Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh

Founded 1993 • With Angi since January 2004

4.7

(261) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

652 Center Ave

Pittsburgh, PA 15229

Description

For honest, dependable appliance repair, contact Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh. We promise no long waits or inflated charges. From our clearly marked vans to our highly trained service technicians, we do the job right. $15.00 discounts on repairs. - Our phones answer 24 hours a day and you can

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/03/2020


Stacy F.

This was a terrible experience. The repairman came in, looked at the inside door of my refrigerator, told me that the icemakers on this model of refrigerator break all the time, and that the repair was $710, but that no one ever gets it done due to the cost. HE DID NOT EVEN LOOK AT THE ICEMAKERS. For this, I paid $104. All of this "diagnosis" obviously could have been done over the phone. In addition, the repairman was one of the least friendly people I have ever had in our home. Do not hire these guys!

Description of Work
Estimate for repair of Samsung Refrigerator with broken ice makers.

Category appliance repair

1.0

06/11/2019


Julia H.

It never got off the ground! I submitted my request on June 3rd, received an email from Angie’s list that it had been submitted that day, and waited over a week. Never heard from the company. I just called (June 11th) and a recording came on stating because they had lost their last technician, they are not accepting any more service calls. It would have been nice to know that a week ago! Now I have to start my search/inquiry all over again. I would suggest Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh be removed from your listings until they can adequately staff themselves to take on service calls.

Description of Work
Fix ice dispenser

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Due to having no technicians we are unable to run service calls. When we get an experienced technician we will be able to start up again. We have been closed since the first week of March 2019. This is something we have no control over, we also had to lay off our office leaving us with no employees Thank You Mary Ann Moore Owner
5.0

03/04/2018


Dan H.

The problem was diagnosed correctly, a bad timer that controls the defrost cycle. The part was ordered and installed about ten days later. The refrigerator works great again!

Description of Work
Refrigerator reepair

Category appliance repair

4.0

02/05/2018


Noah T.

Initially the repairs worked 5 months but then the issue came back. They came out a total of 4 times and replaced the main board and pressure sensor both twice. I am trying a different company.

Description of Work
They attempted to repair my LG washer and dryer.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/27/2017


Eduardo L.

First, I was glad that I was able to schedule an appointment within a few days instead of a couple of weeks. The day of the appointment I was notified by phone within the requested time frame that the technician was on his way to my place. The person from Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh was very professional and knowledgeable. He was able to diagnose the problem pretty fast and provided me with a quote. I agreed on the price and he proceeded with the repairs immediately. At the end the washing machine was back in working conditions.

Description of Work
My washing machine was not draining

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/25/2017


Brian M.

George called about 15 minutes ahead of time. Arrived on time and got right to work. He was able to diagnose the issue very quickly and confirmed that the igniter for the bake function was in fact not heating. He was able to replace the part and confirm that the part was functioning correctly. He then tested all of the functions of the range and confirmed that everything was in working order. He was also very good about explaining what he was doing and why he was doing it so if I ever felt the urge to do some DIY, I might actually have a chance of pulling it off!

Description of Work
We needed the igniter replaced for the bake function on our stove.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/04/2017


Derek B.

Very knowledgeable and polite. Adjusted Stove, no parts needed.

Description of Work
Inspection of gas stove.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/26/2017


Kristine A.

They kept me up to date as far as when the technician would arrive. He put booties over his shoes before entering, was friendly & professional, & got the dishwasher up and running in minutes.

Description of Work
My dishwasher wasn't working.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/25/2017


Laureen M.

Pretty well. Required a new electronic board. Unfortunately, the first one sent by the supplier, was not the correct one, so it took an extra week to repair. It would have been nice if they could have sent someone out a little earlier. It was 5 days before someone could take a look at the dryer, to even determine if could be fixed.

Description of Work
My dryer needed repaired.

Category appliance repair

4.0

08/18/2017


Angela S.

Found problem right away and had part in truck, fixed right away. Came a little later than 2 hour window, but over all satisfied.

Description of Work
Washer wouldn`t wash or drain.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/07/2017


JAMES F D.

They were actually pretty good. The quality was good. The price is fair.

Description of Work
We had to have a burner replaced.

Category appliance repair

1.0

06/06/2017


Nancy G.

No comment....no response from the company.

Description of Work
Terrible company....called them at 8:00 am. Waited for return call....NO ONE even bothered to return my call after answering service that someone would contact me about my washer.....WASTE OF TIME....... it was for a repair on my washer..

