Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

First Team Construction

Founded 1994 • With Angi since August 2007

First team Construction Inc is a SC and NC general Contracting firm. First Team Construction, Inc. is one of Charleston, SC’s oldest and most trusted general contractors. For over 20 years First Team has been providing quality home remodeling, new construction, handyman, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, room additions, demolition and fire & water damage services to residents and commercial businesses in Charleston, Summerville, Goose Creek, Mt. Pleasant, Awendaw, James Island, Isle of Palms, Sullivan’s Island, Edisto Island, Folly Beach and the surrounding areas. First Team Construction is a licensed and insured general contractor First Team’s mission has always been to provide its clients with superior construction services. Their dedication to this mission, and promise to do the job as professionally, courteously and expeditiously as possible, often meets and exceeds their clients’ expectations. First Team’s customer-centric approach earns them repeat business from existing clients, and new client referrals from those existing clients. Most projects require several people—a team—to be involved in the process order to do get the job done right. From the very start of the planning stage of the project all the way through completion, First Team understands that process and is committed to being a part of that team. They assist with every aspect of this process by evaluating alternative solutions and providing creative ideas to find the best solutions to the project’s challenges. First Team’s clients do participate in that same process every step of the way, controlling the design and achieving the goals of the project’s schedule, quality and budget. Before planning your next new home construction or Charleston home remodeling project, make sure that First Team is the “first team” you call!

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.1

(15) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews
Deanna M.
5.0
11/05/2017
amazing- see above
Description of Work
I have an older home on a slab and needed a bathroom remodel. I changed some things midway and John took it in stride and exceeded my expectations. I felt very comfortable with the crew in my home, clean, courteous, and very professional. While I may not have had the largest project, I felt like my business was important to them and would highly recommend.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling
Dianne R.
5.0
06/27/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Remodeled and expanded our office space. Great job and great people! David was very easy to work with and always quick to respond to any of our concerns. At times we were overwhelmed with having construction going on at the same time we were conducting business in the office. David remained calm and reassuring, always accommodating our work schedule--even when it was inconvenient for him to do so. He often went way beyond the call of duty. We would highly recommend him and his company to anyone looking for an honest, competent and trustworthy contractor.
Category
remodeling
Kathleen S.
3.0
03/27/2014
I'm not happy with the work. In my opinion, their work was substandard. It was not at industry standards. Joists spanned 14 feet with no support under them. He was willing to put screw jacks under two of them for $350. Screw jacks cost about $60 and aren't legal. It wouldn't pass inspection if I tried to sell the house. They weren't going to get a building permit since it was such a small job. There's nothing I can do without getting an inspector come in and say it isn't right. I called them back once. The shower they put in has no decent support under it. The tiles are popping. It's flexing that much. They came in and fixed it. It started doing it again. After that, they told me that they weren't coming back. They kind of did what the contract said but they didn't do to industry standards. It wasn't done properly, even though they swore it was. They opened it up and found black mold. They charged me extra to get rid of it. I did pay to get that done. He was trying to nickel and dime me. I'm not pleased with the work or the company. The room looks great but I'm going to have to get somebody to put supports underneath it. I told even remember them tying the joists together. You walk on the floor, it springs underneath you. That's how bad it is.
Description of Work
I used First John LLC Remodeling/Repairs. They rebuilt a bathroom for me.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I did not do any work. You are out of my service area too. Please correct this and post your review to the appropriate company. I hope you can get your issues resolved.
Ruth J. H.
5.0
09/14/2013
It is difficult to find someone who accepts small jobs, such as mine was. I was impressed with the service and would not hesitate to recommend them. They even granted a 10% discount to seniors.
Description of Work
Refinished some of my kitchen and bathroom cabinet doors, drawer facings and worn hinges.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Monica S.
4.0
08/02/2013
They were responsive.
Description of Work
First Team Construction gave us a quote for doing a remodeling of a room.
Category
electrician, remodeling, replacement windows, home builders
Louis W.
1.0
02/17/2013
Didn't call back. This has happened twice.
Description of Work
Wanted general crawlspace repair and clean-up. Wanted crawlspace door replaced
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

