Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gilstrap Roofing

Founded 1935 • With Angi since June 2006

4.5

(53) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1512 Easley Bridge Rd.

Greenville, SC 29611

Description

Gilstrap Roofing, Inc. has been serving Greenville, Spartanburg, Anderson, Laurens, and the rest of Upstate South Carolina for over 75 years; longer than any other roofing contractor accredited by the Better Business Bureau. Our company has spanned across four generations of the Gilstrap family, and we still hold the same values today as we did back when our company was founded in 1935. No individual or company is perfect, but we have always done our best to keep our customers happy and fix any problems that may arise as quickly as possible. Our dedication to complete customer satisfaction is the reason why a large portion of our business comes from previous customers or referrals. Our experienced team provides a range of repair and replacement services for residential, commercial, and industrial customers. We are skilled in shingle roofs, metal roofs, and flat roofs and can handle any size project. If you are looking for a full-service roofing contractor that has extensive experience and who is fully licensed, bonded, and insured, look no further than Gilstrap Roofing. Your satisfaction is our ultimate goal....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

12/24/2021


Craig S.

Found one leak immediately after work was done and they did a good job responding and fixing the leak. However, they left a hole in the roof elsewhere where flashing was not installed correctly. This should have been found by their inspection after the work was done. That hole resulted in water coming down through a wall which caused significant damage to our main level wood floor and basement ceiling tiles. This water damage was not discovered until 6 years after installation—a year after the workmanship warranty had expired. I called them to fix it and they sent someone out promptly but their estimate to repair was too high. I called them back and asked if they could lower their quote considering the very poor workmanship and resulting damage to our house. They never called me back. I got someone else to do it and saved 30%.

Description of Work
Re-roof entire house

Category roofing

4.0

11/24/2018


Paul S.

A tube of caulk and $250 later ---they said their base price for coming out was $250!!!

Description of Work
A leak at a joint on roof

Category roofing

2.0

08/24/2018


Phil S.

Employee reviewed work. Never heard from him again.

Description of Work
Needed roof repair

Category roofing

1.0

10/29/2017


John V.

Not well. Called the contact number on 10/23/17 in the AM and it was an answering service not the owner or office. Explained the problem to the person who advised me the message would be forwarded to the office and someone would call me back.Did not receive a call back. Called again on 10/24/17 in the AM spoke to a different person from the answering service and explained the problem all over again. No call back at all. I picked the contractor because of Angie's list and the high rating they have. Not impressed at all. Would not attempt to hire them in the future. Bad service. Used someone else for the job.

Description of Work
Had two leaks in the roof around vent pipes. One leak was bad enough to show and wet the sheet rock ceiling of one of our bathrooms starting to cause damage.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear homeowner, We looked in our records and we did attempt to reach you on 10 23, the same day that you had called in originally. We attempted to reach you again after second call in, but we were unable to leave a voicemail. If you would like, I can provide you with documentation of this if you e-mail me at brian at gilstraproofing.com. Thanks, Brian Gilstrap
2.0

08/30/2017


James I.

Not well at all. They only want to do whole roof repairs. I feel this is their right but they should explain that in the initial contact instead of a week later. I see this as very unprofessional. I do not think I would want that kind of company working on my roof anyway.

Description of Work
I have a small area about 3 sq. ft. that needs to be repaired. After calling the first time I never got a response. After a month I called again, and a week later one of their employees called to come out and give me an estimate on the repair, i had talk with the office worker about. On the phone he stated they do not have the man power to come out and do a small job like mine. I am very disappointed about this and wish the office worker had told me they only do big jobs and can not take the time to do a small job.

Category roofing

5.0

08/08/2017


Dorothy S.

Gilstrap Roofing was excellent from beginning to end. The inspection was scheduled within a few days of my initial inquiry. Chase London arrived promptly, evaluated the roof, and provided a complete written estimate. I contacted two other companies. One company's estimate was very high. The other company's estimate was comparable, but it came with a 2-year guarantee on workmanship whereas Gillstrap offered a 5-year guarantee. The workmen arrived early in the morning and worked diligently until evening. The work was completed in two days. The property was swept clean of all debris and nails. All in all, an excellent experience.

Description of Work
I needed to replace the roof on my house.

Category roofing

4.0

08/07/2017


Charles P.

We had two leaks. One still leaks, will have to get them back

Description of Work
leak in roof over attached porch

Category roofing

5.0

04/26/2017


Donna T.

Excellent service from start to finish. They handled everything. All the paperwork and the roofers were considerate and courteous. Reasonably priced. I have recommended them to several friends and family.

Description of Work
Replaced roofing and repaired and replaced gutter from hail damage

Category roofing

5.0

04/13/2017


Chuck T.

The roofing company came out the same day I called. he found the problem and corrected it.

Description of Work
I had a leak in my roof that caused water to run down my ceiling and into my family room during heavy storms.

Category roofing

5.0

02/20/2017


Jennifer L.

Brilliantly. The team was friendly and professional from the first call to book an appointment through the work provided.

Description of Work
Small leak in the roof caused by worn out caulking at vent pipes. They also cleaned up the dead valley part of the roof so it wouldn't cause leaks in the future.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Cantey Foundation Specialists

    Cantey Foundation Specialists is a trusted foundation repair company providing residential foundation repair, crawl space repair, wood rot replacement, and concrete slab leveling throughout South Carolina and Augusta, Georgia area. Our focus is to provide homeowners with permanent, affordable solutions for their damaged foundation. As a locally owned and operated company, we give our clients the personalized service they deserve when it comes to maintaining a secure foundation and a safe home.  

    Davis Contracting

    Davis Contracting is a licensed and insured professional roofing company in Greenville SC that has served Spartanburg, Anderson, Greer, and the surrounding areas for over 15 years. From windows to siding to roofing, we offer professional building envelope services for residential and commercial applications. We want to help you with any roof repair services you may need by offering a FREE Home Inspection. 5% off for all Angie's List members.  

    Offers by Davis Contracting on Angi
    Quantum Roofing Company

    Call today for Roofing services.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    $75
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We provide shingle roofing, metal roofing, low slope roofing, roof coatings, roof repairs, vinyl siding, gutter replacement, gutter covers, and window replacement for residential, commercial, and industrial applications. Estimates for replacements and storm damage inspections are free, roof repairs and general inspections are subject to minimum trip or service charges. Five year workmanship warranty on all roof replacements. No warranty available on repairs/maintenance.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gilstrap Roofing

    How is Gilstrap Roofing overall rated?

    Gilstrap Roofing is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Gilstrap Roofing open?

    Gilstrap Roofing is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Gilstrap Roofing provide

    Gilstrap Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Gilstrap Roofing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Gilstrap Roofing offers free project estimates.

    Does Gilstrap Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Gilstrap Roofing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Gilstrap Roofing offer a senior discount?

    No, Gilstrap Roofing does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Gilstrap Roofing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Gilstrap Roofing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Gilstrap Roofing?

    Yes, Gilstrap Roofing offers warranties.

    What services does Gilstrap Roofing offer?

    Gilstrap Roofing offers the following services: We provide shingle roofing, metal roofing, low slope roofing, roof coatings, roof repairs, vinyl siding, gutter replacement, gutter covers, and window replacement for residential, commercial, and industrial applications. Estimates for replacements and storm damage inspections are free, roof repairs and general inspections are subject to minimum trip or service charges. Five year workmanship warranty on all roof replacements. No warranty available on repairs/maintenance.