Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

EAST COAST ROOFING

Founded 1983 • With Angi since July 2007

We are a "full service" roofing company performing everything from a new roof installations, restoration and maintenance to re-roofs and repairs. EAST COAST ROOFING owner Rick DeVries began his career in the Low Country as a roofer over 25 yrs ago. Since then his mission has been to offer quality roofing systems with fair and reasonable prices. Excellent roofing services and 100% customer satisfaction is one of his primary objectives. Mr. DeVries recognizes the importance of providing exceptional customer service and workmanship; this is why he is present on every job site. He works hard to ensure that his values are applied by each member of his team and each service he provides.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.9

(85) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 85 reviews
James V.
5.0
04/06/2017
Gutted all the old and replaced it and did a great job! He had his son with him and was very professional. I would recommend them to others.
Description of Work
I hired him to repair my roof where I had a couple leaks.
Category
roofing
Mary Ann S.
5.0
10/26/2016
Very well. We have used East Coast Roofing several times. Mr. DeVries is very knowledgeable and does excellent work.
Description of Work
Replacing some damaged shingles
Category
contractors
Laura H.
5.0
10/09/2016
I had two water stains develop on my second floor ceiling. I contacted East Coast Roofing, and the owner, Rick, came out to inspect the roof. He determined that when our roof was replaced by the previous home owners 4 years ago, the original aluminum ridge vent was not replaced and this was causing the leaks. The repairs were completed and we paid. However, I knew that I would not be able to write a useful review until after a significant rain (I needed to see if we had any more leaks or water spots on the ceiling). I am writing this review the evening after Hurricane Matthew passed through Charleston, and I want to report that we did not have one single leak or any water spots appear on the ceiling. Rick's diagnosis of the problem and repair were clearly expertly done, and my husband and I are grateful for his excellent work.
Description of Work
replace aluminum ridge vent on roof with new Cobra 3 cap over ridge vent
Category
roofing
Bernard A.
5.0
09/07/2016
Perfect...............Great work...........very punctual.......professional............Utilized many times over the last twenty years......................Thumbs up!! Dr Bernard Arnold
Description of Work
Roof repairs
Category
roofing
Zeff B.
5.0
02/23/2016
An oak tree next to my house was struck by lightning and it fell on my roof, damaging the fascia, and poking a hole in the roof. After I called him for a bid, Rick promptly surveyed the damage and sent me a reasonable bid. He communicated clearly about what needed to be fixed. He works by himself and he's very meticulous, with a good eye for detail. As he was repairing the roof, he examined previous work on the roof and made suggestions on how it could be done better. He repaired the fascia barge drafter soffit, crown moulding, capped a parapet wall, repaired broken shingles and did a very nice job matching the shingles so that they all blended well. He also replaced damaged ridge vent and ridge cap and then caulked and painted the completed work. I appreciated how promptly Andrea responded to my emails and calls when we were setting up the schedule for the work days.
Description of Work
They did a roof patch job.
Category
roofing
Pamela T.
5.0
11/01/2015
Rick successfully repaired the parts of our complex roofing system that were the cause of our leak. Because it was a two day job he made the professional decision to delay starting the job several times because of weather issues (during the recent flooding). He always contacted us when rescheduling was necessary. His able assistants were also professional in every way.
Description of Work
We had a "mystery leak" in our roof and Rick made the necessary repairs after other roofers tried and failed to find and fix the issue.
Category
roofing
Stephanie P.
1.0
10/12/2015
The first time he was ok, but when we called him back for a leaks he charges an exorbitant amount of money. He has a "life time warranty" obviously not for my family though because he did a little patch job on a 1 year old roof and didn't mention a bill while at my home and I even tipped him for his troubles. Do not hire this man.
Description of Work
Put a roof on my home.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

