Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Restivo Heating & Air Cond

Founded 1936 • With Angi since June 2006

4.5

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

295 Scituate Ave

Johnston, RI 02919

Description

Did you know that if your heating and cooling system that is older than twelve years, you could substantially cut your utility bills when you get a new system installed! The amount you save on utilities with a new heat pump or a new furnace installation in New England, will actually pay for your new heating system. We also do quick and professional air conditioning installation. Call us today to know more. Our technicians will be more than happy to take a look at your current system. You may only need heating and cooling repair. Whatever the case, we can give you an honest assessment to get you on your way to a more efficient and reliable system. Additional emails - jackrestivo@cox.net, heather@restivos.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/12/2021


Anthony M.

This is a truly professional and reliable company. Jack the owner is personable and provided an accurate quote. He returns calls promptly and was patient in answering our questions. We received quotes from 4 companies and he was by far the most informative and most responsive. Restivo's was not the cheapest but we believed they would provide us with the most reliable system with the service we needed. The installation occurred in a timely manner. The installation crew is top notch. They followed all COVID guidelines and are very respectful. During the installation we worked from home and they were very quiet. At the end of the installation they carefully checked the system and explained the system in detail. They left with no signs that they had ever been there. You can get cheaper but in my opinion you will not get a better value if service matters to you.

Description of Work
Installation of a cooling and air conditioning unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

09/15/2017


Pat P.

They gave us the option of mounting the units on the outside in the ground or above ground. We went with above and the units kept vibrating in the bedroom area, it was extremely noisy, and it took awhile for them to get back and resolve. We had a few instances where they said they were coming a certain day and then said oh no, we got scheduling wrong or the truck broke down, and that happened two or three times. In all fairness, the girl that usually kind of coordinates the office was out on maternity leave, but I wasn't overall happy with them. The initial installation was fine, but there were problems afterwards and then later on one of the units started leaking and it turned out the pipe wasn't at enough of a pitch and it leaked inside the house. I think the initial installation was fine, but they don't use the same crew, even though the ones that mounted the unit outside, they weren't the ones that came back to lower it to the ground, they use their follow-up maintenance, I don't know what you would call them, but it's two separate crews, one for the installation and one for maintenance, troubleshooting afterwards and there was a difference in quality. The initial installation was very good, but it was the problems that were afterwards that they could have improved.

Description of Work
Air conditioning installation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/07/2017


Elaine P.

Very good service! They are prompt and I don't have any problem with them.

Description of Work
Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/24/2017


Lil L.

Excellent, professional, courteous, and cleaned up after as well as I would.

Description of Work
Had mini split air conditioning installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

06/23/2017


Mark P.

Below is the letter I sent to the owner in August of 2016: Dear Jack, I am writing to you due to a case of extremely poor service from your company. Unfortunately, I purchased an LG Split System Air Conditioner from your company back in June 2014. Up until this year we didn't have any issues with the system or Restivo's. On Saturday, July 23rd of this year, during the run of hot days, I noticed that the system wasn't cooling our house. That same day I called your company for emergency service and all weekend your answering machine was "full" and would only hang up on me. As you can imagine that was very frustrating and I was glad I don't have my heating service through your company. I contacted your company on Monday, July 25th, I was happy to get a service appointment the next day and that the service technician, Arthur was very good and he was able to diagnose the problem as a bad compressor due to a slow leak at the recharge input. (Invoice #43471) The next day, Wednesday July 27th, I called to find out what I could do to help expedite the shipping of the part and your service manager was helpful and told me that LG was excellent and they would have it on Friday the 29th and he set up an appointment for Monday 8/1 between 12-4. That's when your company decided to completely drop the ball! Below you will see a list of facts without me inserting my emotions. You can figure out how I am feeling at this moment, as I write this letter.: (Invoice #44049) 8/1 Appointment between 12-4 No call as of 4:10pm. I call office and was told that the service technician is running behind all day and will make it to my house soon. 6:15 Curtis called and said he was on his way and arrived at 6:35. When he arrived, he told me he was all set to install the compressor and should complete it in an hour and 45 minutes. Approximately two hours later, as darkness was falling, Curtis said he made a mistake and "burned" some wires. He would be unable to complete the work that night and he would have to get the part he burned, and "someone" would call to set up his return to finish the job. 3 days pass. Thursday, 8/4 I hadn't received a call from your company, so I called at 3:40pm. The woman who answered told me that I would have to speak to your service manager and that he wasn't in the office. I then asked for someone in charge and she told me nobody else was in the office and that she was unable to reach anyone and that she would leave a message for your service manager and that he would be in tomorrow, 8/5 and he would call me. Friday, 8/5- 2:00pm I again didn't receive a call from your company and I called and asked to speak to the service manager and I was told he wasn't in and that he was out of town wouldn't be back until Monday! I questioned her inability to reach him and questioning what I was told the day before, I then asked to speak to you, the owner, Jack Restivo. the woman told me you were out of town and she could forward my call to your voicemail and that you would be in on Monday, 8/8. Unfortunately, not being able to speak to anyone from your company, I only could surmise that your service manager received my many messages and he decided I was not deserving of the courtesy of a call to communicate what my situation might be. Also, he believed another weekend without air conditioning in my home was acceptable! Today, Saturday 8/6 I sit writing this letter sweating and having to go out to purchase a room air conditioner for my bedroom! I currently have an outdoor unit that is half apart. As I told the woman who answered the phone the times that I called, seeing that I didn't receive a call from your company. UPDATE: 6/23/17 Less than one year later the unit has stopped working again! I won't make the same mistake twice. I have called a different authorized service company. My service cost estimate is for the cost of the system.

