Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Boucher HVAC - R Inc

Founded 1987 • With Angi since June 2012

4.6

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 5213

Wakefield, RI 02880

Description

The mission of BOUCHER HVAC/R, Inc. is to provide the finest quality of heating, cooling and refrigeration repair, maintenance and installation. We exist to attract and maintain customers. We will strive to have our services exceed the expectations of our customers. Servicing a range of HVAC/R systems: gas/oil appliances, FHW/FWA units, baseboards/radiators; AC split systems, ductless mini-splits, roof top packages...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/22/2021


Matt H.

AJ responded quickly. I was out of heat. He said Ed would be there at 8:00 am. Ed was on time and very knowledgeable He showed me exactly what was done and what’s needed in the future. Very professional. Will use them going forward Thanks Ed.

Description of Work
Fix boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback Mr. [Member Name Removed]. I will be sure to share this with our Team. Stay warm...of course, until you need to stay cool!! And we service and install cooling systems too! We appreciate your business.
1.0

12/26/2020


Pat S.

I would like to explain how incompetent and uncaring this company is to their clients. They came to my sons home to change a filter on his oil tank and the end result was 25% of the oil tank spilling into his basement. He is a very conscientious homeowner and thought he could work responsibly with the company which was his first mistake. This company will take no responsibility for the fact that they left a beautiful home smelling like heating oil. His only request was that he would be made whole in the end. Absolutely irresponsible horrible company that should not be in business.I advise anyone to do your homework and read these reviews they are real.

Description of Work
Stay away from this company!!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

My reply to the [Member Name Removed] s "Review" certainly provides evidence of how BOUCHER HVAC/R, Inc. responded to this incident, which could never be considered incompetent, uncaring or irresponsible. As far as "feeling whole in the end", I would not look to an HVAC company for such a state of being. Personally, I am reading and listening to a lot of Abraham Hicks for inspiration.
1.0

11/11/2020


Garrett S.

I used Boucher on 8/25 for a routine servicing of my Oil Furnace/Tank, the individual performed the work on site for approximately an hour to 90 minutes, I didn’t bother to double check the work performed because I assumed everything would be in order and that the tech was competent. I went to the gym after work and was notified via a frantic text from my tenant that there was a large amount of oil in the basement due to the filter on the side of the oil tank not being properly tightened by the tech. I contacted Boucher immediately and they had another tech come over and clean up the oil that night with some type of oil absorbent product and a cherry deodorizer product as well. Fast forward to the next day where my initial contact begins with the owner of Boucher HVAC, right off the bat the owner brings to my attention that I “was not billed for prior work” that occurred in May 2019 for the replacement of an oil measurement device on my oil tank, so that statement by her really set the tone for a negative interaction going forward. She also mentioned to me that this was obviously a very rare occurrence but that she was sure that I have had a few oil spills in my basement before, which was a totally bizarre and contradictory statement, I can’t say that massive oil spills in my basement are a normal occurrence. I found the owner to honestly be dismissive, barely sympathetic and she tried to brush me off at every turn. She never really took ownership of the situation, she never showed up at my house to assess the scenario, she would merely delegate her underlings to come out to do damage control. I wonder how she would react if this occurred in her home? I made a grave error in judgement early on in this process by electing to not utilize their insurance company because I assumed that Boucher would provide me with a comprehensive and thorough cleanup of my basement and I assumed that I would be made whole again, but that never really occurred. Boucher did provide me with some complementary work that included replacing an oil line, replacing corroded fittings on the furnace and providing me with small compensation for the loss of oil, along with replacing the wood on the bottom of my basement stairs to mitigate the odor. They also had a few techs come over and spray some type of Odor Kill Spray which was honestly only a temporary band-aid on this overall odor problem. As a last ditch effort I contacted Boucher to suggest having a restoration company come along to complete this cleanup/mitigate the odor, she again sent her techs out to assess the scenario and they came by, gave me the run-around again and left. Below you will see photos of the initial oil spill, and obviously this was cleaned up, but you can imagine how something this substantial would completely compromise/warp the integrity of a basement and your home going forward. Two months later and I still have odors in the basement along with the first floor as well. I’m sure the owner will respond to this and try to make herself and her techs look like angels and that they “did everything they could” to mitigate this event, she’ll probably also complain about my Father getting aggressive on the phone with her office, she’ll probably complain about my initial demands of wanting a new complementary furnace/water heater installed as ridiculous, she'll probably mention that I signed a release of liability in exchange for the minimal complementary work performed which is fine……..but the fact is I still have lingering effects from this utterly ridiculous clown-show scenario transpiring , thanks to Boucher HVAC.

