Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Overhead Door Co of Allentown

About

Founded 1962 • With Angi since December 2007

Overhead Door Co. of Allentown is a family owned business and has been serving the Greater Lehigh Valley since 1962. The main goals of our company are to serve each customer professionally and install the best product that we can supply all within a fair competitive price and timely manner. We strive to be the best and will try to accommodate our customer’s needs to make your purchase with us a totally pleasant experience. Angie's List Super Service Award winner 4 year in a row beginning in 2012....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.8

(250) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

202

4

29

3

10

2

1

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

garage doors (250)
Showing 1-25 of 250 reviews
3.0

10/21/2020


DAWN M.

I called for an appointment and was told they were busy but would call when an appointment became available. I didn’t hear back for quite a while so I had another company do the repairs because I could not open my garage door and I needed equipment out of it. When they finally called at the end of a day, the day before they wanted to come, I had to tell them I already had the work done because I hadn’t heard from them.

Description of Work
Repair my garage door

Category garage doors

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2020

5.0

01/03/2020


R. W.

Dominic responded promptly to my request for service. Arrived on time with equipment and supplies. His manner was professional and kind. Worked efficiently. Also showed me how to prevent or correct the problem.

Description of Work
Repair of the garage door opener

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/03/2020

5.0

10/04/2019


Tomas R.

Great service. Polite and professional Technicians. Friendly contact desk. Slight delay in weatherproofing replacements but the most important thing was a functioning garage door. Would definitely use again and highly recommended!

Description of Work
Replace one broken torsion bar, tuneup 2 garage doors, replace 2 bottom door seals and replace weatherproof trim on both doors

Category garage doors

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2019

5.0

10/03/2019


Young C.

Very quick service. It took only 10 minutes.

Description of Work
Repaired a bracket connecting the door to the opener.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2019

3.0

09/27/2019


Terry S.

The technician was very capable and did quick, competent work , but was rude and arrogant, and had zero customer service skills.

Description of Work
Preventive maintenance for doors

Category garage doors

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/27/2019

5.0

09/25/2019


Barbara C.

Great! Work was done quickly. Knew what he was doing. Very fair in pricing. Highly recommend

Description of Work
New opener needed to be installed

Category garage doors

Cost $315

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/25/2019

1.0

07/12/2019


Dave K.

I call the gent and he set up a date and time to estimate the job and show me options. My wife and I waited. The rep never showed up, followed up or called to explain or apologize for wasting our time and now the job still remains as we begin to search for other firms who can keep appointments and commitments.

Description of Work
two new replacement garage doors installed along with two new garage door openers

Category garage doors

Cost $5,000

Work Completed On 07/12/2019

Service Provider Response

I am sorry to hear this. I do not believe Overhead Door Company of Allentown, PA was the company the appointment was scheduled with. That is actually out of our territory. There is another branch of Overhead Door Company in Reading, PA and I wonder if that is who was contacted. I apologize about this and would appreciate it if you could kindly change your review.
5.0

05/13/2019


Ellen S.

It went splendidly! Brendan was punctual and completed a good job in no time.

Description of Work
maintenance of garage door

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2019

5.0

01/20/2019


Cathy K.

Very well he was very timely and professional

Description of Work
Repair of garage door

Category garage doors

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/20/2019

5.0

04/02/2018


Peter S.

Installation was done well. All information was provided in advance and in detail.

Description of Work
Replacement of Garage Doors and Openers

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/29/2017

5.0

03/21/2018


William M.

Service was fast and efficient. One of the new springs broke after 2 days. I blame this of a defective part, not Overhead Door service. Serviceman returned promptly and replaced the defective spring at no cost to me. Door works fine.

Description of Work
Replaced springs on old garage door. Lubricated hardware.

Category garage doors

Cost $151.05

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2018

5.0

12/01/2017


Deborah K.

The work was top notch with explanation of any questions I had. The installer was able to solve a technical glitch very well. The opener works much quieter and the remote is always responsive. I am VERY pleased!

Description of Work
Garage door opener replacement

Category garage doors

Cost $365

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2017

5.0

11/06/2017


Joseph L.

The repair was prompt and did not try to upsell

Description of Work
Install custom garage door Used a second time to repair door

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2017

5.0

10/22/2017


Greg S.

The folks at Overhead Door of Allentown were great. My schedule was busy and difficult, but they were very patient about scheduling the appointment for the technician to come out. He arrived on time, was courteous and very efficient. Finished in no time and the door opener works very well.

Description of Work
Our electric garage door opener was a mess. The cables came loose and the rollers were off the tracks. We hadn't used it in years.

Category garage doors

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2017

5.0

06/14/2017


Lewis H.

great...picked 3 available days, was called w-in 24 hrs, called the night before service, service tech, Kevin was great.

Description of Work
tune-up garage door, replace rollers

Category garage doors

Cost $100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2017

5.0

05/15/2017


Edward P.

With their guidance I installed the new gasket myself with no problem at all.

Description of Work
I needed a new bottom gasket for my garage door; they not only had it in stock but also gave me tips on how to install it the easy way. They were terrific.

Category garage doors

Cost $25

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2017

5.0

04/17/2017


Arthur A.

Excellant no problems couldn't be better

Description of Work
Garage. Door opener replaced

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2017

5.0

03/31/2017


Randy V.

I am not one to write reviews, but I felt it necessary to write one about the great experience I received from Overhead Door Co. I was contacted the same day of my purchase from Angie's List to schedule my appointment by Andy. He worked around my schedule for the quickest installation date and the tech arrived right on time to install. Dave was a fantastic tech! He was very professional and explained the complete process being performed. He spent the time reviewing how to operate and showed me the different functions of the Garage Door Opener. He also went the extra steps to program the remote in my car and made good recommendations in servicing my garage door. He provided an additional service on the spot so I did not have to schedule another appointment for the future. My son's bedroom is above my garage and now he can not even hear the garage door opening anymore. Great Service, Great Company, Will Definitely Use Again!!

Description of Work
Install Garage Door Opener

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2017

5.0

03/04/2017


William S.

I think it turned out pretty well. We didn't get lined up right away, I had to call them a few times for them to acknowledge that I had purchased the deal. The guy came out and he adjusted it and it works well. He lubed some of the stuff up and what was happening with the garage door was you would push the button and the door would only go up about halfway and it would stop. So he told us he lubed some stuff up and adjusted the sensors. It took awhile to get them out. They were good, professional. They showed up, they did the work they were supposed to and charged us the price we were told.

Description of Work
Adjusted the garage door opener

Category garage doors

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2017

5.0

12/22/2016


Kord H.

Smooth as silk. Technician was prompt, friendly and thorough. Service was as expected with timely in and out times.

Description of Work
inspection and replacement of worn springs and pieces from a overhead garage door opening mechanism.

Category garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2016

5.0

12/03/2016


rochelle K.

It was good. I was very happy with all the services I got. It was excellent service. I thought it was fairly quick. He did a great job and he was very personable.

Description of Work
They fixed my garage door. I had a problem with it squeaking.

Category garage doors

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2016

4.0

11/15/2016


Dorothy N.

The actual service was great. The service was excellent, the service man was very nice and punctual. However they call the day before to come the next day. Would not make an appointment in advance. Took a month and a half to get the service...that happened only when I insisted I set an appointment in advance.

Description of Work
Just a check up for my garage door

Category garage doors

Cost $99

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2016

5.0

09/14/2016


Chuck C.

The technician showed up on time and was knowledgeable and thorough. He went into detail explaining what he was doing and why it was important. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Garage door maintenance.

Category garage doors