Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc

Founded 1996 • With Angi since June 2010

5.0

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

617 W Lancaster Ave

Wayne, PA 19087

Description

KUFM offers lower rates than the in-house Realtor Mortgage Co. Builder or FDIC Bank. Since 1996 KUFM has offered a free float down option. NO COUPON gimmicks, simply RATES LOWER than any other bank offers. 1/4 lower, guaranteed to be exact. Call to compare. Our company is the only store front on

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/29/2022


Gabe L.

My fiancée and I had the great misfortune of house hunting during an exceptionally crazy time in the real estate industry. It was a big-time seller’s market, buyer demand at an all-time high, interest rates skyrocketing, etc… We were looking at houses all throughout the Greater Philadelphia region – pretty much anything out of the city, but within 25 miles of the city. As you can imagine, this was an incredibly long and demoralizing process, especially being first-time home buyers. Thankfully, we had an ace in the hole! Jon Leonard, our broker at Kuranda Mortgage, was an absolute GODSEND! He worked tirelessly and communicated with us around-the-clock. He never missed any of our calls and always responded to emails / texts quickly. Jon knew how to explain complex information in a way that would make sense to us, and he had the answers to all of our questions. I honestly don’t know how we would have gotten through this without him. Throughout the home buying process, you’ll encounter plenty of agents, brokers, websites, friends, and other people who try to tell you “what’s what” in the real estate industry. It becomes pretty hard to know who to trust, and if they’re truly looking out for your best interest. If you need someone who’s gonna give it to you straight and get you the best possible deals and rates – go to Kuranda Mortgage, ask for Jon Leonard, and thank me later 😉

Description of Work
Mortgage Broker for First-Time Home Buyers

Category mortgage broker

5.0

07/18/2021


John S.

Jon Leonard and the Kuranda team provide a personnel experience, which is generally an anomaly today. Their rates, fees and incentives are lower than most if not all. I have used Jon and Kuranda twice now. I will admit that during my second time, a refi, i shopped around extensively in an effort to reduce costs. I learned a lesson in "things are not always what they seem". Running through several internet brokers, i has settled on one specifically. They had an $850 flat fee. I just paid for appraisel and title work of my choice. Long story short, i went the distance up to and inviting providing all needed information, only to learn things were not as promised. I called Jon back, told him I never should have went elsewhere, and gave him the go to process my refi. Everything went great, just as it did the first time, and I am now in my forever loan (2.25% - no points mind you). On a side note, I never heard anything back from the other lender after things were questioned. I was nothing more than a number in a volume selling environment. My business was not worth the time when they could solicit and replace my contributuon to revenue. If you want the old mom and pop service with todays benefits and compromise otherwise, contact Kuranda extension 202 - you will not regret the experience!

Description of Work
Refinance of Mortgage

Category mortgage broker

5.0

08/12/2019


Carly K.

Jon L., our loan officer, was amazing! He was patient with our questions, explained all of our options clearly and efficiently, and provided us with time to process the information without the pressure that many other mortgage companies often do. We highly recommend Kuranda Mortgage!

Description of Work
Refinance Mortgage

Category mortgage broker

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Kuranda Mortgage and Jon thank you for letting us earn your business. Thomas Kuranda
5.0

06/13/2019


Tracy R.

Jon Leonard helped me with my first home loan. He walked me through every step. He wasn't pushy at all, and I really enjoyed having his help. He was patient and got me a better deal than anyone else. I highly recommend!

Description of Work
Mortgage for home

Category mortgage broker

5.0

02/14/2019


Michael B.

It went awesome. Austin at Kuranda was extremely helpful and was always available for questions. Locked in a great rate!

Description of Work
I needed a mortgage

Category mortgage broker

5.0

06/27/2018


Ashley F.

Jon was a pleasure to work with! As first time home buyers, I felt confident in every step of the process because Jon made sure we were well informed and had our best interest at hand. He was forthright, timely, and extremely knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Jon!

Description of Work
Provided mortgage

Category mortgage broker

5.0

05/28/2018


Lisa R.

Everything was very smooth and lots of communication and professionalism

Description of Work
Getting a mortgage

Category mortgage broker, banks

5.0

02/06/2018


eric S.

They were awesome.

Description of Work
Recently refinanced my home and they were excellent in terms of both services and creativity of ideas which benefited my situation.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

10/09/2017


Frank N.

