Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service

Founded 2006 • With Angi since March 2011

4.9

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2045 Orlando Rd

Pottstown, PA 19464

Description

We are a full service chimney and masonry firm. We sweep, inspect, build, and repair chimneys and fireplaces. Repairing and restoring old fireplaces is a specialty for us. Additional DBA - A Good Sweep....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/08/2019


Lynn S.

My husband and I were very pleased with the work done for us... chimney repair, other brick and mortar work. Nathan, Tristan, and team were knowledgeable, skilled, professional, and timely. It's a relief to have our home repair up to date and of quality. We definitely recommend them wholeheartedly and would use them again (although of course we hope nothing else needs repair any time soon!)

Description of Work
Chimney repair and other brick and mortar work

Category chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind words and affirmation of our company. It means so much to us. It was a pleasure working with you, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Thanks, All of us at 'Antrim's A Good Sweep'
5.0

11/27/2017


Karen B.

Very well. An A+ company that is extremely knowledgeable in what they do.

Description of Work
Antrim’s Complete Chimney & Masonry Sevices rebuilt our chimney after a fire. Working with Nate and Tristan is always a positive experience. They are prompt, professional and knowledgeable about everything related to a well-built Chimney/fireplace. All of our questions have been answered completely and respectfully. We were happy to find a company to rely on to clean and maintain our chimney each year.

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

10/10/2017


John S.

Very well. He fixed it in about two minutes and charged me a very reasonable price.

Description of Work
Gas fireplace not working.

Category chimney repair

5.0

08/14/2016


Kate B.

I recommend Antrim's without reservation. My chimney stucco was falling off in pieces from age and poor work from a different contractor in the past. We had a string of contractors look at the job. Most didn't even mention that the condition of the chimney interior should be examined and addressed, and felt re-stuccoing was the best approach. The team from Antrim's took photos of the interior and roof so that we could see the status for ourselves and make an informed decision. I consulted with a home inspector who felt the approach recommended was the best long term approach for safety as well as cost/value, which confirmed my inclination to hire Antrim's. The team was professional and friendly. They kept the job site clean and fully cleaned up when they were done. In addition the office kept me informed about scheduling in instances of weather related changes. The service and our experience with the company met/exceeded our expectations.

Description of Work
Rebuilt chimney from ground up. Stuccoed and sealed chimney exterior.

Category chimney repair

4.0

10/27/2015


john E.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning in prep for a gas fireplace conversion from wood-burning

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

11/14/2014


Suzanne L.

.

Description of Work
.

Category masonry

5.0

04/12/2014


Ray and Sue B.

He did excellent work. The price was good. He went above and beyond and the work was very good. He was very friendly, courteous and knowledgable. All of his equipment was up-to-date. He even took a video of inside chimney.

Description of Work
He cleaned and made sure everything was working properly.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

1.0

03/03/2014


Shaquana T.

I can only review based on the lack of response. I sent a message stating that I needed help and guidance and never received a response.

Description of Work
Failed to make initial response

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We do make every attempt to reply personally to any inquiry we receive, however being a local small business it is sometimes difficult during our fall/winter busy season to be at a 00% "call back" rating. (It is not uncommon for us to get 20-40 inquiry's per day especially when it is cold and snowy.) If the need arises feel free to try us again.
5.0

11/23/2013


Steve B.

Nathan Antrim ripped out interior of chimney and re-bricked it, installed a metal flue, and generally modernized it. . His subcontractor re-stucco' the outside; all in all, a fine job. Not cheap, but we burn a lot of fires and it was necessary. A very nice, top-quality job.

Description of Work
Restored 28 year old chimney

Category masonry,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

04/16/2013


Kenneth Z.

The project went well from start to finish but due to the start time in mid-February and weather issues it took almost 6 weeks overall as the stucco needed a minimum of 3 days with non-freezing temperatures. We are very pleased with the final result and appearance of the chimney.

Description of Work
Cleaned chimney, lined oil burner chimney, repaired both oil and fireplace chimney, replaced top of chimney with brick, replaced both chimney caps and added an extension to the fireplace chimney cap, re-stuccoed entire chimney and backfilled the fireplace smoke shelf.

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney repair

5.0

01/29/2013


James F.

From initial call until we said goodbye in the driveway it could not have been better and I have already recommended him to a friend that I know hasn't had theirs cleaned in years either. I will gladly put my name behind his work and continue to recommend him to others. Look no further.

