Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1938 • With Angi since November 2006

Our company is a 4th Generation Family owned heating and air conditioning contractor. We provide service to all brands of heating and air conditioning equipment. 24/7 service is available to our Service Contract customers. We specialize in replacement or add on installation of new equipment. We fabricate our own duct work for all types of installations. We are certified for the new high efficiency systems including geothermal installations. We are a certified Diamond Dealer with Mitsubitshi therefore able to offer extended warranty on Mitsubishi equipment. All Angie List members can receive a discount with our coupon in the Newsletter. Additional email - Contact.brewers@brewersheatandair.com.

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.9

(33) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
Roy S.
5.0
04/25/2018
Not only did they replace the water heater the same day but they were able to confirm that the old heater was still under warranty.
Description of Work
Replacement of water heater. I have been using Brewer for years and always receive quality service at a fair price.7
Category
water heater repair
stephen S.
5.0
07/26/2017
Excellent service. Very pleasant technician. A thorough and professional job. Replaced a defective capacitor on outside unit,-no waiting- he had the replacement part in his truck- and checked all other components as well as cleaning filter and condensation collector
Description of Work
AC was not putting out cold air.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael C.
5.0
06/22/2017
They come every year to do my maintenance. I have a service contract with them.
Description of Work
They do the maintenance on my unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Judith C.
5.0
01/16/2017
They did a great job, will have them back to do all my maintenance and any repairs.
Description of Work
Needed the motor replaced in a propane heater. They came out the day I called, found the problem, went and got a new motor and replaced it. We were out of heat for maybe 10 hours.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Maggie P.
5.0
07/22/2014
Brewers have been servicing my systems since 2006. Technicians have always been honest, trustworthy and professional. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Annual A/C service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Christine K.
5.0
06/16/2014
It went extremely well. The team is excellent, and they go above and beyond. Highly professional, they work hard, and explain what is happening. Best of all, the work was high quality, and we have a new furnace that is quiet and efficient! Brewers has been our company of choice for over 20 years, and they have never disappointed! They go above and beyond, and do so while keeping their prices in line with their competition. Thank You to Tom and his professional team!
Description of Work
Removed old oil furnace, and replaced with new Carrier oil furnace. Because of the higher efficiency rating of the new furnace, our chimney also required an aluminum liner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for allowing us to serve you for the past 20 years and hope to serve you for the next 20!
Robin P.
5.0
06/16/2014
Protected my floors and carpets with tarps; were very professional and completed their work within the time quoted
Description of Work
Replaced A/C
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank You [member name removed] it has been a pleasure serving all your HVAC needs.
Ajith M.
4.0
08/27/2013
Johanna, the technician was on time and good in diagnosing the problem.
Description of Work
Diagnose why A/C not working.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Martha P.
5.0
07/09/2013
Workers were prompt. Arrived when scheduled. We have had a service contract with them for about twelves years and, have been very pleased. In fact, one year one of the Brewer men came out on a holiday during a heat wave to get our AC working! This year it was determined that we needed a replacement. I was given suitable info re: ACs that would be best for our situation. At this time, we did not need a new heater, but the workers prepared the inside heater area so that if and when needed, the replacement will be easier. They left with everything neat and the assurance of their support if required. Thankfully, during these heat waves, our AC is providing us with comfort.
Description of Work
Installed a new air conditioner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you ever so much for your review. Our reputation is our most valuable asset and we take great pride in it. We hope to keep serving you for another 12 years or more.
Connie E.
5.0
06/27/2013
We contracted for them to come twice a year so we have a service unit. We had to have them come out one day and look at the pump and they came right out and were punctual. They know what they are doing and we are real happy with them. They put in the heating and that is amazing and it saved me time and money. It is extremely efficient and the prices are comparable. It has made me very popular. They are great. I interviewed seven different vendors and he knew the most up to date information were this technology is always changing. For him to give me the absolute waver for our situation was really good.
Description of Work
We used Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing for installing heating system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Connie E.
5.0
02/08/2013
They did a great job. It was a very good clean system that was cutting edge and saved us $1,200 in electricity the first year. He knew the most recent models. He knew more about the equipment than the other people did. He knew what was available and what was most pertinent to us.
Description of Work
We used Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing to install a heating system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We try to serve all of our customers to the best of our abilities.
Kelly M.
5.0
12/10/2012
They were very knowledgeable regarding the available products, and the owner himself informed us of the advantages and disadvantages of the various units being considered. We have used Brewer for years, and it always does a good job.
Description of Work
They installed a heat pump.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you for your confidence in our services.
edward S.
5.0
10/19/2012
Went great from start to finish.
Description of Work
Replaced a dual zone (2 system) heating and air conditioning system with 2 thermostadts and all the related hardware. Tom gave the quote and was flexible in adjusting the work to fit the budget and need. Reviewed multiple systems and came upon the correct ones for us. Work done was very professional, installers were great, and everyone did what they were supposed to do when they were supposed to. In todays day and age, its refreshing to find people who actually execute as planned. I cant say enough good things about Brewer and the job they did. Ps... they are also great on small jobs too as we have used them over the years to keep the old system running.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank youCustomer, We appreciate the fact that you recognized we try to deliver a good product, small or large, to all our customers all the time. Thanks for taking the time to post this review.
Nancy B.
5.0
09/01/2012
Everyone was very professional. They were neat and cleaned up their mess.
Description of Work
After coming home from a vacation to the shore. We arrived into a hot house apparently the heat pump died. We were in the middle of a heat wave.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bob C.
5.0
03/08/2012
The whole job went terrific. The Brewer people are true pros. they showed up early in the AM and don't leave until they're finished. If you are considering a new furnace or central-air, or some type of upgrade of your present system, you should get a couple of estimates but, YOU MUST TALK to BREWER- you will not be disappointed.
Description of Work
My furnace went out during a cold spell this winter. I was familiar with Brewer as I had used them in the past for work on my A/C and duct work for my hot water heater.These people are terrific. No pressure, No Hype. High integrity and professional. They can be counted on to show-up when you need them. They installed a new furnace and central-air. The new furnace was installed the next day after we placed the order and the A/C the day after that. amazing!!The old units were removed, everything cleaned up, What a job outstanding!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, metal restoration