Having heard commercials for Kuranda for years, they were top of mind when it came time for a new mortgage. From first contact they were responsive, honest and very helpful. As usual, with a new home / new move, things can get hectic and Jon Leonard, our Loan Officer, was very patient as we worked through all of the fun steps of qualifying and securing the mortgage. He was also very helpful in walking through every document and every piece of information that we were presented. He came to closing and was our advocate throughout the entire process. I have already recommended Kuranda to a few others since closing on our home - all in all a great experience!

Description of Work
Needed a new mortgage for a new home.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

09/18/2017


Brian S.

They were very responsive and addressed every question I had during the home purchase process. At times I had inquiries that came up during the weekend and they were there for me with the information I needed. Purchasing a home can be very stressful as there are so many variables you need to consider. They took care of all the details to get my mortgage approved. I had a great customer experience and recommend their services.

Description of Work
I used Kuranda Financial Mortgage to finance my new home.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

08/09/2017


Kyle D.

Went very well

Description of Work
Found mortgage for us

Category mortgage broker

5.0

06/06/2017


Andy W.

Easy and cheap.

Description of Work
Mortgage for home purchase.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

05/31/2017


Karen C.

Austin's performance on our mortgage can be summed up like this - he got the job done the way he promised and quicker than we thought possible! We had a short sale 4 years ago and we were nervous about all the new changes in the mortgage rules, but Austin helped us through the process every step of the way. He was in constant contact with the real estate agent, the title company and the lender to get us to the closing on time. He got us a great rate, and most importantly - we are owners again instead of renters!! Thanks Austin!!!

Description of Work
New mortgage for a condo purchase.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

04/15/2017


Thomas L.

Very well....documents issued for electronic signature was easy

Description of Work
Refinance of current mortgage to take equity out for improvements with a minimal change in monthly payment

Category mortgage broker

5.0

04/07/2017


Mark D.

Kuranda Mortgage were superb. I dealt with Austin Duca, who was personable, knowledgeable and responded instantly to all communications. They closed my house deal on time and the whole process was seamless. I could not recommend them more highly.

Description of Work
Mortgage required for first time buyer of family home in PA. Inspections, appraisals and closing documents were required.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

02/08/2017


Christine B.

Great; they are very responsive and hard-working. I've done about 9 loans and refinances with them so far - obviously I'm happy or I wouldn't return. They always get me a great rate and are very clear on what the banks / underwriters need. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
I've done various loans through Kuranda - on my primary and investment properties.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

11/21/2016


joe K.

Tom and his staff worked closely with us throughout the process answering every question quickly and honestly. We feel confident recommending Tom to our friends and we'll absolutely be reaching back out to Tom for our next mortgage.

Description of Work
Tom Kuranda helped my wife and I with the recent refinancing of our home.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

08/10/2016


philip B.

Austin handled the final details of my refinance. This is my 5th transaction with Kuranda Mortgage since 2008 ( pretty sure I had a couple of more in the late 90's) and there is a reason I keep coming back. Always a positive experience. I refinanced with my existing mortgage company and they actually beat the closing costs quoted by the mortgage company.

Description of Work
I refinanced my current mortgage

Category mortgage broker

5.0

07/31/2016


Gregory E.

Kuranda Financial Mortgage provided an extremely high level of client service. Their team is approachable, knowledgeable and responsive. I believe that the highest professional compliment that can be given in the service industry is a client referral. I would not hesitate to refer any of my clients to Kuranda Financial Mortgage. -Gregory E Eger, CPA

Description of Work
Mortgage Broker – Assisted with the refinancing of a single family home.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

06/28/2016


Brian H.

Kuranda Mortgage were professional prompt and informative during the entire mortgage process. The staff were easily accessible by phone or e-mail, even on the weekends. Tom himself talked with us on a Sunday morning while he was driving to a lacrosse tournament. Meg, our loan processor was organized and efficient in detailing the many steps we needed to take to get approved for a loan. She talked me back from the ledge several times and eased any concern or fear I had about a step. We always felt we were in good capable hands that had our best interest in mind. My wife and I could not have been happier about our experience.

Description of Work
Tom Kuranda provided excellent mortgage brokering services for us when we purchased our first home.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

06/23/2016


John G.

Kuranda Mortgage was the easiest and most professional mortgage services company I have ever worked with and I have had many mortgages. If you need this service, by all means do not hesitate. You will work with the highest level of professionals and will not be sorry. Stop looking and just call Kuranda Mortgage.

