sadly they made a bad call and now I'm stuck owing over $4000 and huge cracks in my garage floor. I've already spent about $3000 because of the depth of the pillars under the garage floor. Since the floor now is cracking all around I have been consulted by 2 other engineers that RJ should have never put pillars under the garage floor to try to save it. I went around and around with RJ trying to understand why they would put the pillars under my garage floor with no good reason why they did it other than to sell pillars, and now I'm praying that the bank will help me get a resolution. In retrospect I regret the decision to use RJ now. Don't make the same mistake I did and please do your research. There are some very good foundation people out there and are even less expensive than RJ.

Description of Work
Foundation Repair

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/27/2016


James S.

Installation crew on time and discussed exactly what the estimator said was going to happen. Crews encountered water in two locations next to the failed pier but got their pipe columns into bedrock. Very professional and pleasant to deal with. They slowly jacked up the house and we watched the cracks in the walls close up. Personnel were in the house monitoring all the floor elevations and directed the crew below on which jack to run. I repaired the wall cracks the next day and here a week and half later no new cracks.

Description of Work
Elevated an interior house floor beam over 1 inch with four new foundation pipe columns. I had a one major pier sink causing others to lean resulting in the interior walls to cracked and the wood flooring elevation to vary by an 1 1/2 inches. Rework required 4 lifting points/new post columns.

Category foundation repair

4.0

12/22/2015


steve G.

It went okay. A couple of the cracks did not seal up like I thought they would. It was fine. They said it needed three months to settle. They worked hard. They were satisfactory on price.

Description of Work
I used Ram Jack for foundation repair.

Category foundation repair

1.0

09/22/2015


raea D.

Agent was a few minutes early, when home occupant did not hear him knock, he called the owner in another state immediately. It appears he stuck his head and chest under the crawl space, but did not climb under. He told the owner, every floor inside the house had to be taken up before he could give an estimate. The owner asked if he had climbed under, he answered, Yes. The owner never received any paper work from the agent or company. No photos, nothing. The work WAS NOT appraised at 219 N Church St., Manning, SC. Where did you get this address? It was on Kingstree Hwy in Manning, SC What a loss to both the home owner and Ram Jack. The work needs to be done and will be. Agent showed a lack of interest. As a rep for his company, he did poorly. Sincerely hope experience and better work knowledge will benefit him and the company in the future. I have no interest in contacting the company again. rd Tuesday 2:30p

Description of Work
Agent was a few minutes early, when home occupant did not hear him knock, he called the owner in another state immediately. It appears he stuck his head and chest under the crawl space, but did not climb under. He told the house occupant, every floor inside the house had to be taken up before he could give an estimate. He called the owner and related this info. The owner asked if he had climbed under, he answered, Yes. The owner never received any paper work from the agent or company. No photos, nothing.

Category foundation repair

3.0

08/13/2014


Robert C.

The guy showed up on time, he did his thing, I understood what he was doing, I accepted his explanation, I had to pay him $250 upfront for an engineering drawing which I never got and their price was absolutely outrageous. I was going to do it until somebody else told me, "You are nuts! They are ripping you off" They wanted $3800 to jack up one little place in my house and I ended up getting it done by another person who was a certified engineer, a professional, for $700. It is still irritating me because I paid the $250 for the engineering drawing that they had to get certified and I never got it. I am not super happy with Ram Jack and wouldn't recommend it. On one side they seemed to be professional yet on the other side it was like they were trying to rip me off.

Description of Work
I used Ram Jack. I paid them for an engineering drawing but I didn't get it.

Category foundation repair

3.0

08/09/2014


lee L.

Apparently are not interested in small jobs. He "found" other work and the total cost would have been $7642. The cost shown above was for what we wanted done. We found another company, rated very highly by Angies List that did the job for $750.

Description of Work
Apparently are not interested in small jobs. He "found" other work and the total cost would have been $7642. The cost shown above was for what we wanted done. We found another company, rated very highly by Angies List that did the job for $750.

Category foundation repair

3.0

07/23/2014


Joseph K.

Dissapointing. I made an appointment for a free home inspection for a home I was about to purchase. The technician came early and met with the current owner. Upon my arrival, the tech was leaving. I informed him that I was the one who set the appointment. He said- "oh ok well- the house is fine". I then pointed out a couple of locations where the foors dipped he said it was not a structural issue- ok. I then showed him major cracks in the brick on both sides of the inside garage wall and he said it was normal settling and not a structural issue if you can't see same damage on the outside wall in same area. I then asked if he inspected the crawl space where the pillars were. He NEVER went into the crawl space! I asked if he could please take a look at the pillars and foundation so he suited up, crawled inside and came out within 5 minutes. "all looks good" he said. I then showed him cracks in the concrete front porch and how the wood railing was shifted- "normal settling" he said. Basically, his inspection consisted of walking around the inside looking for cracks in the interior walls that could have easilly been hidden with spackle and paint days or weeks ago. He left and I really did not feel satisfied with the quality of inspection. Perhaps I am just picky. I DID hire two different home inspectors, HVAC inspector and an electrician in addition to RamJack and I have since purchased the home and wouldn't you know- they ALL missed something that they shouldn't have. I trust no one anymore! I suggest you grab as many home inspections as you can. Good thing RamJack's was free but I would get a second opinion.