Description of Work
Install and Service of an LG Duct Less Split Air Conditioner System.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/21/2017


Matthew T.

..

Description of Work
..

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/28/2016


james L.

Description of Work
The removal of the old boiler and oil tank was arranged by Restivo and that went well. Restivo installed the new gas boiler and a gas hot water heater. That went well, but there was a problem with the boiler. Restivo knew what the problem was (a lubricant in the boiler that had to be removed)and worked for several weeks to correct the problem. They were diligent and succeeded. They always responded to my calls (that I had little heat) quickly. Everyone was pleasant and professional. The system now works very well and converting to gas has saved me money each winter month.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/09/2016


Glenn F.

Description of Work
.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/22/2016


Brian S.

Filled out online form on their web site on a Sunday night. They called within minutes. I texted them a picture of the furnace label and they showed up with the part the next morning. The part wasn't exactly right so they went back to replace it to make sure it was done correctly. Very happy with the responsiveness and professionalism.

Description of Work
Replaced blower motor in gas furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

01/23/2016


Stephen R.

My water heater tank was leaking and I needed it replaced. I had a few people give me prices and suggestions. Restivo's was the only place that told me I should get a indirect water heater and connect it to my forced water gas boiler. It was $400 cheaper then lowest quote that someone gave me. The unit was a Utica 40 gallon ( just 2 people here) and was connected to my Utica boiler. They installed a 3rd zone to take priority when hot water needs to be heated. This was a bonus because I can connect wifi thermostats to that (C-wire). Something that would not of easily happened if I took advice from the other guys. The person that gave me the quote was nice and on time. The installers that came in were on time as well too. The next day I went to check out the work and noticed a little bit of water. It was dripping from an old elbow that was there. I called and they came out the next day. I was waiting for them to tell me that they didn't install that and I would have to pay to get that fixed....but they fixed it no charge. Since then it has been working great. Can't tell if I am saving anything since 2015-2016 winter has been mild this year. I have briefly talked to the owner who followed up and was nice as well. B on quality since I think the welding on the pipes was a little messy when you compare what my other pipes look like in the basement. I mentioned the elbow, I think a little force on it broke the seal when they were installing newer pipes. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed indirect water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/21/2015


Gary B.

We had three contractors come to the house and submit proposals. Owner/manager of Restivo's prepared the estimate. Left handwritten copy, followed with typed copy in the mail. Installers did the whole job in a day, with some additional work required a couple days later. The recommended units are quiet and certainly seem to out perform the units they replaced. They are high efficiency units, but it's too soon to determine and cost savings on gas and electricity.

Description of Work
Replaced existing gas furnace and central air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/05/2015


Jean H.

It worked out really well they did a very good job.

Description of Work
They did a combination of duct work for me.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/19/2014


Pat F.

They were able to come out quickly and were even early to the appointment. They completed the repair in less then half of an hour. They cleaned up well after completion. Overall, it was a good experience and I will contact them for routine tune-ups.

Description of Work
We called them out when we had an issue with our air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

06/13/2014


Linda I.

The person gave me an estimate and the various options for a new heating system. His price was too much for my budget

Description of Work
provided an estimate for a new heating system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

04/11/2014


Ken A.

