Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Gage Construction LLC

Founded 2008 • With Angi since June 2011

Gage Construction LLC is a locally owned home builder and home remodeling contractor located in Chapin,South Carolina. At Gage Construction there is a passion for the industry. What brings this type of enthusiasm is providing my customers with a quality product, a pleasant experience,and the comfort knowing they made the right decision in using my services. Whether you are looking to build your first new home or a custom home, Gage Construction can help create and fulfill your vision. Gage Construction can provide designing, planning, and building services. If you're looking to renovate an existing home, or remodel a portion of your home, Gage Construction can help you as well. I understand the importance of combining functionality, aesthetics, and budgeting to your vision.

Amenities

Free Estimates
initial consultation is free. please inquire.
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(60) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 60 reviews
Maureen D.
5.0
11/14/2018
Gage Construction did a complete redesign/renovation on two bathrooms. Everyone who worked on this remodeling job; demo, framing, electrical, plumbing, painters, carpenters and tilers were extremely professional, skilled, courteous and efficient. The quality of their work far exceeded my expectations. PJ (project manager) was always accessible and easy to talk to. If I ever had any questions or concerns he would address them and any “fix” needed was done quickly. I would highly recommend Gauge construction especially if you want a quality product.
Description of Work
Bathroom renovations
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much! It was a pleasure to have you as a client.
Michael G.
5.0
07/09/2018
Gage did a great job. They remodel my kitchen, all 3 baths, and moved a wall in the garage. Everything went down to the studs. They provided great support, consistent updates on schedule, and excellent feedback and ideas during design process.
Description of Work
Kitchen and Bathroom Remodel along with Garage Restructuring
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity.
Diane H.
5.0
04/24/2018
Though it took a little longer than told, the workmanship was unbelievably well done. Great attention to detail and anything that wasn’t the way we wanted was quickly fixed. Things were added and some revising of the plans as we went along were dealt with with equally meticulous workmanship and professionalism. There were no “surprises” to add to the cost of the project. Right from his first visit he identified some problems and told us how he would work them out. It was all included in the estimate. I can’t say enough about the way the project came out. They are not cheap, but it was worth every penny to get it done right
Description of Work
Conversion of garage into living space
Category
remodeling, home builders, home remodeling
Kathryn M.
5.0
11/29/2017
Fantastic. Everyone from the contractor to subcontractors were polite and told us what they were doing. When they said they would come they were on time. If we made changes they were very nice and performed the changes. We will be using them again on some other projects next. Would highly recommend them to family and friends. When someone comes in your home to do remodeling it can be stressful. Gage Construction made us feel comfortable and they were very knowledgeable about the job they performed.
Description of Work
Repair flooring in bathroom, replace shower, and help solve humidity issues.
Category
remodeling
Kevin J.
5.0
08/01/2017
Matt and PJ drive the ship but they could never do it without the assistance of their talented and courteous crew. The attention to detail and craftsmanship is unbelievable. Appointments were kept, comminucation was prompt and they delivered a beautiful project. Will be hiring them again soon.
Description of Work
Gage Construction built a full bath, laundry room and screened porch.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure. The cooler with drinks and the bowl of snacks was very nice and the guys loved it. Thanks so much!!
Sally B.
5.0
07/25/2017
If you are looking for a construction team that is professional, courteous, careful, and that produces the highest quality work, look no further; Gage Construction is for you. Matt was genius at combining our needs and dreams into an affordable and spectacular renovation. PJ, our project manager made sure the dust and inconvenience was kept to a minimum. Everyone from the builders to the tile setters to the plumber and electrician produced the highest quality we could ask for, at times going way above and beyond. Our project started on time, ended on time and on budget, and we (almost) hated to see them go! These professionals really care about their work. Thank you Gage. Well Done!
Description of Work
Home renovation of kitchen and two baths and construction of new deck.
Category
decks, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We appreciate the opportunity you provided Gage Construction.
Pier P.
5.0
05/23/2017
I'm having trouble even coming up with words to describe how beautiful of a job Matt, PJ and the crew with Gage construction have done with our fixer-upper in Lexington. We renovated a 40 year old ranch that was in serious need of a facelift and we definitely chose the right guys for the job. Appointments were kept, as were promises. The quality of craftsmanship and attention to detail is second to none. The transformation of this home was simply jaw-dropping. We couldn't be more pleased with the outcome. It feels like we are living in one of the houses from HGTV. Simply blown away.
