Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carolina Landscape Inc

Founded 1962 • With Angi since August 2010

4.4

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

740 Up On The Hill Rd

Charleston, SC 29412

Description

We make the World more Beautiful, One Garden at a Time!

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Michael B.
2.0
09/22/2017
Derek Wade is a smooth talker, but he's basically all hat and no cattle. After the first year Derek came to survey the property and said that he'd give his crew a grade of B minus on their job of maintaining our yard. He promised to get it up to an A. It just declined from there. The supervisors and crews were constantly turning over; we must have had six different crews and three different crew supervisors over the two years. The most recent supervisor, Russell, started out nice (we thought) but quickly became passive-aggressive. There was no apparent communication between the offsite supervisors and the crews. We asked for quotes on new plantings and never received them. In fact, during our walk through with Derek we asked for a quote on some new shrubs along the fence. We even follow up with him when we didn't get his quotation. He assigned the quote to Russell and we never got the quote. They left our yard dug up all Spring long because they started to fix the sprinkler system but then couldn't manage to get their crew back here to figure it out and finish the job. They installed a new lawn for us and used diseased materials. When it died we had to bring the diseased lawn to their attention. They then replaced it with the wrong product, something other than the species that we had specifically specified. They pruned the fig vine incorrectly, cutting branches down low so that whole swaths of the vine died off. We asked them to replace two four foot tall shrubs that symmetrically anchored a part of the garden. They replaced only one with a two foot tall shrub and left it like that for weeks until we finally asked where the other one was. Using our irrigation system, which they controlled, they over-watered our mondo grass and caused it to get diseased. Who knows if we will every successfully cure it. We asked them to replace washed out sand in our brick walk with a polymetric sand that wouldn't wash away. They used a completely different colored sand in places so it looked patchy and just terrible and they had to re-do it. We asked them to upgrade the landscape lighting to LED fixtures. They agreed and then never did the work, and we had to hire another company. We asked them to change a single light bulb and they agreed and then, again, never did the work. There's a Chinese expression that goes "A fish starts to stink at the head." And that expression perfectly describes what's wrong with Carolina Landscape. The owners only care about the money; the supervision is non existent and, as a result, the quality of work is sub par to negligent. Save yourself the frustration and money, don't use Carolina Landscape.
Description of Work
We used Carolina Landscape for landscape maintenance for two years after purchasing our home in Mount Pleasant. They had worked for the previous owner and they told us that it would be a privilege to continue to maintain our garden. But of course they wanted to raise the price over what the previous owner had been paying. We agreed, but unfortunately, at the end of two years our yard looked just awful.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our company. We've been in business for nearly 60 years and we take great pride in our quality of products and services that we provide for each of our clients. We regret to hear you had an uncharacteristic experience and will certainly use your feedback to make improvements within our company to better serve present and future clients. Sincerely, Derek Carolina Landscape, Inc.
John W.
5.0
07/11/2017
.
Description of Work
They provide landscaping and lawn maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
William S.
5.0
10/28/2015
Good! Took a couple hours in all, and did everything I needed
Description of Work
Trimmed hedges, cut grass, did miscellaneous yard maintenence and cleanup of leaves and branches.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
brian C.
4.0
06/17/2015
I can't remember, maybe tree service...
Description of Work
I can't remember, maybe tree service...
Category
landscaping
Bob H.
5.0
04/28/2014
unknown
Category
landscaping, lawn service
William S.
5.0
05/20/2013
Carolina Landscape landscaped my entire yard 4 years ago and made it into a very special place that my entire family has enjoyed. They come out each year and spruce up the flower beds, treat the yard and put new mulch in the beds. They do a great job and would recommend them to transform a plain yard into a place you see in magazines. I highly recommend Carolina Landscape. Derek and his team are Great!
Description of Work
Spring Spruce Up and applying special lawn treatment.
Category
landscaping
Cheryl C.
5.0
06/01/2012
they were EXCELLENT. went above and beyond what I expected. The crew leader (I think his name was Tim' but i can't remember for sure) was ESPECIALLY great and helpful, very professional, and Very sweet!!! will DEF be using this Co. again and have already recommended them to sevaral friends.
Description of Work
Clean-up of LOTS of build up of fallen leaves for new move-in.thdy
Category
lawn service
Dina R.
1.0
08/05/2011
We arranged for them to come out and estimate the work that needed to be done for our yard. Weekly grass cutting - short term and landscaping - long term. The representative was late to the appointment. He indicated he would provide an estimate for the immediate work that needed to be done. After a week with not hearing from him, I emailed and he did not respond. I waited another week and phoned. I spoke to the gentleman who came out to look at our yard. He acknowledged that he received my email, but wasn't able to get back to me. I asked for an ETA on the estimate, and he indicate he hoped to have it be Friday. It is a week later and I still have not heard back. I will not be using this service. This is not customer service and I should not have to chase them down to get an estimate or do the work. Poor service and no responsiveness. Not the way to land new customers.
Description of Work
We arranged for them to come out and estimate the work that needed to be done for our yard. Weekly grass cutting - short term and landscaping - long term.
Category
landscaping
Mary W.
5.0
03/10/2011
They are excellent. They take very good care of the plants, they mulch and everything, and they keep our garden looking very good. I think the price is probably a little high.
Description of Work
We have a contract with Carolina Landscape to come out for the year.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Member. We very much appreciate your business! Derek

    Other local Pros in your area

    Lowcountry Lawn & Landscape LLC

    Owner operated. Uses subs for labor. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. Extra charge for after hours service. May contact through email.  

    Angi Certified

    Landscape Grading

    Local family-owned Landscaping company serving our local community and surrounding area for the past four years. We strive to provide the best service with reasonable pricing. We provide not only the basics of general landscaping, but we also provide sod installation, grading, and French drains.  

    Angi Certified

    Dee's Landscaping

    Hello, I'm 28 years of age. I've been landscaping for the past 6 years and have worked for many different companies and now is the time to begin my own. I enjoy my job and would love to start my own legacy to support my family and myself. I am ready to get to work and hoping for a chance.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape management, installation, renovation & design, horticultural consultation, irrigation & lighting systems, hardscape and garden structures, drainage & site preparation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Carolina Landscape Inc

    How is Carolina Landscape Inc overall rated?

    Carolina Landscape Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Carolina Landscape Inc open?

    Carolina Landscape Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Carolina Landscape Inc provide

    Carolina Landscape Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Carolina Landscape Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Carolina Landscape Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Carolina Landscape Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Carolina Landscape Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Carolina Landscape Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Carolina Landscape Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Carolina Landscape Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Carolina Landscape Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Carolina Landscape Inc?

    Yes, Carolina Landscape Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Carolina Landscape Inc offer?

    Carolina Landscape Inc offers the following services: Landscape management, installation, renovation & design, horticultural consultation, irrigation & lighting systems, hardscape and garden structures, drainage & site preparation.