Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina

Founded 1995 • With Angi since August 2010

4.5

(149) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2570 N Pleasantburg Dr

Greenville, SC 29609

Description

Aire Serv Heating & Air Conditioning can provide many services to keep you and your family comfortable. A few of the products and services we can provide for your heating, cooling and indoor air quality needs are service and repair, system maintenance, advantage member plans, replacement & installation, guarantees, air cleaning and purification, indoor air quality, heating, air conditioning and indoor air quality products, and commercial services for your business. Our exclusive written guarantees are designed to protect you and your home Request a free home estimate, design your own heating and cooling system, shop for filters or accessories online, request an in-home aire quality survey....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/15/2018


Robert M.

It went fine - identified a couple things on the upstairs HVAC unit and tested both systems

Description of Work
Preventative Maintenance check up ob both ac/heat systems

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/11/2018


Ken B.

It took him awhile to get through all the testing but the repairman found the problem to be a faulty condenser. He replaced the unit, adjusted the price to get a credit for the service call. He was prompt and did a great job to locate the problem. (2 of their repairmen came out 6 months before that and fixed the problem but didn't actually fix the cause). The company did make an adjustment in the repair costs.

Description of Work
Repair AC Unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

05/16/2018


Charles P.

It went well, they got the job done in one day, which considering that they had to take out the folding stairs unit out in order to get the old unit out of the attic, was quite an effort.

Description of Work
replaced existing HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

04/16/2018


Kristin E.

I posed a previous review praising Air Serv as we were pleased with the installation of the new unit. Since Aug 2015, they have had to come out numerous times to fix the brand new unit. We keep being told something wasn't done correctly at the installation. This latest issue is out of warranty, so they want us to pay $1200 for repair. This is a unit that is less than 3 years old. We should not be at the point of having it repaired 3 or 4 times already.

Description of Work
Air conditioning repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

01/03/2018


joe S.

Called at 8:30 this morning for an appointment. They said someone would call back with an appt. time. Never heard anything so I called back at 4:30. After leaving me on hold for 10 minutes she came on and it would be Saturday before they could come out....this is Wed. 1/3/18 !!! These folks are obviously not very responsive......WOULD NOT USE !!!!!

Description of Work
furnace repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/18/2017


Marjorie T.

It went very well. Very professional and through.

Description of Work
Annual maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/22/2017


Marjorie T.

He was very through and professional

Description of Work
Air conditioner inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/16/2017


Karen F.

They did a good job. However, the Aire Serv employee who was in charge of my project accepted a position with another company. I haven't decided what to do yet.

Description of Work
They redid the duct system in the crawl space to eliminate kinks, taped some places that were "open" and installed an air purifier, returning for testing until good readings were obtained.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

08/16/2017


MIKE S.

Horrible! They showed up quickly, told us the compressor was locked up etc, and it would be cheaper to install an entire new unit for $4400. We waited for a 2nd opinion and thank god we did. Repair was a $12 part and now it is cooling perfectly. They tried to rip off an old lady and they still want $70 for the initial visit. A- rating means nothing ladies. Don't trust these guys.

Description of Work
Mother in law's AC stopped cooling during heat wave. Regular AC guy had a 3 day wait. Called Aireserv as they were A-rated.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

The issues with the unit upon our arrival were that the contactor had burned, the capacitor was below tolerance and the compressor was showing "open". The compressor may have become operable with component changes and time to completely cool. However, once a compressor has been through this stress, failure becomes very likely. Due to the age of the equipment we did not believe the COMPLETE repair cost could be financially justified. The replacement of the contactor alone would be a temporary repair, as the other indications were that the unit would fail on other components soon. Therefore, we quoted a replacement unit, in what we believe top be your best financial interest. We pride ourselves on performing a complete diagnosis of the entire system and proposing long term solutions to keep our customers from having multiple repairs, down time and wasting their money on "band aid" repairs.
2.0

08/06/2017


john H.

Our upstairs HVAC unit is in the attic, and it was very hot. I attempted to make things better by setting up a fan that only circulated hot air after noon and keeping the workers supplied with ice water. In short, the working conditions were horrible. The replacement took all day, and the workers were under a time crunch as we were leaving for a trip. After the workers had left, I went up to inspect their work. I found that the taping of the new unit to the existing duct work left gaps. They had cut a 2"x4" that was part of the ladder used to access the unit and had failed to repair it. While climbing the ladder and grabbing the cut 2"x4" at the top of the ladder would have resulted in a 10 foot fall. Most disturbing, however, was that they failed to attach the exhaust flue from the furnace to the vent exiting through the roof. Had it been winter rather than summer, the carbon monoxide from the furnace would have vented into the attic above an upstairs bedroom. When we returned from our trip, I called for an inspection of the work which happened the next day, and it was a week before the corrections were completed. The technician who completed the work was very thorough spending about two hours completing the work. Summary: I think that we purchased a good HVAC system, but the failure to vent the furnace properly and the potential of carbon monoxide accumulating in the attic is sufficiently troubling to give Aire Serv of Greenville a low rating.