Description of Work
Full interior renovation. Updated kitchen, master bath, closets, you name it.
Category
gutter repair, remodeling, siding, home remodeling, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the trust that you and your wife placed in Gage Construction. It was truly a pleasure to be a part of your journey on your home.
GLORIA J.
5.0
11/13/2016
WE CANNOT SAY ENOUGH WONDERFUL THINGS ABOUT GAGE CONSTRUCTION, LLC AND THE WORK THEY PERFORMED ON OUR HOME. UPON OUR INTIAL MEETING WITH MATT, WE FELT CONFIDENT THAT WE HAD THE RIGHT CONTRACTOR. HE WAS EXTREMELY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND PROVIDED EXCELLENT SUGGESTIONS AS HE GUIDED US THROUGH THE PROCESS. HE EVEN PUT US IN TOUCH WITH A DRAFTSMAN WHO PREPARED THE DESIGN PLANS. ALL OF THE WORKERS WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND PJ, THE PROJECT MANAGER, MADE SURE THE ENTIRE PROJECT WAS STRESS-FREE FROM START TO FINISH AND REMAINED ON SCHEDULE. TO TOP IT OFF, EVERYTHING TURNED OUT MORE BEAUTIFUL AND ELEGANT THAN WE COULD HAVE EVER IMAGINED! FROM THE OUTSIDE, THE ADDITION LOOKS AS THOUGH IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN A PART OF THE HOUSE, AND THE INTERIOR IS ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. FRIENDS AND NEIGHBORS ARE IN AWE OF THE AMAZING JOB GAGE DID. THE QUALITY AND WORKMANSHIP THEY PUT INTO THE PROJECT IS EVIDENT FOR ALL TO SEE. THE COST OF THE PROJECT WAS VERY REASONABLE AND WE GOT MORE THAN WE PAID FOR. WE PLAN TO USE GAGE FOR FUTURE RENOVATION PROJECTS.
Description of Work
COMPLETED A GRAND TWO-STORY SUNROOM AND OPEN-AIR PORCH ADDITION
Category
sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words! We really enjoyed working for you.
David H.
5.0
11/15/2015
We ended up going with a friend I've known for years, would have gone to Gage if not for him.
Description of Work
Came out and gave us an estimate that was very good and professional.
Category
remodeling
john M.
5.0
10/19/2015
The project started with several meetings to get every detail planned ahead of time The workmen were all very professional and experienced The project manager P. J. organized and inspected the work daily and no detail got past him We are very happy with the finished bathroom!
Description of Work
Complete bathroom remodel This included demolition down to sub floor and wall studs and rebuilding a beautiful new bathroom
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Gay A.
5.0
10/12/2015
Gage Construction provided an excellent whole house renovation which included the planning and engineering stages for tearing out walls, plumbing, electrical and replacing with steel beams, new walls, new and upgraded technology for electrical and plumbing functions in a 70 year old, 4000 square ft. plaster walled brick house. We are very pleased with their efforts - they provided ideas we had not thought of as well as diplomatically saving us from ourselves when we had some very bad ideas - like when I wanted to turn the new built in refrigerator opening into a kitchen phone booth instead ( and just use the porch refrigerator). Their workers were all very skilled - they all have my thanks for making a beautifully unique home - James Johnson and his crew of carpenters - Eric, Joshua, Herbie & Jim, Jason & Slim at Peak Plumbing, Daniel "Merlin" Tucker of Wiring For You, Captain Jack Rankin - foundation/steel beam, and Steven Dinkins and his crew at Southern Hardwood who laid all the new flooring, tile - and a gorgeous marble/glass firefly & vine floor border from Osh Kosh Desgins - where the walls used to be. Refinishing the hardwood floors was Mike & Mayberry of AAA Floor Refinishing and they did a lovely job. Do expect Gage Construction to deal fairly and communicate well with you - Matt and PJ will promptly return your texts and emails. The billing is always clear and Matt replies to all questions you have. Their workers are respectful and personable and clean up after themselves. Don't expect renovations to be done quickly. Be educated about the process. For example, the kitchen backsplash I ordered ended up on back order and it took 6 months to get in. There will be delays because of weather, as well as waiting for the next function to finish a current job so they can get to you next. Gage won't just pull any plumber or carpenter in that they haven't tried before. Their workers are worth the wait.
Description of Work
Gage Construction provided a whole house renovation.
Category
remodeling, home builders, architect, home remodeling
Eve W.
5.0
08/19/2015
Professional and knowledgeable. We decided not to do all that was discussed so used a handyman instead of this contractor.
Description of Work
Provided estimate for remodeling laundry room.
Category
remodeling
Jerry D.
5.0
07/01/2015
Quality workers. Overpriced bathroom cabinets. Very organized and thorough.
Description of Work
Renovated master bath
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Filomena H.
5.0
06/03/2015
