Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Palmetto Landscaping and Design

Founded 1997 • With Angi since April 2012

4.4

(76) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3239 Benchmark Dr Unit F

Ladson, SC 29456

Description

Locally owned, Family run business with over 40 employees. We are licensed, insured, and bonded. We have been in business for over 15 years. We service residential and commercial clients.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Lorin L.
5.0
02/27/2022
On September 23, we met Steve from PLD at our house. While he was a good listener, he talked about possibly doing a larger project than we had in mind. But once he understood that we didn't need under paver drainage lines, he was happy to modify the design. The project contract was signed Nov 2021 and deposit of 1/3 given. The start date was set up then that fit with their schedule and ours. To my surprise, the actual start date was the exact date previously decided- Jan 26, 2022. A team of seven came and wasted no time getting into the job. They were incredibly hard working. During excavation the house water line and an irrigation line were broken, which we were warned may happen. The house water supply was repaired within two hours. The other could wait as it was not in use in January. Whenever there were questions, the team leader came to me. He wanted to be sure I was happy. In the early few days, we met the job superintendent, Jason. He gave us his cell and asked us to call, if there was any concern at all, 24/7. It was clear to me from the beginning, that this team was going to install the pavers exactly according to my direction and in a very precise manner. In several instances, we made changes to the original design, either at their suggestion or ours. I was very happy that these changes did not incur further labor costs, just some material costs. The end result is beautiful. We have had multiple compliments from friends and family. While the project was expensive, according to my previous hopes, we are extremely pleased overall. In addition, the project used less material than planned for and this was reflected by a reduced final bill. In November, I had planned to withhold 10% until after I was completely satisfied with the installation, but I was so happy with the results that I did not withhold any money. I highly recommend this company for your hardscape project!
Description of Work
Install paver driveway and paver walkways.
Category
concrete repair, hardscaping
Ken D.
5.0
08/29/2018
Have not had work finished yet. Had to wait for HOA to approve.
Description of Work
We will be having a sidewalk and shed foundation built.
Category
concrete repair, landscaping
Ed B.
1.0
06/14/2018
March 2017 we contracted Palmetto Landscaping to install Diamond Zoysia grass in our tiny backyard. By Aug 2017 we started getting areas that were dying. After following the guidance of Stephen, I applied a fertilizer and compost. April 2018, the areas of concern were not getting better, in fact they worsened over the winter. I took pics and sent them to Kevin seeking help. Emails were exchange for the month of April, but nothing was being done. May 2018, I never asked for the grass to be replaced, but Kevin said if it didn't get any better with the warmer weather (in two weeks) that he'd replace the grass. More emails exchanged with nothing getting done. Kevin claimed he was talking with the sod farm and would try to have replaced "next week." That was May 31st. I called Kevin and explained that I did not want the grass replaced unless that was the only thing that could be done. I did not want to waste his time and money, nor my time and money (watering the new sod in the summer). I asked him if he could stop by and take a look at it and he said yes. Today is Jun 14, 2018. Kevin has failed to stop by after agreeing to do so twice and HAS NOT COMMUNICATED WITH ME IN REGARDS TO NOT BEING ABLE TO STOP BY. Kevin sold me on Diamond Zoysia due to the grass's ability to handle wear and tear and tolerance to shade. He ensured my me that this grass would withstand the traffic and potty habits of a dog...we have two spots that are dead from the two times my puppy has pee'd in the yard. When we were seeking a landscaper to install our brick patio and some plants, Kevin was slow to communicate, so we went with another company...his communication is terrible.
Description of Work
March 2017-new grass and a dry drain installed
Category
landscaping
rebecca T.
1.0
07/20/2017
Terrible, slow wouldn't show up even in the same week. Installed dead sod not once but twice.
Description of Work
We hired them the install a French drain, level or yard and install sod. They took months to complete. The sod was dead when the installed it. This year I had to hire another landscaping company. We now have a gorgeous lawn installed properly. Palmetto installed the cheapest sod that they could get. After cal after call we got nowhere.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Dean H.
5.0
06/09/2017
They were overpriced for us. Yes, I would consider using them in the future. I would recommend giving them a call to see what they can do for you.
Description of Work
They gave us a quote. He came over promptly and talked to us, the price was just out of our budget.
Category
landscaping
Rebecca M.
3.0
06/01/2017
1st time they came out was fine yard was cut, edged and weeded. Next couple of times they came out they weed eated a couple of spots and had the blower on...missed patches of grass never mowed....called and complained they were sent back out the following Monday and again weed eated a couple of spots and was gone within 5 minutes...never cut grass had high patches all over front and back yard. I think someone needs to periodically check behind some of their crews work.
Description of Work
Front and back yard maintenance....
Category
