Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Cox Tree Service

Founded 1989 • With Angi since May 2007

4.6

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1150 Hungryneck Blvd #C-381

Mount Pleasant, SC 29464

Description

Cox Tree Service has been the leading provider for Charleston tree service and Mt Pleasant tree service for over 30 years offering tree trimming, tree removal, stump removal, firewood and more. Local and family owned. In 1989 Hurricane Hugo devastated the Charleston SC region and Gregg Cox, working

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Chris R.
1.0
08/10/2022
AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!! UNLESS YOU WANT TO GET SUED BY YOUR NEIGHBOR!!!! My neighbor hired this company to cut a tree down in HER back yard. Instead, while no one was home, they broke into my back yard and cut down my trees instead. I saw this happening on my camera, but by the time I was able to get home the damage was already done. They went through a locked gate, drove a tracked machine across my lawn and proceeded to cut down 4 trees IN MY YARD. The worker that did it even said it felt wrong, but did it anyway. They literally had to drive down the block to enter my driveway, so it was very deliberate. Talked to Greg, the owner, who likes to gaslight people. He said that he would've never cut down a tree if it was heathy. What a nice guy right?!?! Charitably breaking onto peoples private property to cut down trees that they weren't hired to cut down, it's curious that he still in business. In case you didn't realize Greg...THAT'S VANDALISM and illegal!!! AVOID COX TREE SERVICE UNLESS YOU LIKE LAWSUITS!
Description of Work
I didn't hire them, but they cut down trees on my property anyway.
Category
tree service
Thomas S.
5.0
03/28/2022
They are very good. I use them several times and would definitely used them.
Description of Work
Cut large trees
Category
tree service
John N.
5.0
09/17/2018
Great -- the job was completed in a couple of hours for a reasonable price. The only reason I gave them a B was because the posted number went to a relative's phone and it took a day or two to return my call. No big deal -- would definitely hire again.
Description of Work
Large Bradford pear removed, stump ground,
Category
tree service
Louis W.
1.0
07/28/2018
They didn't bother to return my call!
Description of Work
Trim Palmetto trees
Category
tree service
Janalyn S.
4.0
12/16/2015
Overall the work was good and fast and the price fair, but our biggest issues were with communication and scheduling. My husband and I work full time, but wanted someone to be at home during the tree removal. I continually had a difficult time getting in touch with the receptionist, and the company didn't honor our scheduled appointment and instead went to finish jobs elsewhere on 2 different days. Finally, the third time we made the scheduled, they showed up (possibly because I said this was the last chance?) This greatly inconvenienced my work schedule and caused things to take a few extra weeks to complete.
Description of Work
Removal of one rotting tree, light trim of another.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed] I would like to let you know I truly do apologize for the problems you encountered. We take customer satisfaction very seriously and I would like to inform you that the office is now under new management.
William M.
2.0
08/12/2015
Totally unresponsive. We called them 4 times and a rep visited our residence promising to provide a quote. After several calls to the business requesting the quote with no response, we finally gave up and hired a reputable tree trimming company. The new company did an outstanding job so I'm glad we did not hire Cox.
Description of Work
In the end we did not hire Cox.
Category
tree service
Shannon M.
1.0
04/26/2015
I called to ask for an estimate for continued maintenance and trimming of 4 live oaks in my yard. Representative was very friendly but wouldn't commit to a day or time. When I stated I wanted a planned time so I could meet the guy/gal who would be caring for these mature trees, they agreed to "some time" on Wednesday with a promise that i'd get a call early Wednesday to know what time to expect the technician. Never got the call and never got the estimate. Really surprised because others in the neighborhood have used Cox with success.
Description of Work
Promised but did not deliver an estimate.
Category
tree service
Valerie B.
5.0
10/02/2014
Overall very happy with Cox Tree service. They quoted me the job early summer and was responsive once we had approval to remove the trees. They were the only tree service that included the grinding of all 3 stumps and haul away. Very professional, knew exactly what to do and clean up after themselves. Would highly recommend to my friends.
Description of Work
Cox Tree Service removed 3 Washingtonia Palm Trees.
Category
tree service
Erin E.
5.0
09/02/2014
It went very well and I was impressed with how they did such a good job of cleaning up after themselves leaving the area better than they found it. I have used Cox Tree service three pervious times at our previous home and will continue to recommend them.
Description of Work
Greg Cox and his crew were at our home working all day on a very large job carefully pruning a large amount of trees. They were meticulous in their precision and exceeded my expectations.
Category
tree service
david A.
4.0
07/02/2014
