Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Howard Water System

Founded 1990 • With Angi since April 2011

4.2

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O. Box 81106

Charleston, SC 29416

Description

Serving Coastal SC from the Georgia border on both sides of I-95 to Manning, SC to McClellanville. We install water well systems and water treatment systems. We install shallow wells and deep wells up to 650' deep. Residential, Commercial, Mobile Home, Modular, Irrigation, Solar Water Well Systems,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
William W.
1.0
01/21/2019
I have had several technical problems with the R.O. system over the years (not due to his work, just wear and tear I think). Preston will not return to fix anything. I paid him for an electrical switch for which he never showed up to install. I have called him a dozen times: half the time he doesn't answer, the other times he would say he would be here on a certain day and never show up. As I write this review, I have been waiting on him for almost one week and as of this morning have no water in my R.O. tank or in my house. I have practiced medicine for over 40 years. if I treated my patients like he treats his clients, I would not have a single patient remaining in my practice.
Description of Work
Preston Howard put in a deep well and installed a reverse osmosis water system for me 7 years ago. The initial work was done well. His prices are cheaper than some other water companies.
Category
wells
Wendy W.
5.0
07/01/2017
Preston Howard did a fabulous job! Mr. Howard was very responsive and his work was so neat and professional. I highly recommend him for any well work you need!
Description of Work
Howard Water Systems installed a well for me.
Category
wells
John C.
1.0
06/24/2017
Friendly, apparently competent. Work on pump completed as well as 2 pvc check valves replaced. Pressure switch continues to malfunction, especially when showering. Preston. Told me me no less than 5 times he would make good on his failed repair. He never showed. He admitted that there was no money in fixing his failed repair. Preston, in my opinion, has little integrity. If he does not get the job right the first time, do not count on him to get it right, ever.
Description of Work
Pressure switch on well pump worked erratically. Requested Preston's expertise to effect repair.
Category
wells
Sharon S.
1.0
03/22/2016
unknown
Description of Work
They never returned my call. That was after two calls.
Category
irrigation systems
Gregory W.
5.0
11/03/2015
unknown
Category
irrigation systems, wells
Nikki L.
5.0
09/30/2015
Everything was done very professionally and neatly.
Description of Work
Preston made two shallow wells for us and did a superb job. He helped us think through our needs and provided options and recommendations for our rural water source.
Category
wells
chris H.
1.0
09/01/2015
He neglected to call back, as we had to try to chase him down. After several phone calls over the time span of about a week, we gave up trying to have him come service our well pump. He may do quality work, but alas we'll never know because he never gave us the courtesy of saying he couldn't make it to our house or even return a phone call.
Description of Work
We contacted Howard Water systems multiple times to see about coming to repair our well pump.
Category
water softeners, wells

