Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ocean State Home Improvement Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since June 2006

We are a full service home remodeling company.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(24) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-24 of 24 reviews
Despina M.
5.0
05/01/2020
GREAT SERVICE- gave me a quote and did the job the SAME DAY! Very fair pricing! Very professional and clean! Would hire again.
Description of Work
I had an aluminum frame around a window redone
Category
picture framing, siding

Service Provider Response

Thank [Member Name Removed] for this positive review and thank you for your business. I look forward to actually meeting you in person this coming week to quote your floor tile job. I will reach out to you soon. Be Safe 😀😀😀
Paula B.
5.0
08/19/2019
John and his crew were very professional. He came right away, quoted me a price and advised me on the materials and work I needed done. As soon as I agreed, I didn't have to wait. The materials were delivered promptly and the work started. His crew came at the time they said and worked diligently. He has a hard working crew including his two very respectful sons. His son Nick answered all of my questions and kept me informed on what they were planning on doing for the day. All of the guys were professional and cleaned up at the end of each day. John was here checking on his crew everyday and making sure I was happy. He kept me informed if problems came up and there were no surprises or unexpected costs at the end. The house was finished in 5 days and it looks amazing. Everyone tells me that it looks like a brand new house. I would recommend John and his crew and use them again when I need work done,
Description of Work
Vinyl siding, decks, gutters
Category
decks, gutter repair, siding, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for recognizing the hard work we put in. Your home looks great and will for many years. I look forward to hearing from you on your next project. Enjoy your home!!!
Anna G.
5.0
03/28/2018
Great! John and his crew are total pros. They work hard and work fast. Done in a day, cleaned up and the work was great. Would hire them again in a heartbeat to help us with out 100 year old house!
Description of Work
Replaced rotten cedar shingles, put in new flashing and housewrap
Category
siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you again and also thanks for your patience since it did take longer than I originally told you. Your business is greatly appreciated.
Anna G.
5.0
03/28/2018
Awesome!!! These guys are fast, and very good. We’ve had so many bad experiences with other companies, but John and his crew are awesome. Door was installed within about 2 hours and is exactly what we wanted!
Description of Work
Needed a new door installed
Category
replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