Service Provider Response

Dear member, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and hope to serve you in the future.
Charles M.
5.0
02/20/2012
We have been using them for years. They come out twice a year to make sure our unit is working properly. We will continue to use them in the future.
Description of Work
They service our heating system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank You so much for your comments. See you in the Spring!
John B.
5.0
07/20/2011
The technician was polite and informative. I feel I can trust the work that Brewer does and will use them again.
Description of Work
Brewer performed an AC checkup.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ellen Z.
4.0
06/22/2011
At the time they were only moderately responsive to problems and never did stop by with covers for my return ducts to enable me to switch from winter to summer. I remember feeling that once they had my check our relationship was over. I also called them soon after the installation to ask why it was still so hot upstairs (I have a split level) and was told that there was nothing I could do. I've recently discovered a problem with mold on my supply ducts located in the crawl space. During the inspection, we found that a section of the return duct that Brewer installed was completely open. There was no top to the duct!! So essentially for 13 years I've been breathing air pulled in from the crawl space. I'd always suspected it and now it was confirmed.They also did not recommend insulating the supply ducts even though they would now be carrying cold air through an unconditioned space. This I've been told is the reason they're covered in mold. Unfortunately they're also wrapped in asbestos paper. So the ducts can't be cleaned. They have to be removed and replaced. So basically because of missed items Brewer, 13 years later, is costing me about $5000.
Description of Work
Brewer installed my air conditioning system soon after I moved into my new home. I realize it was a long time ago but problems surfacing now compell me to write this.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are stretching our memory but we recall replacing the equipment at this home, not duct work. The insulation mentioned was existing not something we installed. As far as the crawl space issue it is impossible for us to comment on circumstances from 13 years ago . Our current service data base starts in 2005 and goes to the present but we have no record of working on this equipment. We have no way of knowing what has transpired in the last 13 years.
Victor D.
5.0
05/11/2011
They are reliable. They always show up when they are supposed to. They do a good job. I have used them for years. I haven't really compared their price to other providers.
Description of Work
They did a maintenance check on the system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Robert P.
4.0
01/13/2011
I had called Brewer about 10 days prior to the heat going out to have them come out to service both of my furnaces (since we just bought this house, that would put them in the house 3 days after we moved in). They were scheduled to come out on Monday, about 36 hours after I noticed that my heat was out. I found I was without heat on a Saturday night. I called Brewer Sunday morning and a technician returned my call within 30 minutes and indicated there would be a $125 charge for a service call on a Sunday. He arrived at the house about 4 hours later (which is about when he said he'd be there.) He spent a little under an hour diagnosing the problem and replacing the gas valve. He had the parts on the truck, though it was a fancier valve than I really needed (I understand they can't stock every part). I asked about the price, but the technician told me he didn't know how much it would be, but they would send me a bill. The bill for replacing the valve came out to $475, which may be the going rate, but I felt it was high for travel time, 1 hour of work on a Sunday, what should have been and $80-$100 part, plus overhead and miscellaneous parts. Glenn, the service manager, came out the next day to service both of my furnaces, which took under an hour. He was several hours late, though he did call to say he would be late. Everything went fine and he answered all of my questions thoroughly. The 1 year service contract was $308 for 2 visits to service my 2 furnaces in the fall and my 2 air conditioners in the spring. After receiving the bill, I called twice (a week apart) to discuss the charges, as they weren't disclosed to me before work was done and I found them to be excessive. I was told both times that only Glenn could help and he would call me back. Glenn called me about 3 days after my second call. He maintained that the rates were reasonable and suggested they might even be low. I objected to being charged $125 to come out on a Sunday plus a fixed rate for valve replacement that already included the labor charge with the labor at an inflated Sunday rate, effectively double charging me for labor. It sounded like the same service would have cost under $300 if it had been done on a weekday. We agreed to Brewer not charging me for the annual maintenance that was done the day after the service, since there really wasn't much left to do because the technician had to do some of it the prior day and that I would still get the annual contract, but it would include 2 upcoming visits rather than the annual maintenance just provided. Overall, I feel that Brewer is competent and is trying to treat customers fairly. I feel that their overtime charges are excessive, though they did respond quickly. Glenn was always polite, which was nice.
Description of Work
