Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since August 2008

4.7

(81) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

600 Columbia Ave Ste 4

Lexington, SC 29072

Description

Owner operated for over 30 years. Subs if necessary. No travel charges. Licensed residential home builder doing everything from remodels to new additions. Please visit our website and BBB rating for further information. Our commitment is to constantly perfect and improve our craft while also

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/07/2021


Armando G.

I hired Daniel to redo the kitchen in my house. There were some minor setbacks along the way, but Daniel was very communicative through the whole process and accommodating. I found his staff to be very trustworthy in my home, which is important because I work full-time. When it came time to settle up the contract, the bottom line was what I was told it would be. Without a doubt, I'd hire them again and I'll recommend them over again. I'm very happy with my remodel. Thank you, Daniel.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category drywall, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

06/10/2021


Tim T.

This was not a big job but required a cast of thousands. Among them a plumber, electrician, tile guy, a guy to cut a granite countertop in place, an HVAC ductwork guy, a painter and a drywall guy. CSI was extremely professional. When I called and left a message he returned my call. Said he'd be here Thursday afternoon at 3:00 to take an initial look. Thursday at 3:00 he was in my driveway. Spent appropriate time surveying and talking through the job, asked all the right questions. Said he'd have to get with some other folks and promised a quote on Friday of the following week. Had quote on Friday. Job started the day he said. He promised two weeks, in two weeks it was done. In an industry where punctuality is often a joke, it was refreshing. All work was done perfectly, exceeding my expectations. He had one of his subs come back and touch something up that didn't meet his standards, I hadn't even noticed the issue. Every day they thoroughly cleaned up after their work and were always very conscious of the fact that we were still living here. Final bill was exactly as discussed. I could not have been more pleased or more impressed with the quality of the work they did or with how professionally they handled their business. Will call them any time I need something done.

Description of Work
Installation of gas range (from electric), hood vent (that had to be vented through the roof), tile backsplash in kitchen, and reconfigured laundry room.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, picture framing, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/15/2020


C S.

Working with Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc. was a wonderful experience. Daniel and his team are true professionals. Daniel is attentive, detail oriented, and most importantly honest. His projected cost for the project aligned pretty close to the final tally, which is indicative of Daniel's knowledge of the construction and remodeling field, his attention to detail, and his familiarity and working relationship with community suppliers and individuals in the various trades. Remodeling an old house included a hiccup or two. Though there were a few obstacles, Daniel carefully assessed each situation and provided me with several options for each. He was also willing to listen to alternative solutions, which was particularly important for me as a woman working on this project with him.

Description of Work
Whole House Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/25/2020


darren C.

It went great ,even though I was out of state Daniel and his father Steven,took care of the whole process

Description of Work
Added a dormer to my cabin

Category remodeling

5.0

11/17/2019


Nate G.

I hired Construction Specialties of Columbia to open up my living room and remodel my two bathrooms. Per my request, they set up the structure of the bathrooms and completed removing the wall in my living room. I didn’t have them complete the projects because I wanted to complete the finishing touches, with that said, I have no doubt that if they would have completed it, it would have turned out lovely. From the contract we set up, they completed everything professionally. They maintained contact with me and notified me if any issues came up that would require any additional work. They were patient and made recommendations to me that made sense. I will hire Construction Specialties of Columbia again as my projects continue.

Description of Work
Several Projects

Category contractors, electrician, remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

08/01/2018


L. Aaron C.

I contacted this company through Angies List and never heard from them. I even sent another message to them requesting information. It's now been two weeks and no contact. Suggest you try another company, as they don't seem Interested in new business.

Description of Work
Add a new bathroom to our house

Category remodeling

5.0

07/28/2017


Alexandra R.

The work, as always, is excellent. I found them in 2013 and started working with them then on another room. Their workmanship and work ethic are superior. They are very kind and creative.

Description of Work
They converted a large walk-in attic space into a room. They put in a large shed dormer, several closets significantly increasing the space, hardwood floors, and can lighting. It is very functional and quite lovely.

Category remodeling

1.0

07/25/2017


Marcie C.

Unable to make contact after several calls & emails. Large project, their loss!

Description of Work
Could not hire as company never returned emails or phone calls.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

06/16/2017


Charles G.

The work was first rate -- they get my highest recommendation! It was honestly a pleasure for my wife and I to work with Joe and Daniel and their team (including the subcontractors they used). They asked a lot of good questions up front, delivered good, solid proposals to us promptly, were always willing to answer questions, were very communicative during the project, were easy to communicate with even when everyone is on the go, helped us manage issues which arose during the projects, and were willing to tackle unexpected bumps head-on. All characteristics I would like from every contractor I work with! They delivered quality work without some shortcuts I've seen from other contractors in the past. As for pricing and costs (there is always a question in readers' minds), I believe it was reasonable, fair, and they worked very carefully to help us manage to a budget, and still be able to make choices where we could. We're very pleased with the work they did, and have received numerous compliments from guests since it was completed. I can recommend them without qualification to others!