Description of Work
Furnace Service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

“Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.” ― Marcus Aurelius , Meditations In replying to this review, I simply want readers, and possible prospective customers, to hear the other perspective. The leak was not caused by the oil filter not being "tightened properly"; the gasket itself let go. It was an accident, for which we immediately began rectifying by sending the On Call technician to clean up the oil. And I asked, in general terms, had Mr. [Member Name Removed] never experienced an "accident" in his life, not an accidental oil spill, which as he pointed out, I said was rare. Personally I had over a dozen emails with Mr. [Member Name Removed] and an equal number of telephone calls; I am unsure how this would be described as "dismissive". If by "underlings" he is referring to my two Master Technicians with a combined experience of 60 years in the HVAC industry, I know this would not sit well with either of them. Mr. [Member Name Removed] thankfully does list the many ways we further rectified or tried to rectify the situation: complementary work done to his furnace, a carpenter to restore his stairs, payment for significantly more then lost oil, and offering to go through our insurance company for repairs. He is also correct in stating he signed a letter of resolution releasing BOUCHER HVAC/R, Inc. from future claims, as well as his father being aggressive and threatening several times on the telephone. It should also be noted the four times our technicians were onsite, there were no windows open nor was the bulkhead open, which he had been advised to do multiple times. I thought everyone knows, if there is a smell in a room, you open the window to "air it out". This was an accident and one we tried repeatedly to correct. When DEM called our office regarding Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s claims, I provided the information they needed and was told I would hear back if necessary. I never heard back from DEM. I appreciate constructive criticism; complaining and vilifying I find a waste of precious time.
5.0

07/18/2020


Bob B.

Great, Technician was knowledgeable and on-time

Description of Work
Recharge A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

10/10/2019


ken D.

I wouldn't recommend them. I had an appointment for 12:30pm. They called and said they'd be late, which is fine. Then called back and said they could be here at 3pm, but I'd have to pay overtime rates. I said "But I had an appointment for 12:30. I understand that your service guy might run late, but at 3pm you begin charing another $65/hr." It wasn't my fault that they were running late, and in who's world is overtime kick in at 3pm?

Description of Work
fixing boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

While it is truly distressing to disappoint a customer, it is unfortunate Mr. [Member Name Removed] misunderstood the overtime rate. It does not "kick in" at 3pm, but at 4:30pm, which is the end of our normal business hours. The appointment may have been completed by 4:30pm and no overtime would have applied. However, our scheduler wanted Mr. [Member Name Removed] to be fully aware if the appointment did take longer than 1.5 hrs the overtime rate would apply. This is why we offered Mr. [Member Name Removed] a Monday morning appointment, which he refused. Because this was a new customer situation, with a Navien combi-boiler, we had no idea what we would find upon our initial inspection. The call was for no heat, yet he had hot water....an uncommon issue for this system. When reviewing the prospective call, our technician thought it may be a failed 3-way valve, which takes a significant amount of time to remove and reinstall a replacement. Finally, the reason for a delayed start for Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s appointment was due to our technician being unable to leave his prior appointment with an unresolved, and potentially unsafe, natural gas boiler issue. This is the nature of the HVAC business...we work with equipment which can be dangerous and the safety of our customers will always come first. If that translates to an "F" rating for not keeping an appointment versus an "A" in actual servicing of equipment, while trying to accommodate customers schedules and ensuring their safety, I question Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s priorities. Perhaps if he hadn't hung up the phone while speaking with our scheduler, this may have had a different outcome.
5.0

01/16/2019


MARK B.