Description of Work
Free inspection pre purchase home inspection

Category home inspection, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

I do apologize you were not satisfied with the foundation evaluation you received, however we are not home inspectors and do not portray ourselves as such.
2.0

06/25/2014


Scott E.

LIFETIME WARRANTY IS ARBITRARY!!! I purchased a home in August 2012 that had been repaired by this company. The work was done to the satisfaction of the previous owners, and also to us as the purchasers, and we are still satisfied( I think) My problem is with the warranty itself. They offer a TRANSFERRABLE warranty that must be done within sixty days of closing. This was not made known to us at that time, and we did not become aware of it until just recently. We contacted the company and asked if they would still transfer the warranty. It took five phone calls, all without a single return phone call from the company, to finally discover that they would not transfer the warranty-ergo, NOT stand behind their product. I understand that some time frame must be established, however, if there is no new damage to the area previously repaired, then there should absolutely be no problem in honoring a LIFETIME warranty regardless of the time that has elapsed. I asked each representative of the company that I spoke with to come out and inspect the home so that they could verify that no new damage had occured. Each time I was told that they would call me back , and as mentioned earlier, never did. The double-speak and repetitveness during my last conversation (with someone other than a manager/owner-another lapse in their profesionalism) was ridiculous.I was told however that they would come out and do an inspection and stand behind their work, but if there was any damage, that I may or may not be charged for it. That I have a problem with, because it is supposed to be a LIFETIME warranty. Nonetheless, there is no new damage(to the best of my knowledge), and I feel like they should stand behind their work AND their warranty-sixty days, six months, six years. All that has to be done, assuming no new damage is change the name on the LIFETIME warranty. Because of this easily fixed issue and lack of professionalism( not returning phone calls, inabilty to speak with management/owner, et cetera), I would be extremely reluctant to recommend Ram Jack Foundation Repair Solutions to anyone. Do they TRULY warranty their work? After writing the above paragraph, I decided to contact the national office to see if I would be able to get any resolution to my complaint. I wanted to do this prior to submitting my review. I spoke with someone who said that she would have someone from her management department contact me. Shortly thereafter, I was contacted-BY SOMEONE FROM THE LOCAL(SC) OFFICE! Finally a return phone call. You will never guess what she said.....she in essence called me a liar! I previously stated that I would be reluctant to recommend this company, now I would adamantly encourage anyone with a foundation problem to absolutely use ANYONE else.

Description of Work
Foundation repair

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to explain the process of transferring the Ram Jack lifetime warranty. It is not arbitrary. When we send our Warranty to a customer, we also give them instructions on transferring the Warranty to a new owner. All the present owner or new owner must do is call the office and ask for the warranty transfer documents. The Warranty itself, in plain language, states one must complete the simple transfer process within 60 days of taking ownership of the property. It is the responsibility of our customer to tell a potential buyer of our work, the warranty, and its transfer during the purchase process. We do not know when or if a sale takes place unless an owner gives us a call. If a new owner is a few days late or does not give us the few signed papers or transfer fee, we typically extend the time to complete the simple process. Our letter recommends that our customer take all of our documents to closing in the hopes of having the property and our warranty transferred simultaneously. At the same time, we are always improving ways to respond to customers. In the future, when a warranty transfer is incomplete, we may send a Specialist to review the property to ensure that no one has disturbed our work and to review the condition of the foundation and the structure to see if we can continue the warranty on our work. Many times, the customer will need additional work if the soil has caused foundation movement in areas where our customer did not ask us to do work. In sum, this is an issue between the purchaser and buyer. All we need is a timely phone call, an inexpensive transfer fee, and a few signed pieces of paper within a 60 day period. The warranty transfer process is simple.
1.0

05/05/2014


Eddie S.

The economy must really be improving when a company is to busy to acquire new customers. At this point I will find another company for the work.

Description of Work
Have a few foundation issues and cracks on the inside and outside of my home. Meet the company at a locale home show and was told when they finally got around to calling that it would be several weeks to come. Agreed on an appointment and the day before I was called and they asked to reschedule because the sales person for my area had a family emergency. This was acceptable for me so they rescheduled for the following weekend for another sales person to come. On the morning of the appointment I was called and told he couldn't make it but they would call the following week to reschedule. It's been six weeks and still haven't heard from them.