This was not a standard service call but an after- hours repair at the beginning of the historic deluge. The customer considered a damp spot on the block wall in their attic an emergency worthy of setting up a 2 story ladder and working on a steep 10/12 pitch roof in the pouring rain. The leak I patched for this customer was not affiliated with the roof I put on. The water was coming in through the mortar joints on the parapet fire wall. I photographed the problem area and showed it to the customer so they were aware prior to the repair that the issue was not with the roof and thus not covered under warranty. Even so, when the customer called to express their disappointment with the invoice I waived the charge since I did not give them an amount prior to the repair. I do not think that showing up within an hour of a phone call after hours and in the pouring rain and waiving the invoice warrants the low grades given.
Mary M.
2.0
08/12/2015
Attempted, unsuccessfully, to arrange an appointment for an estimate through Angie's List. Not sure if this is an issue with Angie's List (since there have been 2 recent occasions when a request seems to have fallen in to a black hole and not responded to). When I followed up with a call, there was a delay of a couple of days before they responded back. Set an appointment for Aug 4th. The estimator came to the house and completed the assessment and said he would email the estimate by the end of the week. I have called each of the last three days to determine the status and left voicemails on at least two occasions with no follow up call or email received. Gave him a D instead of an F because at least he showed for the scheduled estimate appointment. Moving on.
Description of Work
Performed an assessment of our roof with the promise of an estimate for the replacement work. NO estimate provided to date.
Category
roofing
Curt F.
5.0
05/02/2015
The coating on my flat roof had deteriorated and needed replacing. East Coast Roofing was responsive, and reliable in providing a quotation and in scheduling and applying the coating. Rick did an excellent job and did not try to sell me services that I did not need. I would use them again.
Description of Work
Applied new coating to flat roof
Category
roofing
Karen D.
5.0
10/17/2014
Rick and Andrea were extremely prompt, courteous and professional in setting the initial assessment appointment and the installation. They were a pleasure to work.
Description of Work
Replaced an attic vent fan.
Category
roofing
Pam S.
5.0
07/22/2014
Rick was very courteous and professional. He gave an estimate, set up a schedule and performed the work in a timely manner. I appreciate his efforts and would use his services in the future. Excellent experience!
Description of Work
Replaced rotted wood in damaged area, installed new shingles, removed and replaced two pipe collars.
Category
contractors, roofing
Dale M.
5.0
06/04/2014
Had old "Hugo" roof and small chimney removed. Then had new roof installed. The entire job took just two days and we are very happy with the results. Would use East Coast Roofing again without a doubt.
Description of Work
Had tarps all around the perimeter of house to catch all the debris from old roof being removed. Had dumpster container for all trash and debris. All workers were professional and polite. Very easy to work with and would recommend to others if asked for a referral.
Category
roofing
Larry H.
5.0
05/25/2014
I thought I had leaky riff so I called a couple of roofing companies to give me estimates. The guy from East Coast roofing showed up and spent about 45 minutes with me. He researched the problem thoroughly including climbing up on top of the roof. Turns out that I have a leak in a line from condensation pump in an area that was very difficult to access. The guy that visited was very helpful, pointed me to the problem and didn't even charge me for the diagnostic evaluation. And to be honest, given the amount of effort that he expanded I really expected to be charged and was prepared pay. It was nice to deal with an honest worker and company and I really appreciate their efforts.
Description of Work
Thought I had a leaky roof
Category
roofing
Rob ..
5.0
05/20/2014
He is an excellent roofer! He isn't the least expensive, but he is the best quality we have experienced. We wouldn't hire anyone else.
Description of Work
They put on small roof addition on and a number of other projects over the past 7 years.
Category
roofing
Zaida J.
4.0
05/01/2014
The estimate was for a roof replacement (small roof), adding a power vent (quote offered two but I went with one so cost of serv includes only one), and repairing some wood rot on a piece of fascia on the back of the home. The guy who came out was nice and professional. One small qualm was he knew it was a rental and never asked what sort of shingles I wanted. Completely slipped my mind to specify but quoted me on more expensive architectural shingles instead of cheaper 3 tab. Minor but noted. My biggest issue is I emailed Andrea back for more information and never got a response. Decided to go with a different roofer who communicated better, but also pricing was much better mainly because East Coast likely has greater overhead.
Description of Work
Gave estimate.
Category
roofing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