Diagnosed the problem with the furnace and replaced the gas valve. Also, started a contract that covers the annual maintenance for my 2 furnaces and 2 air conditioners.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, gas leak repair
DARLENE D.
5.0
11/11/2010
Extremely well. I am very pleased with the atmosphere in the house now. Everything seems to be working beautifully. I am learning how to use the new, high-tech thermostat. They were extremely helpful with the paperwork for rebates. Cleaned up after each work day and were very thoughtful that way. Answered my telephone calls. I had used them for a few years before I had this work completed and knew their history through Angie's List.
Description of Work
New gas furnace, new air conditioner, water heater, humidifier, and air cleaner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank You for giving us the opportunity to serve you, it was a pleasure.
Dehlia T.
5.0
10/14/2010
Great. They stuck with the job until they figured it out... and stayed until it was working great. We were thrilled.
Description of Work
They re-wired our central AC unit. Apparently the unit wiring caught fire while we were away and it tripped the breakers. We thought the unit was broken but it just needed to be re-wired and brought up to code.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Aaron M.
5.0
08/04/2010
My heat pump broke last summer and I initially tried to have the product repaired through a home warranty - the process took several weeks, resulting in 2 visits from warranty recommended company, who told me that I needed to replace entire unit at cost of $2500+ and that warranty wouldn't cover. I then called Brewer for a second opinion - they showed up and diagnosed within a few minutes of inspection that the issue was just a evaporator coil that was likely still under manufacturer warranty. They called the manufacturer, who provided new coil at no cost, and then only charged me for the labor to install. I was really thankful at the tremendous amount of money saved by calling Brewer for this second opinion.
Description of Work
Heat pump repaired - evaporator coil replaced.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, wells
Robin S.
5.0
03/02/2010
With no heat during a cold winter morning, it was great to have a call returned within 20 minutes. Joe was very knowledgeable and has a friendly style and rapport. Also Joe provided excellent communication on status, next steps, etc. Very responsive.
Description of Work
Woke up on a Saturday AM to a cold house/no heat. I have gas heat with forced air. After going upstairs and noticing a "light machine smell" (not a gas smell) I was nervous as to what the smell was, and didn't want to touch anything. I searched Angie's list for Heating and Cooling companies in my zip code. Placed about 7 calls. Brewers was about the 4th call I placed to various answering machines and answering services, and returned my call first within about 20 - 30 minutes. Joe was already working on another customer's heating issue, but said he could make it out around 1 p.m. Later on, Joe ended up calling to let me know he was running a little late at the current job, but would be out..it was about a 45 minute delay. Joe diagnosed the no heat problem to a blown out computer board for the blower, and unfortunately didn't have a board "on the truck" since there are many varieties per heater. He "rigged" the unit's fan to run continuously so my heat would go on and off per normals via the thermostat, but the unit's fan would need to run continually as a temporary solution. Even though I did not ask, Joe was sure to show me the board, and the area that was black (blown out)...he commented that was likely the smell I noticed). He also kindly answered all "silly" questions I asked... such as... would the continually running fan bump up my electric bill (not a lot) and could I have done something to cause the problem? no, it was nothing I did. Joe told me he would order the part first thing monday morning, and also check with a supervisor to be sure he didn't have a board on the supervisors truck. The part was ordered as promised and installed on the following wednesday. I did call the Office on monday to double check that the part was ordered, and Joe called back within about 15 minutes to assure me it was ordered, and he'd call me back when the part came in. I was billed by the company in about 2 weeks, and sent in my payment for around $550 which covered 3 service visits to my home and the new electronic board. (As an aside, when Joe was investigating the problem, he was checking the drain on my unit. apparently it was not installed properly (it was glued when it should not be glued) and thus when he turned it to loosen it, it broke. He came down right away and explained the situation, and that the broken drain would need to be replaced - not his fault if whoever installed it did not do it correctly) Good to know it is now installed properly.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Charlotte B.
5.0
07/02/2009
Overall, it's going great. They give my central air and heating a checkup at the start of each season. Sometimes I forget to schedule it, and they remind me. I like this because some places when you get the service agreement, they just collect your check and don't do any preventative maintenance.
Description of Work
They have been servicing my home with a service agreement for over 3 years now. I've needed them a few times and they've always been there - even in the middle of the night (twice) when my heater broke in the dead of winter. A+
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Other local Pros in your area

