Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2008

4.9

(84) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1503 Heron Ave

Mount Pleasant, SC 29464

Description

Owner operated. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charge. A $45 service charge applies for first hour. $40.00 per man hour for every hour thereafter. The best way to reach me is by text message as I get so many spam calls and emails, and don' see them in a timely manner.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Paul B.
1.0
04/19/2019
At first it went very well, but Tim alwasy made excuses for his lack of effort and disappeared after we determined a door should be ordered. I called hem several times regarding the door; he finally called back and accused me of being lik an old girl friend!! BE CAREFUL OF THIS GUY --HE IS AN ***!!!
Description of Work
Various projects in preparation to sell!
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

I don't even know who you are. Might you have me mistaken for someone else? Tim
Nancy R.
5.0
05/16/2018
Tim was always prompt and performed the tasks in a timely and professional manner. As a single woman I know I can count on him to help with the things I cannot do on my own and feel comfortable enough to leave a key when I'm not home. I highly recommend him for all those general maintenance and special projects around your home! *Cost of service is usually by the hour and the amount provided below represents work performed over a period of months.
Description of Work
Installation of handicap rails and bars, ceiling fans, string lights, shelving, watering system for porch, repair main entrance door, general maintenance items.
Category
contractors, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, woodworking, ceiling fans, house painters, interior painters, doors
Anna D.
5.0
10/09/2017
Naturally, more boards had to be replaced than were initially thought to be moisture-damaged. Tim primed the new cedar boards very well, including the ends of them (this step had obviously been neglected in the existing clapboards). Tim did a great job, from start to finish, was easy to communicate with, very punctual and professional.
Description of Work
Replacement of rotten cedar clapboards on exterior of our home.
Category
contractors, handyman service, house painters
Anna D.
5.0
01/26/2017
Tim responded to our inquiry quickly and worked up an estimate of the cost that we thought was very fair. We gave money for the purchase of materials to begin the job and Tim kept us informed of when and how materials would be delivered; he also let us know (via text mssg). when he would be arriving each work day. The only delays in progress were due to weather conditions and the discovery of more rotten clapboards. The former is unavoidable and the latter was expected, This was not the first time we had to replace rotten clapboards on this house. We count ourselves fortunate that none of the moisture damage had gotten to the framework of the house, although part of one of our window frames did require replacement. The quality of the work Tim did was splendid. We breathed a sigh of relief when Tim carefully Primed every new cedar board, front, back and ends, with a stain-blocking primer and explained to us that if this had been done every time boards were put up and/or replaced, we'd not have had so many boards to replace. It was a great relief to us to know that it would be done well. When Tim did find rot that had not been in the initial estimate, he showed us the found rot and if the rot was shallow and not large, did clean it and use a wood hardener and you can't tell where that had been done. The work looks great and we have the satisfaction of knowing the money was well spent on a job well done. I would recommend Tim Shaws services to anyone that needs work done to their home and wants to be confident that the work will be done properly.
Description of Work
Replacement of rotten cedar clapboards on home exterior.
Category
handyman service, woodworking, house painters
Luanne L.
5.0
01/23/2017
It went really well. It didn't take very long.
Description of Work
Our support beams were running the wrong way so we had him hang out porch swing for us.
Category
handyman service
Barbara B.
5.0
09/26/2016
Tim performed an excellent job on repairing my ceiling. I had an emergency situation and he came promptly to get control of a situation of water leaking from an upstairs pipe. He repaired the leak and then resurfaced my popcorn ceilings to smooth ceilings. He did a terrific job and would highly recommend him for any job. He prices his jobs reasonable and I would definitely use him again.
Description of Work
Repaired ceiling from washing machine pipe leak.
Category
handyman service
Conyers B.
5.0
06/13/2016
Mr. Shaw was great to work with on this project, and he took the time to ensure everything was done the way I wanted.
Description of Work
Worked on the front door: painted the exterior, repaired the framing on the inside, painted the interior.
Category
woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors
Louis K.
5.0
04/13/2016
Mr. Shaw showed up on time and immediately got down to work by checking a ceiling fan and dishwasher. He than changed the two outside lights and a switch to another ceiling fan. Everything was done in 2 and 1/4 hours and I would definitely use his services again and recommend him to other people.
Description of Work
Mr Shaw replaced two outdoor lights and a switch to a ceiling fan. He also check another ceiling fan, the dish washer and another outdoor li
Category
electrician, handyman service, doors
Laura T.
5.0
10/08/2015
Tim was quick to respond to my inquiry and was able to put me on his schedule last minute. I would DEFINITELY hire him again.
Description of Work
Installed rubbermaid closet system and ceiling fan
Category
handyman service
Michaella P.
5.0
09/28/2015
Great - honest, fast, genuine
Description of Work
Fixed some cables for us
Category
handyman service
Colleen M.
5.0
09/10/2015
Effortless, pleasant and easy! The problem in Mount Pleasant is no one will be bothered with small jobs, they do not come back to do the work after giving a quote or they quote 3x their cost in hopes you do not call them back to do the work. Tim is a breath of fresh air and I am glad he is an Angie's List provider!!
