Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mays Contracting Company LLC

Founded 1977 • With Angi since May 2012

Mays Contracting is a family owned business specializing in residential and commercial roofing, siding, remodeling and repairs. Our company was founded with strong values and we strive daily to exceed the needs of our customers. We manage to do this by offering complete contracting services using the best people and equipment to get the job done. Your project will be complete on time and within your budget. At Mays Contracting, all of our work is guaranteed. We handle all size jobs; just contact us for your next project! LICENSE # 004839. Family owned, Award winning

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(19) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
Catherine N.
5.0
03/16/2018
it went pretty good. They came out and finished the job quickly. They did more than what we asked for. Great company.
Description of Work
I had my roof done
Category
roofing
Joey R.
5.0
06/19/2017
Great and cleaned up well
Description of Work
Total reroof
Category
roofing
margo W.
5.0
05/20/2017
Great work very professional
Description of Work
New roof on my home
Category
roofing
Bluette B.
5.0
07/14/2016
unknown
Category
roofing
Michael B.
5.0
06/08/2016
unknown
Description of Work
built a better roof
Category
roofing
Karen H.
5.0
02/10/2016
unknown
Description of Work
REPAIRED A SHINGLE THAT BLEW OFF THE ROOF
Category
roofing
Juliana S.
4.0
01/01/2016
unknown
Category
roofing
PATRICIA B.
5.0
11/23/2015
Excellent crew! Finished it the next morning on a SATURDAY! That is dedication.
Description of Work
Removed old shingles and replaced with new 50 year ltd lifetime warranty shingles using state of the art material and installation methods. My new roof also has a 5 year warranty on labor.
Category
roofing
Richard N.
5.0
11/22/2013
Crew was professional and punctual. Job finished in two days. All my questions were answered courteously. yard was completely clean when they were done.
Description of Work
Rip off old roof and replace.
Category
roofing
Doyle P.
5.0
01/08/2013
They came out and went up on the roof and ascessed the damage. Just to get us by they had some left over spare shingles on their truck and they patched the worst places to prevent water damage. That goes above and beyond the call of duty in my opinion! They were polite, clean and very professional. The estimate was extremely reasonable, but, times being what they are, I am having to wait before having them do the work as their quote, while good, was for more than I could afford. Once I have the money, I wont hesitate to do business with them, and plan on having it done when my tax refund comes in.
Description of Work
Asked for a quote to replace my roof, it's over 25 years old and storms have torn off shingles.
Category
roofing
Edward W.
3.0
12/31/2012
On the whole I don't regret hiring Mays for this project, but there were some serious black-eyes by the time all was said and done. I had a quote from the most respected roofer in town for essentially the same job and he was 33% higher than what I paid with Mays. If it weren't for the that I'd be even less happy. Most of my complaint would be lodged against the salesman. He was very nice and not hard to reach when needed, but good luck relying on him to follow-up with you unless you were actively in the process of trying to reach him. He repeatedly suggested the job would be started in "just a week or so"; in fact it took multiple follow-up calls to him over the course of many weeks to keep him "interested" in getting started. We were patient and eventually got the job scheduled. The group that showed up were pretty typical super-hard working roofers and I think they did a quality job with the installation (no leaks after multiple rains the past 5 weeks) and it looks good. However, they successfully did the entire job between 8:00 and 5:00 in one day, and they probably shouldn't have. I know every roofing job leaves quite a few nails around for the homeowner to deal with, but due to the way this team removed part of my roof my front yard was literally littered with approximately 300 nails when they left. They also either threw away or made off with about $50 of tarps I had on my roof that I could have made - and planned to make - good use of. Not good. The salesman came back and agreed the nails were a problem and helped as much as he could, but I ended up spending about 6 hours around my house with a metal detector before I felt a reasonable amount had been found. The salesman promised he would replace a couple of small tarps and bring me a pack of shingles to have on hand for future replacement needs. I called him a week later to ask if I would be seeing those and he would be there "tomorrow" of course. I haven't seen or heard from him since. So, the work quality of the final roof may be OK, but "professional" is not a word I would use to describe my experience with Mays.
Description of Work
Full asphalt shingle removal and re-roofing with architectural shingles. Challenging roof layout on approx 1900 sq ft house.
Category
roofing
Douglas A.
5.0
09/14/2012
Did not use
Description of Work
Mays Roofing provided an estimate for a reroof on our home in Spartanburg. The gentlemen who came was punctual, kind, professional and extremely knowledgeable. He quickly and pleasantly answered every question I had, and believe me I had a lot of questions while he was at our home and later by telephone after he left. It was a very difficult decision todetermine which roofe. In the end we elected to use the other contractor because they used shingles that we liked from another company that Mays did not use. However, I firmly believe that the shigles Mays uses are an excellent product and I believe that Mays would be an excellent choice for a reroof job.
Category
roofing
Andrew L.
5.0
08/28/2012
I will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I called Mays Contracting Company to give me an estimate for a roof patch because my roof leaked.
Category
roofing
Scott B.
5.0
06/01/2012
It went good, no problems. Quality company.
Description of Work
They put a new roof on my house.
Category
roofing
Sibbett S.
5.0
03/31/2012
They put a dumpster in the front driveway ( It was not left there over night! ) and covered all shrubbery with tarps. They did run out of shingles for a portion of the garage and had to come back to finish the job, but it was done quickly and as they promised. The clean-up was done professionally. I still find a few nails, but I was warned that they would not be able to get all them. The foreman came back after the job was finished and found about two pocket-fulls after the crew did an initial cleanup. The only damage was to the support for a stake for a solar light for the garden. The small roof to the tool shed was not covered in the original bid by my oversight. They needed some extra shingles for that and it took several days to get to and finish that job, but I agreed to let them do it after other jobs in the area so that they could save gas and travel expenses. They volunteered to finish the job on the Sunday AM, but I suggested that they take their day off and do it later at their convenience. The crew was polite and no one fell off the roof! Several roofs have been recovered in our neighborhood. I think May's crew would stand up to any of the others for workmanship and professionalism.
Description of Work
We are in a 2400 sq ft two story patio home. We had a top quality roof installed. The upgrade from 25 year to 50 year was quite reasonable. The guarantee can be passed on to the next owner.
Category
roofing
Ann K.
4.0
02/24/2012
I would recommend this company for quality work and a roof that looks good, but their poor customer service would make me think twice before hiring them again.
Description of Work
Mays Contracting was referred to me by a neighbor whose roof was replaced by this company. The estimator responded fairly promptly when asked for an estimate. After getting approval from my insurance company to proceed, I called Mays Contracting three times to schedule the installation before I got to talk with anyone other than office personnel. Once the work was scheduled, it was another 6-7 weeks before work began, partly due to bad weather. I was originally given a three week lead time. Once work began, the contractor removed all old shingles, vent pipes, and roof exhaust fan. The existing single tab shingles were replaced with architectural shingles with lifetime warranty, new zinc vent pipes, and new electric roof exhaust fan. Installation included ridge vent and minor repair to a section of gutter that was not installed correctly when the house was built. Three days were estimated to complete the job, but it took five days for everything to be finished. The last day was for installing the new roof exhaust fan which was included in the contract, but not installed until I questioned it. Clean up was reasonably good. I'm still finding stray nails and pieces of shingles, but that's to be expected and not a problem. Minimal damage was done to landscaping surrounding my house during removal of the old shingles, and I was pleased with their concern for protecting foundation plantings. ABC Roofing delivered the new shingles to my house when I wasn't there prior to the start date, and they really messed up my yard, leaving ruts in my lawn when they drove their equipment into the yard. Because I have a very wide driveway and parking pad, it was not necessary to drive into the yard at all. A Mays Contracting representative told me he would contact ABC Roofing about making repairs to my lawn, but nothing was done, so this is another expense to me personally.
Category
roofing
Albert S.
5.0
01/27/2012
A great comany to deal with, honest, accurate, and they do a fairly good job of cleaning up too.
Description of Work
Removed the existing roof and flashing. Repaired areas that were damaged. Installed new roof and flashing, they used a water proof membrane in the valleys and ends. The replaced the plastic/rubber vent boots with lead boots. The installed new ridge vents.
Category
roofing
Stephen R.
5.0
01/20/2012
Great from start to Finish
Description of Work
Great Co I had to reroof my 2,000 SQ roof and some odds and end very clean and polite Great Co
Category
roofing
Jeff S.
5.0
10/20/2011
Replaced roof, removed turbine vents, installed ridge vent.
Description of Work
This company was slightly higher than some estimates, but not the highest. We chose them due to the extras that they do. The use a "starter" edge and a heavier underlayment than most companies. They are also a certainteed master installer. By being this and doing the extras. They are able to offer a 50 year transferable warranty on architectural shingles. This is the main reason we chose them. After they removed all the old shingles, they found my plywood under the shingles was bad. I looked at it and had to agree. This unfortunatly added $4000 to my cost. However the company came when they said they would, and still finished in two days even with the extra work. They did an excellant job cleaning up and the work is top notch.
Category
roofing