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/30/2017


MARY ANN B.

Serviceman determined the problem to be a broken thermostat. He was very courteous & knowledgeable. Unfortunately, the oven is 50 years and a new thermostat was not available so the repair couldn't be completed.

Description of Work
Service call re repair of built-in oven

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/10/2017


Suzanne K.

Excellent. The customer service over the phone when I was setting up the appointment was exceptional. The woman was very friendly and understanding. I was nine months pregnant with my fourth child, due to deliver any day, and without the use of my washing machine. She was able to get me on the schedule within the next day, maybe two. And the technician who came was professional, knowledgable and kind. The only negative comment I would make is that it was a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. They did an excellent job in a timely manner so it was worth it to me.

Description of Work
I needed a repair on my washing machine- simple part replacement but required expertise & strength. I was very impressed with the technician.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/09/2017


Tim L.

Went very well, had the part on his truck and fixed it quickly

Description of Work
Fixed my dishwasher, checked my oven I chose to replace it, rather than have it fixed

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/27/2017


kim B.

Very professional, explained the problem to me, very knowledgeable, and affordable. The work area was left nice and neat.

Description of Work
They replaced the faulty igniter part that they had installed two months ago.

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/12/2017


Johnny W.

Went very well. Very friendly, professional, and knowledgable.

Description of Work
Replaced oven igniter.

Category appliance repair

1.0

04/07/2017


Nancy L.

I called Mr. Appliance for a an in-warranty repair of a Bosch dishwasher. The dishwasher is making excessive noise. When they arrived, they informed me that they were going to look for broken glass and if they found it I would have to pay for the visit. They spent 10 minutes looking for the nonexistent glass and were quite disappointed that they did not find any. They turned on the dishwasher and decided the noise was tolerable. I explained that the noise was new and not what I paid for. They called Bosch to ask for advice. Bosch told them what needed to be repaired. They felt that Bosch did not know what they were talking about and then left without repairing anything.

Description of Work
Bosch dishwasher warranty repair.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

The procedure with any kind of noise in a dishwasher is to clear the pump/sump area of glass and debris. We rarely have excessive noise unless something is rubbing against the pump Impeller. The tech did the correct thing. Any time you have something like glass or bone pieces or hard objects go through the pump you risk the sound of the pump changing. This is most likely the issue and Bosch authorizes us to decide if the issue will cause the machine to not function normally. The tech did not feel there was excessive noise and the noise wasn't effecting the operation of the dishwasher so he didn't replace any parts.
2.0

03/03/2017


Robin K.

Tech came to house to check oven. When he was there I had an emergency phone call. I was only on the phone for 5 minutes. When I was done on the phone, the tech told me the control broard was the problem and to fix it, it would cost $500. He told me my stove was a 2007, which I thought was odd, but at the time I was have a family issue, and could not deal with it. I wrote a check for $250, half the amount required. On his way out the door he told me it would be at least 8 day before rescheduling, because it took sometime for the part to come in. After he left I starting thinking and realized that my stove was NOT that old. I got the sereral number and check it online. It is a 2012 and that INDEED MY control board is covered under warrenty. I emailed Mr. Applicance within 4 hours of them coming out to cancel the transaction. I explained that the part was covered under my warrenty. I and was told that I had to pay a $75 fee to come out and a $50 restock part fee. I totally agree on the $75 fee for coming out, but come on, $50 restock. I told them LESS then 4 hours I was canceling the tranaction. YOUR tech told me it took several days for the part to come in. The next day when I called to speak with the owned the person who anawsered the phone(bob, I believed) claimed they were in and out all day and could not be reached. I guess the owners do not have a cell phones. He, (bob) said, the part was there. Amazing when the day before it was going to be a least 8 days before I could reschedule. THIS IS CALLED TAKING ADVANTAGE OF THE CUSTOMER. shame on you

Description of Work
Kitchaide oven not heating. Stove top was working, but oven was not.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/28/2017


Kevin S.

The technician was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Kept me informed about when the parts came in and was out promptly to replace everything.

Description of Work
Dish washer needed repaired. Door was falling off.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/22/2017


Christiane S.

Called Mr. Appliance and was given an appointment for 2 days later: there was a confirmatory email the next day with a 2 hour window for the day of service. On the day of service we got a 15 min alert that George was on his way. George was hugely professional (had shoe covers over his shoes), and completed the job in 1 1/2 hours. The total charge was $200.-. About $26.- of that was for a new plastic door link and included a $20.- senior discount. He noted some small deficiencies in the installation of the dishwasher (NOT done by their company) and fixed those while doing the leak repair.

