Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tuck & Howell, Inc

Founded 1969 • With Angi since June 2006

4.8

(63) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O. Box 970

Greer, SC 29652

Description

Available weekends by appointment. The Tuck & Howell Way of Doing Business Over 49 years ago, a small father and son appliance business evolved into Tuck & Howell, Inc., Mechanical Contractors. This company was founded on the principle of service to the customer. Customer service was not just a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Deb J.
5.0
05/28/2018
Materials were clearly explained. Timing was as promised. Very professional. Small mixup on which thermostat to tie into, but feel confident this is easily resolved.
Description of Work
Replaced upstairs HVAC unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business & review your comfort is our priority!
Harry G.
5.0
05/15/2018
Tuck&Howell technicians responded quickly to my call about a non-working home AC. The technician diagnosed a blown compressor and since our system was 20 years old recommended AC replacement. We researched and decided to replace both the AC and gas furnace to maximize efficiency. The system was diagnosed on Monday, parts ordered by Wednesday, and new system installed Friday morning - just ahead of a heat wave. (We are priority plus plan members at Tuck&Howell and that may have given us some priority - I recommend their priority plus plan service as well, which we've had for some 15 years or so.) The installation went smoothly and the new system is working great. Be sure to ask for a new thermostat, if needed, when you get a new system installed since it may or may not be included by default. We asked and it was provided. Our unit was a Carrier 3-ton, 14-seer unit with AC and gas furnace.
Description of Work
Replaced 20-year old home AC and furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and the review!
Kathy M.
5.0
11/26/2017
Technician was on time and answered all my questions.
Description of Work
Annual furnace inspection.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Glad that we could meet your HVAC needs. Thank you for your Review!
Alisa S.
5.0
10/23/2017
Professional team did a high quality job. Creativity and thoughtfulness were applied to my vague initial request to make the work aesthetically pleasing as well as functional.
Description of Work
Return/intake vents added to great room and bedroom
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review........our goal is to have satisfied customers!
james M.
5.0
10/10/2017
great fast service quick repair great people
Description of Work
heat pump work on a very hot day
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Glad that we could meet your HVAC need. Thank you for your business!
James G.
5.0
09/16/2017
Tuck & Howell was responsive and timely in both the initial service call and in the repair work. They were cooperative when we had to delay the work multiple times. The repair work was done for half of the estimate we got from another company and we have had no problems since the repair. The workers were professional and considerate.
Description of Work
Replace A/C evaporator coil
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. We really appreciate your business.
Charles S.
5.0
01/21/2017
For price, we looked around a little bit and their price was right in line with everybody else. They showed up when they promised to. It is sometimes hard to get down here in South Carolina. It didn't take more than an hour or so for the work to be completed
Description of Work
We were having a problem with the condensation line that was clogged up. They came to repair that.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Betty H.
5.0
09/27/2016
They are A all the way and we would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
They serviced our Heating and AC system for about 32 years.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you
Luis T.
5.0
04/08/2015
They have been in business for a couple of years now. They have been always reliable and they are good guys. I like that they do good work. My cooling system has been running well even though it?s 22 years old. I have a service plan with them and they come twice a year. They check everything. They are a great company and I have been dealing with them for the last 15 years. They show up every year. However, they are not the cheap.
Description of Work
I used Tuck & Howell for heating and AC.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Caroline C.
1.0
06/15/2014
Called Friday 5/23 (yes, Friday of Memorial Weekend) but also called Tuesday 5/27. Disappointing, because a colleague and neighbor had recommended them with good reviews (and that's why we didn't call anybody else on Friday and instead waited for Tuck and Howell to return our call).
Description of Work
Did not return phone calls when we called requesting service for broken AC..
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Iris B.
5.0
05/14/2014
The air was out in one of our rental houses and we have used Tuck and Howell in the past for our personal home and always had wonderful experiences. We called them and within the hour they were at our rental house figuring out the problem and it was Sunday we couldn't believe how fast and urgent they were to get there after hours! They were very polite and urgent to find and fix the problem! We were very impressed and would recommend them to anyone who has any HVAC needs or problems!
Description of Work
Replaced thermostat and fixed a/c unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael K.
1.0
10/02/2013
I own a rental property in Moore, SC and have complaints from the tenant about the HVAC system. I called Tuck and Howell hoping for a professional opinion of issues. After speaking with the tenant, who knows nothing except there is a problem, the service manager called to reject a service call. His opinion is that whoever has worked on the unit before should continue to service it. I received another call today from the service manager who asked that my tenant no longer call asking for help. I tried again myself to have someone look at the system and again was refused. Not what I expected from such a well rated company.
Description of Work
Refused to even look at my system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Carol H.
5.0
06/01/2013
The crew was efficient and polite. Have always had a good relationship with Tuck & Howell. They have been servicing us for 10 years. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Removed old AC. Installed new duct work with new AC unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Glenn E.
5.0
12/29/2012
We had a very good experience with them.
Description of Work
A animal chewed through an electrical wire shorting out the heat pump. They responded in a timely manner, found the problem, replaced the wiring and restored the system in short order. We are very pleased with their fine service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Vaughn C.
1.0
07/31/2012
Attempted to set up service with T&H but got the run around with their service area. My calls were not returned from service when messages were left and when I called I was treated like I was an imposition for even asking about service. Once a time was set, I called on a Wed and service date was set for the following Tues no one ever showed up or called. They refused to give me a general time when they would come only that someone would call before they came my way. Too many other good companies out there to waste your time on this one. They apparently don't need the business!
Description of Work
My upstairs AC is not cooling so I called this company on the advice of a friend.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Rodney C.