Phone

Address

1728 Indian Land Dr

Newberry, SC 29108

Other Information

Services offered

Residential and commercial roofing, siding, remodeling & windows.

Payment options

Check
Visa

FAQ

Mays Contracting Company LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Mays Contracting Company LLC is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Mays Contracting Company LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa

Yes, Mays Contracting Company LLC offers free project estimates.

No, Mays Contracting Company LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Mays Contracting Company LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Mays Contracting Company LLC offers warranties.

Mays Contracting Company LLC offers the following services: Residential and commercial roofing, siding, remodeling & windows.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Gutter Concepts of SC

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Gutter Concepts of SC

Gutter Concepts of SC based in West Columbia, SC  

Capital Palmetto Builders is the residential division of the commercial roofing and siding company, Alpha & Omega Construction, LLC. Insurance adjusters prefer working with us as we inspect all roofs for sufficient damage prior to suggesting you file a claim, therefore weeding out unnecessary claims. We will meet with the adjuster on your behalf to give you the best chance for a successful claim. We are A+ rated on the BBB. We are a certified Owens Corning Preferred Contractor and Shingle Master with Certainteed. We always use Ice & Water shield in all vulnerable areas as well as synthetic underlayment over the entire roof deck. This allows us to provide you with a 3 year workmanship warranty in addition to your manufacturers warranty. We will meet all insurance company estimates for work, all you should be responsible for is your deductible and any upgrades. We have over 60 years experience in new and replacement roofing. All of our installers are employed by us so you can be assured of quality work and up to date insurance as we do not subcontract our work like most other companies do. As a licensed, insured and bonded roofing service, we strive to limit construction time so that you can get back to your life. "YOUR ROOF IS OUR REPUTATION"  

Family-owned and operated we provide the highest quality products, professionally installed, at a reasonable price. Our objective is to offer our customers a level of service unmatched by the competition. Our reputation and continued growth are based on how we treat you. There is simply no substitute for our personal service. Our pledge to our customers is that we have outstanding quality and dependable service, courteous staff and sales representatives, superior american made products and guaranteed lowest prices. Branch Location: 2053 Island Trail Chapin SC, 29036 Local: 803-798-5834 Toll Free: 877-6874888