Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc.

Founded 1940 • With Angi since October 2009

4.3

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2584 John Boone Ct

Mount Pleasant, SC 29466

Description

We are a full service award winning residential construction company. We specialize in design/build projects, renovations of all sizes, and new construction.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Jim C.
1.0
08/21/2022
He doesn't pay his subcontractors which opens the Client up to liability to get double charged should a contractor sue both evans and the homeowner. He will not return calls and dodges summons.
Description of Work
I was a sub contractor who never got paid
Category
custom cabinets, basement remodeling
Phyllis I.
5.0
02/03/2016
unknown
Description of Work
The end result was excellent. I would use them again and recommend them.
Category
woodworking
Cynthia P.
5.0
10/06/2015
The provider arrived promptly at the time agreed upon and completed the service the same day. We were very pleased with all aspects of the experience.
Description of Work
Replaced screen windows.
Category
replacement windows, woodworking
Maureen W.
5.0
10/06/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Very professional and competent. Very satisfied with the service.
Category
ceramic tile, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, siding, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters
Randall C.
1.0
09/24/2015
It went very well but since that time we referred Thomas Evans to a neighbor who he then stiffed on the latter part of the job and they got a dunning letter from the IRS. In addition we requested a quote and he never got back to us. I don't know what is going on with this firm but I have to withdraw my previous very positive view and can no longer in good faith recommend this firm.
Description of Work
repaired termite damage
Category
woodworking
Richard S.
5.0
04/24/2015
As always, perfectly. Thomas and James have never let me down.
Description of Work
Built latticework into front deck as backdrop for new landscaped bed, replaced busted attic fan with new fan, added extension to elevator threshold on lower lever, rehung door, constructed new exterior mounting for and installed new flapper exhaust port for dryer, added metal braces to underside of deck stairs. The big deal to me was that the lattice had to be installed and painted before the landscaper showed up with the new plants and Thomas, James, and Billy got it done with a day to spare.
Category
woodworking
Richard S.
5.0
10/16/2014
Conscientious, reliable, thorough.
Description of Work
Replaced fiberboard trim around garage doors with Hardyplank, replaced fiberboard trim on chimney with Hardyplank, replaced Hardyplank on chimney, replaced a rotted board on exterior stairs to deck with new top-end pressure treated board, caulked and painted all, including chimney cap.
Category
woodworking
Richard S.
5.0
05/30/2014
Best in the business!
Description of Work
All general contractor work: (1) Constructed pressure treated wooden conduit raceway for exterior lines and cables--electric, gas, freon, phone--added flashing, painted it to match siding; (2) installed new exterior faucet and bib, caulked and painted it; (3) replaced three rusted recessed can lights on upper porch with new recessed cans; (4) installed new exterior door frame and door for utility room, reinstalled original keyset guts to avoid rekeying or getting another key, weather-sealed and painted door; (5) replaced top cap boards for entire backyard fence (1/3 acre lot), repaired portion of fence dislocated by growing trunk of live oak tree; (6) replaced fiber board with Hardyplank on chimney exterior, caulked, and painted; (7) reset rear door to deck, fixed lock and deadbolt, replaced weather-stripping
Category
electrician, remodeling, chimney repair, woodworking, house painters, doors
BARBARA K.
5.0
05/02/2014
I live in Virginia, and I have Angie's List in South Carolina as well. He is very good. He is going to do some work for me this month. He is a general contractor, and he has done a lot of work for me, so I don't have to make too many phone calls. The house is on stilts, and the people who stayed there, wanted to make it look nice, and they put an oil based paint, and after six months, the paint on the ceiling started peeling, and it looked awful. Thomas Evans peeled it, sanded it and primed it. I use him because he is responsive, his prices are honest and good, and he came with very high recommendations from the interior designer I used. That spoke volumes because I don't stay there full time, and if she is using him, he must be good. I still get estimates, just to keep him honest.
Description of Work
I use Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. all the time, whenever I have work. The last time I used him, he did sanding and painting of the undercarriage of the house, he has done painting of the house for me in the past as well, a lot of wood moldings and paintings, they have done power washing outside, and they are going to be doing painting and a lot of work outside soon.
Category
woodworking, interior painters
Richard S.
5.0
02/26/2014