We initially contacted Gage Construction in March 2014 to bid on a detached dwelling for a home office. Matt responded to my request immediately and he walked through some items we would need to finalize before he could move forward on the bid process. After some thought we opted to look at potential options to our existing home. After a number of drafts we contacted Gage for a proposal as well as several contractors. Matt with Gage Construction was by far the most professional, thorough and patient through the changes we were making. One of the things that impressed us the most was that Matt coordinated all the contractors on one day to review the plans, walk thru the home and I overhead Matt tell the crews that they needed to take time to review and make sure that they quoted accordingly because he did not want to come back to the homeowner and tell us that there was an additional charge. We also stated that we wanted to make sure there was constant communication and no surprises. One of our main points was that we had small children in the home and safety for our family was key. Matt assured us that it would not be an issue as they knew the crews and at any point if we were not comfortable then he would take immediate action. Once we signed the contract from Matt, he introduced us to PJ (Project Manager) but Matt was not out of the picture because PJ was supervising the project. NOTE: We lived in our home during the construction with 2 little kids so needless to say it was not easy (not because of Gage - it was just more than we had anticipated). I do want to start by saying that PJ was awesome to work with and he handled all of our questions, concerns, and he went beyond to make sure that the project ran smoothly. The crews were very nice and respectful and we were comfortable with everyone who came to our home. We took on a much bigger project than we anticipated and we could not have done it with Matt and PJ. One thing I loved was that if something was bothering me that may of been minor or common, PJ made sure that I was comfortable and addressed all our needs as if it was priority. PJ was onsite daily and multiple times in one day if needed. He took on the responsibility to make sure he handled all items and took initiative to make recommendations presenting both the positive and negative. I could not imagine another project manager other than PJ. Matt and PJ were very personable and just fun. We were able to joke and be comfortable because after all they were in our home daily for months. Our project extended into the holidays and I was adamant about having a Christmas tree and being able to celebrate the holidays with family. Both Matt and PJ said it would be pushing very close to the holidays and they could not guarantee completion. They under promised and over delivered because we were able to celebrate the holidays. There were several items not completed but he coordinated with our schedule and respected our time. My husband is a financial man and we had spreadsheets for the proposal, change orders, etc weekly to make sure that we were not exceeding our proposed costs. We did have some issues that arose during construction that increased our costs however everything was presented up front and any additional costs were a change we made and approved. I would be lying if I said that there were no hiccups however they were addressed and rectified immediately. My husband is all about exceeding expectations and Gage was able to go above and beyond for us even if it was not a fault or an issue caused by Gage. We are extremely happy with how our home turned out and our experience with Gage. I would recommend Gage to everyone looking for quality, professional work. We have additional plans for our home and future projects and Gage is on the top of our list. I know we were probably not the easiest client to work for as there was constant changes by us but they took them in stride and never made us feel as though we were a burden or too difficult. There were times that I "vented" to PJ and he could have easily said whatever lady - but he listened and then made any adjustments necessary. Sometimes it was just getting it out because living in a construction zone can cause some stress and anxiety. If I were to change anything I would have taken the recommendation of Matt and PJ and moved out during construction because it was a big undertaking. Although we didn't, they made any attempt to make sure we were comfortable, the job site was broom swept or mopped and all trash was cleaned up daily. We have been completed for several months and both Matt and PJ have been in contact to make sure they followed up to see if we needed anything or how everything was going. l waited a while to write a review for them because although I was very satisfied once the project was complete, I wanted to see the after the project communication. If there was an issue, which we have had some minor ones and their response time was just as quick as during the project. Everyone knows that a construction project is not easy and there are always hiccups in the road however I feel as though if we selected another contractor we would not have received the attention and thoroughness as we did with Gage. We would highly recommend Gage to anyone looking to build or renovate. Gage takes pride in their work and reputation and we have experienced that first hand. We have opened our homes to potential clients and we were very honest about our experiences with Gage. Clients of Gage were kind enough to open their homes to us when I wanted to see completed and in progress projects and it gives you an opportunity to hear their experiences and witness the interactions. I will continue to open our home to potential clients of Gage and share our experience and answer any questions about our project and experience. I cannot say enough about how satisfied we were with Matt and PJ.
Description of Work
Complete remodel of existing home with several additions (office, bathroom, added space to bedroom, covered deck)
Category
decks, remodeling, home remodeling
Caressa C.
5.0
03/17/2015
