Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AGL Spray Foam Insulation

Founded 2009 • With Angi since February 2011

4.8

(41) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1408 Calcon Hook Rd Ste C

Sharon Hill, PA 19079

Description

AGL Spray Foam offers a thorough insulation assessment and recommendations for improving the thermal performance and comfort of your home. Our extensive knowledge of building science and thermal dynamics of a home allows us to give you the right options for insulating. We specialize in attics and crawlspaces. Give us a call today to find out what we can do to help you achieve a healthy and energy efficient home for your and your family. Additional DBA - AGL Spray Foam LLC....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/20/2018


Tracy M.

I could not be more impressed. My home was constructed in 2001 with some of the usual poor detailing that kept my bedroom and master bathroom extra cold (and risk of pipes freezing) in the winter. The cost estimator took time in understanding what I needed and where the trouble spots where, and proceeded to develop a plan to getting it corrected. On the day of the work, careful attention was made to protect areas outside the work zone, and the work proceeded smoothly. As of Dec with some cold days/nights already, I am 100% improved and no longer need to worry about frozen pipes and cold floors.

Description of Work
Spray foam insulation for thermal and airtightness

Category insulation

5.0

02/20/2018


scott K.

Very professional and quick. Did not leave a mess. Very self contained.

Description of Work
Spray foam attic over garage and knee wall in basement

Category insulation

5.0

10/02/2017


Ilya H.

Highly recommeded. Very professional, good prices, and high qulaity work.

Description of Work
full house spary foam insulation

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
2.0

09/11/2017


Mary Anne P.

Not well. Needed to return to finish getting all the insulation out prior to the mold being removed from the attic. The salesman was great. When I called about the work not being done properly, he came out and was not pleased with what he saw. Had the crew come back but this held up the next process.

Description of Work
Needed to have insulation removed from attic.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], our project manager Sean came out to inspect the work and brought to your attention that our crew had missed some areas and we would need to come back out. We immediately sent a crew back out the next morning to take care of it and made sure it was 100% before we left. You told the crew and Sean that you were completely satisfied with the work. Sean also stopped back out and re-inspected the attic as well. We are not always perfect, but we caught our own mistake and corrected it immediately without holding up your mold remediation crew. We also gave you a credit back on your invoice for the inconvenience of us coming back for a second trip. I'm sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the process and we'll certainly do better at catching our mistakes while still onsite in the future. Best regards, John Cunningham, President
5.0

07/19/2016


John W.

The installers arrived on time, were professional and friendly, and installed the products promised. We'd recommend this company to friends or family if they were looking for similar work.

Description of Work
Spray foam insulation on the underside of our attic roof, as well as removal of old batt insulation in attic floor.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review!
5.0

04/02/2015


Phillip C.

So far so good! I met with several companies during a Home Show in Philly. I have a lot of energy issues in my home and was interested in learning more about spray foam. After meeting a representative at the home show, Jeff was sent to home to go over additional information and he was great. He was friendly and extremely knowledgeable. He was a straightforward and honest about how the product could work for me. At the end, he allowed me to make the decision and I did not feel pressured. After making the decision to use them, they came out in February to provide a quote and were back in March to start the work. I took out the previous insulation on my own and probably wouldn't do it again but Jeff was very honest in that the quote he would be able to provide, might not be a number I would like. When they did come out, they got the basement and half the attic done in 1 day. The remaining work was done the following day. Everyone in the crew was hard working, polite and efficient. When they got done, you would have never known they were there. I can definitely feel the benefits in my home after the foam spray, as my room is now several degrees warmer than before.

Description of Work
They put spray foam in the entire attic and also sprayed open joints in the basement.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review! We appreciate it!
5.0

03/10/2015


joan F.

I definitely recommend them. I had actually no problems. The whole intent was to allow the living area to be warmer and its considerably warmer a advertised.

Description of Work
They surveyed, sprayed in foam insulation in ceiling area of the garage and some walled area within room upstairs.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review!
5.0

03/03/2015


CLIFFORD H.

