Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Coastal Paint and Repairs

Founded 2008 • With Angi since April 2012

2.5

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Description

Coastal Paint and Repairs is a fully licensed and insured General Contractor....

Other local Pros in your area

Artwork Masonry Construction

Additional Address: 4535 Wesley Road, P.O. Box 105  

Anchor Marine

 

Midatlantic Storm Protection

With over 6 years of experience  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/14/2013

The experience with Todd and Stella has not been positive in any way. I originally tried calling Todd to do the work. He did not answer the first two times I called nor return my calls, but he did answer the third call. He was short, possibly on site working, and told me the best way to contact him is via email which he gave me. He requested I send him and email outlining the work to be done and he would contact me. I sent a couple of emails over the next few weeks and never received a response. I finally ended up trying to call him again and he did call me back after this call and again told me to email him. I explained that I had done this previously and he never responded to my emails. He said he does not get the emails (even though they are in his name to him), that his wife responds to the emails. He suggested I put ATTENTION STELLA on the email to get her attention. If this is your main form of communication to your customers, why would I have to do that to have my email read? The fact that I had sent several previously without response was not a good experience. So I did as he asked and I did get a response from Stella and we coordinated the painting for this morning. I later emailed her again just to touch base as to the time he would be here as I had afternoon plans. She told me he would be here first thing in the morning as they were going out of town in the afternoon. I took the day off of work to be home for this appointment. He never showed for the appointment. I emailed and did not get a response, so a couple of hours later I called and he said she should have emailed me to tell me he couldnt do that appointment. He apologized, but his tone and attitude seemed less than apologetic, especially in regards to having to use a day off for this to be done. I know they have been overwhelmed from the Groupon, but that is no excuse. He told me the week after next he is wide open, so obviously he is not in too bad of shape if he is that open that week. My time is valuable and I have wasted it and have nothing to show for it. After talking to him, I came onto Angies List and saw that all his feedback was of the same nature, so I opted for a refund from Living Social rather than have someone come and do less than quality work or be less than respectful of my time.

Description of Work
Scheduled to paint one 12 X 12 bedroom. No show for a set appointment.

Category interior painters

3.0

05/20/2013

You get what you pay for... the painter was very nice (not the owner), but he missed some spots and, although he was supposed to do 2 coats, he did not. My husband and I had to apply second coat of paint and paint places that he missed.

Description of Work
Painted a room and flat ceiling

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

[member name removed]please contact us to make this right for you! We had over 500 new clients with our Groupon Deal and had to hire additional help. We are DETERMINED to make every single customer 100% satisfied. We will do whatever it takes! Please call 843-619-9332 and will will redo the work if need be. Thanks!
1.0

04/23/2013

On the day scheduled for the job, Todd came over with an employee who was on his first day on the job. Todd showed the employee what needed to be done and then left, leaving the brand new employee on his own. I was not able to be home the entire time and was gone when the employee finished and left. Upon inspection of the "completed" job, it was obviously poor workmanship. The corners were crooked and/or had bleed-over where the paint colors met, none of the dings or small nail holes had been filled/repaired, there was paint on the curtain rod holders (easily removable with a screwdriver) and paint on the thermostat cover. There were several spots missed in places that required getting close to other surfaces, i.e., where the ceiling and wall meet and the ceiling was streaked and showing roller marks/missed spots. Todd came back to inspect the work and I pointed out several items to him. He immediately repaired a couple of the items but stated he would need to come back to fix everything. As it was the week before Thanksgiving and I knew the holidays would be busy for both of us, I agreed to contact Todd after the first of the year. When I attempted to contact him to schedule a time for his return, over a one month period, I left two voice messages and sent an e-mail, none of which received a response. On the third phone call, Todd finally answered the phone and agreed to do the repair painting on Saturday of that week at 8 am. When he did not arrive by 8:45, I called and his phone went straight to voice mail. I again got straight voice mail around 10 am. Each time, I left messages asking Todd to call me and he never responded/never showed up. I ended up repainting the room myself since I already had everything cleared out for him. I would absolutely NOT recommend this company for any work. Despite the low cost of the Groupon, it ended up costing me more money and, definitely more time and aggravation, than it was worth.

Description of Work
I purchased a Groupon for two rooms of interior painting, which included repairs of minor imperfections on the walls. Just after the purchase, I had to move and my needs changed. Instead of two rooms, I then only needed one room painted but it required ceiling and walls. The total square footage of the room, including the ceiling was smaller than the original Groupon purchase for two rooms. I contacted Todd, explained my situation and he agreed to paint the ceiling in lieu of the second room but at an additional charge of $35. I was not happy about the extra charge but agreed since I did request a deviation from the original purchase and didn't want to completely waste the Groupon.