Category foundation repair

5.0

04/07/2014


Rhonda H.

I was impressed with their communication, professionalism and superior work. They gave a fair estimate, collected the permit, scheduled the inspections required, showed up on time and did a gratbjob cleanining up. I would highly recommend this company!

Description of Work
They installed 6 foundation support jacks along 2 outside walls & 4 on the inside.

Category foundation repair

1.0

03/30/2014


Becky R.

We were concerned about our front porch lifting up and a few cracks in our concrete slab house, so we called Ram Jack. There was also a small crack in the drywall under a window that is facing the porch and I was wondering if it could be related to the porch pushing on the foundation. This was not discussed. We were told of 6 cracks in our foundation, only 1 that we can see, and that it would be over $13k to 'fix' it. My husband does rescue work, including shoring, deep trench rescue, etc and could not understand why they needed to space and drill every 4 feet, not 6 ft, for our house to be secured. They also did not check the interior of the house for anymore cracks around the door jambs; something I was always told was a sign of structural damage. So, we decided on a second opinion. We were told then that since the porch is separate from the main foundation, we only needed to remove and repour it. In terms of the cracks on the outer foundation they are not causing structural damage or danger to our house as the house was built, as many slabs are, with a block base, then the slab/concrete being poured IN that.. Then a concrete layer going around those blocks. That's where the one or two cracks are. The crack in our kitchen floor is the normal cause of the house settling and should it get worse we can pump some concrete UNDER the floor.. Which is what I thought Ram Jack did!! Long story short, get a second opinion after these gentlemen come out. Another thing, the guy couldn't even get our last name correct when he called us back for a follow-up, TWICE. He called my husband the name of our TOWN! That's unprofessional. We were very disappointed.

Description of Work
Called for estimate for foundation repair

Category foundation repair

5.0

03/12/2014


Willard L.

Measurements taken and work started within two weeks. Work was completed in a day and a return date to access the how well the work was done and if the leveling was accomplished. The final review validated the work was a success.

Description of Work
The foundation settled and leveling of floors necessary.

Category foundation repair

5.0

02/26/2014


Lisa W.

Will have repairs done in near future.

Description of Work
Evaluation by Joshua Buffkin. Very experienced.

Category foundation repair

1.0

02/22/2014


Frances K.

Based on the good reviews on this list, I called this company and spoke with Chris. I first called him on 2/11/14 and we discussed him coming to see my problem. I had understood that we agreed if the weather was bad on 2/12 (and it was) he would come on 2/19. I gave him my name, phone number, and address. On 2/19 I had not heard from him and called him mid-day to see when I could expect him. He first told me he had hurt his leg and wouldn't be able to make it. Then, when I asked to reschedule, he told me that the company was changing hands and I should call back to the same number after the 28th. So be aware that if you do call this company, and it is indeed someone else, then these existing reviews don't really apply. I don't feel confident that I got a straight story in any case.

Description of Work
we only spoke on the phone.

Category foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for calling Ram Jack. We have consolidated telephone operations so that calls are answered more efficiently. We did not "change hands," as was represented, although we are continuously improving our operations to serve you better. We apologize that our Specialist did not reschedule your appointment on a timely basis. At Ram Jack, we offer a transferable limited lifetime warranty in areas of your home that you request us to support.
5.0

02/21/2014


Susan N.

It has only been about 6 months now but so far I am very pleased. It was expensive but if it saves my home, it is worth the cost.

Description of Work
Repaired foundation on my home - house was "sinking".

Category foundation repair

3.0

02/05/2014


Judith T.

They were friendly and seemed professional. They finished their work in a timely way so that we were not disrupted. However, after they left we were very disappointed with the way they left the area. It is as though when they finished the work, they dropped their tools and ran--no care about cleaning up. Our neatly stacked tomato towers and stakes were thrown all over the yard. Worse, they had had to remove some planks on the back deck to get to the ground to install the pilings. Instead of carefully pulling up the planks and then nailing them back, they just sawed a hole in the deck, sawing all the planks in that area in half, so that when they nailed them back there was a very obvious square section of the deck where the planks had obviously been sawed in two. Very unattractive. I will say that when I called them, they were quick to come out and clean up the yard. Correcting the deck was done not as successfully. Because the planks were sawed in half, they had to replace them, which means they do not match the rest of the weathered planks on the deck. Lastly, while installing the foundation pilings successfully closed many of the cracks in the outside bricks and in the inside walls as well, I am finding many cracks in new places, opened up by the "repair". I feel like it did not help our situation any; as many cracks as before, only in different places. My husband didn't want to do it in the first place. Now he can say "I told you so"

Description of Work
They installed 32 pilings under our 42 year house, built in an area where all of the houses are sinking rather badly. We got two estimates and they were almost the same in price and recommended number of pilings.