I'm so glad to hear you are enjoying your door. It was my pleasure working for you and I look forward to working on your next project. Please keep in touch. Thank you
Marisa P.
5.0
06/09/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
replacement windows
Ken S.
5.0
12/16/2015
ON time, good clean up, excellent windows.
Description of Work
Replaced six windows. Excellent work
Category
replacement windows
David R.
5.0
12/03/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Ocean State Home Improvement installed vinyl siding and insulation on the house and garage. Replaced three entry doors, the picture window, and the patio door. They replaced all of the gutters and installed gutter guards all around. They also re-located the rear garage entry door. All went well and we are very happy with the results! John and his crew were a pleasure to work with. John is a very personable guy and was always very willing to discuss options and answer questions and always had excellent recommendations. We never felt rushed or pressured while dealing with John. We spent a little more than we had originally planned for, but the quality of both the materials and the workmanship was exceptional and well worth the extra expense. We are very happy with our home improvements and we have already contacted John to discuss the next project.
Category
siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed] It was a pleasure working with you both on transforming the look of your home. It's been an extremely busy fall trying to beat the winter weather but I still look forward to building your deck once this cold winter breaks and will see to it that it goes as smoothly as your last job went. Thank you so much for recognizing our efforts and I feel privileged to be your contractor.
carla K.
5.0
11/08/2015
I met with John DiMauro from Ocean State Home Improvement in early September of this year. He was very acommadating with meeting me at my home in south county ,RI. It was a little difficult for me as I live out of state approx 1.5 hours away, from the house where I intended to have the work done. I had already met with 3 other contractors, Ocean State Home Imp. was the fourth.I was first impressed by the fact that the person meeting with was the actual owner of the company. He was not a sales man, or a one man show. He was the owner of an actual company that had a 30+ year history and a crew of experienced installers. He not only was the owner of this company but he had worked as one of the crew for his father that owned it before him. I could tell right away that this was a family business, and there was a lot of pride in that. I knew that day that he was the contractor I wanted, I gave him a deposit and signed a contract. I was hoping to try and have the work done before the end of the year, John told me we could plan on getting this started in 7-8 wks after signing the contract. So I was thinking around the first couple weeks of November. They were actually ahead of schedule and started Oct 19th. I was a little nervous about having all this going on, and not being around so I would travel 2-3x a week to the house to see how things were going. The crew that John sent was amazing. Mike, Nick, Wilson and Matt were there at 8am in the morning worked all day, were very polite, always took time to talk to me give me updates on what was going to happen and when, answered all my questions. Never once complained about having to work around things that the people who lived in the house might have in the way. Extremely professional all the way! John had estimated that the job would probably take a couple weeks, and I honestly have to tell you I had my doubts, but I was ok with it taking longer I wanted the job done right not fast. Exactly 2 weeks later on Oct 30th the job was finished completely. They left the property spotless. The work was expertly done and I couldn't be happier with it. I have received many compliments from friends and neighbors, even my 80 yr old father approved and he rarely approves of anything! I would not hesitate to recommend Ocean State Home Improvement to anyone!
Description of Work
Vinyl siding on entire house, trim and shutters Gutters and downspouts with gutter guards installed Replaced 25 windows and 2 exterior doors
Category
gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you {Member's name} for recognizing all the efforts that we as a team put into making your job a success. Many contractors just don't understand the importance of communicating and working professionally. Thank you so much for your hospitality and the thought ful gifts you gave my workers. I look forward to working with you on your next project. Enjoy😀
Keith H.
5.0
09/16/2015
.
Description of Work
Window replacement
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the excellent review. I hope you are enjoying your new windows. I look forward to working with you in the future.
Louise B.
5.0
05/13/2015
I contacted John DiMauro of OSHI based on my research on Angie's List. Everyone who had dealt with him gave him "A" rating in all categories. He also had a good number of years of experience in his field performing a variety of work. Of importance to me was that he also provided 24 hour emergency service. I called him concerned with my problem which was a piece of siding that had detached near the roof due to very heavy winds and rain. It was about 15 feet wide and hanging loose but it ultimately fell to the ground. I emailed John in the evening and he called me early the next morning. He said he would fix the problem but that he wouldn't be able to get to it for about a couple of weeks but that if he could, he would try to fix it at the end of the week should certain things fall in place on the job he was currently involved with. John is definitely a man of his word. Whenever I called, emailed or texted him, he would respond as soon as he could. He was always very pleasant to deal with and it is evident that he is very customer focused where he wanted to make sure that he not only did the job right but maintained efficient communication. The piece of siding was properly replaced and very neatly done. The job was completed in the week that I called. I was impressed with this as well as every aspect of my dealings with him. My carpenter recently passed away after better than 20 years of doing business with him. I'm happy to have found John DiMauro of OSHI because as I told him, I will definitely contact him again in the future for any type of work that needs to be done. He is a true professional and great at what he does!
Description of Work
OSHI fixed a piece of siding that detached near the roof of my three story home. It was about 15 feet long.
Category
contractors, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking

Service Provider Response

It was great working for you and hope to actually meet you someday on your next project. Thank you for recognizing my dedication it's not always easy to be on target but I give it my best. Even on small jobs like yours. I'm looking forward to hearing from you in the future. Thank you
Donna P.
5.0
04/14/2015
From the first call to end of job, it all went perfectly. Complete installation of windows took 1 day and gutters/downspouts took a 2nd day. John offered ideas for future cost savings/efficiencies but did not in any way push us. We followed his advice to vinyl wrap all window trim and add gutter guards. We have since called him back to replace our roof which will be done in a few weeks. The house was clean of all debris and I can't say enough about his professionalism.
Description of Work
Installed 16 windows and replaced all gutters/downspouts.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for the great review it means a lot to me that I do everything I can to make my customers 100% satisfied. We are looking forward to doing your roofing project soon and will make sure that also goes as well as everything else did. Thank you and say hello to Charlie Brown for me lol.
Paul V.
5.0
03/05/2015
See above
Description of Work
SNOW REMOVAL in North Providence..I live in a condominium and asked my association to send someone to remove the ice and snow from my roof because of water issues. They sent Mr. DiMauro and an assistant. Both extremely professional and went out of there way to get the job done. I will be contacting them in the future because they have an array of services. Thank you Mr. DiMauro
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you in putting your trust in me . I know it was a small job but we treat all jobs the with the same professionalism & attention . I'm looking forward to hearing from you in the future and I will always do my best to follow through. Thank you John DiMauro
Frank T.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi {removed member names} Thank you so much for the positive review . Hope you get many years of enjoyment out of your room. Please keep me in mind for other projects that may come up in the future . Thank you & enjoy your holiday John
Raymond R.
5.0
11/07/2014
My wife and I wanted to have new windows and doors installed in our 80 year old home. We decided to call Ocean state Home Improvement. John the owner returned my call within 24 hours and we set up a date for an estimate. He arrived right on time and measured all the windows and doors that we wanted replaced. He showed me the 2 types of windows he uses and explained the benefits of both. I wanted to order the doors from Lowe's so he wrote down the size of all the doors that I needed to order. He made the whole process easy and comfortable as if we had known him for years. I gave him a deposit right then and there. At Lowe's the sales person had a question about the doors that I couldn't answer so I called John and he returned my call promptly and the problem was resolved. When it came time to install the windows and doors the whole process went off without a hitch, he also gave us a several day notice when he could do the job so we could plan for it. We wanted a certain type of molding for the inside of the new windows, not finding that type at his regular supplier he made the extra effort to find it some place else so we could have what we wanted. After the work was completed there was a problem with one of the entry doors (hard to close) and John spent well over an hour working on the problem trying to correct it. He did, now the door works fine. My wife and I love our new doors and windows, no more cold drafts, storm windows or the constant rattles when the wind blew. John does great work at a fair price. Ray and Fran North Providence
Description of Work
Installed new windows and doors.
Category
replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive and genuine review . It was my pleasure working on your home . It's always great to hear that the efforts don't go unnoticed and always know that I'm here for you if needed. Thank you John
Lynda G.
5.0
09/17/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Installed new front door. |I have been using John for over 20 years. This was just the last project he completed for me. He also gutted and remodeled my kitchen and bathroom 10 years ago.
Category
siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review its always been my pleasure working with you both . Can't believe how fast time goes . John
Cindy R.
5.0
06/10/2014
unknown
Description of Work
OSHI replaced a leaking upstairs window which I learned was the incorrect design for it's location. Excellent job done although the price was more than I'd anticipated. I was told that it was the best window on the market. I am satisfied with the job and look forward to no more water working it's way to the downstairs. OSHI also fixed some of the siding on the side of the house that had moved due to high winds. This caused a side window to leak profusely with wind-driven rain. The siding was re-positioned properly and made permanent so it would not move again. There has not been any wind-driven rain but there has been heavy rain in which neither windows have leaked.
Category
siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review . I'm glad to hear you leaking issue has disappeared . Please keep me in mind for future projects. John
Joseph R.
5.0
05/06/2014
Job went great, contractor was readily available and response was quick. Workmanship was excellent. We will now be using them to remodel our kitchen and replace the front entry door.
Description of Work
Completely gutted and rebuilt finished basement.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review I really enjoy hearing that my customers are completely satisfied. It makes all the hard work worth it . Looking forward to remodeling your kitchen & door. John DiMauro
Doreen K.
5.0
03/18/2014
We just finished having John and his crew install 10 replacement windows in the upstairs areas of our house. We also had the wood trim replaced and sills constructed for each. We couldn?t be happier with the work quality and the efficiency and neatness of the crew. The end result looks fantastic. Despite working through some remaining snow on the ground and some on my only slightly pitched roof, they completed the job in one day and cleaned up wonderfully afterwards. Our house was previously vinyl sided so John also needed to replace the Aluminum outside as well. He got the exact color match and actually improved the look over the orginal noticeably. Things went so nicely that we?ve hired him to do our downstairs windows as well. John is courteous, professional , responsive and easy to work with.
Description of Work
