Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth

Founded 1980 • With Angi since March 2007

5.0

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4314 Hwy 49

Laurens, SC 29360

Description

We are a chimney and venting maintenance and service company providing annual maintenance, water entry resolution, general problem solving and repair for chimneys, fireplaces and dryer vents....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/27/2017


Moira A.

Went well. Ron explained everything, my chimney did not need to be swept and he offered various chimney cap options - I chose one that I felt would do the best job for my large double flue chimney. The scheduling was efficient and helpful, they were on time for both visits and the entire team were all very helpful.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning and a chimney cap installed

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to review our company. Very glad we could help. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
5.0

11/03/2017


Richard D.

Very well. Nick explained everything and made it clear what we should expect from the inspect and any subsequent work.

Description of Work
Inspect fire place and associated parts.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

It's a pleasure to work with you, too. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to helping you further when we can. ~rb
5.0

02/28/2017


Deborah H.

They checked the chimney, which didn't need to be swept. Gas fireplace flues don't normally need sweeping. There were no cracks or maintenance needed. They removed the gas logs so they check the gas line and the igniter. They did a little tweaking, put everything back and we were set to go. They explained things as they went. We were very pleased with from start to finish. Including making the appointment thru the visit. Everyone was very professional.

Description of Work
We wanted the chimney and gas logs checked out prior to using the fireplace as we recently moved into the house.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate the time you took to let us know how we did. It's so important to get feedback from our folks. It's the only way we can see ourselves through YOUR eyes. Thanks again! ~rb
5.0

02/20/2017


Melanie F.

They were good. What they did was fine. My hesitation on an A with them, is they were trying to sell us a $7000 liner. They were here on time. They were courteous. They did not make any mess on my floor. They were up on the roof for a long time. I felt sorry for them. I will use them for just the chimney sweeps. I am not going to spend $7000 dollars for an liner in my chimney. I have never heard of them. The house was built in 1963, and is been no problems with the chimney. Apparently it was not filthy dirty. I am not going to pay that for no issue. Besides $7000 can go to something more for this house.

Description of Work
Chimney sweep.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. I looked over the paperwork for your appointment and it seems that the recommendation you mention for "liner" is our standard recommendation whenever we find a system that is not designed to current code and standard. This is often the case when we inspect chimney systems in older homes built in the 50's and 60's. There is no "requirement" to bring them up to code, however, our recommendation to bring them up to current codes and standard is standard procedure and similar to what a modern-day electrician's recommendation might be if he finds a home with outdated electrical wiring. The $7000 ball-park that our technician suggested likely included both a stove and liner. This option is often more desirable to some folks, as it will actually be heat producing, contrary to most contemporary fireplace designs. It was not our intention to leave the impression that our technician was trying to "sell" the package to you as opposed to offering an alternative to the outdated unlined system that is in your house now. We completely understand your perspective that there may be other things that have a higher priority than updating your chimney system at this time. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on our visit. We appreciate all expressions in regard to our provided services. We look forward to seeing you again, we you need us.
5.0

02/01/2017


David W.

Thorough inspection and good information on restoration options

Description of Work
Inspect chimney space and advise on refurbishing

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much, sir, for taking the time to let us know you were pleased. ~rb
5.0

01/13/2017


Debbie F.

VERY pleased with everything done by Blue Sky personnel, beginning with scheduling the initial appt. - Renee was so helpful every time we talked! Nick and Ron did the inspections and then the work and could not have been more professional and helpful in answering our questions! They worked so hard all day and did an excellent job!! We are so impressed with this company!

Description of Work
Removing wood stove insert (which was a bear of a job!) and repairing chimney damage from thermal shock/chimney fire to get chimney back to original working condition

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thanks very much for your positive words. Office and field staff alike certainly appreciate knowing that the service we provided was pleasing on all levels. We look forward to working with you again when you need us! ~rb
5.0

08/02/2016


Earle G.

Did what they promised. Punctual and efficient with high quality.

Description of Work
Replaced chimney chase / cap.

Category chimney repair

5.0

07/31/2016


Adam B.

Blue Sky was very thorough in their evaluation of our chimney and got to the core of my water seeping problem. Roofers wanted to tell me that there were leaks coming in because of bad boots on my exhaust pipes, but that was ten to twelve feet away from where we were seeing water sweat into our sun room. Ron took the time to explain the conditions of many parts of my chimney, all the way from the carbon we were seeing on our ventless logs to the mortar joints between the bricks above to the internal condition after taking the cap off. What started as a water problem quickly became a more pressing problem when our chimney cap was blown off in a wind storm. After our evaluation, he answered all emails thoroughly and in a timely manner as we discussed different aspects of his work estimate. I am very happy with the products he used as well, many of which come with 7-10 year warranties for sealing water out of the masonry. I am very pleased with the work performed and the thorough knowledge displayed throughout my nearly year-long process of searching for the source of and solution to my original problem. I'm confident in the repair done for the lost chimney cap as well.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection resulting in repair and sealing of chimney masonry Replacement of the chimney cap

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

5.0

05/26/2014


Steve B.