3.0
07/10/2012
My downstairs unit was thought to have a leak in the evaporator coil but I declined to have it replaced for the verbal estimate at the time of the service. My bad. I called back twice a month later to get a detailed quote and they never returned my call. Had someone else do the job for a lot less than the verbal estimate. I have used them for 4 years and was pleased with the service in the past but I quess they were too busy this time.
Description of Work
My AC unit was serviced in May and needed refrigerant. Technician looked at the evaporator coil data and recommended a replacement based on age and experience with this manufacturer.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Amanda A.
1.0
06/25/2012
I called them on Tuesday morning and they told me they would be there the following morning which was Wednesday, June 20th. I even had my husband cancel his plans for the day. By 2pm Wednesday, no one showed up yet, so I called their office only to get the run around at first because the lady answering the phone had no clue about service and no one was in service. She called around and finally found out that they had put me on the schedule for Thursday and I told them I would have never accepted Thursday cause I kniw there would be no one hold. After they were very rude to me, I just cancelled the service. I wil now call a company that can handle their service department and schedules.
Description of Work
They never performed any services. They have to show up as scheduled for that.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
CLARA M.
5.0
03/08/2012
They are very established. They are very reliable. They check the pressure in all the pipes and check the freon. They check and change the filters while they are here. Their workers are knowledgeable and polite. They call before they come. They know our house well enough. We have been thoroughly pleased with their service.
Description of Work
They put the heating system in this house when we built it. They come and check on the system twice a year.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Pete B.
3.0
11/14/2011
If ya have a mobile home, donm't waste your time.
Description of Work
I took the time to research many different HVAC companies listed here. I read countless reviews. I carefully selected my top three. I called Tuck/Howell on Friday afternoon and set a time for them to call me Monday monring at 9 am. Sure enough Scott Cooper called right on time. Problem is, it was all a waaste of time. They do not service mobile homes. Scott appologised and said it was his bosses policy. Fine, I can accept that. You could have saved me time by saying in your website and on Angies list that you not work on mobile homes. I guess cash for a new system doesn't work anymore. I'll move on to someone else.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Marcy B.
1.0
10/27/2011
We called on Monday to request service. Didn't reach anyone and left a message to call ASAP. We waited several hours for a return call, but since we didn't have any heat decided to call another company. Do not call this company. You'll never hear back from them.
Description of Work
None
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kim R.
5.0
08/23/2011
I thought our air conditioner was going out, but the technician found our vents just needed clearning and the filter replaced. Last year, another company told us we would have to buy a new AC this year at a cost of about $5,000. The Tuck & Howell technician told us did not need immediate replacement. We only needed some freon, a change of filters, and a cleaning of the vents (which we did ourselves), and the AC is working with no problems now. I am very happy that I decided to get a second opinion on our AC.
Description of Work
The technician added freon to air conditioner, inspected air conditioner, vents and filters, and offered advice.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
LaRhue E.
5.0
08/01/2011
My downstair's airconditioning unit stopped worked. I called another company that I had used before. They took several days to come to the house. They inspected the system and said I needed a new evaporator coil for the unit. He also said my unit was 3 pounds low on freon, which he could replace at $89 per pound. But he said I would lose it when they replaced the coil since it couldn't be saved. I thought I needed another opinion so I told him I would think about it and let him know. In the meantime he called his office to ask them to give me an estimate on the cost of the coil. I then called Tuck & Howell. The tech came out that same afternoon. He checked the whole system and agreed the problem was the evaporator coil. He gave me a couple of options but I decided to go ahead and replace it. He called his office for an estimate, which I got within the hour. I arranged for him to install the unit two days later, which he did. He also checked the freon and said it was about 2 pounds low, which he could replace at $39 for the first pound and $15 a pound therafter (opposed to $89 per pound the other company charged). He said he could save it when he replaced the evaporator coil so it wouldn't be wasted. That allowed me to restart the airconditioning unit that same day to cool down my house that day. He was on time for the appointment, had everything he needed with him, completed the job efficiently, professionally and quickly. Once the unit was installed he cleaned up after himself and took away the mess. The unit is working fine. I have no complaints. About two weeks later, the first company called be back with an estimate which was $200 more than Tuck & Howell had charged. I told them to forget it. I had used them several times before but will not again. I highly recommend Tuck & Howell.
Description of Work
My downstairs air conditioning unit (a heat pump) stopped working. I called Tuck & Howell to diagnose the problem and give me an estimate. The technician came out that same afternoon, looked at the whole system and found the problem was the evaporator coil. He gave me a couple of options but I decided the smart thing was to go ahead and replace it. He called his office for an estimate, which I got that afternoon. I arranged for him to install it two days later, 5/6/2011, He was efficient, professional and personable. He evacuated the system and replaced the needed freon. Once installed, he cleaned up after himself and removed the mess. The unit is working fine. I have no complaints.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kay S.
5.0
07/19/2011
The installation of my new HVAC system was "painless". The techs were courteous and efficient. They cleaned up after themselves and l did not have a mes to clean up as so often seems to be the case. I would not think of using another company.
Description of Work
Tuck and Howell serviced my very old HVAC unit for 7 years before I had to replace it. I did not receive a quote from any other company. I only wanted T&H to install my new unit. They were always on time except when they were EARLY for an appointment. Every individual I encountered was friendly and professional.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Susan H.
5.0
06/20/2011
They were excellent. I found them on Angie's List. They were very punctual. They did a very good job.
Description of Work
Tuck & Howell Inc came out last month and installed an air conditioner for me.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Norman B.
5.0
12/16/2010
Very professional and punctual. Price was mid-range on the estimates received, but more than I wished to invest.
Description of Work
Replace AC unit with heat pump to supplement oil furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Dipple Plumbing, Electrical, Heating & Air