Description of Work
Replaced and repaired water line at dock; Used my existing wood to replace wood on outdoor hand rail. Cut my existing wood to replace missing pickets of an outside railing. Secured loose pickets of an outside railing. Replaced an outdoor gate latch.
Category
handyman service, woodworking, doors
John R.
5.0
05/19/2014
Mr. Shaw's work was always done excellently, at a fair price and he left the work area clean. I strongly recommend him for any task.
Description of Work
Mr. Shaw worked on every room of my 4,000 sq ft house over the past 1.5 years. He did plumbing, painting, carpentry, and even a little mansonary.
Category
contractors, handyman service
Susan L.
2.0
03/26/2014
Tim and I made an appt for Sat 3/1/14 which I unfortunately had to cancel. He was very nice about it and promised to call when he had more time. Now a week and a half later I still haven't heard from him. This was mostly a handyman type job. However if he didn't want to do the work it would have been nice of him to call and let me know that this wasn't the type of work that he does. I will try using another handyman from the list.
Description of Work
.
Category
handyman service
Charles R.
5.0
03/17/2014
Extremely satisfied with Tim's services. I have used him in the past with consistently excellent results. Very trustworthy, punctual and reasonable.
Description of Work
Installed ceiling fan, repaired bathroom exhaust fan, repaired and painted ceiling in laundry room from leak damage from upstairs bathroom.
Category
handyman service
Michael A M.
5.0
11/19/2013
Tim was courteous and prompt in returning my phone call. He arrived on time and did the jobs quickly and efficiently. Tim is the guy to call for any handy repair. His honesty is much appreciated. If he cannot do the job, TIm has someone he can refer you to.
Description of Work
Screen Repair Doorbell Repair
Category
handyman service
Kelley S.
5.0
11/07/2013
Tim Shaw may be the world's greatest handyman. He is responsive, punctual, honest, affordable, and very nice. He leaves the area where he has worked in a spotless condition when he finishes a job Tim removed rotted trim from the outside of my house and replaced it with high quality wood that he painted and installed. He replaced the inner workings of a leaking toilet and made it as good as new. He also took down my kitchen island light fixture so that I could paint it and then returned to re-install it. Also, he removed an old fixture from the dining area and installed a new one. I was concerned about a ceiling fan that seemed dangerously wobbly. Tim checked it out thoroughly and tightened some screws. Turns out that I did not need a new fixture.
Description of Work
. I've called on his services several times now. He has replaced rotted trim on the outside of my house, fixed a leaky toilet, replaced a light fixture and more. Excellent is the best word to describe my experience with Tim Shaw.
Category
electrician, handyman service, woodworking
David R.
5.0
10/26/2013
Communication excellent. Friendly. Tried to please.
Description of Work
Exterior painting including louvers.
Category
house painters
Rene V.
5.0
09/26/2013
Tim was punctual and extremely knowledgeable about the history of homes in my subdivision. Tim provided an estimate and was able to complete the job on-time and with his price quote. I will use Tim in the future for projects in my home.
Description of Work
Painted Dining Room, Kitchen and Master Bathroom
Category
handyman service, interior painters
Lynn M.
5.0
09/08/2013
Tim was excellent. He returned my call immediately and I was able to arrange a time for him to inspect the damage. His quote was very reasonable. He warned me that there could be more damage than what was visible on the exterior-which I appreciated. Fortunately, the damage was minimal and he was able to get all the termite damage fixed at a more than reasonable cost. He did a quick inspection of my property as well and made recommendations to avoid future termite damage. I also mentioned some issues I was having with several roof leaks and he even recommended a roofing company to make those repairs. I have some other repairs that I need done and I will be using his services again.
Description of Work
Repaired termite damage to wood frame around door.
Category
handyman service
KIRK W.
5.0
08/17/2013
Mr. Shaw is courteous, professional and prompt. He is very focused on the work at hand and, therefore, completes the job in a timely manner keeping the labor costs down. His work is very good and we would definitely use his services again.
Description of Work
Grout repair, caulking, handrail repairs, cabinetry repairs
Category
handyman service, woodworking, cabinet refacing
Ann Marie K.
5.0
06/19/2013
Tim responded very quickly to our initial phone call. We set an appointment for him to come and see what work we needed to be done. He gave us an estimate and we scheduled a date. The work needed to be scheduled over several days. Tim was always on time or if he was going to be late...he always called. It was rare that he was late but as I said he always called. Our schedules are quite erratic but Tim was always great to accommodate. We also had to have other things done that stopped his progress. Tim was always nice to reschedule. Close to the end of the project we purchased a ceiling fan that Tim had not anticipated putting in but cheerfully did the work. The wall that he extended looks fantastic. He did a professional job at a very reasonable price. We give Tim the highest recommendation on his work and his professional manner. Tim will be on speed dial for future projects.
Description of Work
Extended a wall which required installing 2x4 studs, drywall, and painting. He ran wire and put in electrical plugs. He also installed a ceiling fan.
Category
contractors, drywall, electrician, handyman service, ceiling fans, interior painters
tim F.
5.0
06/18/2013
the contractor was booked for 2 weeks and his price was higher than i budgeted for so i built the fence myself
Description of Work
he was nbooked up for 2 weeks so i had to choose another person
Category
handyman service
Stephanie W.
3.0
04/29/2013
Started out great, but turned out very disappointing.
Description of Work