Description of Work
Contacted them based on a referral from a friend and will be thanking that friend for doing so. I had been having issues (black smoke from boiler part of chimney) with my boiler and since I have held off the past (many) years from having it serviced or cleaned I figured it was way past due. I decided that I would have the fireplace chimeny cleaned as well. Nathan was great on the phone asking the right questions to try and understand what he would be walking into. I told him it was bad, but I didn't know just how bad it was. He worked with my schedule and actually came out the next morning to perform the work. Nathan could not have been a nicer guy to deal with through this process from start to finish. He started in the fireplace (being sure to take precautions to cover the carpet and walking path's he'd be taking) and swept everything first before moving to the video inspection which was just a nice bonus to have the comfort to be able to sit there and look at the interrior as he fully explains what we are looking at. Went through options, explained every inch of what we were looking at and I feel 1000x more confident in my knowledge base of fireplaces now. Next we moved to the basement where he confirmed what I had expected in that the boiler needed some work. He again, took the time to explain what he was going to do and made some recommendations for things that needed fixed (I had known they were broken prior to the visit). He went above and beyond what he needed to do but kept me in the loop each step of the way. Once he opened the stack, we were both shocked at just how bad it was. He explained risks and why i have been getting such poor performance out of the system which again, confirmed my beliefs but by took the time to fully explain so I would be comfortable. I had some older parts that I asked him to remove and replace which wasn't part of the initial scope of work but he explained the costs, I found them more than reasonable and he proceeded without hesitation. This is part of the reason the higher cost than your typical chimney sweep, for which this job was not just a chimney sweep. He alloted 3 hours but because of the additional pieces I asked him to fix it took an extra hour and I was happy to pay a bit more to have it completed rather than a half-hearted attempt and him bolt out of the house to the next appointment.

Category chimney sweep,heating & air conditioning/hvac,fireplaces

5.0

12/21/2012


Kelly K.

Excellent! I had a bad experience with one of Antrim's competitors (whom I gave an and quot;Fand quot;). With that bad experience fresh in my mind I dialed Antrim's and....got a live person (the competitor had an old answering machine)! She was very pleasant, took my information and advised that Nathan the owner would get back to me at his earliest convenience. He did and I explained the problem as best I could. To help save him some time and imagination I took some photos and e-mailed them to him so he would have an idea of what he would be dealing with when he came out to give me an estimate. Nathan arrived a couple days later (which fit my schedule). He looked around, climbed up on the roof and spent a good amount of time looking around. He explained what he thought the problem was and gave me 2 different possible solutions. His knowledge and honesty allowed me to be confident that he was the right guy for the job. He told me what products he would use (made in USA - woo hoo!) but I asked if we could go with stainless steel. He said yes but that it would add more cost (obviously) and time to the project because it could take up to 2 weeks to get the powder coating scheduled and completed. Fine with me - I signed the contract and paid a deposit. As soon as the new cap came in he called to let me know. He was also up-front about when he could get out to my house with one of his guys - he was very busy. That's something I appreciate - I'd rather know the truth so I can plan accordingly then have someone blow smoke up my you-know-what and then continually canceling (or not even showing up). My schedule is pretty flexible so he told me it may take up to 2 weeks but he'd let me know if he could fit me in sooner. Sure enough - he called like 2 days later - they finished up another job early - could they come out the next day? Sure! And they were - at the exact time they promised. They did the work, cleaned up completely and I'm very happy with it. I think it looks great and I'm sure my basement will fare better (and be drier!) then it was before. I wouldn't hestiate to use them again and I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
Had leak in basement coming from the chimney - Antrim's came out, gave me an estimate and later completed the work.

Category chimney repair

5.0

11/13/2012


CARY SCOTT S.

I liked their professionalism and their attention to detail. The owner came out and did a personal service on it. They are very responsive when you have any questions or inquiries.

Description of Work
They installed a new chimney last winter and they came in the summer for chimney sweep and a follow up service.

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair

5.0

10/22/2012


SUSAN B.

antrim's saw the problem for what it was and pointed out all the band-aid jobs that previous contractors had attempted to fix the problem. He was the 3rd person to look at it after the first ones cost us $ but didn't help. He was thorough, certified, and cared about a proper job. without it, we probably would not have been able to pass inspection to sell our house.

Description of Work
had a furnace that kept blowing a gas smell into the house because the vent into the chimney was improperly built

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,chimney repair

5.0

08/12/2012


William M.