    Courteous, speedy service + 24-hour emergency service from our experienced plumbers, electricians & heating and air conditioning service technicians—Dipple is your one-stop shop. If your energy bills are getting higher and the temperature is heading the wrong direction, we can help with our HVAC or $79 furnace tune-up specials. We also offer comprehensive plumbing and electrical services. We offer plumbing, electrical, and heating and air services that can fit any budget. We are currently offering financing on new Lennox HVAC systems: up to 60 months with no interest! And ask about our exclusive Comfort Assurance Plan, which provides special benefits and up to 20% off on services. Call us today to schedule your estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Corley Plumbing Air Electric Inc

    At Corley, we focus on skills and relational training for our technicians to give them all the "tools" that they need to be successful. We use a combination of trade organization training programs, in house trainers, and other outside technical classes. Corley provides quality, state of the art equipment such as electronic leak detection, video pipeline inspection systems, and rolling warehouses. Vehicles stocked with most parts needed for the plumbing and electrical service and repair business. All of this is to offer you the services of the best plumbing, air and electric company in Greenville, SC. Also serving Mauldin, Simpsonville, Travelers Rest, Easley, Piedmont & Marietta, SC.  

    Angi Certified

    Southern Home Comfort

    Southern Home Comfort is local and Family owned. We take pride in our work, is it really a job when you love what you do? We are a State Licensed Mechanical Contractor. Certified in many different fields. Owner operated company, which means you don't have to jump through hoops to get issues solved. We have over 15 years of comfort experience. Give us a call  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Commercial & residential HVAC installation and repair.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not service or install for modular homes.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tuck & Howell, Inc

    How is Tuck & Howell, Inc overall rated?

    Tuck & Howell, Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tuck & Howell, Inc open?

    Tuck & Howell, Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Tuck & Howell, Inc provide

    Tuck & Howell, Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express, Discover

    Does Tuck & Howell, Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tuck & Howell, Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Tuck & Howell, Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Tuck & Howell, Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tuck & Howell, Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Tuck & Howell, Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Tuck & Howell, Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tuck & Howell, Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tuck & Howell, Inc?

    Yes, Tuck & Howell, Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Tuck & Howell, Inc offer?

    Tuck & Howell, Inc offers the following services: Commercial & residential HVAC installation and repair.

    Are there any services Tuck & Howell, Inc does not offer?

    We do not service or install for modular homes.