Appointment scheduled for between 9-10 AM. At 9:45, I get a call telling me that they had and quot;an emergencyand quot; and wanted to reschedule. Lack of respect for the customer's time is not a way to do business. Restivo's installed a central air system for us about 12 years ago and has been out to service it with OK results (hence the overall 'D'), but I think I'll be looking for a new vendor, as I can't be missing work to get a last minute cancellation.

Description of Work
Scheduled an appointment and took time off from work to get a quote on installation of a Ductless split AC system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Restivo's apologizes for your inconvenience and we know how precious everyone's time is. Our salesman had a medical emergency that day and needed to reschedule. Again we apologize for the inconvenience and we stand ready to accommodate your heating & air conditioning needs in the future.
5.0

10/10/2013


Todd V.

Restivo's Service Technician, Arthur, was very knowledgeable, professional and respectful. He actually beat his initial quote for the part I needed and, as a result, I came out $100 ahead! Couldn't be happier with the service, professionalism and price. I'll definitely call them again for any future HVAC needs.

Description of Work
Replaced an emergency relief switch for my furnace blower motor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

04/22/2013


Arthur C.

The installation was mostly workmanlike but messy. They were helpful in dealing with the gas company and the local inspector, but the installation failed its first inspection for what I thought were obvious deficiencies. (Lack of sufficient hangers on pipes and pipes rubbing against other pipes or the building structure.) In one instance, to make a hole in the cover of the new unit to run a wire they just drove a pointed object through it leaving sharp jagged edges.

Description of Work
Installation of an on demand hot water heater, after oil fired unit failed and piping for a gas cooktop

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/07/2013


DEB D.

We decided on Restivo's in September, but had to keep pushing installation date back because we were trying to use up the oil in the tank. Finally had it done the week before Christmas, and due to Retsivo's being delayed on another job they came 3 days before Christmas, on a Saturday. Guys were very polite, professional, and made sure everything was clean and working properly before they left. Only glitch was the company they sub-contracted to remove old furnace and oil tank - they weren't prepared to remove the oil tank. So, they removed the old furnace the day before the new one was to be installed, and Restivo's took care of getting someone else to take out the tank the day after Christmas. We received in the mail the rebate forms to submit to national Grid, and the contact number for the city building inspector so we could have him inspect the new furnace. They took care of everything, and were there to answer any questions or concerns we had. They even offered to provide space heaters for the day we would be without heat.

Description of Work
We replaced our old, inefficient oil firnace with a high-efficient gas furnace. After getting 4 estimates, we decided on Restivo's, and are very happy we did. Overall experience was great - they were very knowledgable, professional, and willing to work the Saturday before christmas to get it done!.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/30/2012


DEB D.

OUR EXPERIENCE WITH RESTIVO'S WAS EXCELLENT! THEY WERE VERY PATIENT WITH US TRYING TO USE UP THE OIL WE HAD. OLD FURNACE WAS TAKEN OUT THE DAY BEFORE, SO THEY HAD OFFERED TO BRING SPACE HEATERS FOR US TO USE. INSTALLATION TOOK APPROX. 6 HOURS - ALL THE GUYS WERE VERY PROFESSIONAL, GREAT ATTITUDES, CLEANED EVERYTHING BEFORE THEY LEFT. EXPLAINED OPERATION, AND FILTER MAINTENANCE. WE WOULD USE THEM AGAIN IN A HEARTBEAT.

Description of Work
REPLACED OLD OIL FURNACE WITH HIGH EFFICIENCY GAS FURNACE

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/20/2011


David K.

The experience exceeded my expectations in every way. I was just satisfied with them in every way. The house was about 12 years old and hadn't had air conditioning when it was built, and they came in and did a beautiful job. They had a professional work crew out here and they did the job faster than I would have thought. I have never had a problem with it, and the price was fine. It was just a good experience. I have recommended them to a number of people who have had air conditioning systems put in by them.

Description of Work
Restivo Heating & Air Conditioning put in a complete air conditioning system about eight years ago.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

04/27/2011


Stephen O.

They had a little trouble as we had a leak afterward and compression; but they were very timely about coming back and fixing it. I would say service was good. They were priced very carefully. The crew was smoking in my house. It was nothing terrible; but the language could have been little formal. It was a cold day and they were in and out of my house a lot. I feel they weren't happy about it. I had to have them back couple of times to get it right and it worked.

Description of Work
Restivos Heating & Air installed air conditioning during December of 2009. Even they had to put in couple of connectors to make it functional. They put in the footing and platform ducts to hold the two units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

01/18/2011


Barbara H.