We have never received a call or email from this person. Our office number is 843-873-8030,press option 1 and if no answer please leave a message and we will return your call.
Holly F.
5.0
08/27/2012
The quote was $3100. They were fair and honest; I liked them. They were on time and professional.
Description of Work
First Team Construction gave me an estimate for exterior draining.
Category
drain pipe
Larry M.
5.0
08/24/2012
Very good overall experience. Will use when we are finished with our other home revisions.
Description of Work
I contacted this company to inquire into getting a screened in carport. They were very professional, prompt and detailed.... and my husband and I have decided to use this company....however, we are having other renovations done at this time and when we do decide to proceed with the screened in carport we will call them. Thanks.
Category
remodeling
Larry M.
5.0
07/19/2012
Overall experience was a very good one. Will use when we decide to proceed.
Description of Work
Received an estimate of 5,900.00 for a screened in carport. Have not made a firm decision yet. But if we do proceed with this project...we will call this company to perform the work. Arrival for estimate was prompt. Measurements were taken and a plan was developed. After reviewing plan again for the screened in carport, I decided I wanted to make some changes to get a little lower on the estimate. The company emailed me back and forth to try to figure ways to cut the cost. That's always a plus to me!
Category
handyman service, remodeling
paul H.
5.0
04/10/2012
. After trying craigs list trying to save a dollar i was about to give up. I emailed first team construction and had an appointment for friday. David showed up on time and was very professional. He saw the water damage and agreed to start saturday. The crew worked sat. mon. and finished today ahead of schedule. The 35 year old bathroom looks incredible. The best part was his guys found a old copper pipe that was leaking in the wall and had mold growing all behind the wall. The killed and cleaned up the mold. The damp musty smell is gone. What a fantastic professional group of guys. Will be using them again real soon.
Description of Work
Replaced hotwater heater and replaced sink, toilet and floor. paint
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Lee M.
5.0
04/04/2012
First Team was responsive to our questions and requests. All of the work was of good or better quality and they were very responsive to any requests for detail attention. I have already contacted them for further work.
Description of Work
They replaced a good bit of damaged/rotten wood on the exterior of the home with quality wood and workmanship. We also had them replace four interior doors, one exterior door, and build a small divider wall in a corner of the bathroom for a linen closet. Finally we had them refinish our Mahogany Front Entranceway door.
Category
handyman service, remodeling, home builders
ROBERT K.
5.0
11/02/2009
They showed up on time and there were no glitches in their process. They kept me informed of their progress at each step and the work was finished in a timely manner.
Description of Work
This is the contractor that came in and performed restoration work after my home was flooded by a plumbing leak. Essentially they put everything back together after a disaster recovery company had finished drying out the affected areas. Replacing cabinets, etc.
Category
electrician, remodeling, home remodeling
margaret S.
1.0
09/15/2008
We are currently in week 7 and none of the rooms have been completed. I have been unable to cook in my kitchen since the project started. There is approx 3/4 coats of paint on the cabinets which you can see were done by a sponge roller.The work being performed is extremely poor quality. My new wood kitchen floor has to be replaced due to the damage that has done. I have sent numerous emails and even had the owner out to the house 2 times due to such poor work quality which he validated both times, and he even addressed his worker Thomas in front of me to state that he was making him look bad in front of his client. At this point the owner will not give me a deadline for the work to be completed. He states that he is having his workers work on my punch list, which by the quality of the rework and the rework will never be finished. His suggestion to me is to wait until the walk through and everything will be addressed and I will be happy. I honestly cannot see that happening right now. The bathroom that his 2 workers spent the entire day painting (with my personal paint that I am currently painting my den with, which is a darker color and in a room that his workers have no business being in). I sent an email to the owner and he stated he was not aware of the workers using my paint. On the Monday I took off from work and no workers showed up. At approximately 11:00 am I called the owner and got his voicemail and left a message wanting to know why no one was here. Approximately 15 minutes later all three workers showed up. We all walked to the master bathroom when I asked how the my personal paint can appeared in the bathroom and what happened to the paint as the can was only about a quarter full. All three workers said they did not know how the paint got into the bathroom and they could not explain where the paint went. When I stated the color on the wall was not the same as I selected they stated it was. One of the workers lifted up one of the three almost empty paint cans and held it to the wall and stated it is the same color another worker pulled out a sharp object and cut a piece of the paper off the side of the can and held it to the wall and stated very firm this is the same color. At this point I felt extremely intimidated and asked the workers to leave. I still have hole in the floor which is supposed to be the air conditioning vent. The vanity and the toilet move. There is paint spatter on the vanity, toilet, floor and skirting. The second mirror which they had to replace due to a small chip on the shelf has a small chip on the side. Right now we have a stalemate. I only have one bathroom operating and the other bathroom is totally unfinished with the toilet sitting in the middle of the floor and my kitchen countertop and sink were never installed. I did send an email to the owner of the company with a request to have the job completed by Saturday with a request to deduct an allowance for the cost to have things redone.