Description of Work
We have worked with Construction Specialties of Columbia on several projects including a bathroom gut and re-model, and the renovation of an external building from a potter's studio to a guest bedroom and full bath. Both projects were in an older house (1960's) and basically gut to the studs/concrete and renovate.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

01/31/2017


Deborah M.

We contacted CSI on the phone number found here. Left a voice message for someone named Daniel. A few days later, we went to the website and submitted an email using the form found on the website. I don't care how busy they may be, a simple email or returned call would not have taken much time, even if it was to say not interested. I wouldn't hire this inconsiderate company on a bet!!!

Description of Work
We wanted to do some remodeling in our kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/09/2017


William C.

The materials and work is good but they're drastically lacking in management. They say they're coming 9 o clock in the morning, 9 o clock they're here.

Description of Work
They did a house a year ago and did really fun work. They ripped out a couple walls, redid the floors, put all new sheet rock in, all new cabinets and the whole new kitchen, the whole new materials.

Category drywall, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

5.0

11/18/2016


Kenneth H.

They were good, I was happy with their service.

Description of Work
The provider replaced and fixed my gutters.

Category gutter repair

5.0

04/16/2016


Karen G.

If I could give this company a higher than A rating I would! From start to finish this extensive remodel of our 36 year old house has been a great experience thanks to Joe Jones and his exemplary team! Joe stayed on top of things every day and communicated daily about progress and what each step would be. Sam and Leonia are outstanding young men. Their skills, work ethic and great attitudes made it a pleasure to have them in our home every day for the weeks of the remodel. From demo which included tearing a bathroom out to the studs, taking down all the walls in our bedroom and all the other smaller demolition to putting everything back together, everyone was professional, efficient and friendly. Any hiccups were resolved quickly and to our complete satisfaction. Our house is beautiful and the quality of the work is exceptional. I would and have recommended CSI to anyone considering remodeling! Their estimate was the highest of three we got, however it was not an estimate like the others, but the cost of the project as completed. We requested a few things that added to the cost of the project as it progressed and they sit down with us when we are satisfied with everything once the remodel is complete and go over the final overages and credits for things we provided, and we have 30 days to pay that. I will say they have been fair and honest in all their dealings with us and Joe's employees speak highly of his fairness and good treatment of them. That isn't typical in the construction business.

Description of Work
Rebuilt bathroom, remodeled bathroom,repaired walls in bedroom, remodeled kitchen, covered popcorn ceilings with new drywall throughout house.

Category drywall, remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

03/21/2016


Kathy F.

They were very professional and nice. We were looking for some creative ideas to dramatically change the layout but did not really feel like the vision matched what we wanted.

Description of Work
Kitchen design / layout

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/16/2016


Nancy C.

Excellent communication. Excellent work. I will hire them again.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/11/2015


Michael H.

Our family hired the Jones brothers from CSI to upgrade our 70?s era ranch home. CSI was one of three contractors that visited our home. On the day of the estimate CSI arrived on time. Of the three contractors, only two actually did a written estimate. CSI's submitted estimate was a slightly higher estimate than the other written or verbal estimates given. CSI was hired to fully remodel two bathrooms and our master bedroom. CSI was able to begin working as soon as we had signed the contract and kept us up to date on when they would be in our house working. CSI had estimated that our master bathroom remodel which included relocating the toilet and sink would take approximately five weeks. They completed the remodel as scheduled and began working on our second bathroom immediately completed ensuring we had at least one bathroom at all time. The tiled walk in bathroom with the glass front is absolutely beautiful. CSI was continuously available by phone, email and in a couple of instances via text message to make last minute changes or work issues, allowing our family to have a much more active participation in its remodel as it progressed. CSI scrapped the popcorn off of the bathroom and bedroom ceilings, added recessed lighting in the bedroom and expanded the closet. Our only complication following the remodel was a leaky toilet. We turned off the water and called CSI. A plumber was out within the next few days to fix the leak. The plumber could have been there that day, however the toilet was not critically needed, so we opted for the work in the following days. We are planning on further remodel work on our kitchen, rewire our home and possible expansion of living quarters intp our garage. CSI will be our only choice for future remodels.

Description of Work
Full remodel two bathrooms along with master bedroom remodel, replace front door with a decorative door.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, doors

5.0

08/21/2015


Melissa H.

He arrived on time and listened to what I had in mind and gave me some suggestions. I want to bring my kitchen back to the time the house was built (with modern appliances) and remove all signs of the 80's. It was a good experience and I wouldn't hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
looked at the space I had available to do a kitchen remodel. Gave me a suggestion on how to design it and a few visuals to keep when I decide to do the remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/12/2015


Karen M.