landscaping
Gerald S.
1.0
03/30/2017
Coupon states $20 off 300 but when u call they state they don't have the time to repair sprinklers. Waste of time.
Description of Work
Sprinkler system repair
Category
irrigation systems
Guerdon G.
5.0
03/24/2017
Excellent! Raoul was the paver designer and he and his crew did a fantastic job. He was professional, knowledgeable, and meticulous. He kept us advised from start to finish. They were punctual and site was thoroughly cleaned up when finished. We are so very pleased and have a beautiful elegant patio with walkways leading to our two gates. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Installation of paver patio, two walkways, bench, sod and irrigation system.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Tim S.
2.0
03/20/2017
How did what go, they came and measured then never got back in touch, I guess they have enough business
Description of Work
Had them come out to do an estimate. He measured and talked to me about possible solutions. Never heard from him again.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Jeremy G.
1.0
03/17/2017
Called for someone to possibly come out and quote some work. Got the voicemail every time and never received a call back!
Description of Work
looking for a quote on several different items... concrete work, fencing, and possibly grading.
Category
concrete repair, concrete driveways, landscaping, driveway gates, patios
Cindy R.
2.0
01/14/2017
Full description already given above.
Description of Work
I needed my "natural" backyard redone to make it more accessible as a play area for young children and an outdoor gathering area for adults. This included several phases of work: clearing leaf debris from 11 very large oak trees, as well as all undergrowth; removing all hardscape stone paths and borders; grading the entire area, installing a 20' x 20' area of artificial turf; installing a 20' x 20' area of pavers. Kevin Cone arrived on time on December 28 for our estimate appointment and spent a good amount of time talking with me about my needs and his recommendations. He seemed knowledgeable and had good suggestions. He promised to provide a written estimate by December 30. Given the holidays, I told him he could take until January 4, but he said he would be working in his office anyway and would definitely have the estimate to me by the afternoon of December 30. I did not hear anything from him or anyone else connected with the company until I received a one line e-mail message from Mr. Cone on January 9: "I will have your landscape plan done by tomorrow and will forward it to you." As of January 14, I have still received nothing. Very disappointing and unprofessional.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Christine C.
1.0
04/29/2016
The sod died within two weeks despite my vigilant watering and care. My sister (who works for a sod company in Southern Ontario) visited shortly after and informed me that the sod had been laid on sand with no way to establish a root system. Also, the webbing that was used to hold the sod together remained as a tripping hazard after the sod died and needed to be ripped out by hand. Subsequently, sink holes began to appear around the perimeter of the outline of the pool. I attempted to fill these in, but without enough fill dirt was only able to scrape the edges. I contacted Roger numerous times and when he finally came out to the property several months later he agreed that the holes needed to be filled in and new sod replaced. Since then, I have repeatedly contacted the company to be told that I am scheduled (on the calendar) but nothing has been done. In early March of this year I contacted the company yet again and was told the problem would be taken care of as soon as the sod was mature enough to be relaid. Two weeks ago the sod installer came to my house and informed my roommate that there was no way the sod could be laid until the sinkholes had been filled. He also informed us that the company had let to replace some employees due to negligence and poor performance. I have since tried to contact the owner and others at the company and once again have been told I am on the calendar!?! No one is now returning my calls at all!
Description of Work
Palmetto Landscaping and Design had been performing routine yard maintenance for me up until one year ago when I cancelled their service. About a year and a half ago I paid them to fill in an inground swimming pool and replace the area with fill dirt and sod.
Category
lawn service
Mary K.
5.0
03/18/2016
Crew and manager showed up on a Tuesday morning. Reviewed the plan for the patio 1 more time before starting work. Drew shape with paint on grass to be sure it was the shape we wanted. Once we said OK,the crew went to work.And boy did they work! Stakes and string guidelines were set up and the digging started. They only use crushed stone for fill,tamping down the layers as the elevation was built up.the crew worked for 3 days,arriving every day at around 8 am and leaving at 4 pm. On day 2 it was raining but the crew was there just the same. They waited out the rain and as soon as it stopped went to work. By Thursday afternoon everything was done. And everything in the rest of the yard was cleaned up too. They paid close attention to the details. We had chosen random size cobblestones and they made precise cuts in order to fit them into the smaller spaces. They did not just use some odd shaped pieces and jam them in to fill the holes. There was a plan and a pattern to the cobblestones. All top edge stones were cut to precisely fit the curved end of the patio. Overall effect is very nice. We have had quite a few neighbors come and take a look. We would hire them again in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