My father suggested that I contact them for a quote because they have been in business for a long time. They were willing to do the work that some of their competitor’s were willing to do at a lower rate. I wasn’t completely satisfied with everything that went on here. In getting the new boiler in the house they dented some siding. It wasn't a lot of damage but I had to remind them to come over and take a look at it because they promised they would take care of it. They left a real messy area down there so that prompted me to have to go out and buy a mop and bucket to clean it up. I haven't discussed it with them but I don't think they left it in a real workmanlike manner. There also was a discrepancy on one of the piping lines that they said they didn't need to touch but some of their competitors said that it needed to be changed so there has been some back and forth with them. They did get the job done at a reasonable cost but there were a few kinks in the road and I don't know if I would recommend them. They also left a mess on the boiler and didn’t put it up on slabs. There are a couple of things that were bothering me about the work. There was some miscommunication and I wouldn’t use them in the future. The salesman never called me back.

Description of Work
I used Restivo Heating & Air Conditioning to install a boiler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/04/2011


Deborah C.

We looked at several different companies for different types of sizes and units. We had used them before and we were very pleased. Despite all the research we did they still came out on top and they were the most professional and had the best price. We liked the unit they offered us the best. They were our final choice as they had been two previous times. This was the third time we have used them.

Description of Work
We used Restivo Heating & Air Conditioning to replace our a/c unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

05/18/2007


LINDA E.

There were a couple of problems with this company, as they wouldn't fix two holes they made, to possibly install a new air vent. The hole in the closet floor they made, took three weeks before they came out and placed a metal sheet over the hole,and it was left that way. The hole in the ceiling of the closet, is still there and they won't repair that hole either. Then they installed a humidifier along with the furnace, but did not install the drainage line properly, which created puddles of water on the floor. While doing the installation, they were pleasant to work with, but they don't give very good customer care and don't follow through with promises to fix what they tear up. I would not recommend anyone use these people.

Description of Work
A new gas warm air furnace was installed by Restivo Heating and Air Conditioning in our 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/02/2006


RAHUL K.

THEY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB OF INSTALLING MY BOILER. THEY CLEANED UP AFTER THEMSELVES. THEY CONDUCTED THEMSELVES IN A PROFESSIONAL AND POLITE MANNER, TOO.

Description of Work
THIS COMPANY CAME OUT AND INSTALLED A NEW BOILER IN MY HOME.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Regan One Hour Heating & Air Conditioning

    Family owned & operated. Additional Email - mregan@reganhvac.com.  

    Cotti-Johnson Heating-Cooling-Electrical

    Are you having problems with your homes Heating, Air Conditioning, or Electrical systems? Or is your home just not as comfortable as you would like? Are you looking for a contractor that can handle all your systems with one call? Welcome to Cotti-Johnson, your one stop shop for Heating, Air Conditioning, and Electrical systems. We can handle anything from a simple light fixture replacement or a furnace tune up to a Home Standby Generator or Ductless system. Our crews are well trained in large scale jobs as well. From a whole house rewire to a complete zoned central air system you can control with your smartphone, we can handle it. We service all your indoor comfort needs. We understand how frustrating it can be when one of your homes critical comfort systems goes down. We offer 24/7 emergency services to get your systems up and running when you need them most. We offer professional design services for Landscape Lighting, Indoor Lighting, and Duct Layouts as well. Give us a call to see what Cotti-Johnson can do for you. Don't forget to ask about our 10 year warranty! 1-844-48-COTTI  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Cotti-Johnson Heating-Cooling-Electrical  on Angi
    Malone Plumbing and Heating Inc

    Additional DBA - Malone Plumbing. Award winning.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Installation and repair of heating & cooling.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Restivo Heating & Air Cond

    How is Restivo Heating & Air Cond overall rated?

    Restivo Heating & Air Cond is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Restivo Heating & Air Cond open?

    Restivo Heating & Air Cond is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Restivo Heating & Air Cond provide

    Restivo Heating & Air Cond accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Restivo Heating & Air Cond offer free estimates?

    Yes, Restivo Heating & Air Cond offers free project estimates.

    Does Restivo Heating & Air Cond offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Restivo Heating & Air Cond does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Restivo Heating & Air Cond?

    No, Restivo Heating & Air Cond does not offer warranties.

    What services does Restivo Heating & Air Cond offer?

    Restivo Heating & Air Cond offers the following services: Installation and repair of heating & cooling.