I decided that I wanted to upgrade the 50 year old fiberglass batts insulation in my attic. I talked with three insulation contractors and got six different opinions. I ended up doing a lot of my own research and ultimately concluded that, despite the higher cost, spray foam was the way to go. Of the three contractors, AGL, and specifically Jeff Lane, really came across as knowing their trade. They install both open and closed cell foam and know the pros and cons of both. Jeff is a building science guy and really knows his stuff. AGL did blower door testing before and after the job to confirm the quality of their work and to verify the state of the building envelope. Several other contractors didn't even do blower door testing. Due to my relatively low roof pitch and my desire to keep as much attic space as possible (HVAC gear is in the attic), we decided to use 8" (R-30) of open cell foam for the first four feel up along the roof deck, and then 4.75" of closed cell foam from there to the roof peak. This wasn't the cheapest option, but I feel it gave a great result in my house. We schedule with AGL about two weeks in advance. They arrived on time, with a crew of three guys and two spray rigs. The guys were great - they were long term AGL employees and were all native English speakers. They immediately got to work protecting the carpet and landscaping around the job site and then started spraying. It took about 7 hours to complete the job and we stayed overnight with friends to let the house air out. There was only a tiny bit of odor left when we returned. Comfort in the house is noticeably better. Boiler run times are down, even in colder weather. The blower door test showed a 30% improvement in air infiltration. And, since my attic will now be conditioned space, there should be considerable A/C savings as well now that my air handler won't be in 110F+ temps in the attic! I spent a lot of time learning about my options and then even more time talking to different spray foam contractors. I couldn't be happier with the experience I had with Jeff and with AGL Spray Foam. I highly recommend them and would hire them again.

Description of Work
Installed a combination of closed and open cell spray foam on the roof deck and gable end wall of my rancher home.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Many thanks for your kind words - appreciate all your help!
5.0

02/09/2015


Matthew J.

From beginning to end these guys were pros. If you are thinking of adding spray foam insulation, do not hesitate to contact AGL. Top notch company.

Description of Work
Insulated two Crawlspaces and band joists of basement.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind words
5.0

01/29/2015


Paul G.

Jeff, the estimator, was very professional, thoroughly answered all of our questions, was timely in his issuing the proposal, and followed up with me after the job was completed to see if everything was done to my satisfaction. The crew who came to do the job were also very professional, arrived on time, reviewed the work to be done with me so that we were in agreement, conducted the work in a timely manner, and left the house and work area in a clean condition. I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Installed spray foam in my crawl space, around the perimeter of my basement walls where the sill plate meets the top of the foundation, and a previously uninsulated wall between my garage and house.

Category insulation

5.0

01/12/2015


Christine P.

After Sean inspected our attic he said overall the attic was insulated well. He then looked at the basement and said we really did not need his services. We were in my husband's work room in the basement and Sean said my husband could complete the little work that could benefit us to air seal exposed band joists in the basement. I was impressed with Sean's honesty, clear explanation of why I feel a little cold in certain areas of the house, even though overall our house is properly insulated. He gave good information to share with my husband on how to go about sealing the band joists with Home Depot spray foam ?.not difficult work and inexpensive! I think Sean went above and beyond. Once he realized there wasn't a job at our home for him, Sean still took his time answering my many questions and was very professional. I highly recommend this company and normally do not take the time to write a review.

Description of Work
Sean came out to inspect and evaluate the need for added insulation to our seventeen year old home.

Category insulation

5.0

12/24/2014


William R.

From initial contact to finishing the job, everything went well.

Description of Work
Removed old insulation and sprayed foam in a crawl space under a sunroom.

Category insulation

4.0

12/09/2014


Jenna F.

My house is finally warm! AGL spray foamed my whole attic and the band joist in my basement. The job itself only took about a day. Overall, i was very pleased. My only complaint is that my house was a complete mess when i arrived home. There was dust and dirt all over the place, specifically in the bathroom where they ran the blower out to help dry the foam in the attic. Not a huge deal but kind of irritating knowing that it wasn't dirty when i left.