Arrived late in day. Missed some obvious limbs that were crossed and some dead limbs. Nicked bark with saw while trimming. Removed tree. Not a bad service, just not very careful with tree bark. Maybe it was a too late in the day problem?
Description of Work
Trim trees
Category
tree service
Lynn C.
1.0
04/23/2014
We found this company on Angie's List and it had good reviews. After calling numerous times, we finally go in touch with someone. We were quickly informed that this company did not service our area. This company may be 15 miles from where we are located. Guess they just did not want the business.
Description of Work
The provider did nothing!
Category
tree service
Franklin M.
5.0
03/27/2014
We used Cox Tree Service a year ago and recently recommended them to a neighbor.
Description of Work
.
Category
tree service
Laura W.
1.0
02/06/2014
I have not received a call back. Very disappointing. I called 2 other companies that day and both have already come out and given me estimates.
Description of Work
Called on Monday 2/3, left a message with my name, phone number, the type of work I needed done and that I was an Angie's List member.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Good morning,[member name removed] - Your call was returned on Monday, February 3 in the afternoon. A message was left on your voice mail. If you would like for us to give you an estimate, we would be happy to do so. Cox Tree Service
Lynne G.
5.0
02/02/2014
If I need such services again I'll definitely ask them to bid.
Description of Work
They gave me the best price of the three bids I solicited, came promptly and got rid of the tree, cleaned up the mess.
Category
tree service
Curt F.
5.0
01/21/2014
They provided an estimate within a day of calling and the price was competitive. The crew arrived as scheduled and was very competent and professional. They worked with us on how to shape the trees, cleared away the trimmed branches and old sagos, and cleaned up the area before departure. We were very satisfied with their work and will use them in the future.
Description of Work
Cox Tree Service was contracted to trim 10 trees and dig out two overgrown sago palms.
Category
tree service
Maureen R.
4.0
09/23/2013
They responded quickly for the estimate and showed up on time. I'm sure they would have done a great job because they have a good reputation, but they were underbid by $600..
Description of Work
Price higher than provider chosen.
Category
tree service
Sarah J.
1.0
06/24/2013
I requested a contact through their website for a consultation on a sick tree on my property. I got an auto response saying I would hear from them soon. More than 3 weeks passed before I got a call and I was told that they were on their way to my house to assess my tree and they would let me know what they thought needed to be done from there. More than 3 weeks have passed since that and I still haven't heard back from them. I will not attempt to contact them in the future, nor will I seek to recommend them to anyone else. Extremely unprofessional behavior.
Description of Work
Called me once after more than 3 weeks had passed since I requested a contact.
Category
tree service
Taylor B.
5.0
05/03/2013
Prompt service, large crew, quick work, left yard very clean.
Description of Work
Front yard and back yard service approx 6 trees. Our first tree service at this property.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of our company! We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again in the future, should you need tree service!
Robert G.
5.0
04/29/2013
I called Cox on 3/9/13. I had an estimate by 3/11/13. The work was completed on 3/14/13. Sorry I have no story to tell. Mr. Ellison was accommodating to my time schedule for the estimate. He was thorough in his estimate and helpful with suggestions. His crew was courteous, thorough and professional. They also did a complete and thorough clean up when finished. The person who did the stump removal was great and took great care in making sure there was nothing underground that would be damaged. I would recommend this company and definitely use them again if there was a need.
Description of Work
removed one tree, trim and shape 5 others.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your excellent review of us! It is always nice to hear such complements about our staff! We look forward to hearing from you again!
susan A.
5.0
04/05/2013
Gregg Cox came out promptly and gave me a reasonable estimate. The clincher was since it looked like rain they had cancelled an earlier call and could come out same day. Sure enough 3 hrs later they were cutting down my tree. All sides of my house had different trees to prune back from roof. This was done quickly with nice eye for shaping. They also cleaned up another tree next to the one they cut down so it would fill in well. They left me nice bit of firewood and cleaned up well. The only thing was, I didn't see that they had cracked my front sidewalk. I called the next day and left a message. I had a return phone call the next day with a sincere apology and a promise to send a contractor out to fix it asap. I have not heard anything for 2 days. We shall see and I will update. Unfortunately, 5 months later and no repair to my walkway.
Description of Work
Cut tree branches away from roof and cut down tree in front yard. I'm waiting for the company to make good on a promise to fix the front walk that they cracked.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