I would like to express my sincere apologies to this costumer. It was my mistake, Sometimes things get hectic around here and I must have missed your email. I am very glad that you were able to find a suitable contractor. Apologies, Andrea
Alfred F.
5.0
03/31/2014
Service was excellent and work was performed expertly. Cleanup after the job was thorough. Quality of shingles and flat roof materials was higher than that offered by other contractors. Price was good when compared to other contractors' proposals. Mr. Rick DeVries and his personnel were very professional. I would use this company again. I can, without hesitation, recommend East Coast Roofing to others.
Description of Work
Installed new shingles and new flat roof on my house.
Category
roofing
Patricia J.
5.0
02/15/2014
Rick DeVries followed up with a phone call after our first big rain.
Description of Work
Very professional and punctual.
Category
roofing
Ross N.
5.0
02/12/2014
Rick was very nice and professional to work with. Over a period of time a few different people had looked at a leaking problem on a wall in our house. Rick actually determined the problem and repaired the problem. Over the last few months we have monitored that wall and it has been perfect. We are going to be replacing the rest of the roof soon and will be using Rick for that job based on our positive experience with his company.
Description of Work
repaired and replaced a section of the roof
Category
roofing
Nina C.
5.0
02/08/2014
We had feared the repair would be too obvious, but he blended them with old roof. The entire roof was checked for further damage. This roof is very steep making repair, inspection difficult. We are very pleased with the work and professionalism of East Coast. We will highly recommend to neighbors and friends.
Description of Work
Several shingles on front and back of house had blown off during a recent storm. Rick was able to blend the shingles from bundles that were left from original roof installation.
Category
roofing
Michele T.
5.0
12/04/2013
The roof was completed on time. There were some rot repairs that took a little extra time to complete. We have been satisfied with the new roof and the repairs. Ron was reliable and responsive, the roof looks great.
Description of Work
Replace roof shingles and repair damage
Category
roofing
Margaret R.
5.0
11/03/2013
Great. See note above.
Description of Work
They removed all the old shingles, and the plywood. They replaced the entire roof in 1 day, and did a great job. They were on time, worked thru the day, cleaned up everything, and even trimmed the tree branches that were overhanging the roof, and hauled the branches away. They scanned the yard with a magnet to make sure they got all of the nails picked up. I was very, very please Rick Devries and his company.
Category
roofing
Tim T.
5.0
09/14/2013
I called several companies to get estimates on a very bad leak around our chimney. Rick was the only one that promptly called me back. He got out within a few days to review the job and give me an estimate. We scheduled the work for 9 Sep 2013 at 9am and he and another member of his crew showed up right on time and ready to get started. Work was completed within the approximately 3 - 4 hours that he has estimated. This included replacing the flashing and all the associated shingles. We have not yet had a hard enough rain to see how the repair holds up but if there are any problems I am confident he will address them as quickly as possible. I was impressed with Rick's professionalism and knowledge of roofing. They cleaned up so well that you could not find any evidence they had even been there. Overall, a very good experience with this contractor.
Description of Work
Repaired leak around chimney.
Category
roofing
Margaret M.
5.0
08/23/2013
Rick was prompt and did the job in short order. Our correspondence was primarily by e-mail.....all inquiries were handled promptly. If our first option is not successful, we will have him back for a major repair.
Description of Work
This is second time we have had leak showing on an interior ceiling. The first repair (by another person) we had done did not solve the problem. Rick arrived earlier than planned; assessed the situation; and gave us two options since he was uncertain of the cause. We opted for the less expensive options. Time will tell if this worked.
Category
roofing
James P. W.
5.0
07/24/2013
I called them early in the morning and they didn't call me back until later that evening. I had already found another company to do the job; but I was glad that they responded back to me. They told me that if the other company didn't work out, to give them a call.
Description of Work
I called them, because of a roofing leak that I wanted them to fix.
Category
roofing
Larry F.
5.0
07/17/2013
Ripped out all of the bad wood and replaced it. Then put the shingles back on. No more leaks!!
Description of Work
We orginally called Rick to repair what we thought were minor leaks. These became major when Rick discovered that the leaks had rotted the wood sheathing and roof trusses And on top of that he found termite damage. We built rom stratch and will only use the best contractors to work on it. We were extremely satisfied with Rick and his team at East Coast.
Category
roofing

Other local Pros in your area

Wando Roofing LLC

There's nothing more important than having a roof over your head. And there's nothing more important that picking the right roofing company to make sure your roof is installed correctly and maintained properly. Our customers say we're the best in the business. We specialize in residential roofing and general home repairs, with 15 years of experience. We use only the best products and materials, we are dedicated to completing each project in a timely manner.  

Angi Certified

Powell Roofing LLC

At Powell Roofing, our staff has a combined 50 years of experience delivering unsurpassed roofing services in Charleston, SC and the surrounding areas. We are locally owned and operated and as a trusted, local roofing company, you can rely on us for outstanding workmanship offered at affordable prices. We are completely dedicated to ensuring that you will love the new look of your home and we stand behind our work offering 10 year warranties on all work and up to 50 years upon request! We specialize in all aspects of the roofing industry as wells as windows, siding & painting. Please call us today for a free estimate!  

Angi Certified

Charleston Roofing & Exteriors LLC

The experts at Charleston Roofing and Exteriors, LLC are dedicated to superior roof repair, replacement, and installation services for homeowners in the greater Charleston area. All of our roofers have experience working with a variety of roof materials, including traditional asphalt shingles and metal roofing. We never take our customers for granted; we take the time to create relationships with each and every client.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

4201 DORSEY AVE

North Charleston, SC 29405

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

EAST COAST ROOFING is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

EAST COAST ROOFING is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

EAST COAST ROOFING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, EAST COAST ROOFING offers free project estimates.

No, EAST COAST ROOFING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, EAST COAST ROOFING does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, EAST COAST ROOFING offers emergency services.

No, EAST COAST ROOFING does not offer warranties.

EAST COAST ROOFING offers the following services: ROOFING & ROOFING REPAIRS, CARPENTRY & WOOD REPAIRS. Your re - roof specialist - over 25 years of experience. Residential & commercial. Charleston's premier roofing contractor. - Architectural shingles, full line of colors. - "High wind" systems - metal roofs. - Standing seam, 5 - V - low slope systems. - Carpentry repairs - leak location & repair. 10 year labor warranty.