Description of Work
Spray foaming of entire attic and band joist in basement

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your feedback - apologies for the dust!
5.0

08/07/2014


Denise B.

They were very professional and spent a lot time answering my questions. I had many questions and they returned my phone calls quickly. The price was reasonable and less than another company I contacted. We ended up not using the product and went with a traditional less expensive insulation because I had a few remaining concerns as I was informed that a new product would be coming out in the fall. There are some controversies over possible problems with the foam insulation, but as the company stated, "if the foam is installed properly, there are no issues". From my research I could not find any issues with this company's installation procedure. We were going to use the foam insulation in a young child's room in a new addition and choose not to use the product as we needed it done before the new product was on the market. I would recommend them and they are willing to give you references from other satisfied customers.

Description of Work
A representative came out to our house and gave an estimate as well as explaining the product and installation of it.

Category insulation

5.0

06/10/2014


Shawn L.

Maybe one of the best companies I have ever dealt with. Professional, responsive, thorough, and detailed. If the phone was not answered by the owner, I was called back within a minute or two. I wish all companies were run like AGL SprayFoam. They arrived when they said, finished what they quoted, and provided exactly what they said they would. They spent as much time with me as needed to make sure I understood what they were providing and the benefit I would receive. This company is fantastic and would have no problem recommending them to anyone. John, Sean and team, a job well done!

Description of Work
AGL provided removal of old insulation in the attic and spray foam of my home.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your kind words!
4.0

03/30/2014


John S.

There was trouble with the machine the first day, but returned and completed the job the very next day (Saturday). The insulation installed is some of the best performing available and we are already seeing good results with reduced heating bills and sound reduction (open cell).

Description of Work
We hired AGL to install both open cell and closed cell insulation.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review!
4.0

03/01/2014


Karen W.

Had to contend with a huge amount of soot in the attic because of a prior roof replacement that required tearing down an old cedar shake roof. Made it more difficult for AGL to do their job. But they were professional, helpful and thorough.

Description of Work
They cut holes in my ceiling and blew in spray foam insulation.

Category insulation

5.0

01/05/2014


Chris C.

Performed attic cleanout, baffle installation, and foam insulation. They recommended an open cell unvented roof application, but instead went with closed cell coat of attic floor and walls with addition of cellulose on top. Thorough cleanout, good application. Very pleased with the results.

Description of Work
.

Category insulation

5.0

12/26/2013


Alison D.

From the estimate process to the actual service, we were extremely satisfied with both the company and the product. This is the second time we have used AGL Spray Foam for services. They had previously spray foamed our entire third floor including the walls and under the roof and we were pleased with those results as well. It was refreshing to deal with such a professional company that provided the results they had promised.

Description of Work
We had gutted the interior of our home for renovation and discovered that we had uninsulated space in our living room where the ceiling joists continued out to our wrap-around porch but without any separation at all. AGL Spray Foam used open celled foam to fill all of the cavities in addition to having our basement band joists filled with open celled foam.

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your kind words!
5.0

11/29/2013


Erin T.

Our house was built in 1951. All first floor walls are either cinder-block or mortared in place stacked stone. These walls were then studded out with 2x4s in direct contact with the block, without insulation or vapor barrier in the wall. We did a complete gut on our kitchen and living room (sequentially), exposing two of these walls along the front and rear of the house. I had a general contractor who did all the demo and renovations and in the bid I specifically asked for closed-cell foam in the 2x4 cavities (and sill plates). Closed cell foam provides an air and vapor barrier as well as higher R/value per inch than fiberglass bats or rigid foam board. The general contractor wasn't particularly informed about spray foam (whereas I had done significant research...my father being an insulation engineer at a large petro-chemical company), so I began a search for sub-contractors. There are very few local companies who do spray foam, and it is of the utmost importance for the integrity of the foam (and health of the residents) that spray foam be professionally installed. I narrowed it down to two top-notch local companies (using Angie's List and web searches) and had the general contractor contact John at AGL. A good friend of the family had used them for some spray foam work on his daughter's fixer-upper. We did the job sequentially, AGL sprayed the kitchen in late August, we finished the kitchen renovation, moved to the living room, and AGL just came back in late November and sprayed the living room wall. All the workers were very professional and courteous, and most of all efficient. I was very impressed with John's knowledge of the product, and his knowledge of thermo-engineering and sealing the building (thermal) envelope. Everything was handled with the utmost of care, from the initial walk-thru and bid right up until the actual spraying. When it comes time for us to renovate the unfinished basement, or do any work where exterior walls are exposed, we will absolutely use AGL again. Close cell spray foam is the insulating product to have for exposed exterior walls, and AGL is the contactor you want to install it!