After carefully reviewing a number of 'handymen' on Angie's List I chose to contact Tim Shaw Maintenance. I called on a Thursday and left a my name and number and a brief description of some of the things I needed done in my house. Mr. Shaw quickly got back to me the same day. We talked in more detail about what I needed done and he said he could come out the upcoming Sunday to look over everything because some things might require an estimate. I told him I did not want him to feel he needed to come on a Sunday and could wait until a later time. He explained he already had an appointment that day and would come afterwards, calling first to let me know the exact time he would be at my house. On Sunday he did exactly as he said he would. I had a list prepared and we walked through the house discussing each item. He was always professional and courteous and he took the time to explain what needed to be done, what he could do and whether or not I would need to find someone else for certain things he felt he could not do such as power washing and brick work . As he left I gave him a copy of the list so he could write estimates for certain projects (others would be charged by the hour). THEN THINGS CHANGED. Two days later Mr. Shaw called and said he had a big painting project and could not do work for me. Period. He did not ask me if my work could wait awhile until this project was over. He simply said he could not do the work. This seemed odd to me. At no time during our meeting had he seemed uninterested in doing the work that we discussed. So after getting over the initial shock of his comment I asked if I had somehow done something during the course of our meeting that had insulted or upset him. He did not respond. I quickly added that I understood the importance of doing this big project and that I was in no hurry. He then said he might be able to come out over the upcoming weekend. That Friday morning I called and left a message. In the message I asked if he would be able to come out and if he could come when should I plan to be home. I also asked if there were any materials I needed to purchase before hand. I assumed I would not hear back until the evening since Mr. Shaw explained that he works from 9-2 PM. By 6 PM I had not heard back from him so thinking he might not have received the message I left one more message relaying the same information. Four days have now passed since I left my message and Mr. Shaw has never returned my call. I am still bewildered that someone who has received so many high marks from others acted in this manner.
Category
handyman service
Nancy M.
1.0
04/26/2013
After coming to my home to discuss and see the renovation I was planning (he didn't take any notes), he got back to me with an estimate that was inadequate and vague consisting of two items of a job that comprised about 10 items to work on. When I asked about more details that were quite basic, he became agitated and said that I should find someone else to do the job. Very strange and he wasted my time.
Description of Work
We discussed tearing down a wall and building a new partial wall with a support beam, attaching closet doors and building a header, replacing the front door completely, building up a floor to make new hardwood floor even, a little tile work and replacing vanities and mirrors in bathrooms.
Category
contractors, handyman service, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Sometimes you just know that you will not be able to work with a person. That was my original impression and it turned out to be true. I follow my instincts after 25 years of experience with customers so I walked away. Sorry she didn't get it when I tried to tell her I didn't want to do the work for her. That being said I might have been able to handle the process better than I did.
Liliana R.
5.0
04/22/2013
We had a very good experience with Tim. We called-he responded, we told him what we needed-he told us what he could do, told us a bit about his charges, and he came over the house to do the work. He is very clean and organized. He is straighforward and honest, and he doesn't charge an arm and a leg. We will definitely be calling him again.
Description of Work
Tim fixed some electrical problems we were having in the kitchen because there was no electricity in one section. Tim also changed the faucet in the sink because it was leaking did the same in the bathroom tub; he helped us install the outdoor flood lights and fixed a problem we had with a dimmer. Then he came back and fixed one of our toilets. On top of that we asked last minute if he could install some shelves we had bought a year earlier and he agreed to do it. He finished and left the area clean.
Category
electrician, handyman service, doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    ND CONSTRUCTION LLC

     

    Angi Certified

    Patch Boys of Greater Charleston

    Offering drywall services in your area. Contact us today to discuss your project. We're looking forward to hearing from you.  

    Angi Certified

    VM Drywall LLC

    Are you trying to find a drywall contractor capable of delivering high quality at reasonable rates? Our drywall service is in high demand because we work with exceptional precision and attention to detail. Regardless the occasion is, our professional drywall and painting company has the perfect solutions for you! Feel free to share your vision with us because what we do best is turning ideas into reality!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Interior and exterior painting, installing doors and windows. Repairing rotted wood (siding,trim). Installing wood siding. Minor electrical and plumbing work and more home repairs and improvements.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc

    How is Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc overall rated?

    Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc open?

    Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc provide

    Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc?

    No, Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc offer?

    Tim Shaw Maintenance Inc offers the following services: Interior and exterior painting, installing doors and windows. Repairing rotted wood (siding,trim). Installing wood siding. Minor electrical and plumbing work and more home repairs and improvements.