They built a raised patio outside our screened in porch. Kevin set up a visit within days of our call about an estimate and brought numerous samples of pavers and cobblestones. We described the approximate size and shape we wanted as well as the materials we wanted to use. Due to the slope of our yard the patio would have some elevation and he helped us match the wall stones to the cobblestones. Within in 2 days he emailed us an estimate. Based on other estimates we received the price was in the same range as all others but the over all attention to detail when he came to our house made us choose Palmetto. Once the paperwork was signed the job site manager made an appointment to look at the site and answer any last minute questions. We decided to add steps at that point and extend the width about 2 feet. We were told this was not a problem but would change the estimate. We were given a ball park figure and agreed to the price. Timeframe for job start was 2 to 3 weeks and they would call ahead to set up a time. We said out schedule was open. About 1 week later we got a call they could start sooner if we were OK with that. We were.
Category
landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios
William D.
5.0
02/29/2016
It went really well. Kevin came by and gave us great detail about what drainage plan he thought would work for our particular situation. He told us on the first visit that he guaranteed it would solve our problem. As soon as the weather suited, the crew came and worked all day digging drains and putting in the special piping. After the next rain, we contacted Kevin and suggested it would likely need more work. As soon as the ground was dry enough, the crew was back at work, again for a full day. The follow-up was perfect and we could see immediate results with the next rain. We are pleased customers.
Description of Work
Put in French drains for a large backyard.
Category
landscaping
Ja C.
4.0
12/09/2015
Things went fine with them. We had to pay more because I ended up asking them for an expansive project. So it turned out to be much more expensive than the $699. It was a ten thousand dollar project. One of my disappointments with this company was the time frame for completion communicated to me from the sales office and the completion deadline communicated to me from the manager in charge did the actual work for you. It wouldn't be, once again, once they started the project it wasn't more than several months after my initial contact with them that this expansive project was completed.
Description of Work
They widened my driveway, made it wide enough a two car driveway, they put in the sidewalk, and they also did steps to my home and they put in a much larger patio.
Category
concrete repair, decks, concrete driveways, patios
Sandy K.
2.0
09/22/2015
They cut the grass 5 times. They did it correctly twice. The first time it was done well. The second time and third times they skipped a long piece of lawn at the boundary line. The third time we timed them and they were here for exactly 8 minutes. Now, we realize our yard is not large and it doesn't matter to us how much time they spend...if they can do it correctly in 8 minutes, then more power to them. When I called them to complain the third time after the guys left they said they would get it next time. No offer to come back and fix it. I told them I wanted them to knock on the door and l would inspect it before they left. The 4th time they did it correctly and they did knock on the door. I then requested that they cut it every week and asked them to trim the bushes in the front. The 5th time they came cut the grass and beat feet. They did no edging in the front at all. Nor did they trim the bushes. The service provider I am using now said that sometimes providers only do the edging every other week when they cut every week instead of bi-weekly to save time...well from my point of view as a customer if you are going to charge me the same amount you need to do the whole job...we parted ways after that. If you don't really care what your lawn looks like and just want it cut quickly so the homeowner's association doesn't get on your case these are the people for you...otherwise look elsewhere.
Description of Work
Mowed the grass
Category
landscaping
PHILLIP W.
5.0
08/07/2015
They were very professional and competitively priced. They answered all our questions and provided good recommendations. Only downside is they are in high demand so getting the work scheduled took some time. Having said that, they were worth the wait. Keep this in mind if you are in a big hurry but they do top notch work
Description of Work
Install paver patio and fountain
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios
ward L.
3.0
07/31/2015
This was not a good experience. Kevin (the owner) seems like a nice guy, but I think they're just too busy. After he came by for an initial visit, we agreed on an estimate for the work I needed done. We also arranged for them to start regular lawn maintenance. After I decided to go ahead with their estimate. it seriously took 5-6 calls and several texts to Kevin's mobile phone to get a response and get things scheduled. It probably took several weeks just to nail down a date. The lady in their office is nice as well, but she also seemed to have trouble getting ahold of Kevin. The work looked good once it was completed, but when I got the bill, I saw that the charge for the mulch was double what he said in the written estimate (about $700 extra). I understand that an estimate isn't always perfect, but when it's that far off, I expect a call or heads-up, so I can decide how to proceed. In the end, he agreed to reduce the bill by about $200. When the crew was installing the new bushes, they tore out my cable line so I had no internet or TV for several days. Comcast finally installed a new one, but didn't bury the line right away. It was a bright orange cable line, but the next time the crew cut the grass, they ran right over it. That meant several more days with no internet, and I didn't even get a call to let me know what had happened. The final straw was when I came home to find that the crew had cut a hose that was on the ground. I understand that this one was harder to see because it was green, but after it was cut, it started spurting out water. I don't see how they could have missed that. I came home to find a small pond in my front yard. One last note? from the first day I hired the crew for regular lawn maintenance, I asked that a specific bush be trimmed because it was growing into the sidewalk. Again, I must have made 5-8 calls about this, but it was never completed properly. I finally lost patience with them. I've found a new company, and so far, everything has been great. When I need to contact them, I send a text and they respond quickly. What a nice change.