Description of Work
Install AirTight closed cell spray foam on the interior of two exposed large masonry walls.

Category insulation

5.0

09/28/2013


Grant B.

Sean was great as a salesman. He was informative and professional. The spray guys were also on time, professional, and did a great job. The only reason I am putting a B for price was because spray foam is so expensive. However, our house is considerably warmer and I feel it is well worth the investment if you stay in your home for a while.

Description of Work
Sprayed attic and crawl space

Category insulation

5.0

09/20/2013


Scott N.

From start to finish AGL and their employees were impressive. I interviewed three companies, all from Angies list, and AGL was by far the most impressive. Their suggestions on how to proceed with this type of insulation, when starting from scratch on a renovation, were both educational and money saving. Sean Kennedy who bid the job was a pleasure to deal with from beginning to end. He followed the progress of the work start to finish. The actual guys who sprayed the insulation were both gentleman, courteous and considerate of my property and obviously very interested in doing a great job. I was so impressed with this company that I have reccomended them to my employer for them to handle the insulation on new construction that I represent in center city Philadelphia.

Description of Work
Spray foam insulation on a concrete slab floor, exterior masonry walls, interior studded walls and ceiling.

Category insulation

5.0

08/19/2013


Steven P.

I spoke with John about a small spray foam project. He gave me some honest information about the size of the job and some possible alternatives so I can do it myself - since it was such a small job. John was very friendly and willing to offer advice without trying to up-sell me to something I didn't need. I will definitely call him again when I have a project that truly needs his services.

Description of Work
Spray foam inquiry

Category insulation

5.0

07/20/2013


Mike B.

From the salesman to scheduling and final install everything went smoothly. Competitive pricing, friendly service, on time. Job ran a little over for the day and it was very hot out (no AC in house) so they came back early the next morning to clean everything up which was great. Highly recommended, would definitely do business with again in the future. Spray foam is the way to go and this is the company to use!

Description of Work
Sprayed closed cell spray foam R-14 (approx 2") on walls and R-38 on ceilings (approx 5.5" depth) in 1500sq ft. home.

Category insulation

5.0

03/14/2013


Lisa P.

Our "finished" basement had been built without insulation prior to our having moved into our home 2 1/2 years ago. In preparation for creating a man cave for my husband, I decided to deal with the lack of insulation before adding any bells and whistles to the space. I knew we wanted to go with closed cell foam and found AGL on Angie's List. When I first spoke to John the owner, I was relieved to find out that we did not have to remove all of the drywall in order to gain access to the cinder block foundation walls. I arranged to have Sean come out and give me an estimate. When Sean saw that the interior room ceiling was right up against the metal floor of the garage, he explained that the ceiling would have to come down as well as a portion of that room's outer wall. While not thrilled with more demo work needing to be done, I knew it was the right approach as Sean explained very clearly. I received the estimate later the same day and it was in line with what I anticipated. Work was scheduled based on my availability and was completed all in one day because a third man twas added o the crew to accomplish both demo and foam installation in a single day. Initially, Sean had thought it would be a two day job. I was extremely pleased to have it take only one day as my two dogs were holed up in one room the whole time. All three of the crew members, Rob, Tom and Tommy were great. From backing the truck down my street in the wrong direction to running the hoses through my garage rather than my front door to allowing me to check on progress and take a few photographs along the way, not to mention that it rained until just before they left,they did a terrific job. Given that drywall had to be torn out, there was very little dust after the crew left in the afternoon. The crew covered every area they worked in as well as my foyer floor and stairs leading down to the basement. It's two days post installation and the temps have dipped into the 30's. There is a noticeable difference in the temperature in my basement and this is before having the drywall replaced and closing up the walls and ceiling. The interior room has no duct work to heat or cool it and this space is definitely warmer than it had been prior to insulating. Another benefit is that the room right above the basement that has two outside walls is now warmer due to the band joist having been insulated. I couldn't believe how much warmer that room feels now after being cold every winter. I could not be happier with the job AGL Spray Foam did in my home and am looking forward to having the company do my roof when it needs replacing.