We are so glad we were able to help you when it looked like we were going to have to reschedule due to the inclement weather! Thank you for working with us. It was a pleasure to serve you!
John N.
5.0
03/26/2013
Estimate was provided quickly after first contact. I was provided with a competitive bid and with options for more or less cost. All work was completed one day after it was authorized. Work was done expeditiously and professionally. Workers cut up and stacked wood from oak tree for firewood, removed all debris, and did a thorough job of cleaning up afterwards.
Description of Work
Cutting down and removal of 6 trees, including one huge long-leaf pine that had survived Hugo but succumbed to a lightening hit.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Member-we are so happy you were pleased with our work and our crew! We strive to accomodate our customers. We like to hear when we meet our customer's expectations. So glad you were satisfied! Happy Spring from Cox Tree Service!
Joanne W.
5.0
03/25/2013
Went very well. Would recommend list of what trees are to be removed so there is no confusion. Very pleased with the work crew. Hard working and does a great clean up.
Description of Work
Had hard pruning done on a huge oak tree. Spent the better part of the morning on it. Also had some tree removal done in our backyard.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Member, thank you for reviewing us! We are glad that you were so pleased with our crew! We look forward to serving your tree needs again, shoud you need us! Happy Spring! The Cox Tree family
Charles J.
5.0
03/21/2013
Cox Tree was both accommodating to schedules and quick to respond. They advised us on what trees need to be cut and what could stay. After confirmation of the quote which came immediately, the job was scheduled and finished to satisfaction shortly thereafter.
Description of Work
Cut down dead trees and ground down stumps
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of us! It was our pleasure to serve your tree needs and look forward to accomodating you again in the future! Happy Spring! The Cox Tree family
ANDREW S.
5.0
02/27/2013
They did a beautiful job. They gave us a great deal. He walked us around and showed us everything that they did.
Description of Work
They sculpted our oak trees and some other trees on our property.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, Member! We really appreciate your business and hope to serve you again in the future for your tree needs. Thank you for choosing Cox Tree Service!
Nancy M.
5.0
02/20/2013
I had used Cox Tree Service in the past, so had no hesitation in using them again. As before, they did a superior job. Everyone involved was pleasant, professional, and left the trees and my yard in perfect shape. It was a great experience....AGAIN.
Description of Work
.I had several large liveoaks and another oak that needed cleaning up and pruning, along with cutting some dead limbs off another tree. It was an all day job.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Member, thank you so much for your excellent rating of us! We really appreciate your business and that you continue to use our services. We look forward to hearing from you again! Blessings from Cox Tree Service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dee's Landscaping

    Hello, I'm 28 years of age. I've been landscaping for the past 6 years and have worked for many different companies and now is the time to begin my own. I enjoy my job and would love to start my own legacy to support my family and myself. I am ready to get to work and hoping for a chance.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    German Lawn Care

    German Lawn Care - lawn & landscaping services  

    Angi Certified

    Lowcountry Lawn & Landscape LLC

    Owner operated. Uses subs for labor. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. Extra charge for after hours service. May contact through email.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Tree care & removal, tree trimming & pruning, stump removal & grinding, arborist, tree fertilization & planting, firewood & mulch.

    Services Not Offered

    n/a

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cox Tree Service

    How is Cox Tree Service overall rated?

    Cox Tree Service is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Cox Tree Service open?

    Cox Tree Service is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Cox Tree Service provide

    Cox Tree Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Cox Tree Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Cox Tree Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Cox Tree Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Cox Tree Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Cox Tree Service offer a senior discount?

    No, Cox Tree Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Cox Tree Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Cox Tree Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Cox Tree Service?

    No, Cox Tree Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does Cox Tree Service offer?

    Cox Tree Service offers the following services: Tree care & removal, tree trimming & pruning, stump removal & grinding, arborist, tree fertilization & planting, firewood & mulch.

    Are there any services Cox Tree Service does not offer?

    n/a