Went very well. They were suppose to come a week earlier but the materials had not come in. They called ahead of time and we setup a new time. They called and told me the materials had arrived and they would call when the crew left their office on Monday. The crew called and said that they were in their way but then called a later and said they had a flat tire on their truck and would be about an hour late. They called and let me know they were on their way. They came and got right to work. They were very careful about making sure no dust of objects fell into the house. They worked quickly and did the installation well. They were very polite and told us everything they were doing. They had us inspect the work and answered all of our questions. The office called us after they left and made sure we were satisfied. I will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Put a new damper on one chimney and leaf and bird caps on two chimneys.

Category chimney sweep,chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Thanks, [Member Name], for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. Your feedback is very important in our company development. We can see clearly where we do well and where we need to make improvements from comments such as yours. We certainly appreciate your business and we look forward to working with you again. Have a great Summer!
3.0

02/17/2014


Edward J.

The office called back promptly to tell us there was a 2 month wait and that to come out to estimate the job would cost $119 whether they got the job or not. We declined their services.

Description of Work
.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your inquiry with our company and subsequently taking the time to report on your experience with us. Your call came at one of our busiest times of the year, right before Christmas. It is not uncommon for there to be a backlog with quality service companies during peak business times of the year. It seems there was some misunderstanding about our charges. The $119 that you referenced is our current charge for a Level 1 chimney inspection as outlined by the National Fire Protection Association - performed by a CSIA Certified Chimney Sweep with many years of experience. During the course of that inspection one of the things determined is whether the chimney needs to be swept or not. If the chimney does need service and that service is performed at the time of the inspection, the $119 charge is waived and the charge for sweeping the chimney applies. Either way, the homeowner is left with a report about the condition of the chimney, from an inside perspective, from the hearth extension through the firebox, damper, smoke chamber, and flue all the way to the top of the chimney. Additionally, we report, from a roof perspective, on the flashing, the exterior of the chimney (whether it be brick or some other construction) and the crown wash or metal chase covering as well as the terminating chimney cap, if there is one. If we find issues that relate to safety or maintenance needed, we will make recommendations for resolution and, if you wish, we can offer pricing for any of the work that our company can provide. The time it takes to get the information (pictures and measurements) necessary to thoroughly inspect and report is often considerable. We do feel that we give good value for the prices we charge. Just to review -- the $119 charge is for the inspection and report received. All estimates are free. If the chimney needs sweeping, there is normal standard pricing for different installations (i.e. fireplaces, wood stove inserts, free standing heaters, furnace flues). We can give you those estimated prices when you call. If, in a different scenario, a homeowner knows they need repair work and if they can provide us with pictures (inside and out) and measurements that we need to quote pricing, we can provide those estimates over the phone as well -- at no charge. Many times customers will email such information to us if all they want is estimated pricing for work they already know they need to have done. Unfortunately, we cannot tell whether a chimney needs to be swept or whether it needs work without looking at it. So, as mentioned, we come prepared to do a sweep service, so that the $119 inspection fee can be waived if possible. Thank you, again, for your time and your comments. Please let us know if we can be of help in the future.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Leon Masonry

    We specialize in foundations, new construction bricking, and making brick arches. We also offer mini projects like brick encased mailboxes, brick columns, and brick fire places. We take the time to make sure everything is right the first time. We have 10 years of experience in both residential and commercial masonry.  

    Prime Concrete Solutions LLC

    Prime Concrete Solutions is a family owned business created to ensure quality work and our top priority is to ensure our clients our satisfied satisfy with the end results. Creating a direct relation that will give us a better north to continue growing day by day.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check, Financing
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney Service - Inspection, Repair & Restoration, Cleaning/Sweeping, Chimney Caps, Chase Covers, Construction, Video Inspection, Leaking Chimney Solutions. Dryer Vent Installation & Delinting/Cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth

    How is Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth overall rated?

    Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth open?

    Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth provide

    Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Check, Financing

    Does Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth offer free estimates?

    No, Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth?

    Yes, Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth offers warranties.

    What services does Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth offer?

    Blue Sky Chimney Sweeps - Bless Your Hearth offers the following services: Chimney Service - Inspection, Repair & Restoration, Cleaning/Sweeping, Chimney Caps, Chase Covers, Construction, Video Inspection, Leaking Chimney Solutions. Dryer Vent Installation & Delinting/Cleaning.