Description of Work
Our Kitchenaid dishwasher made a loud popping sound as I opened the door, and then started to leak when I turned it on.

Category appliance repair

4.0

02/20/2017


Byron S.

It took four visits by the technician to fix this problem. First time, he said it needed a $500+ sensor; after that was installed and failed to fix the problem, he installed a new icemaker. After that failed to solve the problem, he returned a fourth time and discovered a broken wire. He fixed the wire and everything was fine. I had to call the owner, however, to get a refund for the expensive parts I didn't need; I would have thought that would be automatic. Once I reached the owner, however, he immediately agreed to refund the difference between the cost of repair and what I had already paid.

Description of Work
My icemaker stopped working.

Category appliance repair

5.0

12/16/2016


AMANDA L.

Scheduling: friendly and considerate Confirmation: by email, confirmed approximate time when I called the day of, and called me when the technician was on the way. Couldn't have asked for more. Technician: friendly and professional, used shoe covers as always. Showed me in 2 seconds what was wrong with the range (or rather, helped me figure it out- even better) and then told me how to fix it, which took a millisecond. So took that service call fee right off! For the oven, explained what he was doing and why, called the company, and confirmed how to adjust the set temperature. Problem solved. Was friendly with my cats too!

Description of Work
one burner on gas range was not working, and oven was not heating properly

Category appliance repair

5.0

11/30/2016


Robert D.

The service provider was excellent. I have used them many times.

Description of Work
I hired this provider to fix my washing machine.

Category appliance repair

5.0

10/27/2016


Deborah L.

George was prompt, considerate, and thorough and had us fixed in no time at all! Would ask for him specifically any time I needed assistance. He was great!

Description of Work
Top rack of dishwasher continuously in need of repair - had done so with zip ties for years!

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    All Black appliances repair

    I repair all appliances and install lighting fixtures. 10 plus years of experience. Independent owner and operator.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Neli Virtual Appliance Repair

    COVID-19 SAFE VIRTUAL SERVICE. Virtually diagnose and/or repair your appliances and HVAC units today without anyone stepping foot inside your home! For $35 you can take control of your home appliance repairs and $50 heating and cooling via video chat with a certified technician when it’s convenient for you. Make an appointment today on our website. Neli's certified technicians will work with you to conduct either a diagnosis to find out what's wrong or a repair. You will use Neli’s advanced video chat technology during your appointment. Schedule your appointment today at nelihome.com or call us at (833) 876 0900!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Neli Virtual Appliance Repair on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    069212405
    Trade License Authority
    Refrigeration Service Engineers Society
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2025
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Major household appliances repair. We are Factory Authorized to service: Bosch, Thermador, Gaggenau, Siemens, DCS, Fisher Paykel, Elbe, Dacor, Insinkerator, Miele, Frigidaire, Tappan, White Westiinghouse, Gibson, Kelvinator, Electrolux, Northwood, Northland, LaCanche French Range,Blue Star, Premier, Summit Factory Assisted Sub Zero, Wolf, LG, Whirlpool, Kitchen Aid, Roper, Estate, Maytag, Amana, Caloric, Norge, Jenn Aire, Magic Chef, Speed Queen, Crosley, Admiral, and more.

    Services Not Offered

    Air conditioners, trash compactors, microwaves, wine coolers & small electrical appliances.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh

    How is Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh overall rated?

    Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh open?

    Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh provide

    Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, American Express

    Does Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offer free estimates?

    No, Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh?

    Yes, Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offers warranties.

    What services does Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offer?

    Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh offers the following services: Major household appliances repair. We are Factory Authorized to service: Bosch, Thermador, Gaggenau, Siemens, DCS, Fisher Paykel, Elbe, Dacor, Insinkerator, Miele, Frigidaire, Tappan, White Westiinghouse, Gibson, Kelvinator, Electrolux, Northwood, Northland, LaCanche French Range,Blue Star, Premier, Summit Factory Assisted Sub Zero, Wolf, LG, Whirlpool, Kitchen Aid, Roper, Estate, Maytag, Amana, Caloric, Norge, Jenn Aire, Magic Chef, Speed Queen, Crosley, Admiral, and more.

    Are there any services Mr. Appliance of Pittsburgh does not offer?

    Air conditioners, trash compactors, microwaves, wine coolers & small electrical appliances.