Category foundation repair

4.0

01/25/2014


Greg R.

First, I will give a little background. We bought a foreclosure 3 years ago with a foundation issue. We had Ram Jack come out at the time and they did a thorough assessment and gave us a quote. Due to the cost, we decided to wait a few years and have them come out again to determine if the foundation was still moving in the corner of the house or if it had stopped. Ram Jack came out again when we called and still had all of the paperwork from the first assessment 3 years ago. They did an elevation measurement and determined that the corner of the house had sunk an addition inch since our last consultation. They said their costs have gone up but we were still able to get around the same cost they quoted us 3 years ago because it was the end of the year and how it related to accounting. Since the foundation was still sinking, we decided to get it fixed. They were going to install 10 piles under the back left corner of the house. The crew came out and were very professional. They were able to get the corner of the house within .5 inches of being level (it had sunk nearly 3 inches) and we were told that if they went anymore, there was a high risk of the floor and drywall cracking, not to mention the big window we wanted to keep in tact. We were happy with the result, but the step cracks in the brick didn't close up like we anticipated and the crew told us that they aren't always guaranteed to close up, so we were told to call a brick mason and he would be able to make it look like there was never a foundation issue. The crew had to cut through concrete in our pool deck as well as our air conditioning unit pad, so we were told that they would leave the concrete a little below deck level so we could have a pool guy come in and match the existing pool deck. Now, to the part I am not happy with. Ram Jack collected final payment while all of the holes were still open and not filled in. They had to wait for the city inspector to come out before filling them back in. So, basically, I paid $11,000 (remainder after deposit) with mounds of dirt still piled up in my yard and pool deck and 4 foot holes exposed. The guy came the next day to fill in the holes, and that is another part I am not happy with. As you can see by the pictures attached, a previously mulched area now looks like a beach. There is sand all over the pool equipment, brick walls, fence, and window screens. There was a left over Gatorade bottle. I feel like Ram Jack dropped the ball towards the end (after they got paid). For the price I paid, I don't think it would have hurt for them to throw in a few bags of mulch to make the area look like what it did before they got here. Also, it wouldn't have hurt to hose the sand off the walls, pool equipment, screen, etc. I am putting N/A for price because I did not get any other bids for this project.

Description of Work
Repair foundation in back corner of the house by installing 10 helical piles.

Category foundation repair

5.0

01/22/2014


JENNIFER C.

Service as expected. |Concrete work was not done with cosmetic detail. |Final cost was higher than quoted due the a 'math error'.

Description of Work
.

Category foundation repair

1.0

01/22/2014


David E.

Tried to set an appointment.... After getting their call center, they said they would call back, which they did. I wasn't able to get the call so they left a message. When I called back, they wanted all of my information again. Finally, I got transferred to their appointment setter. He took my info again and then told me the soonest appointment was three weeks away! Reminded me of dealing with the phone company. I asked if a sooner appointment was available. He said no, so I said I may need to go with someone else then. With that, he hung up on me. Not impressed.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category foundation repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Poly Lift USA Georgia

    Poly Lift USA Georgia: concrete - leveling & mudjacking  

    Bosket and Ruff Enterprise LLP

    Bosket and Ruff Enterprise LLP is locally owned and operated with over 30 years of experience. It's our reputation of quality work, professionalism, and customer service our customers continue to rely on us for their all of their home needs. We don't leave until you're satisfied! Please be sure to give us a call or click for a Free Estimate today! We look forward to hearing from you soon  

    Mount Valley Foundation Services

    Mount Valley Foundation Services, founded in 1986, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They are the oldest foundation repair company in South Carolina and currently maintain offices in Columbia and Greenville. Mount Valley is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Mount Valley Foundation Services on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial new construction foundation repair & helical piers installed.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ram Jack of South Carolina

    How is Ram Jack of South Carolina overall rated?

    Ram Jack of South Carolina is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Ram Jack of South Carolina provide

    Ram Jack of South Carolina accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Check, Visa

    Does Ram Jack of South Carolina offer free estimates?

    Yes, Ram Jack of South Carolina offers free project estimates.

    Does Ram Jack of South Carolina offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Ram Jack of South Carolina offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Ram Jack of South Carolina offer a senior discount?

    No, Ram Jack of South Carolina does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Ram Jack of South Carolina?

    Yes, Ram Jack of South Carolina offers warranties.

    What services does Ram Jack of South Carolina offer?

    Ram Jack of South Carolina offers the following services: Residential and commercial new construction foundation repair & helical piers installed.