Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Coutu Bros Movers

Founded 1940 • With Angi since June 2006

4.6

(59) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2 Greco Ln

Warwick, RI 02886

Description

Coutu Bros Moving & Storage are among the most experienced, careful and courteous in the industry. We are specially trained in packing, loading, wrapping and unloading. We quilt pad wrap and pack all furniture, and you don't have to empty all of your drawers. Coutu Bros Moving & Storage even transports cars and trucks anywhere in the country. Our late model fleet of moving trucks have the newest equipment and are kept in excellent condition. We are available 7 days a week and short notice moves are our specialty....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

05/04/2022


Stephanie T.

THEY ROBBED MY SWEET LITTLE 87 YEAR OLD GRANDMA IN MY KITCHEN AND HAD NO REMORSE! THEY STEAL FROM CUSTOMERS SEE YELP FOR OTHERS WITH THE SAME CLAIMS!!!!! THEY HAD ZERO REMORSE AND GAVE NO FOLLOW UP ON THIS! I do NOT recommend this company to my worst enemy. Highly UNPROFESSIONAL and DISHONEST. Staff stole cash from my home. Not trustworthy or professional, staff stole from my 87 year old grandmother. I am a realistic and easy going person and it takes a lot for me to become upset and write a negative review. However, the experience I had with Coutu Movers and my interaction with the owner, Bob, is far from satisfactory. Please do not use this company. I hired Coutu for a move from Rhode Island to Cambridge,MA and while they did a great job of moving my belongings, they did steal from my 87 year old grandmother during the processes and left us all with a sense of unease and insecurity. I hired the movers to gather items from a few different locations in Rhode Island, one of them being my grandmothers home where I had been storing some furniture. The movers went and picked all of my things up and brought them to my new place in Cambridge. Once the movers arrived at my new location in Cambridge they quickly got to work unloading the truck and carrying items into my townhouse. There were 3 gentlemen there and I am not sure which one was the culprit but as they walked by the kitchen table where my grandmothers purse was, one of them pulled her wallet out while our backs were turned. The mover then went to the bathroom and emptied all cash and credit cards out of the Later that day when my grandma went to tip the gentlemen she said “I can’t find my wallet” and the 3 movers heard her say this and she even repeated this statement. One of the movers kept eyeballing my grandmothers jewelry and when he was leaving he made a comment about what nice diamonds she had (keep in mind that 1) this guy knows where she lives 2) the wallet had been stolen at this point). At the time we didn’t think much of this or the fact that my grandma couldn’t find her wallet. After the job was complete I generously tipped each mover $100 and sent them on their way. I then proceeded to do what most people do when they get a new place and clean. I went to my bathroom and began cleaning and when I opened the under the sink cabinet, all the way in the back behind my toilet brush, was my grandmother’s wallet which had been emptied of all cash and credit cards. There is no other way this wallet could have gotten to this location as I had JUST moved in and my grandma had not been there before and the movers were the only other people to enter the apartment. There is no other explanation for it. One of them robbed my grandma while we were all right there, they witnessed and 87 year old woman become nervous as she searched for her missing wallet. This was not the worst part of it. In my opinion, the worst was Bob, the owner. I contacted Bob to tell him of this and I politely said I understand things go wrong but this is an issue which must be addressed. On the feedback survey I also wrote this. Guess what, Bob never called and apologized. Nothing. Nada. Zippo. Zilche. He could not care less. He just told me to go file a police report. I highly advise against this company they clearly are untrustworthy and when something goes wrong they will not do anything about it. Very poor business practice and highly immoral

Description of Work
Moving from RI to Boston

Category moving companies

5.0

07/11/2021


Kristen M.

I have hired movers before but my whole experience with Coutu Bros from beginning to end was really amazing. The team that moved us were fast, hard working, organized and very careful. Customer service was just as accommodating and helpful, cost was very reasonable and no hidden fees, I paid less than quoted since movers were so fast and efficient. Hopefully I don’t have to move any time soon but will highly recommend Coutu for anyone searching!!!

Description of Work
Moving from CT to RI

Category moving companies

1.0

07/07/2021


J F.