It went great! Our forced hot air furnace kept shutting down. I called 4 different companies, even emergency numbers, no one called back. Then tried Boucher HVAC in Wakefield, RI. I called the main number, after hours and left a message. They called me back within the hour. They were completely booked for the next day so I used their After Hours Emergency Service. Rob was at my house in under an hour and he was the best. Found the problem right away, fixed and explained everything, showed us how to program our thermostat. Very neat, pleasant and obviously an expert in HVAC, done in under an hour. They are now our Heating and cooling company!

Description of Work
Propane powered furnace repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/12/2017


Robert F.

Very well, on time, clean and professional in all aspects of the job.

Description of Work
installed AC throughout the house

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/30/2016


Gary S.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/02/2016


Andrew M.

Description of Work
Repair to Oil Furnace. |AJ was very punctual, polite and professional. He explained what he was doing and why it needed to be done. Price was in the range that I was quoted. I intend to use Boucher HVAC again.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/10/2016


William N.

Description of Work
The service went well. They came out several times in a few weeks because the system had not been serviced in 15 years of operation. There was a billing issue where I was not invoiced right away but was resolved.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/13/2016


Gary S.

Description of Work
Very professional nice to deal with. Told us stuff on HVAC that had never been explained Rob very helpful

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/08/2016


Steve K.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/23/2015


Cliff H.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/27/2015


Dan K.

Description of Work
Good work ata fair price AND they showed up as.scheduled! | | | | |

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/03/2014


Kim C.

Brad was thoughtful and accommodating with scheduling and the completion of project was within the time expected. Very knowledgeable, neat and a pleasure to have in our home. All his employees have the same work ethic and are also neat, punctual and extremely conscientious. Has called back several times to make sure everything is working well and to make sure we didn't have any additional questions. Really took our needs into consideration when proposing the right configuration for our home. Will be using them from now on!

Description of Work
Purchased and installed new AC/Heating wall units in our home and outside components to accommodate system. Did maintenance to our existing backup system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/26/2014


John R.

Rob showed exactly as scheduled. Made the appointment with Brad only a few days earlier. Work took about 6.5 hours. On the fly, Rob was able to correct an issue with the boiler draft that was identified by RISE earlier that morning. And also replaced the expansion tank which was not part of the original work order. All the copper piping looks great and no leaks. New heater provides plenty of HW with a high recovery rate. Brad recommended this model due to it's superior insulation and all-stainless steel construction... I was looking along these lines, as it worked out. Rob set the boiler at 130* and the mixing valve output at 120*; explained how to adjust if necessary. Explained the priority zone operation for the zone valve controller. Very happy with this installation; should outlast my lifetime !!

Description of Work
Removed old gas-fired water heater and installed new indirect-fired water heater (HeatFlo HF-40) and Honeywell mixing valve. Installed new TACO zone sentry zone valve and wired to existing zone valve controller, Installed new Amtrol expansion tank. Corrected boiler draft issue.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/11/2014


John R.

When I contacted Brad on Sat he was able to schedule me in for Monday but I needed to postpone till Friday. This was no problem either. Rob showed at 08:30 as promised. The work was completed w/in 3 hours. Everything works fine. There was a little hic-up with the 120V connection right after Rob left (controller lost all power), but that was just a lose wire nut and I fixed that myself. Everything is working great; I've been watching the reset control modulate the boiler temp as the out door air temp goes up and down.

Description of Work
Installed a taco zone valve controller and a taco outdoor boiler reset device; the latter recommended by RISE energy audit as a fuel conserving device (NG rebate).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/15/2014


Denise A.

.