So they showed up to take measurements and understand my request. I asked about a couple of options. I was adding an indoor spa. So we talked in detail about what would be required for the spa installation. The representative was very friendly, not hurried, took notes and asked questions to make sure there was a good understand. We met again the next week to review the drawing. He was going to drive all the way back out to the house to review the drawing, but it was more convenient for me to meet at the office. He was very accommodating and stayed late so I didn't have to miss work. The drawing was really good and he had even found the graphic for my spa and made the necessary modification to the standard concrete pour (excavation). he had adjusted layouts and we resized a couple windows to get the look I was going for. He had worked up a quote if their construction company was going to do the work. The quote was more than I was prepared to invest at the time. I also had a hard time getting him to explain why the quote was so high. But the quality of the rendering was really good well worth the price.

Description of Work
They did the 3-D drawing of an addition for me, as well as provided an estimate for the construction.

Category remodeling, replacement windows

5.0

05/18/2015


Jacqui A.

I am not able to move forward at this time--I was just getting preliminary information.

Description of Work
Drew up plans and discussed my "little house" project.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/12/2015


Katharine C.

Daniel came back with printed diagrams of different proposals and approximately how much each would cost. They were great ideas but I was on a very limited budget. Daniel was great at talking through the layout of the present kitchen and some changes that could help utilize the present cabinet space. He was very professional and responsive to what I had to say. If I had a larger budget, I would have been happy to work with them.

Description of Work
Daniel and his brother came and measured the kitchen and hall area, discussed options to get more cabinet use out of present cabinets, and updating the cabinets and kitchen overall.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/22/2015


Pam L.

Daniel was very helpful. He drew up the plan and then we made some changes, which he sent to me the next day. I have not started the addition yet, was just getting a plan and an estimate of cost.

Description of Work
made a plan for a bathroom addition

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

04/04/2015


Patricia S.

It went well. I was told it would take 4-6 weeks and they met that goal. They also kept with the contracted price. I was very impressed by their communication. Every evening I would get a call telling me exactly what work had been done that day, what would be done the next day, who would be there, when they would arrive and where we were in the whole project. When things did not go exactly as planned, as they always do in any construction project, they made it right. I hosted a drop in for my neighbors after completion and everyone was very impressed with the quality of the work I would certainly use them again.

Description of Work
They renovated my kitchen which required removing all the cabinets and flooring.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

03/02/2015


Lynda S.

The dealing was fine and he gave me an estimate. I had him do a design for the bathroom. I liked the design, but since that time, I sold the home. He came when he said he would and he was polite. He was flexible with my schedule and there was no problems either.

Description of Work
I purchased a deal from this company for $49 for a kitchen or bathroom design and consultation with 2-D plans.

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/30/2014


Vicki V.

. CS of Columbia is a family company. The father handled the construction and design of my portico. He was amazing and so creative. Everyday dealings were completely professional and went so smoothly. The overall job is simply incredible. Well worth every cent! I love it.

Description of Work
Restored the portico on the front of my house. The house is 65 years old and originally had a beautiful portico- an unusual curved design with columns on a corner entrance. At some point it had rotted away and been taken down. It left the house looking incomplete. All I had was an old newspaper clipping of what the original structure looked like. CS of Columbia came and talked with me and looked at the picture. They took it from there. They did the design. They talked to the historical association. They handled everything so well. It was not an easy job and it turned out wonderfully. I have had so many people comment on it. I am so happy that we were able to restore this beautiful old house to its original look.

Category remodeling

3.0

11/20/2014


Carrie C.

He said that it would cost $20000 to do what I wanted. I thought I would have been able to renovate my kitchen via an online tool.

Description of Work
I wanted to have my kitchen remodeled.

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    SOS Plumbing and Drain

     

    NU Look Design

    Do you want the freshest house on the block? We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Sanchez Painting

    Proudly Serving the Columbia and surrounding suburbs. Locally owned and operated.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    10499
    Trade License Locale
    South Carolina
    Trade License Authority
    South Carolina: General
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Construction- Homes, Additions, In-Law Suites, Sunrooms, Restoration, Renovations, Porches, & Decks. Remodeling- Kitchen & Bath. Doors. Finish Carpentry. Cabinets. Tiles. Siding. Roofing. Windows.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc

    How is Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc overall rated?

    Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc open?

    Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc provide

    Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc?

    Yes, Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc offer?

    Construction Specialties of Columbia Inc offers the following services: Construction- Homes, Additions, In-Law Suites, Sunrooms, Restoration, Renovations, Porches, & Decks. Remodeling- Kitchen & Bath. Doors. Finish Carpentry. Cabinets. Tiles. Siding. Roofing. Windows.