The house was spotlesss when he left, he was conscientious and attentive to detail. The latter being particularly important considering the consequences of approaching it otherwise. In all cases, the work was professionally done, in a timely fashion and competitively priced.

Description of Work
The price sited above is only a guess. My son paid for the work. (It's one of the very few advantages of getting older.) My wife and I have had work done by Nathan on two occasions. First to get the chimney cleaned and a cap installed (to discourage a second squirrel from visting us) and last year a cleaning only. Two of my sons have had work done by Nathan both of which involved much more extensive work (i.e. reconstructing old fire places to bring them up to code).

Category masonry,chimney repair

5.0

03/24/2011


Almut S.

The experience was great. We initially interviewed two different companies, but Antrim's was well above the other for the same price. Nathan (the owner) did an inspection and showed us with a camera exactly where the trouble spots were in the old chimney and why we should redo it. He gave us several options for the shape of the fireplace and explained everything in detail and patiently. He is clearly passionate about his work and was very thorough in his initial assessment of our situation as well as during the whole work process. When he and his crew performed the work, I hardly noticed them being in the house. They were courteous, professional and incredibly clean. Even though they had to tear out the old fireplace, there was no dust anywhere by the end. They accepted last minute changes without any problem. Whenever we had questions, Nathan explained everything. He left us with instructions to build a great fire and we have been enjoying our new fireplace ever since. I cannot praise their work and attitude highly enough. I had a broken leg during this time, was in a cast and on crutches, so contractors is about the last thing you want to have in the house, but they were incredibly considerate and I didn't mind having them in the house at all. Nathan has also been responsive to questions since the work was finished, which is rare to find. We will continue to use him for our yearly chimney sweeping. Please check out their incredibly informative and helpful website antrimscomplete.com, which initially attracted me to this company together with their membership in the National Chimney Sweep Guild.

Description of Work
Our house is over 100 years old. The original lining in the chimney for the fireplace was breaking down. The chimney needed to be relined, and the fireplace itself needed to redone be for better draft and heat efficiency, which included breaking out the old masonry fireplace. Both were brought up to code.

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Disciple Masonry

    Disciple Masonry specializes in masonry repairs and new masonry installations. Our customers are everything to us. We take the time to understand you and what you want, and make it our mission to help you get it. Not sure if we can help? Give us a call now to find out!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Disciple Masonry on Angi
    Service Team of Professionals Eastern PA

    Restoration.........Done Right the First Time!! Service Team of Professionals Eastern PA, provides quality residential and commercial property damage restoration services. Services include mold remediation, water damage mitigation/drying, smoke, fire, wind and vandalism damage. S.T.O.P offers 24-hour emergency response with full service disaster cleaning and repair. Our trained team of professionals have over 15 years’ experience and masters of the trade who will work closely with you and your insurance company to help you recover from the unexpected. We utilize the most effective equipment and methods to prevent further damage and restore your premises to near pre-loss condition. Call on S.T.O.P for your water, mold, smoke, fire, wind, vandalism and other damage repair services. To schedule a free initial consultation or estimate please contact us toll free at (267) 433-5500.  

    GRIMALDI CONTRACTORS

    We are a general contracting company offering residential and commercial repair, restoration and renovation services. Our company specializes in addressing and repairing structural issues, and we work with highly qualified structural engineers to provide the safest and most effective repair and reinforcement strategy. We maintain experienced carpentry, masonry and painting crews to provide full service on all projects. We will coordinate work with electrical and plumbing sub-contractors to maximize efficiency. We work with insurance companies to address and repair damages.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Chimney Sweeping, video inspections with documentation, troubleshooting, waterproofing, caps, custom stainless chase top installation, masonry, smoke chamber, dryer vent repair, firebox rebuilds, UL listed stainless steel relining, dryer vent cleaning, wood stove, gutter, gas appliance & pellet stove sales.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service

    How is Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service overall rated?

    Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service open?

    Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 1:30 PM

    What payment options does Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service provide

    Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check

    Does Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service offer free estimates?

    No, Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service?

    No, Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service offer?

    Antrim's A Good Sweep Chimney & Masonry Service offers the following services: Chimney Sweeping, video inspections with documentation, troubleshooting, waterproofing, caps, custom stainless chase top installation, masonry, smoke chamber, dryer vent repair, firebox rebuilds, UL listed stainless steel relining, dryer vent cleaning, wood stove, gutter, gas appliance & pellet stove sales.