Description of Work
They tuned and checked the boiler and replace the backdraft filter.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are disappointed to see this member gave us a 'C' on cost. We have researched our competitor pricing and we have a lower hourly rate than most. During this particular appointment we cleaned and serviced her furnace and corrected and replaced ductwork in the basement and a bedroom--all completed in two hours. We also had to go back three days after this work for insufficient heat. The culprit was the filter the customer was going to replace herself had an issue and we did this return service at NO CHARGE, a savings of $95. I think this is more a case of an uneducated consumer as opposed to a more expensive service provider.
5.0

12/05/2013


kevin M.

cleaned my boiler

Description of Work
cleaned my boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/03/2013


Jody B.

Rob arrived on time and completed the work within an hour as they had estimated. The new access point allows easy access for the appropriate rigid/reusable filter. He also properly sealed the unit, and left the space clean. As an extra bonus he cleaned the filter for us. We had called them a couple of weeks ago to repair another unit that had stopped working during one of the heat waves last summer. We didn't have time to deal with it until this month. When I called to inquire about service, they apologized for not being able to come that day (friday afternoon), and made an appointment for the Monday morning. Rob arrived on time, and fixed the unit within a couple of hours. He was careful to explain all the things he checked and what he did to find the problem. Problem solved. I am very impressed with this company. They are friendly, perfectly professional, willing to answer any questions, able to schedule repairs within a very reasonable time, and the price is also reasonable. It is such a relief to find a company like this to deal with our heating and cooling system.

Description of Work
The hvac unit needed to have the access to the filter holder relocated so the appropriate rigid filter could be put in and out. The unit is in a tight space, and only the cheap cardboard filters would go in because they had to be bent a little to make it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/27/2013


Besenia R.

Description of Work
Called at 9pm and 12 hours later (yup! By 9am!) our ac system was repaired at a VERY reasonable rate. The whole job took about an hour and the service was prompt, courteous, knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend again!!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/25/2013


John R.

Just bought the house and noticed the attic AC unit was putting out weak cold air and condenser unit was not functioning. Brad sent out his partner Rob who found the issue w/ the condenser right away. Rob check both the basement blower and attic blower, check filters, blew out drain lines, recharged one of the condenser units. Explained all he was doing very well.

Description of Work
AC check up and service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/03/2013


Joseph W L.

We researched central air conditioning for our 1935 house and concluded that a ductless mini-split system was the way to go. A neighbor had recommended Boucher, so we called them and Brad, the owner, came down to do an estimate. He spent almost 2 hours studying the house and making recommendations. We had a detailed proposal in a few days. We got an estimate from another company that was considerably higher, so we went with Boucher. They started the work a week before scheduled and completed it in less than 2 days. The crew consisted of Brad's son and another employee. They couldn't have been nicer or more professional. They also brought in a carpenter the first day to do the hole drilling and several other tasks. He, too was excellent. Brad himself came in several times to check progress. Their office manager was also great--very prompt and friendly. We got a lesson on using the remote control to operate the units, which we've used so far for the heat pump. It's so effective that we'll probably be able to avoid using our oil fired furnace next fall and early spring, thereby saving hundreds of dollars. Haven't used the a/c yet, as it's been a very cool spring so far, but I anticipate it will do an excellent job cooling and dehumidifying the house--and it's virtually silent. If there are any problems, they'll be right down to check it out--and I definitely trust them on that. A town inspector came in to sign off on the work. He spent less than 5 minutes and commented about 3 times on what a clean job it was. In summary, I can recommend Boucher with no reservations.

Description of Work
Installed a ductless mini-split a/c system with inverter units in four rooms and chiller unit outdoors. All equipment came from Fujitsu, which is one of the leading companies in the industry.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/31/2012


K. M.

He was exceptional, gave us several options and showed us exactly what the problems were/would be in the future. He worked into the evening, after dark and made extensive repairs to the unit. We have since had him return to work on our furnace and other AC unit. Again, his approach was very straightforward and he gave us a few options for repair. He did not insist on the most costly solutions, and we were very happy with the information he gave us. CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! A+++++++++++++ There are not too many people who still offer excellent customer service while providing first-rate service and experience. I wish there were more of these people out there. He's super. We really lucked out. Made a major contact, and we are already recommending him to all out friends.