In my opinion and experience, Thomas Evans is the best provider because: 1. He is an honest and forthright person. He speaks the truth and stands in the shoes of the homeowner's best interests. Taking his recommendations has saved us. 2. He stands by the work. 3. The work is of the highest quality, quality-controlled in progress, and he always uses the right materials. 4. He knows this area, the stresses the climate and coastal location put on structures, the best materials, and all the trades. 5. The workers are courteous, diligent, and productive. 6. The job site is returned to pristine condition at the end of every day. No trash/debris bins on the property for the duration. He has one 30-year employee whose job it is to get materials, keep the site clean, and haul away debris every day. All the workers pitch in to help. 7. The workforce has on-site supervision by Thomas and his operations manager. Both are highly motivational leaders who work. 8. He provides a detailed proposal and a fixed price. He sticks to both. 9. In an area where most vendors appear to do "pricing by Zip Code," Thomas does pricing based on the materials and labor the job requires. 10. He always delights by doing something extra or special. For example, when the roof was replaced he used a chute to slide the debris from the old roof directly into a truck, thereby protecting the landscaping, minimizing the nails, and protecting the decks and walls from damage. For example, when he replaced the windows he also removed and reinstalled their plantation shutters; the other two vendors that bid would not do that. For example, he put a beautiful mahogany crown on our new front door on his own nickel because what we paid for was not consistent with his aesthetic sense.
Description of Work
The "approximate cost" is a cumulative estimate. Thomas has provided outstanding service to us since around 2008 when he sent us a letter explaining that he had a full-time workforce covering all the building trades that he wanted to keep employed even though the house building market collapsed. The letter said no job was too small and provided his cell number. This was before "corporate social responsibility" was in vogue: he cared for his employees. We started with a couple of small carpentry jobs (for which he brought a master carpenter who did furniture-quality work). Things were so well done that we moved on to painting: first the decks, then the exterior of the house (his was the best value offer in a competitive bid). After that he replaced all of our windows and doors (once again, his was the best value offer in a competitive bidding process) with hurricane-proof stuff from Marvin and Anderson. I should note that our electric bill is now around half of what it was prior. Then I got three bidders to offer to replace the roof. Since his was the best value offer, he replaced the roof. He will be engaged in a few weeks for some exterior carpentry. I no longer see the need to go through the trouble of competing work: In my experience, Thomas always provides best value for price.
Category
remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters, doors
Monica S.
5.0
01/14/2014
Thomas Evans brought amazing workmanship to my home renovation project. He transformed a tired outdated screened-in porch to a gorgeous all-season Florida room. In addition to being honest, Tom Evan's attention to detail, timeliness, responsiveness and overall quality of work is outstanding and A+ in all categories, including custom mason and tile work, window installation and custom trim work. This is the second home renovation project that this contractor has done for me and I highly recommend him for any home renovation work. I travel frequently for business so a large part of the work was done while I was away. But with Tom's management of the work, honesty, integrity and attention to detail, I was able to be worry-free as it progressed in my absence. Additionally, Tom brought to the project great design ideas, which were used.
Description of Work
Transformed a screened-in-porch to a an all-season Florida room. This included raising the floor height, custom cutting and installation of marble tile, raising ceiling height to create cathedral ceiling; removal and cleaning of brick from interior wall; detailed exterior brick mason work; install of floor to ceiling windows; coordination of electric and heating and cooling; wood trim and custom pocket door.
Category
ceramic tile, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, doors, sunrooms
Patricia D.
5.0
09/30/2013
Exactly as promised from start to finish. Workers arrived on time, worked quietly (no music allowed) and efficiently. Craftsmanship outstanding. Result is beautiful
Description of Work
Added beautiful screened porch. Very detailed. French drain in yard. Replaced guttering. All work beautifully done, as promised and on time.
Category
decks, remodeling, siding, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, cabinet refacing
Randall C.
5.0
09/21/2013
Wow, it is hard to reconcile with a couple of other reviews on this site. I actually joined Angie's list prior to engaging Thomas Evans and with a C at that time was given pause. I spent some time though and found three other people that had work done and their feedback was so over the top positive, I decided to go with Thomas in spite of a mediocre grade at that time on this site. The performance from day one exceeded any experience that I have had with contractors which include 15 or so major projects in my life. To a man the crew has been courteous, competent, and reliable. Where on other jobs, I have felt gouged when I needed change orders, Thomas has been exceeding fair. With respect to termite repairs specifically, we received quotes from three other contractors. None of them could begin to match the depth of knowledge that Thomas brought to our particular situation. Termites damage we learned to our dismay, is a very tricky problem with respect to finding the full extent of the infestation and damage without doing unnecessary collateral damage to the home. The tricks that Thomas brought to the effort were obviously foreign to the other contractors that I had in for quotes. A plus all around. As hard as it sound, not a single complaint.
Description of Work
Helped determine the extent of termite damage and did the remediation restoration
Category
home inspection, woodworking
Barbara L.
1.0
05/02/2013
unknown
Description of Work
This is not a contractor that I would ever recommend.
Category
decks, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, woodworking