Category interior painters

1.0

02/07/2013

They hooked up the bathroom fan completely wrong. He also replaced two window sills and didn?t finish the edges at all. You can see all of the marks on the drywall where it was repaired. He left messes all over my house. He said he doesn?t own a shop vac to clean it. He left all kinds of junk on the street for my garbage men to pick up, but they don?t pick that kind of thing up. He also cleaned out his truck and left the junk on the curb. He did come back and pick this up after I called him. He cleaned all of his supplies in my sinks and got paint all over everything including my husband?s glasses. My bathroom floor is covered in paint. He told me it would be easy for me to remove. I had to scrub it for 2 hours. He also got caulk in the carpets. He also used nails instead of screws on my deck. He said he did this in case he messed up. He purchased a Red Bull along with the materials and included it in my bill. I was also charged for exterior paint that he didn?t use. I had to request that he bring it back to me since I paid for it. He left a paint can out that my dog and I both stepped in. My dog then tracked it all over the house. All of the fixtures he hung are crooked because he didn?t use a level. The toilet tank hits the back of the wall on one side because it was installed incorrectly. The pipe/hose was not properly connected on the toilet and my husband had to fix it. I now have to hire someone else to come in to re-sand and paint. I was supposed to receive a written estimate along with receipts but I never received them. He was also unable to contact me because he had no phone. He had to call me from a gas station.

Description of Work
I hired him from Groupon for two hours of handyman work. He was supposed to fix three drywall holes, replace a toilet and replace a bathroom fan. He also replaced two window sills and three deck boards.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

While all businesses from time-to-time receive an unfavorable review - and since we try to leave all clients 100% satisfied as we do not accept payment under any circumstances until all work is complete and has been reviewed with the client - we were extremely concerned with this particular review for the following reasons: 1. This worked was competed over six weeks ago 2. We had asked this client to lock up their pets while we were working on site - they chose not to 3. We were not paid for this job until we were complete and had walked through everything with the client 4. We explained how we were going to complete the work at which point if the client felt this was not acceptable we would have hoped they would have brought it up at that time 5. Our employee mistakenly put the client's paint in our van at which point we immediately returned it to them 6. We purchased materials on our own account and were reimbursed for them after we supplied receipts - how else would the client know how much to pay. This DID NOT INCLUDE THE PURCHASE OF A RED BULL. 6. Stating that we called the client from a gas station is a bit hard to swallow. We have a job site cell phone and an outstanding answering service (Call Experts) which handles all our calls to our land line phone for scheduling. 7. We have attempted to call this client as soon as we received notice of this review but their phone has been disconnected. To potential clients reading this and deciding to make a decision on whether to use us for their repairs, please take these facts in consideration before making your final decision: 1. We are Licensed and Insured and have been in business since 2004 2. We are always happy to provide as many references with phone, address and photos as you may require 3. We have NEVER accepted payment for services prior to starting a job 4. All employees have a background check, drug test and are able to work in the United States 5. We are 100% committed to pleasing our clients from start to finish and will continue to do business this way We are a small company and competition is considerable. Bad reviews will keep us up at night as we try our best to make everyone happy. We are more than happy to make things right for Member is she would allow us. We would not want to accept payment from her unless she was satisfied. Please allow us to prove this to you before you make this review your final decision to look elsewhere for quality work.
3.0

12/21/2012

do expect to wait for an appointment. Don't give up calling him.

Description of Work
painted living room. However, left lots of white spots. One thing in his favor: we ran out of paint before the room was finished. He still charged us the same amount as if he had finished the room. I was not happy with this. \ith

Category interior painters

5.0

12/03/2012

Once he arrived the work was done in a very professional manner and I would reccomend this company.

Description of Work
I,too, purchased a Groupon for 10 hours of handyman services. Although it took a long time before the work was performed, he did show up Dec. 15, 2012 and did a very good job. He painted a bathroom, hung cabinets, changed a microwave hood and replaced screen on a porch. He was very polite and is now preparing a quote to do additional work.

Category handyman service

1.0

09/17/2012

Purchased several hours worth of handymen work and interior painting through Groupon through this merchant and I've now tried to contact him for one month. I've only reached him once and he told me he couldn't talk because he was getting ready to go out to eat. Extremely disappointed. I can't review on the quality of his work because he never responded to me therefore I've never had the requested work done on my home.

Description of Work
Purchased several hours worth of handymen work and interior painting through Groupon through this merchant and I've now tried to contact him for one month. I've only reached him once and he told me he couldn't talk because he was getting ready to go out to eat. Extremely disappointed. I can't review on the quality of his work because he never responded to me therefore I've never had the requested work done on my home.

Category handyman service,interior painters

Service Provider Response

While being busy is absolutely no excuse for poor customer service, we want to respond to this complaint and state that we did run the Groupon deal and without realizing it also ran a LivingSocial within the same time-frame. This resulted in over 600 deals sold and customers to manage. We are a small company and customer service is our NUMBER ONE priority. We truly apologize for not getting back to this customer to get her work done. We would of course welcome an opportunity to get her on the schedule as soon as possible to meet her needs. In the mean-time we have been able to keep everyone else happy and are glad to provide plenty of references. Again, we do apologize we were unable to get to this client to do her work.

    Services Offered

    We offer all handyman services to include general repairs and maintenance of your property. We also provide excellent interior and exterior painting and remodeling services.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details