Description of Work
Mortgage Services

Category mortgage broker

5.0

06/03/2016


Lauren C.

The team at Kuranda Mortgage was there for me every step of the way. They made the process easy and moved with me at the pace I needed. They were available to speak with me whenever I needed them - even on the weekends! Can't say enough about how great they were to work with. I will definitely be recommending them to all my friends and family. Working with Kuranda Mortgage was so much more enjoyable than working with big banks like I've dealt with in the past. The Kuranda Mortgage team is honest, smart, and dedicated to getting you the best rate!

Description of Work
Provided exceptional help through our home mortgage process.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

05/16/2016


Pat G.

It went as well as we could have expected. Reverse mortgages are not the same process as a conventional mortgage.

Description of Work
We applied for and received a reverse mortgage on our home. The staff was very professional and patient and thorough.

Category mortgage broker

5.0

06/29/2011


philip B.

I had the pleasure of refinancing my current mortgage using Kuranda Mortgage, Inc. This is my 2nd time working with this firm and I have to say even after 15 years in business, the customer service remains exceptional. The available rates were by far the best compared to either online only lenders or traditional bricks and mortar shops. The fees are reasonable and clearly explained. No surprises. The closing went smooth and they went out of their way to complete the close after business hours (as my wife and I both work in center city). Tom Kuranda’s customer interface is Megan Scangarella. She was extremely responsive and proactive through the entire process. She is as much a delight in person as she is on the phone. I highly recommend using Kuranda Mortgage.

Description of Work
Refinance current 30yr mortgage and converted to a 15yr mortgage with an equity pay-out I had the pleasure of refinancing my current mortgage using Kuranda Mortgage, Inc. This is my 2nd time working with this firm and I have to say even after 15 years in business, the customer service remains exceptional. The available rates were by far the best compared to either online only lenders or traditional bricks and mortar shops. The fees are reasonable and clearly explained. No surprises. Tom Kuranda’s customer interface is Megan Scangarella. She was extremely responsive and proactive through the entire process. She is as much a delight in person as she is on the phone. I highly recommend using Kuranda Mortgage.

Category mortgage broker

Service Provider Response

March 8, 2013 via Email Hi [member name removed], it was a pleasure meeting with you both today. I appreciate the time you took out of your day to give us some of your input on the economy, industry and regulatory issues. I was impressed how knowledgeable you both were in regards to the mortgage industry as well as banking in general. You brought up some great ideas to share with the Department of Banking and Securities. I believe you both truly care about the customer in providing the best possible product. This is why you run a successful business. Once again, I enjoyed meeting you today, and I look forward to working with you in the future. Please don't hesitate to contact me if there's anything I can do. Thomas. I am very curious in reviewing your email... Mark, I will send you a follow-up email on what we discussed. Thank you. Felix Zorrilla Department of Banking and Securities

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mike Murgatroy CrossCountry Mortgage

    **$300 off closing costs for Angi members** **95% jumbo mortgages available **Veteran mortgages, very aggressive rates based on working on low margins, NO LENDER FEES** **Conventional & FHA mortgages, aggressive rates and fees based on lower margins** Mike Murgatroy has 24 years of lending experience and is an Angi Super Service Award recipient 2012-2020. Mike is also ranked in the top 1% mortgage originators in the United States. With integrity at the core of his values, you can rest assured that Mike Murgatroy will give you informed detailed mortgage advice, the same he would recommend to his own family. We pride ourselves on having a transparent process which we will walk you through every step of the way, and proud to have offered the world’s first Digital Mortgage! Start your application process today by visiting themurgteam.com and find out why so many others continue to bring their business to Mike Murgatroy. NMLS ID# 60099; http://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Mike Murgatroy CrossCountry Mortgage on Angi
    Mortgage Companies
    Banking/Credit Unions
    Title Companies
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check, Financing, American Express, Discover
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Mortgage Company.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc

    How is Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc overall rated?

    Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc open?

    Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:45 AM - 5:45 PM

    Tuesday: 8:45 AM - 5:45 PM

    Wednesday: 8:45 AM - 5:45 PM

    Thursday: 8:45 AM - 5:45 PM

    Friday: 8:45 AM - 5:45 PM

    What payment options does Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc provide

    Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check, Financing, American Express, Discover

    Does Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc?

    No, Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc offer?

    Kuranda Financial Mortgage Inc offers the following services: Mortgage Company.