Scheduled a move for mid June, 40-mile move within RI. Workers did a good job in the pouring rain. However, I had damage to a bureau glass door as a box in truck wasn’t secured and fell onto bureau during truck loading. Crew apologized multiple times and crew lead talked to his supervisor, explained what happened to him, took 100% responsibility, and stated Coutu would take care of the repair. Kevin measured the doors and told me glass would be cut and installed when ready. It was my mistake that I didn’t immediately follow up or file a claim; I believed coutu’s employees when they told me this was already approved to be taken care of. After not hearing from them for 2 weeks, called office and they had no idea what I was talking about. No notes of damage, no manager in office to discuss further. Was mailed a claim form to fill out and get notarized. Wasted 4 weeks since damage occurred. No one will return my request for a callback. Shame on me for taking them at their word when damage occurred. I do not recommend this company.

Description of Work
Moving service

Category moving companies

5.0

10/30/2019


Russell D.

The experience with MGM went well and would hire them again.

Description of Work
House Move

Category moving companies

1.0

06/11/2019


Debra V.

I called and emailed Marc Lewis several times about a move, stating I needed a specific date and a morning move. He told me he was going to see if he could move some things around and would get back to me to let me know if he could accommodate. He sent me an email letting me know he could accommodate the date and time I needed. Marc sent an email confirming the date and time. No one showed up. We called several times no one answered. I did email and Marc answered after about an hour and told me his crew went to the wrong place and asked if he could do an afternoon move (this was discussed earlier and I said this could not be done). This caused us to scramble to get a U Haul and friends to help us move. Marc or his office never contacted except for that one sentence email. No apology no detailed explanation. If Marc was honest at the beginning we would have planned our move instead his dishonesty caused us a lot of stress.

Description of Work
moving items from 3 apartments going to one location

Category moving companies

5.0

09/18/2018


Eileen K.

The move went well. Because of some unavoidable circumstances the move was changed from 8/21, 8 AM to 8/20 4 PM. The guys has already put in a full day before coming for my stuff. They were courteous and professional. They made the best of a bad situation.

Description of Work
Move Furniture to new home

Category moving companies

5.0

07/23/2018


Jess R.

They were awesome! They were great prior to scheduling, getting in touch with me when I requested a quote, as well as confirming my appointment. They showed up just before the window of time scheduled, worked hard, and were true to their prices. They were all friendly and professional throughout the day. I would absolutely recommend them!

Description of Work
I hired Coutu Bros to help me move into my new house

Category moving companies

5.0

04/17/2018


Kristina J.

Outstanding. The team of 4 was punctual, hard-working, and professional yet personable. They took the time to clarify which items were to be loaded (we had some smaller/delicate things that we moved ourselves) and when we arrived to unload they checked with us on where we wanted the boxes and furniture put. (Added bonus, one of the movers had an amazing eye for where to put the furniture, as skilled as any home decorator I’ve met). The team disassembled and re-assembled the beds and in one instance actually helped us make a bed frame more sturdy. No furniture was damaged. We were very happy!!

Description of Work
We were moving from a home in Warwick to North Kingstown

Category moving companies

5.0

03/03/2018


Doug C.

The owner , Mark, was responsive and always accessible. His moving crew were total professionals, I have to give all involved high praise !

Description of Work
We need a move from our old home and short term storage while we upgraded our new home.

Category moving companies, storage units

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the positive note. I'm glad we could make your moving experience enjoyable. Please let us know if we can help in any way in the future. Marc
5.0

10/02/2017


Sharon R.

They were there exactly on time. They moved me quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
Moving one bedroom apt.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was our pleasure.
5.0

09/28/2017


Debbie C.

Excellent they were very nice to work with.

Description of Work
MGM is the moving company that I refer all of my clients to when I sell their home for them or to them. They are excellent. Very punctual, professional and great to rely on for all of your moving needs.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was our pleasure!
5.0

09/14/2017


Richard W.

Very very well. Professionalism and knowledge of their service was impressive. Great people!

Description of Work
Moving from one spot to another

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the compliments. It was our pleasure to work with you!
5.0

08/21/2017


Jeff C.

Everyone showed up on time, and with more labor than I expected. We did a walk thru, and told exactly how the move was to be handled. The movers were very professional and helpful. They protected all of the furniture, to prevent any damage. The job was completed in a timely manner. I would highly recommend MGM Moving and Storage.