Our experience with Gage construction was wonderful. this was our first remodel project and Matt the owner walked us through everything and everything went very smooth. We are extremely pleased with the outcome.
Description of Work
We used Gage construction last year to remodel a Lakehouse. Matt and his team did a wonderful job. never tried to put in things we didn't need. Matt Gave opinions on things we did need to do and never tried to run the price up. We work so well with them they are doing other projects for us now.
Category
remodeling
Tracy M.
4.0
02/27/2015
Overall we were very pleased with the quality of work, the responsiveness of their people. The timeline was extended well beyond what had been quoted but other than that I would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installed granite countertops and a backsplash in kitchen. Extended kitchen island. Performed a total bathroom overhaul. New floors, removed a window, extended and retiled shower, built a custom vanity, reconfigured doorway and heating.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
james W.
5.0
12/26/2014
To start with, they needed to come in and start our project that another contractor had not finished. Matt showed up the first day with several of his employees to look our house over from top to bottom, and spent a lot of time discussing what we expected from him. Throughout our project P.J. and Matt were always easy to reach, and always willing to talk about any concerns we had. They dealt with any issues we had, including add-on items and punch-list items quickly and fairly on any price changes. Although living through this much work going on in our house was not easy, we did appreciate all the care they took to make this as painless as possible by being prompt to work, as well as having people we felt we could trust in our home. We absolutely love our "new" home and thank Matt and P.J. for all their help, as well as all their suggestions throughout this project. We would highly recommend Gage to anyone and are looking forward to using them again in the future.
Description of Work
Gage was hired to add a master bathroom, redo two existing bedrooms as well as update an existing bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Rannie F.
5.0
10/30/2014
This job was handled in a professional way in all matters. The contractor was always on time, prepared quotes for all jobs to be done, had manager on site to oversee work, delivered a quality product and left the work areas clean and tidy. We were very pleased to have Gage Construction as our contractor.
Description of Work
Replaced roof, replaced or repaired wood, work on dormers, fascia boards and handrails, prep, primed and painted all new wooden areas, replaced gutters, painted damaged doors and replaced.
Category
remodeling
stephen W.
5.0
10/08/2014
it went very well. matt came and did an initial walk thru and we discussed the changes I wanted to make. pj was the manager of the project and was very professional and easy to get hold of for questions and provided great recommendations. they were very easy to get hold of and responded quickly to phone calls, texts, and emails. plan to use them again for other renovations.
Description of Work
had water damage to a large part of my house. they knocked a wall down, expanded bathroom, rebuilt laundry and living room.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Susan W.
5.0
10/05/2014
The work was done by specialty teams managed by a single project manager who was the customer facing representative. The project was completed within three weeks of the worst case time estimate. Delays were caused primarily by waiting for inspections and supplier errors beyond Gage's control, although there was some minor delays caused by team availability. Total cost of the project was 1.3% over the estimate. This difference was due to change control requested by us after the original cost estimate was delivered to us. The project manager maintained good contact with us and the company owner visited the site from time to time and visited with us after the completion of the job to solicit our satisfaction. We are very satisfied with the quality of the work and the materials that were selected by Gage, Our new bathroom is everything that we wanted and envisioned.
Description of Work
Bathroom renovation: Replaced shower stall, lavatory, toilet and medicine cabinet. Install additional medicine cabinet, install new fixtures, move electrical outlets, switches and install new shower light. Demolish half wall in shower in order to install larger sliding shower door. Work included significant sheet rock replacement and repainting. Hallway R&R: Remove old attic fan and electrical. sheet rock the resulting holes and paint hallway and trim.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Billie M.
5.0
07/22/2014
I was very pleased with the garage and A-trim door. Very nice job. The subfloor and rim/sill repair turned out to be a much bigger job than I thought. We had several return visits to get the job completed. A lot of stress but I will say that Matt was always responsive and has the best customer service skills I have ever come across. He followed up with every concern immediately. You can tell he cares about his company and that the job is right.
Description of Work
We had a new garage door and a new A-trim door installed. We had subfloor and rim/sill damage in the front of the house. Damaged wood was torn out and replaced.
Category
remodeling
Scott S.
5.0
06/10/2014
Honest and trustworthy. Two of the most important qualities to the success of any business and these can be found here
Description of Work
General contractor
Category