Golden Rule Plumbing & Contracting, LLC

Golden Rule Plumbing & Contracting, LLC, lives by the golden rule. We are dedicated to providing the highest quality dependable service at affordable prices for all of your plumbing & home improvement needs; always on time & on budget. We take great pride in exceeding your every expectation. We take care of all of your plumbing needs large & small, from complete plumbing for new construction, additions, & remodels, to all faucets, fixtures, pipes, hot water heaters, drain cleaning, sump pumps, water & sewer mains & more! We treat all of our customers the way we would like to be treated, with honest, reliable, personalized service at affordable prices.  

Angi Certified

Done Right Today

Done Right Today is FAST, FRIENDLY, & AFFORDABLE. We are always available to provide plumbing and drain cleaning services at a time that is confident for you. Locallly owned and operated out of Delaware. Call today!!!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

McGinley Services

McGinley Services was started because of a passion to provide quality heating, cooling, and water heating services at an affordable price without the industry standard to sacrifice customer service. Our primary goal is to ensure 100% customer satisfaction, so which means clear expectations and full transparency. With McGinley Services you will always know what your options are, what we recommend, and why we recommend it. Contact us today for a free consultation.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

127 Garfield Ave

West Chester, PA 19380

Other Information

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA009350
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
Trade License Expiration
07/01/2023
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

No, Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer free project estimates.

No, Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

Yes, Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.

Brewer Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Heating Cooling Repairs, Replacement & Installation. Plumbing Repairs & Renovations. Heat Pumps, Boilers, Geothermal, split systems, air cleaners, humidifiers, program/digital thermostats, air purifiers.