Description of Work
Replaced upstairs HVAC unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We agree, and we deserve this low rating in this incidence. This is not our standard nor the expectation of our installation team. No matter the working conditions and the tight dead line we should not have left this dangerous condition. Our apologies. We believe we have corrected the issues to your satisfaction.
2.0

07/13/2017


Nickie V.

I was very disappointed in the professionalism of the staff managing the phones. The technicians were great-- prompt, respectful, and seemed to get the job done. But the phone staff not only quoted me incorrect prices, but had a terrible attitude when discussing pricing. They were accusatory and disrespectful to me as a customer. Not to mention, they are extremely over-priced for a commercial business. $35 JUST for driving out to your property, and then $150 an hour regardless of how much of the hour is spent. Even if they spend 5 minutes at your business to tell you that nothing is wrong, you'll still be charged the $150. I do not recommend this business.

Description of Work
A/C looked at.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I apologize for the rudeness of our staff. There is no excuse for this behavior. Often it is difficult to police the behavior of each employee on a daily basis, particularly during our busiest season. Our own survey of our competitors indicate that our commercial service rates are below that of most of our competitors in the area. However our employee evidently must have not communicated our rates to you correctly. Our commercial rate is $115 per hour, not the $150 you stated.
4.0

06/26/2017


Drew W.

Advised me to replaced my entire system.

Description of Work
Inspect HVAC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/17/2017


Diana P.

Great! I told them I would give them a call to come out and do the furnace this Fall. They were very nice, very knowledgeable and I would use them again. She told me I could get the furnace without the carbon monoxide, I could probably get it for about $69, which is pretty standard I think for what most people have around here. I've seen some people advertise for about $69. I also know the carbon monoxide, because I had one, this gave me a second one, those things are not cheap. They are $20 - $25 to buy one, a decent one. I thought the price was very fair. Their work was good. I was very pleased with them. They got a hold of me fine, it was me that dropped the ball. It wasn't them. They got a hold of me. I had the holidays coming up and I forgot about it. They didn't have to, but they reached out and still honored it and gave me the air conditioner one. To me, that says a lot about them. He was right here when he said he was going to be. She told me I could just purchase another special online through Angie's List. I told her I was going to. I would say they are very good. I would definitely call them again. I plan on having them come out for the Fall for the furnace. She even told me they could check the fireplace. They can show me how to even use the fireplace. I have been here for 5 years and I don't even know how to use it.

Description of Work
We didn't hook up in time for the furnace, but they came out and did the air conditioner and the carbon monoxide.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/05/2017


Brian C.

Aire Serv did a great job for me. Tuned up my main AC unit. I expected more charges but everything checked out fine. Thanks! The technician ran short of time, due to the rain. He could only get to one of the units and said they would follow up the next day to reschedule. Unfortunately, they did not follow up and I've not had the second unit completed.

Description of Work
Tune up two AC units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

05/30/2017


Amberly C.

The tech was nice and professional. He seemed to take care of things. However, he said that my capacitor was bad and gave me a quote of $200. He asked if I wanted to change it on the spot. I said that I was going to wait. I called the company that did my A/C tuneup last year (and installed a new capacitor) to get another quote and they asked me why the guy didn't go ahead and change it on the spot -- "the capacitors only cost about $10." So now I'm going to pay for that company to come out and do a repair that could have been done by the other company for another $10, if it really needed to be done at all. It's now the end of the summer and my A/C has been strong all summer. I feel like this "deal" was just a way to get in and upsell me. I'm not very happy.

Description of Work
I bought an A/C tune-up for $69 thinking it was a good price.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/30/2017


Jack S.

On time, called before he arrived, no issues

Description of Work
AC checkup for the summer

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

05/18/2017


Amanda G.