Windows installation, trim and sills and exterior Aluminum trim.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed] Thank you so much for the positive review. I'm sorry for my slow response in replying on your post. By now we have actually finished your downstairs windows and hope you are as pleased with them as you were with the upstairs windows. I will say that after being in the business for over 30 yrs I remember all my customers for one reason or another. Both of you will be remembered for you kindness and great music lol. I'm looking forward to hearing from you on your next project bathroom ? Thank you and enjoy John
James L.
5.0
01/01/2014
It started with a referral from Custom Built Windows in Warwick. OSHI replaced all the widows in our 140+ year-old house with vinyl replacements. The work was done professionally and as and when promised. The electrician they brought in as required also did good professional work at a reasonable price. | |When ordering the windows, we talked with John about replacing our old and tired vinyl siding. John provided options for working with the existing siding as well as installing new. He was very helpful an accommodating without any pressure at all. He is a true Tradesman who can sell his work with absolutely no sales B.S. Communication was also excellent. He always returned calls and texts in a very short time. | |We also had him replace our kitchen cabinets. Again, great work, good price, and very helpful. In all cases, they cleaned up the home and yard well. I would absolutely recommend them with no reservations.
Description of Work
.
Category
awnings, decks, gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, skylights, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Members Thank you for the positive review. It was my pleasure working with you both on your projects. I'm sure you will get many years of enjoyment . If you should ever have a problem with anything we have done for you we will be right there for you. Enjoy & thank you John DiMauro
Marianne H.
5.0
11/02/2013
BACKGROUND: We have a 60 year old ranch house with a couple of additions about 20 years old. We decided, reluctantly about 17 years ago, when the next incremental coat of paint would require major prep work, to go with vinyl siding for the low maintenance. Back then, we went with a large national company, who, ultimately, sub-contracted the job out to someone else. They did a poor job, and we recently discovered that water was getting under the window trim and finally rotted the window frames. We now needed to repair the damage. NEW WORK: We decided that we needed to replace all of the windows and the siding. We decided that this would be a good time to replace the exterior doors as I wanted to change the size of the doors as well. One room also needed extra work to replace a knee wall as part of the window replacement. RESEARCHING VENDORS: I am a reasonable person, but particular about the details. I got several quotes and interviewed the principals. While several were qualified to do the work, Ocean State came in with the best price. Price is not the primary qualification, but after his presentation of why he felt he could do the job, and his suggestions of what he recommended for solutions, I asked for references of recent jobs. After checking these, all were very positive. I decided on Ocean State. WORK DETAILS: John DiMauro is the owner of Ocean State, and was on-site for most of the project. He has assembled an excellent support crew who were friendly, skilled craftsmen. John's prediction of when he could start the job based on his current commitments, which was a couple of months out at the time, was right on. As work progressed, he and his crew worked very efficiently and finished in the time he expected - cleaning up the area each day. John had some great suggestions when we reached a few places that had some options for details. In particular, one corner of the house had a wall of windows that required the removal of the entire corner. He added the knee wall here with the new windows, replaced an exterior door, and did extensive trim work inside. The result was beautiful. His capabilities are definitely more than just windows and siding. RESULTS: John and his crew more than satisfied my expectations. His attention to detail and penchant to satisfy his customers wants and needs, has made me a very happy client. Many of his suggestions along the way have resulted in an improvement on my own ideas. I can definitely recommend John Dimauro and his crew at Ocean State Home Improvement for any job large or small.
Description of Work
PROJECT: Replace all Windows; Siding; and Exterior Doors
Category
siding, replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review you were great to work for . It's very satisfying to know that my hard work get recognized. I hope you have many years of enjoyment . If you ever have a problem please know that I am here for you. I always say it's the service after the sale that matters most. Enjoy the holiday John !
Steve M.
5.0
09/10/2013
Sales and financing went smoothly. Scheduling the work was confusing as the window manufacturer delivered late to this company pushing everything back 2 weeks or more. The work was performed by very experienced tradesmen who knew their jobs. The windows are excellent and a good value. I would use them again.
Description of Work
replaced al windows in the house
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Im sorry but i dont recall ever doing a job in new bedford . I think you may have the wrong company.
Robert P K.
5.0
01/11/2013
All work performed was exceptionally good and professionally well done. We were very pleased with the outcome of the project. The company owner, John DiMauro, Jr., worked with us in picking out quality vinyl siding, seamless gutters and downspouts, and Anderson storm doors. We felt very comfortable working with him. We had concerns about how the the new vinyl siding trim would be wrapped around the exterior window framework; John was very helpful in explaining how the new vinyl siding trim would protect the old wood frames from moisture. Each phase of this project started on time and was completed on time. We would do business with this company again, and would recommend this company because of their exceptional workmanship and customer service.
Description of Work
Ocean State Vinyl Home Improvement Inc. of Johnston, RI, performed work on our two story duplex rental property, 157-159 Jordan Avenue, Cranston, RI in August 2010. The work consisted of installing new vinyl siding, replacing gutters and downspouts, replacing three storm doors, and replacing window shutters.
Category
gutter repair, siding, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the recent review. It is always my goal to make sure all my project are done with the utmost professionalism . It is great to hear when a customer recognizes all my efforts . Thank You So Much ! John DiMauro O.S.H.I.
Donna C.
5.0
06/28/2012
They do a good job. I think their pricing seems to be fair and their quality is pretty descent. I have been using them and I would definitely use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I use Ocean State Home Cleaning for my house cleaning services. They come on a scheduled time to clean the house.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

