Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists

Founded 1978 • With Angi since June 2006

4.7

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

27 Edwards Lake Dr

Greer, SC 29651

Description

Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists is a local family owned business. We build, install, service, and repair chimneys and solid fuel appliances. We inspect and evaluate chimney and venting systems. We are serious about fire safety and do not install cheap appliances or parts. Our goal is to provide you with a worry free chimney system. We are a small, family owned business. We perform all the work ourselves and do not do any subcontracting. All of our technicians are certified by the Chimney Safety Institute of America and the National Fireplace Institute....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/04/2020


William G.

Ive only been waiting since February of 2019 for a quote have been very polite and called every two months requesting my quote and keep getting promoted it's on the way. Still waiting.

Description of Work
An estimate to repair chimney for leaking and to install an insert to push hot air out into the house.

Category chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

02/12/2018


June L.

They did exactly what they were suppose to do. Inspection before work was very carefully done and well documented. The sweep of inside on chimney was done and care was taken to keep everything clean. I was disappointed that work did not include a good cleaning of the inside open area of fireplace but I agree that description of a sweep does not include that.

Description of Work
Sweep of Chimney; we’re changing fireplace from wood burning to gas logs

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/27/2017


Suzanne G.

Showed up on time, very professional, had modern equipment and gave us a work up of recommended work.

Description of Work
Inspected the fireplace and chimney and gave us an evaluation regarding the condition.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

1.0

05/21/2017


mark V.

Response was quick along with appointment. However estimator was totally unprofessional upon arriving and conducting his work. Got ladder out and attempted to climb to chimneys (wood cedar shake roof which was described before coming) and in process damaged a couple of shakes. Came down and told us that we had a "bad / old" roof. House is 6 years old. Further he said that he was afraid to damage the roof and that it would be costly as will need a "bucket" truck. Persisted that we had a bad roof and old roof. Clearly not professional and was not nice. No, did not pay the $175.

Description of Work
Requested a quote for chimney caps (4). Sent pictures and described the roof. Was willing to pay $175 if they did not do work as it is their policy

Category chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I'm sorry for any miscommunication on my part, and I apologize if I came off as unprofessional or flippant. While some shake roofs are ladder-accessible, yours simply wasn't. In an effort to avoid any damage to your property and any bodily harm to myself, I suggested the lift/bucket truck as an alternative. I understand entirely if you'd prefer to go with another company. Since I was unable to do any work for you, I did not charge anything for my visit. Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate customer feedback, even if it's negative so that we can improve. Sincerely, David Kline Owner Chim Cheree The Chimney Specialists
5.0

08/08/2016


Karen S.

I am a real estate agent representing a buyer. The seller's told us we may have to have a new chimney liner ($4500-$12000 possible cost). I called Chim Cheree and he came out the day I called. He was very honest and knowledgeable about what was needed. He was very thorough in his explanation even going so far as videotaping his explanation so that it could be sent to my out of state client. When I sent his report to my client, my client said "this guy is impressive!" As a real estate professional, I appreciate promptness and honesty. We will be using him to clean the chimney on my buyer's new house and I will definitely use him again in the future! Thank you so much for everything.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and quote.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

07/18/2016


Stephanie S.

We were very pleased. They came out and gave us a good estimate. They said they could come out and fix it and they did!

Description of Work
They waterproofed the brick and built a new cap for our chimney.

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

5.0

03/24/2016


Luther H.

We received a comprehensive report of the inspection. Audio recording of the "debrief" afterwards and dozens of photos documenting everything. They gave us practical, straight forward advice for how to protect the top of the chimney from weather. When we can afford to put an insert in, we will call them back out!

Description of Work
Inspected chimneys and dryer ducts.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,dryer vent cleaning

3.0

02/10/2016


Marsha G.

Inspected chimney. Paid !75.00 for a bunch of pictures. What ever happened to earning business.I already new that we had a leak and obviously was coming from top and around brick on outside.Do yourself a favor and find someone that will give you a free estimate.

Description of Work
inspected chimney

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney repair

5.0

11/09/2014


Philip K.

They were on time, smart and informative without being overbearing, and performed their job professionally. They even cleaned and repaired another problem I had while at the house. I was impressed with their knowledge and professionalism.

Description of Work
chimney inspection and cleaning. dryer vent cleaning and repair

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

5.0

07/25/2014


Claire S.

They arrived a few minutes early, which was great! I had to stay home from work this morning in order to meet with them so it got me to the office a little earlier than I anticipated. Before David stepped foot in the door, he covered his shoes in order to keep my floors clean. He examined the fireplace itself, took some photos, and went to the roof to examine the top of the chimney as well. When he was done, he came back inside to explain his findings and show me the photos. He even recorded everything we discussed so I can share it with my husband later - it is really nice they do that because there is no way I could have remembered all of those details. They will be emailing me suggestions on how to fix the chimney/fireplace (it needs to be completely replaced after improper initial installation and 25 years of total neglect). I will definitely be using them to replace the entire system when we are financially prepared to do so.

Description of Work
They provided a thorough inspection of my 25-year-old chimney.

Category chimney sweep

    Other local Pros in your area

    Leon Masonry

    We specialize in foundations, new construction bricking, and making brick arches. We also offer mini projects like brick encased mailboxes, brick columns, and brick fire places. We take the time to make sure everything is right the first time. We have 10 years of experience in both residential and commercial masonry.  

    Dryer Vent Wizard of Upstate SC

    Homeowners with clogged dryer vents typically experience longer dryer cycles resluting in $18-$24 more per month in energy costs. Additionally, over 15,000 dryer fires occur each year, with failure to clean being the leading factor. The trained professionals at Dryer Vent Wizard specialize in cleaning, repairing, altering, and installing dryer vent lines. It's all we do, so we have the right knowledge, tools, and techniques to do the job right. An informed decision is the best decision... Download our Dryer Fire Warning Signs. To schedule an appointment contact (864)607-9002  

    Prime Concrete Solutions LLC

    Prime Concrete Solutions is a family owned business created to ensure quality work and our top priority is to ensure our clients our satisfied satisfy with the end results. Creating a direct relation that will give us a better north to continue growing day by day.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We build and install quality fireplaces and outdoor fire features. We sweep fireplace and solid fuel appliance chimneys. We sell and install quality wood burning inserts and stoves. We renovate, repair, and rebuild deteriorating chimney structures. We inspect fireplace and chimney systems, then explain them to you so you understand what's going on. We fix leaking chimneys! All of our installations and repairs are backed up with our 10 year worry free guarantee.

    Services Not Offered

    We are not roofers or carpenters. We do not sell cheap products or parts. We do not do shoddy work, or cut corners to lower your costs and compromise your safety.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists

    How is Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists overall rated?

    Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists open?

    Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists provide

    Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists offer free estimates?

    No, Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists offer a senior discount?

    No, Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists?

    Yes, Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists offers warranties.

    What services does Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists offer?

    Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists offers the following services: We build and install quality fireplaces and outdoor fire features. We sweep fireplace and solid fuel appliance chimneys. We sell and install quality wood burning inserts and stoves. We renovate, repair, and rebuild deteriorating chimney structures. We inspect fireplace and chimney systems, then explain them to you so you understand what's going on. We fix leaking chimneys! All of our installations and repairs are backed up with our 10 year worry free guarantee.

    Are there any services Chim Cheree, The Chimney Specialists does not offer?

    We are not roofers or carpenters. We do not sell cheap products or parts. We do not do shoddy work, or cut corners to lower your costs and compromise your safety.