It took them a while to finally come out. When they came out, the first thing he said was that I needed a new unit, and today, they called back with a quote for a new unit as well. He’d also found a lot of other issues that were supposedly wrong. And he very unprofessional and said they only get $14 from the $69 deal. I was trying to talk to their customer service dept and asking some questions. The women I was speaking to ended up hanging up on me. She was pretty defensive. The tech that came out to the house yesterday said I needed to purchase parts in order for him to run some tests. I didn’t know any better, and ended up being charged $350 for cheap parts, which I found out later only cost about $15. He was also quick to point out that he'd credit the $350 toward a new unit, if I chose to purchase a new system through them. If, I would still owe them the $350 for the parts. He started talking about new units, and how Aire Serv offered annual maintenance packages; etc. A friend of mine, who’s an HVAC tech as well, was the one that informed me. According to his tests; we needed a new compressor. I'm just going to ask a friend of mine who works in the industry to come out and check out our system. I feel like they were trying to take advantage of us. They were slow setting up the initial service call and it hasn't gotten any better from there. I’m trying to get them to send the tech out to pick up the parts that I don’t want. My wife even made the point that they didn't perform the 22 point tune-up because the tech had determined that our machine didn't work. The grade for price includes the deal price and the extra parts cost.

Description of Work
They came out for an HVAC tune-up. It had stopped blowing out cold air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/23/2017


Wayne A.

The results of the inspection were not exactly what I had hoped for but I now have a real understanding of the condition of my unit. Technician checked all wiring and connections and cleaned coils and checked compressor and added some refrigerant to the unit. AireServ did an outstanding job of helping me to better understand the condition of my A/C unit and to make a more timely evaluation on life expectancy of my unit. Recommended new system soon.

Description of Work
Inspection of A/C unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/15/2017


Kerry H.

Was prompt and helpful. Did not try to "up sell" me and was very professional. Will continue to use for maintenance of our system.

Description of Work
Furnace inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/10/2017


Joe F.

Went well. He got air flowing through the bedroom after he spotted a blockage. Air has been working well every since he did the work.

Description of Work
Tune up of air conditioning unit before summer starts.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

03/22/2017


Justin B.

Very professional and quick service

Description of Work
Capacitor replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

03/20/2017


charles H.

Service was supposed to include a new filter but the tech "forgot" it. It's 20"X20" which is very common. Tech told me my AC unit wasn't working at all, seems the switch was set to heat. When set to AC it miraculously started working. Told me my capacitor was bad but when I asked how the compressor was turning on he changed it to "probably going to go bad real soon." I declined the $172 repair. Would not use these folks again

Description of Work
Hvac checkup

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/10/2017


Joel T.

They came, evaluated and gave an estimate on one day and did the work the next. All three technicians were professional and as they found additional problems, fixed it without additional cost. They spent 6 hours total working on the system and even replaced the air filters. I would recommend them again!

Description of Work
We needed duct work done for the two systems in my house. We just bought this house 5 weeks ago and have been trying to bring everything to code.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/19/2017


Bruce B.

Great communication, punctual, business oriented, friendly, service detailed. Will use again!

Description of Work
2 HVAC units serviced/checked, changed filters, installed carbon monoxide detectors.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

01/17/2017


Mark C.

The duct work was not ideally suited to the design of the humidifier, but they made it work. The first one was DOA and they had to come back to put in the second unit. The second one has worked very will.

Description of Work
Air Serve installed a whole house humidifier.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Harbin Electric

     

    Upstate Electrical Solutions LLC

    Upstate Electrical Solutions specializes in Residential Electrical Repair in the Greenville, SC area. While other electrical contractors are going after larger new construction electrical jobs, wiring homes and commercial buildings, our electricians focus on fast response times to your electrical repair need. We can handle any electrical repair for your home. That's all we do! Our mission is simple: provide you, the homeowner, with the highest level of customer service while making electrical repairs and installations that are safe, reliable, and cost appropriate for your budget. Please read some of our customer reviews. Upstate Electrical Solutions is the electrician to call in Greenville when you need fast and reliable service that comes with upfront pricing and a 100% money back guarantee. We make sure every customer is completely happy before we accept payment for our service. All prices are put in writing before any work is performed and our electricians will explain what repairs are needed in easy to understand terms so you know exactly what you are paying for. Upstate Electrical Solutions provides electrical services for Greenville, Mauldin, Simpsonville, Taylors, Greer, Fountain Inn, Berea, Traveler's Rest, and Piedmont.  

    Integrity plumbing of the upstate

    We specialize in plumbing services, repairs, inspections, installations, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    96408
    Trade License Locale
    South Carolina
    Trade License Authority
    South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
    Trade License Expiration
    03/25/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating & air conditioning - service, replacement & installation, heat pumps, extended warranties.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina

    How is Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina overall rated?

    Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina open?

    Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

    What payment options does Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina provide

    Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offer free estimates?

    Yes, Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offers free project estimates.

    Does Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offer emergency services?

    Yes, Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina?

    Yes, Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offers warranties.

    What services does Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offer?

    Aire Serv of Upstate South Carolina offers the following services: Heating & air conditioning - service, replacement & installation, heat pumps, extended warranties.