Description of Work
Apply 3" (R-21) of Heatlok Soy 200 closed cell foam to the CMU (concrete masonry unit) basement walls. 1,566 Board Feet Basement front vertical wall from band joist to 3' below grade line. Office ceiling. Basement side and rear wall install from band joist to 3' below grade. Drywall removal and disposal for application

Category insulation

    Other local Pros in your area

    Green Stone Energy LLC

    Green Stone Energy LLC is a privately owned Company based in Southeastern Pennsylvania, servicing residential and commercial customers, in order to help improve their energy efficiency. Green Stone Energy LLC is committed to improving our customer's standard of living, by helping increase the energy efficiency of each home or building, thus helping lower yearly energy costs. We work closely with each customer to get the results they need, and strive for Total Customer Satisfaction.  

    Alligood Energy

    Alligood Energy is a result of 35+ years in the energy sector providing renewable energy solutions for military bases, nuclear facilities, universities, hospitals and residential housing. We have taken that experience to create a very unique and specialized company that provides energy auditing and consulting to the residential, commercial, industrial and institutional markets. For our customers we provide a whole house or building approach to energy savings that uses the latest technological equipment to identify where and how a home is losing energy, which systems are working inefficiently (heating & cooling, ventilation, etc.) and propose the most cost-effective solutions to rectify these problems to lower your energy impact. ***** We offer a $175 Home Energy Audit - Using a blower door and thermal imaging, our 1-1.5 hour whole house approach pinpoints costly energy problems and proposes effective solutions for improving savings & comfort in your home. If you are interested in implementing the solutions after the audit we also perform the work & run a test out upon completion to measure the improvements.  

    Master Attic,LLC

    At Master Attic, our goal is to provide you with the highest quality materials and workmanship at an affordable price. We are a team of licensed, trained professionals with 15+ years of experience in insulation and rodent solutions. May it be rodent proofing, insulation removal, insulation installation, sanitizing, moisture barrier, radiant barrier, air duct repair replacement, or crawlspace cleaning, we have you covered. Do you hear noises in the attic? Smell something in the crawl space!? Schedule an appointment today, and have one of our technicians come out to assess the area and provide a free detailed estimate for the project.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Master Attic,LLC on Angi
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    PA060624
    Trade License Locale
    Pennsylvania
    Trade License Authority
    Pennsylvania Office of Attorney General
    Trade License Expiration
    01/03/2016
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Closed Cell and Open Cell spray foam Insulation installation & assessment.

    Services Not Offered

    Fiberglass and cellulose insulation, injection foam.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AGL Spray Foam Insulation

    How is AGL Spray Foam Insulation overall rated?

    AGL Spray Foam Insulation is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are AGL Spray Foam Insulation open?

    AGL Spray Foam Insulation is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does AGL Spray Foam Insulation provide

    AGL Spray Foam Insulation accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does AGL Spray Foam Insulation offer free estimates?

    Yes, AGL Spray Foam Insulation offers free project estimates.

    Does AGL Spray Foam Insulation offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AGL Spray Foam Insulation offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by AGL Spray Foam Insulation?

    Yes, AGL Spray Foam Insulation offers warranties.

    What services does AGL Spray Foam Insulation offer?

    AGL Spray Foam Insulation offers the following services: Closed Cell and Open Cell spray foam Insulation installation & assessment.

    Are there any services AGL Spray Foam Insulation does not offer?

    Fiberglass and cellulose insulation, injection foam.