Description of Work
Installed new plants and bushes, removed old bushes, performed regular lawn maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Luke K.
4.0
06/29/2015
It turned out pretty well. The quality of the work was very good but the communication was pretty bad.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal from Palmetto Landscaping and Design .
Category
patios
Carol M.
5.0
06/10/2015
Love my new walkway. Have received many compliments on it. Contractors that came out to do the work were very professional and friendly. They did a great job even dealing with all the rain we have received. Would differently use Palmetto Landscaping and have referred them to some neighbors. Kevin the owner is very pleasant to talk with even if you are not talking about work. Thanks again guys for a great job and will be calling you shortly for some more work i need done.
Description of Work
Drainage to low lying area and paved walkway
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Nancy F.
1.0
05/22/2015
After multiple times of being told that we were on their schedule and being blown off, we finally were told that they would be starting the job on a particular day, starting early. Waited until 10:00 am, had to leave but called their office to find out when they would be here. Was told that I would be called right back . Never heard from anyone again. After a month and a half of being put off, I cancelled all work that they were doing for us. Unfortunate because I was very impressed with Kevin we he came to do estimate.
Category
concrete repair
Aravind U.
1.0
05/05/2015
Took a half day off and waited till 10:20. No one showed up and contacted them back. I was informed they messed up the schedule and asked if i could wait. I said yes i will wait till 11:50. Starring at the window all morning and didn't see any one vehicle pull up to my drive way. I was told by my gutters contractors working outside that someone parked the vehicle at a distance, stopped by for a sec, knocked the door and whisked away in secs. I tried to call them back atleast 4 times in morning and no response yet. Can't believe it is a company and not some random guy in business.
Description of Work
Contacted Palmetto for a quote on April-23-15 and set the appointment date as May-05-15 at 10:00.
Category
landscaping
Mary J.
5.0
05/04/2015
They did a very good job and provided excellent service. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
They put in a paver patio.
Category
patios
Randy K.
5.0
04/24/2015
Kevin came to my house and we discussed two ideas that I had in mind. I decided to go with the patio before the landscaping, which was the wise choice. Kevin made sure that I was comfortable with the project. We discussed the pricing, the time to complete the job, and when they could start. He had me come by his office, gave me a booklet, and said if I wanted to go to his supplier and meet with Dave to check out the colors that would be helpful. Dave was very friendly and showed me the material and said that those would be a good color choice to match my house. I had everything set up and the crew arrived on schedule. Raul made every effort to answer any questions I had and when two minor instances arose, he brought it to my attention, we discussed it, and went on. Due to the patio being done differently, Kevin came out that afternoon and made sure everything was ok with me. Due to inclement weather, and for me wanting a bigger patio, it took two extra days. The crew was always very professional, polite, and on time. After the project was completed, Kevin came by again to make sure i was satisfied, and wanting to see the finished product as well. Being satisfied, I will use him to landscape the back yard. We already discussed this project, but the patio did cause some changes as to plantings. He came back out and we talked it over. I am awaiting his plans, will decide if i like his choice of plants, shrubs, trees, etc., which I'm sure I will, then they will proceed with the finishing touches to my back yard. The weather was rainy conditions later in the day, each day. This caused my yard to be very saturated. Bringing in the pavers, blocks, sand, etc. did cause damage to my yard. This was unavoidable, and I was ok with that. When Kevin stopped by, he seen the yard and immediately said they would roll the yard, fill it in with dirt, and reseed. I was glad to hear him say that without hesitation. Since the yard needed some extra work, we decided to move the landscaping project up ahead of schedule to benefit both parties. Eagerly awaiting the final product, I will, and have recommended his company to others.
Description of Work
paver patio with a sidewalk leading to my front gate and also a fire pit.
Category
landscaping, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping, driveway gates
Raymond T.
5.0
03/30/2015
really good job! looks terrific!
Description of Work
patio and front walk
Category
landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    JHS Construction & Paving