Service Provider Response

This customer charged tens of thousands of dollars on our credit accounts with suppliers and refused to pay for their overages on their selections over their allowances in their contract at the completion of their project . This customer still owes our company and various other companies over $100,000.
William P.
3.0
10/13/2012
2 weeks become 3 months. There were constantly people in our house who we were not able to ask questions of; the put down the wrong tile. Another time they put on the tile backwards. The owner is a nice guy, the people he was using were subpar.
Description of Work
We hired them for a bathroom remodel.
Category
remodeling
BARBARA K.
5.0
02/08/2012
.They are honest and prices are good. He is a good and honest guy. He draws the plans and goes over it with me. If I was going to build a house or a big addition I would go with him.
Description of Work
.I have had a lot of work done by them over the past two and a half years. I have had closets and bathrooms refitted. I have had shelves built in. I have had an outdoor shower built with the plumbing. I have had shutters put up. I have had some painting and power washing also done. They also built a store room under the house for me with shelves in it.
Category
decks, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    Eastern Carolina Masonry

    We specialize in masonry services and repairs, brick/stone work, concrete services, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Little Apex LLC

    Family owned and operated business with over 14 years of experience in masonry and working with stone. We will make sure your dream project is completed with efficiency and professionalism, Call for you Free Estimate Today !!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Lowcountry Soft Wash

    With over 20 years experience, Lowcountry Soft Wash is pleased to offer exterior house soft washing and pressure washing services in the Mount Pleasant, SC area. Our team of professional exterior surface cleaners are excited to work with property owners all throughout the area, and we believe that you will be highly satisfied with our dedicated customer service and our superior workmanship skills. We know that your home is a big investment for you, both personally and financially. Our team members have acquired many years of training and experience in soft and pressure washing services, and we welcome the chance to add your name to our list of many happy customers. We have the skills, education and training as well as the professional cleaning equipment to wash away all types of mold, mildew, dirt, pollen, algae, insect nests, and any other substance that has developed on your exterior surfaces. In addition to offering house soft washing services, we also offer NO PRESSURE roof washing, pressure washing driveways, decks, pool enclosure and so much more. Our power washing experts understand the nuances involved in thoroughly cleaning outdoor surfaces, and the value that cleaning the outdoor surfaces provides for YOU, the property owner. Regularly cleaning the dirt and grime from your home and surrounding areas can increase the value of your home, improve the curb appeal of your home, and will help to protect the building materials of your home, too. We want to help end your search for a Power Washing company, so contact us today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Termite remediation/repair, structural repairs, Kitchen & bathroom remodeling & renovations, home additions, sunrooms, porches, decks, window repair, painting, roofing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc.

    How is Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. overall rated?

    Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. provide

    Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc.?

    Yes, Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offer?

    Thomas Evans Custom Building and Renovations, Inc. offers the following services: Termite remediation/repair, structural repairs, Kitchen & bathroom remodeling & renovations, home additions, sunrooms, porches, decks, window repair, painting, roofing