I believe you have wrong company we are ocean state home improvement inc. not a cleaning company
5.0
06/04/2006
THEY WERE JUST FINE. THEY WERE DONE IN ONLY ONE DAY AND I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT. I WAS COMFORTABLE WITH THEM WORKING IN MY HOME. THEY WERE VERY NICE AND POLITE PEOPLE.
Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED 18 WINDOWS.
Category
replacement windows

Phone

Address

8 Brookwood Dr

Johnston, RI 02919

Other Information

Services offered

Windows - sales, installation & service, doors - sales & installation, siding.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Ocean State Home Improvement Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Ocean State Home Improvement Inc is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Ocean State Home Improvement Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Ocean State Home Improvement Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Ocean State Home Improvement Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Ocean State Home Improvement Inc offers emergency services.

No, Ocean State Home Improvement Inc does not offer warranties.

Ocean State Home Improvement Inc offers the following services: Windows - sales, installation & service, doors - sales & installation, siding.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Hope Woodworks

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Hope Woodworks

We specialize in bathroom remodels from design to full tear out to finish and ready to use. Our network of skilled, licensed trades provide professional, and timely results. We look forward to helping you with your next remodel project.  

Top Pitch LLC

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Top Pitch LLC

Top Pitch is specialized in gutter service and replacement, soffit, and fascia in the Providence and Pawtucket area. Our dedicated team of professionals will work with you individually, 1-1, from the start of the project to its completion. We survey every home to discuss maintenance plans unique to your residence and make sure your greatest asset, the home, is well kept and managed! We regularly turn over 500ft projects in 1-2 days and prioritize your time and preference. We offer free estimates as an adjustment on any signed agreement or deposit and look forward to working with you!  

Commonwealth Energy MA

4.0

(30)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Commonwealth Energy MA

Commonwealth Energy is a rapidly growing, family owned and operated, Residential Solar, Roofing, and Electrical services company. It is our goal to save our clients as much money as we can on their monthly electrical costs while doing our part to combat the effects of climate change that we are seeing more and more of as the years go by. Along with that, when you work with Commonwealth Energy you become a part of our family and we treat you as such, from design, to installation and beyond. Our work is Guaranteed for 25 years after installation. We take full responsibility for maintenance and upkeep during that time. We offer services including, Solar Installation, Roof Installation, Roof Repair, Electrical Upgrades and Tree Removal. We offer steep discounts when bundling Solar and Roof installations. Along with that, Electrical Upgrades to ensure that your home is compatible for Solar and Tree removal to ensure that the panels get the light needed to be productive are free! Our financing options are flexible With PPA, Financing, and Cash offerings. Commonwealth Energy can help you save on your home's energy costs. As a full MassSave contractor, we will see which rebates and incentives you qualify for with a no-cost energy assessment! Our professional energy specialists will assess your home's current energy usage and provide you with a plan to make your home more energy-efficient. With our energy-efficient LED lights, programmable thermostats, and power strips, you'll see instant savings on your home energy costs!