Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES

Founded 1971 • With Angi since August 2008

4.9

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9801 DUNBARTON DR

Columbia, SC 29223

Description

3 EMPLOYEES. USES SUBS FOR TRADES. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO ADDITIONAL TRAVEL CHARGES. SERVICE FEE OF $75.00 APPLIES AS OF 8/26/08. MAY CONTACT THROUGH E-MAIL. ADDITIONAL DBA: CAROLINA WRECKING INC, 141 COURT RD COLUMBIA SC 29203. LICENSE #'S G110238; M107899.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/09/2014


Wendy D.

everything went as planned

Description of Work
installed a drop in ceiling & painted existing grid.

Category concrete repair

5.0

12/22/2013


CHARLES M.

Replace windows, Doors, Interior repair.

Description of Work
Replace windows, Doors, Interior repair.

Category drywall, replacement windows, doors

5.0

10/30/2012


Sherry K.

Prompt, and worked very hard.

Description of Work
poured concrete and cleaned up afterward.

Category concrete repair

5.0

08/04/2012


Grant W.

Mr. Mitchum investigated as to why my driveway collapsed and suggested determining and correcting the cause rather than just replacing what was broken. I had other contractors give me a price to fix what was broken but did not offer or suggest trying to find out why it happened and correct it.

Description of Work
Inspected cracked/broken section of driveway to determine cause of concrete failure. Found that the driveway concrete collapsed due to improperly installed sewer cleanout. Removed broken concrete section, back-filled and compacted and poured new concrete. While excavating and removing old concrete a leaking water line was discovered and repaired.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, remodeling

5.0

07/30/2012


Josh D.

They did very good and had a good service. They responded, answered questions and calls. I was pleased overall. They weren't the cheapest.

Description of Work
MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES did a garage concrete slab.

Category concrete repair

5.0

05/14/2012


Dena B.

I called a few contractors and he wasn't the cheapest but he wasn't the most expensive either.

Description of Work
Mitchum Construction Services did some repairs on my home.

Category remodeling

4.0

04/20/2012


CLEM C.

They did competitively good work. I don't have any complaints.

Description of Work
Mitchum Construction Services did repair work on my walk way.

Category concrete driveways

4.0

03/30/2012


Steven L.

They seemed like nice guys. They were prompt and professional, coming out the same day I called. I would use them again for another quote. I don't know if I would actually use their services because their pricing was so high.

Description of Work
I used Mitchum Construction Services. They gave me a quote last summer to put a concrete floor in my shed. The quote was exorbitantly high, a lot more than I wanted to spend.

Category concrete repair

5.0

08/22/2011


Edward R.

It went very well. Mr. Mitchum and his guys were prompt and punctual and the job was done right so far as the concrete itself was concerned. Mr. Mitchum had to call his guys to come back and fill in the dirt around the concrete after the wooden forms were removed and they did - up to a point. I still had to fill in some myself, though. And the price was not cheap although it was worth it to us to have the job done right. I would definitely recommend them and use them again myself if they were available.

Description of Work
We had Mr. Mitchum replace the concrete on the upper part of our driveway where the old concrete was cracking and peeling.

Category concrete repair

5.0

05/05/2011


Carole T.

Excellent job

Description of Work
Concrete slab 20X16 - Robert came out and gave me an estimate, brought has crew. They did the work and the clean up was excellent and up to this point, I am completely satisfied with the job. I would recommend them for paving needs.

Category concrete repair

5.0

09/09/2010


warren H.

Excellent

Description of Work
Mr Mitchum saved us a great deal of money by telling us that the company that originally put in our driveway should redo it because it was not installed according to code.. I would certainly choose him because of his integrity and ability Because of the money we saved by the original company having to redo the driveway (which we would not have known had he not told us) we were able to get other work done which he handled. Her is a general contractor.

Category concrete repair

5.0

02/09/2010


Jamie K.

The reason I chose them was because they were located close by and they had good rating on Angieslist. They were very prompt in returning my phone call. They came out when they said they would come. They were very nice and their quote was reasonable.

Description of Work
They gave me a quote for putting in a patio and laying the cement and stamping the concrete. I will be going ahead with them.

Category concrete repair

5.0

06/27/2009


warren H.

I can recommend Mr. Mitchum without reservation for any kind of house building or home improvement project. He is a person of great integrity with great expertise, character and ability. We called him to inspect and possible repair driveway damage resulting from a poor installation. On inspection, he informed us that the driveway installer had not done the installation properly according to building inspection codes. He instructed us to call our local government inspector saying we should not have to pay for the repair since the original installer need to do the driveway in compliance with building codes. He could have easily persuaded us to let him do the work instead and we would have not known the difference. At his behest we are now working with our local code enforcers, who confirmed that the work was NOT done according to code, to have the work done over by the original installer.We then asked Mr. Mitchum to make a recommendation on upgrading our kitchen counters. He arranged for a tile person who works for him to install marble kitchen counters and tumbled marble back splash areas which are spectacular and superb workmanship. I would recommend Mr. Mitchum and anyone he recommends for any home building or home improvement project.

Description of Work
We called Mr. Mitchum to inspect a driveway defect and to give us an estimate on the repair. We subsequently hired a tile person who works for him to tile our kitchen counters and back splash areas and to replace kitchen sink, etc.

Category remodeling

5.0

08/06/2008


John F.

He did a really good job. He was really nit picky. He completed the work in the time he said he would and stayed within the budget. I would recommend highly recommend him to others.

Description of Work
He put in a new concrete driveway. He fixed up an old deck where we were having draining problems. He put on a stucco finish on top of the deck to finish it off. He then built in a screened in porch on top of that. The roof had to be put on at an awkward angle due to the chimney. He also did some exterior painting and made other repairs as well.

Category concrete driveways, deck cleaning, stucco, house painters, sunrooms

    Other local Pros in your area

    Precise Drywall & Painting

    HI, my name is Scott and I have been in business for six years, but I have over 15 years experience in Drywall and Painting. I also do home improvements and remodels. i am a licensed and insured. My work speaks volumes. I also give discounts to senior citizens as well as military and first time clients.  

    Angi Certified

    CertaPro Painters of Columbia, South Carolina

    Additional DBA - CertaPro Painters Ltd. Independently owned & operated. Residential & Commercial. Serving Blythewood, Cayce, Irmo, Lexington, West Columbia, Columbia, Richland County, Lexington County, Lake Murray, Arcadia Lakes, Lake Carolina, Spring Valley, Wildwood, Elgin, Pontiac & Chapin.  

    Angi Certified

    Keller's Residential Services

    With over 25 years of painting experience, here to help you with all your painting and handyman service needs you may have.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    ASK FOR DETAILS
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL CONSTRUCTION & GENERAL CONTRACTING, DEMOLITION, NEW CONSTRUCTION, HOME REPAIR & REMODELING, PAVING, CONCRETE FOUNDATIONS & FLATWORK.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES

    How is MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES overall rated?

    MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES open?

    MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES provide

    MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offer free estimates?

    No, MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES does not offer free project estimates.

    Does MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offer a senior discount?

    No, MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES does not offer a senior discount.

    Does MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offer emergency services?

    Yes, MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES?

    Yes, MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offers warranties.

    What services does MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offer?

    MITCHUM CONSTRUCTION SERVICES offers the following services: RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL CONSTRUCTION & GENERAL CONTRACTING, DEMOLITION, NEW CONSTRUCTION, HOME REPAIR & REMODELING, PAVING, CONCRETE FOUNDATIONS & FLATWORK.