Description of Work
I contacted Jeanne and Bob to move furniture from a relatives home, to his new condominium, which was located on the 10th floor of a high rise complex.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Than you so much for the compliments. We enjoyed working with you!
4.0

06/07/2017


Dina G.

everyone was punctual and professional but we got charged for 2 extra hours to account for their travel time, which was not specified prior to the move

Description of Work
local move

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], It's Bob, Thank you for the compliment that the move was punctual and professional. All the men said that you were very helpful which helps us to make the move a great one. But I'm a little saddened by the comment that you were not notified that the travel time starts in North Kingstown where we are located and then ends in North Kingstown which is called "gate to gate" which we clearly stated on the estimate we gave you before you hired us. I am the one who came to your home and did the estimate for you and I told you then as well. Once you hired us we sent you a truth in coverage statement via email which explains again, everything that we do including the charge from "gate to gate" You replied to these terms and agreed to go ahead and hire us. We keep logs on every job, every day and our arrival from North Kingstown to [Member Information Removed] was 44 minutes. Then our return time once job was complete Doyle [Member Information Removed]. back to North Kingstown, that time we noted as being 41 minutes. That is a total of 85 minutes total both ways. So maybe the 2 hours that you thought it took you could have been off by a 1/2 hour or so. The move was great, you as a customer were great. But due to the travel time (gate to gate) we don't believe that there was any miscalculation on our part. We hope you enjoy your new home and if you need us again we will be there for you. Thanks, Bob and Jeanne
5.0

05/11/2017


samantha C.

A+. I can't say enough good things about Bob, Jeanne, and the moving crew at MGM! I was unsure how to even begin the process since I'd never hired movers before, but Bob gave me lots of helpful advice and assured me that they'd take good care of our stuff. Which they did! The movers themselves were extremely courteous and professional - for example, when they encountered a problem moving a box spring, they alerted me to it immediately and then pointed out the little scrape they made on the molding. Thank you all so much!

Description of Work
I needed movers to take 18 years' worth of furniture and stuff from an old home to a REALLY old home with low ceilings and narrow staircases.

Category moving companies

2.0

04/04/2017


Steven R.

Once Coutu Truck arrived, the driver complained about his ex-wife, and how he spent the night at the hospital with her and how he might have to call off the move. Had to listen to that annoying truck driver/leader of that crew. Then he handed me several pages of paperwork to read and sign, but pressured me to sign as he had to start getting my Furniture. They showed up with 3 guys, the driver is one of them, two small guys and one good sized guy. When i had scheduled the move with Coutu I was told on the phone that they don't start charging any money for the move until they "ARRIVE" at your location, big lie, they charge the moment the truck leaves for your place. The movers kept and didn't return one of my automotive 'creepers' i didn't notice until they left. They charged me for 4 hours of work, when in fact from the time they arrived to my East Providence location and left my Warwick location it was 1 and a half hours. Don't trust Coutu, don't believe their quote, or if you have to get it in writing, cause what they tell you on the phone and what they did and will do is the opposite. I will never use Coutu every again. They will bring there problems with them they will make you worry.

Description of Work
Coutu moved my apartment Furniture from East Providence RI to Warwick RI

Category moving companies

5.0

03/15/2017


Jeanette B.

Wonderful team of people to work with. We had MGM pack and move our house including a home office and they did a great job.

Description of Work
Local move of 3 bedroom house

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the wonderful compliments. You were a pleasure to work with and we wish you the best in your new home!
5.0

01/08/2017


Paul Z.

MGM movers did a great job! They were very professional and informative. They arrived on time and finished the job expeditiously. They wrapped and protected my furniture with the utmost care. The men were very polite and respectful. Bob, the owner, was a pleasure to deal with answering all my questions and putting my concerns at ease. I would definitely use MGM movers again and would recommend them to my neighbors and friends!

Description of Work
I needed a moving company to pack, protect and move my household furniture and belongings from one location in RI to my new home in East Greenwich.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], you are a pleasure to do business with! Thank you for the generous tips you provided to our men. They appreciated that. If you ever need us again, please do not hesitate to call us. We hope you are enjoying your new beautiful condo!
5.0

12/12/2016


Carrie J.