Service Provider Response

I give priority service to my customers. This was not one of my jobs and I can't do every repair that comes in. This review is inaccurate as well. We spoke on the phone a couple of times and I told him I would call if I had a free afternoon to check his well. I did not.
Loren H.
5.0
02/18/2015
We were very pleased with his service and price. He was most helpful in providing the proper HP motor/pump unit for this particular job as the unit originally installed was not adequate for the job and never worked properly. Now the water system is working great. He also did some re-piping in the pump house as the original piping was not good as it included an extra pressure switch and valve not needed that were causing poor operation between the two tanks. The installation was at my son’s (Keith Hagen) home: 129 Felder Branch Ln, Summerville, SC 29483
Description of Work
Repair & installation of water pumps & tanks. Re-piping.
Category
wells
Andrew H.
5.0
10/24/2014
Very good experience. He know what he was doing, we quick, efficient and friendly.
Description of Work
Installed an irrigation well
Category
wells
Loren H.
4.0
07/22/2014
When Preston got in touch with me he was able to find a pump and put it in the next day. He did not arrive until the afternoon. I feel that he could have been there in the morning and pulled the old pump so he would be ready when the new one was delivered. He did a great job of getting the old plumbing under control and done correctly along with setting the new pressure switch so the pump ran while there is demand instead of cycling on and off.
Description of Work
He replaced our well pump
Category
wells
Edward C.
5.0
02/12/2014
Perfect job.
Description of Work
Replace well tank.
Category
wells
JUDY AND ALLEN K.
5.0
05/15/2013
The overall experience was great. First I obtained a quote. Then I had to request approval from my local Home Owners Association (which I got). Then I spoke to the references. One of the nearby references even asked if I would like to look at his installation, which I did and was pleased with what I saw. Then I scheduled the drilling and they started one day and completed the next day. They cleaned up the grass area where the actual well point is located and not all I see from the outside is a couple of small PVC pipes going in and out of the garage side. The pump was very professionally installed in the garage and the area is now cleaner than it was when they started! Nice job, Preston and Dave!
Description of Work
Preston and Dave drilled a well to provide water for my lawn irrigation system. They drilled the well, disconnected my irrigation system from the city water, attached to the well, and installed the pump in the corner of my detached garage. Preston provided my with a quote first, and then did the work. He was very clear and straightforward in explaining what he was going to do and did exactly that. He provided me with at least five local references where he had done similar work, and they were all very pleased with him. Now, with my completed well, I am very pleased also. I was concerned that he might not find enough water but he drilled 53 feet and found a great source of water for me. My largest irrigation zone uses about 12 gallons per minute and it has no trouble keeping it going.
Category
irrigation systems, wells
Greg L.H. I.
5.0
01/19/2013
unknown
Description of Work
A good experience all around.
Category
wells
Carroll D.
1.0
12/26/2012
no work done
Description of Work
no work done
Category
wells

Service Provider Response

I did no work for this person. Apparently they wanted me to. I try but I can't do every job.
Carla H.
5.0
09/25/2011
unknown
Category
wells

Service Provider Response

Thank You member
Renee C.
5.0
04/20/2011
The man knows his stuff and did an excellent job. There were no problems whatsoever.
Description of Work
Howard Water System put in a well.
Category
wells

Service Provider Response

Thank You member

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tradewinds Landscape and Irrigation

    Outdoor living specialist focusing on any project on the outside of the home, from lawn maintenance to full landscape design and installation. Other areas of expertise include irrigation installation and maintenance, low-voltage landscape lighting installation and service, paver installation, lawn maintenance, drainage assessment and installation and installation of turf to name only a few of the services offered. Over 25 years of experience in all aspects of landscape design, installation and maintenance.  

    Angi Certified

    Coastal Empire Water

    Coastal Empire Water is bringing healthy clean water to the south! We offer complete financing ~ No money down  

    Angi Certified

    A.R.H. Landscaping

    We have been in business since 1998. We specialize in lawn maintenance, tree service, hardscaping and concrete work. We have a very professional crew and pride ourselves on being the best in the business. Give us a call or text and we'll be happy to serve you from there.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Via Phone or Visit
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Shallow & deep water well drilling for existing & new systems including: drinking water, irrigation & geothermal use, water treatments, water filters & existing well repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    NA.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Howard Water System

    How is Howard Water System overall rated?

    Howard Water System is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Howard Water System open?

    Howard Water System is open:

    Sunday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Howard Water System provide

    Howard Water System accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Howard Water System offer free estimates?

    No, Howard Water System does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Howard Water System offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Howard Water System offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Howard Water System offer a senior discount?

    No, Howard Water System does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Howard Water System offer emergency services?

    Yes, Howard Water System offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Howard Water System?

    Yes, Howard Water System offers warranties.

    What services does Howard Water System offer?

    Howard Water System offers the following services: Shallow & deep water well drilling for existing & new systems including: drinking water, irrigation & geothermal use, water treatments, water filters & existing well repairs.

    Are there any services Howard Water System does not offer?

    NA.