    No Job Is Too Small! Give us a call with any asphalt, concrete, pipe, and clearing needs. Here at JHS we have over 15 years of experience in the field. We look forward to working with you.  

    Angi Certified

    ELM Construction LLC

    One of the greatest strengths of Elm Construction is the ability to gather the necessary resources to complete the task presented to our team and execute for the benefit for the community. Some of our previous projects were completed with Richland County Public Schools, USC, Clemson University, Fellowship Halls, and offices for South Carolina Lottery. With the goal of expanding our network to state and federal government contracts, our self motivated team will continue to focus proficiency and our community.  

    Angi Certified

    Charleston Stump Stompers and Tree Service

    Charleston Stump Stompers and Tree service employs seven professional tree service providers and has an ISA Certified Arborist on location at each job. We are licensed to do business in Mt. Pleasant, Isle of Palms, Sullivan's Island, City of Charleston, North Charleston, Goose Creek, Summerville, Ladson, Hanahan, Kiawah and Seabrook Islands among other areas. We provide tree assessment and ISA Certified letters when required for permitting.  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    The following is a comprehensive but not all inclusive of the services we offer: Lawn Maintanance, sod installation, irrigation systems, land clearing, brick paver driveways, sidewalks, and patios, commercial landscaping, residential landscaping, concrete driveways, hardscapes

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Palmetto Landscaping and Design

    How is Palmetto Landscaping and Design overall rated?

    Palmetto Landscaping and Design is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Palmetto Landscaping and Design open?

    Palmetto Landscaping and Design is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Palmetto Landscaping and Design provide

    Palmetto Landscaping and Design accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Palmetto Landscaping and Design offer free estimates?

    Yes, Palmetto Landscaping and Design offers free project estimates.

    Does Palmetto Landscaping and Design offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Palmetto Landscaping and Design does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Palmetto Landscaping and Design?

    No, Palmetto Landscaping and Design does not offer warranties.

    What services does Palmetto Landscaping and Design offer?

    Palmetto Landscaping and Design offers the following services: The following is a comprehensive but not all inclusive of the services we offer: Lawn Maintanance, sod installation, irrigation systems, land clearing, brick paver driveways, sidewalks, and patios, commercial landscaping, residential landscaping, concrete driveways, hardscapes