Awesome the three men that City brothers sent were great

Description of Work
Move 2 bedroom house of furniture to new residence 15 miles away

Category moving companies

5.0

09/22/2016


Peter D.

The job was done perfectly. All workers went above and beyond what I expected from such a crew. They were extremely polite, courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Moved a houseful of furniture and other items to three separate locations.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/21/2016


SOPHIA NO MIDDLE H.

The movers were about 10 to 15 minutes early. Bob the boss came along and introduced everyone to me and my family. We did a walk through the house to clarify what was coming with me and what was staying. Explained about the move and the insurance. wanted to know if I had any questions or special requests. The men worked efficiently and were very pleasant and courteous. They had, what appeared to be, a good working relationship. They worked hard. I was very happy with the result.

Description of Work
Do to the fact that my closing date kept being moved , I was constant contact with the mover. And he with me. He guaranteed that he and his staff would make everything as smooth and painless for me. He delivered on his promise.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed), You were absolute pleasure to do business with! We hope you are enjoying your new home! Best of luck to you and working with a customer like was a dream to my men. You were simply awesome. We think you deserve an A!
5.0

09/19/2016


Joe C.

Everything went very well. We would recommend this company.

Description of Work
we hired MGM to move furniture during our home renovation.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

It was our please and thank you for your feedback!
5.0

09/02/2016


Joe R.

The crew arrived on time and got to work right away. They were polite, quick and efficient. We would certainly use this company again and in fact have already recommended them to two of our friends.

Description of Work
Provider moved a substantial amount of furniture, some of the pieces, very expensive, to our storage unit

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate your feedback and do call us again anytime!
5.0

09/02/2016


Robert N.

The crew arrived on time and did a great job wrapping the furniture and packing the truck. The move was completed in a timely manner and with great care !!

Description of Work
move

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback (Member name removed), it was our pleasure to serve you!
5.0

09/01/2016


ellen K.

MGM was on time ..they said they will be there by 2pm and 2pm they were waiting for me!!!! all the men were extremely professionals and helpful.. thanks MGM !!!

Description of Work
help me move into my new apartrment

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], you were a pleasure to work with. We appreciate your feedback and hope you are enjoying your new hom!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Safebound Moving & Storage

    At Safebound Moving & Storage, we specialize in customizing and executing the perfect move. We can support any type of relocation with optimum efficiency and costs that are amongst the lowest in the industry. Plain and simple, no one likes to move. Yet one in four Americans move every five years! Let us take the burden of your next move and allow you to focus on whats important.  

    DN Van Lines Inc

    We are a premier moving and storage company conducting local relocations in Massachusetts and Florida, as well as long distance moves anywhere in between. We distinguish ourselves from our competition by never missing a move,employing well trained moving crews, and operating an efficient and reliable schedule. Our equipment is wholly owned, GPS tracked, and well maintained. If you need to be out by a particular date and require a guaranteed move, we are the movers for you. Additional phone - (508) 281-9173. Additional DBAs - D.N. Vanlines, Inc. DN Van Lines Moving & Storage.  

    Ippon Movers

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Moving services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    388
    Trade License Locale
    Rhode Island
    Trade License Authority
    State of Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission & Division of Public Utilities & Carriers
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Professional moving services, piano moves, hoisting, including interstate moves (residential and commercial), packing, and climate-controlled warehoused storage. Located in Warwick, RI.

    Services Not Offered

    None

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Coutu Bros Movers

    How is Coutu Bros Movers overall rated?

    Coutu Bros Movers is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Coutu Bros Movers open?

    Coutu Bros Movers is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Coutu Bros Movers provide

    Coutu Bros Movers accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check, American Express, Discover

    Does Coutu Bros Movers offer free estimates?

    Yes, Coutu Bros Movers offers free project estimates.

    Does Coutu Bros Movers offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Coutu Bros Movers offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Coutu Bros Movers offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Coutu Bros Movers offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Coutu Bros Movers?

    No, Coutu Bros Movers does not offer warranties.

    What services does Coutu Bros Movers offer?

    Coutu Bros Movers offers the following services: Professional moving services, piano moves, hoisting, including interstate moves (residential and commercial), packing, and climate-controlled warehoused storage. Located in Warwick, RI.

    Are there any services Coutu Bros Movers does not offer?

    None