remodeling
Roger Z.
5.0
06/02/2014
We recently hired Matt and his company, Gage Construction, to remodel a guest apartment we have at our lake house. In a nutshell we could not have been happier with Matt and his entire team - they earned the highest rating we could give them. We contacted Matt by telephone. He promptly returned out call and even came out to meet us on a Sunday morning. Our concern was that he would be working on out project while we were home 1,000 miles away. We need not have been concerned. Matt was professional in every sense of the word. He was always punctual, courteous and respectful in all our dealings. He never tried to "up-sell" us on anything and was very conscious of budget and need. Communication was never a problem - emails and telephone calls were answered immediately. Matt constantly sent us pictures of the work progress. The work they did was excellent in every respect. "Punch-list" items were correctly immediately. Matt truly seemed to care about the project from every angle. If during his work he same a potential problem/need with the apartment that hadn't been addressed previously, it was brought to our attention immediately with recommendations and proposed cost (which was always very reasonable and fair). Matt has EARNED the highest recommendation we could possible give. Whenever we undertake our next project (adding on to the main house), the ONLY contractor we will contact is Matt and Gage Construction.
Description of Work
remodeled an apartment at our lake house
Category
remodeling
Bryan M.
5.0
05/11/2014
Matt and his team are incredible. Responsive, prompt, conscientious, fair, dedicated to satisfying their customers. Highly trustworthy and honest. I would recommend Gage Construction to anyone.
Description of Work
Exterior repairs and painting, interior repairs and painting, brickwork, plumbing, electrical, flooring removal and installation
Category
remodeling
Sarah H.
5.0
05/08/2014
We couldn't be happier with the work or with the experience. Matt took special care in meeting with us to determine exactly what we wanted, following up as we selected materials, and answering any questions we had at any time. He was also sensitive to the fact that we wanted to keep costs at a reasonable level while still achieving a quality product. Project Manager PJ was here every day making sure everything got done to our specifications and in a timely manner. All crew members and subcontractors arrived on time, worked efficiently, and went out of their way to make sure we were inconvenienced as little as possible. Daily clean-up was always performed.. Total amount of time to complete all renovations was three weeks.
Description of Work
Kitchen/laundry room renovation: Removed existing tile, installed hardwood floors; installed rigid insulation on underside of kitchen; removed existing countertops, installed new granite countertops, stainless steel sink, and faucet; replaced existing recessed lighting with upgraded lighting (9 cans); installed microwave vent to outside; replaced damaged Studor Vent to dishwasher and washing machine drains; removed damaged drywall behind refrigerator and replaced with new drywall; installed new stained 1/4 round in kitchen; painted drywall, ceiling and baseboard; made repairs to existing membrane over flat roof above kitchen. Entrance Renovation: Removed existing 32" door at entrance to home, widened opening to 36", installed new 36" door; cut and re-installed siding on outside of house to frame door; painted door, frame and inside walls around door. Requested by customer upon completion of work: Build new two-door cabinet above refrigerator , replace several damaged cabinet doors and drawer fronts. Cost: $985 (now on order)
Category
remodeling, siding, home remodeling

Phone

Address

St. Peters Church Rd.

Chapin, SC 29036

Other Information

Services offered

Gage Construction is well versed in all facets of residential construction. This would include: New Construction, Major and Minor Remodeling, and Renovation. Gage Construction has the capability to also help you with minor updates and maintenance.

Payment options

Check
PayPal

FAQ

Gage Construction LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Gage Construction LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

No, Gage Construction LLC does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Gage Construction LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Gage Construction LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Gage Construction LLC offers warranties.

Gage Construction LLC offers the following services: Gage Construction is well versed in all facets of residential construction. This would include: New Construction, Major and Minor Remodeling, and Renovation. Gage Construction has the capability to also help you with minor updates and maintenance.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

1st Class Property Services LLC

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

1st Class Property Services LLC

Landscaping and handyman service. We offer a high-quality experience and we can tailor every job to what your home needs. We are dedicated to our service, and we believe our work will show this. Please call or click for a free estimate today!  

WW Gutters

5.0

(12)

Angi Certified

WW Gutters

With over 25 years of experience, WW Gutters can handle all of your gutter needs. We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

Gutter Concepts of SC

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Gutter Concepts of SC

Gutter Concepts of SC based in West Columbia, SC