Description of Work
During the first heat wave of 2012, we had an AC emergency. The units are 20 yrs old. and previous owners had not had them serviced since 1994. The owner responded to my voicemail within 5 minutes, and added me to the end of his already long day - a Friday night! Problem: AC leaking refrigerant. Extensive rust/corrosion. Solution: Fixed leak, removed and replaced rusted parts. Subsequent visit: Repaired other AC unit, serviced furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/19/2012


Larry T.

I first learned of Brad Boucher two years ago through the manager at a local hardware store. We were just recovering from a late winter flood (so called and quot;once in a hundred years floodand quot;) and needed my home furnace checked out immediately. Though he was leaving on vacation the next morning, Mr. Boucher came over that evening, took apart the furnace, tested the parts and replaced those in question, and had us up and running before leaving that night. Then, last year he performed routine annual maintenance, and this year was here to do the same when I requested he also replace our corroded 60 year old oil lines and install our new water heater.For each of these last two years, he has called when a year elapsed, set a service time with us, and arrived promptly at that time. At each visit, he has worked quickly, efficiently, keeping the cost down and within estimate. I am a home grown handyman, so I have some knowledge of the work he is doing. At each visit I have overseen the work as it progressed and was pleased with the quality, thoroughness, and efficiency.

Description of Work
Owner, Brad Boucher, performed a annual furnace maintenance, and improved our safety by adding a heat sensitive shutoff valve to our oil tank. Then at our request, he installed new oil lines from our tank to the furnace and installed a water heater, including new copper fittings and connecting lines.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    A Good Plumber

    A Good Plumber is a family owned and operated company. Skilled in all facets of plumbing from small repairs to multi-residential and commercial work. We deliver a high level of skill at an affordable price and are fully licensed and insured.  

    Cotti-Johnson Heating-Cooling-Electrical

    Are you having problems with your homes Heating, Air Conditioning, or Electrical systems? Or is your home just not as comfortable as you would like? Are you looking for a contractor that can handle all your systems with one call? Welcome to Cotti-Johnson, your one stop shop for Heating, Air Conditioning, and Electrical systems. We can handle anything from a simple light fixture replacement or a furnace tune up to a Home Standby Generator or Ductless system. Our crews are well trained in large scale jobs as well. From a whole house rewire to a complete zoned central air system you can control with your smartphone, we can handle it. We service all your indoor comfort needs. We understand how frustrating it can be when one of your homes critical comfort systems goes down. We offer 24/7 emergency services to get your systems up and running when you need them most. We offer professional design services for Landscape Lighting, Indoor Lighting, and Duct Layouts as well. Give us a call to see what Cotti-Johnson can do for you. Don't forget to ask about our 10 year warranty! 1-844-48-COTTI  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Cotti-Johnson Heating-Cooling-Electrical  on Angi
    Regan One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning

    Family owned & operated. Additional Email - mregan@reganhvac.com.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    HVAC Services, Heating & AC

    Services Not Offered

    Non-vented gas appliances

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Boucher HVAC - R Inc

    How is Boucher HVAC - R Inc overall rated?

    Boucher HVAC - R Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Boucher HVAC - R Inc open?

    Boucher HVAC - R Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Boucher HVAC - R Inc provide

    Boucher HVAC - R Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Boucher HVAC - R Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Boucher HVAC - R Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Boucher HVAC - R Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Boucher HVAC - R Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Boucher HVAC - R Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Boucher HVAC - R Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Boucher HVAC - R Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Boucher HVAC - R Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Boucher HVAC - R Inc?

    No, Boucher HVAC - R Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Boucher HVAC - R Inc offer?

    Boucher HVAC - R Inc offers the following services: HVAC Services, Heating & AC

    Are there any services Boucher HVAC - R Inc does not offer?

    Non-vented gas appliances