Description of Work
The contract was to paint kitchen cabinets, install countertop and remodel 2 bathrooms.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We have the true and correct photos of this project,we were the contractor coming in to complete this project after another contractor had worked for this client, we tried everything possible to please this client with no luck, The last contractor on site was not able to please this customer nor could she make a final decision in her selection of products, we never received payment for this project so we really feel that she can not put blame off on us considering she didn't pay us to work in the home, Our attorneys got involved and upon depositions we found out this client had serious medical issues and was heavily medicated everyday for depression and bipolar disorder,this had not surfaced until our depositions from suit on this project.Please feel free to contact us with any questions.
Angela D.
5.0
05/15/2008
Well I searched and "interviewed" about 5 contractors had each one come out and give me a estimate. The one contractor that I considered went above and beyond sat down with me went through everything and was very professional was First Team Construction. Mr. Johnson was so up to date and professional that I chose them. The best decision I ever made! Mr. Johnson advised me the job would take approximately 12 weeks, they were completed in just 9 weeks!!!!! I chose Merillat cabinets for my kitchen stainless steel appliances and solid surface counter tops. Mr. Johnson kept us informed every step of the way. At one point during our project, and at the very last minute( as in 30 minutes prior to starting ) I requested a change in color in the kitchen, Mr. Johnson said no problem and picked the color up we chose. First Team Constructions whole staff are wonderful, professional, eager to help and all go above and beyond to make sure there customer is happy. Mr. Johnson would call through out the duration and ask if we were pleased and if there is anything he or his staff could do, and if we did have a problem he would correct it. The project turned out great, my neighbors hired First Team Construction to remodel there kitchen. I would recommend them to everyone. Keep up the great work.
Description of Work
I wanted to remodel my kitchen/living room add a sunroom and hardwood floors.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling, sunrooms
DEBRA L.
2.0
08/27/2007
I would expect a licensed contractor to inform us if we had no insulation under the floor. He claims there was none their before and he is claiming the insulation would not help with our moisture problems. We did not have mold, moisture, and higher electrical bills before. Our new windows were supposed to decrease our bills, not increase them. When you open the cabinets there is warm air in them. It fells like the outdoors. There is moisture dripping down our newly painted walls from our door chime. We have never had any problems like this before. There are remnants of old insulation under the house. We think he removed old insulation and did not replace when he put in a new sub-floor. The code inspector said "contractors will be contractors" and that if we didn't have pictures there is no way to know for sure. We had to ask him to redo a lot of things, like fix uneven tile.
Description of Work
He completely remodeled our entire downstairs. He gutted the kitchen and installed new drywall, cabinets, plumbing, and installed all new appliances. He put in a new clay tile floor. He replaced old subfloor for the entire downstairs. Installed new travertine floors and hardwood floor. He remodeled the bathroom. Installed all new light fixtures. Tiled fireplace. Replacement windows. Refinished front door. Painted throughout. We asked him to upgrade electrical if needed and he said it did not.
Category
remodeling

Other local Pros in your area

Johnson painting and construction

Johnson painting specializing in all Exterior/interior painting, roofing, and all licensed contractor work.  

Angi Certified

MEC Masonry

MEC Masonry specializes in Residential Masonry projects in the Charleston, Florence, Columbia and surrounding areas. Our small, family owned company will provide top-quality craftmanship and customer satisfaction. Call us today to schedule a free consultation. We are prepared to get the job done, no matter what it takes!  

Angi Certified

Eastern Carolina Masonry

We specialize in masonry services and repairs, brick/stone work, concrete services, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -- or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1110 Pinefield Dr

Charleston, SC 29492

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
PayPal
Financing Available
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

First Team Construction is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

First Team Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal, Financing Available

Yes, First Team Construction offers free project estimates.

Yes, First Team Construction offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, First Team Construction does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, First Team Construction offers emergency services.

Yes, First Team Construction offers warranties.

First Team Construction offers the following services: Renovations, remodeling, kitchens, baths, additions, sun rooms, new construction, James Hardie siding, residential projects, commercial projects, cabinets, water damage, water remediation, fire damage, insurance claims, premiere contractor for insurance companies.