Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

J Francis Company LLC

About

Founded 1988 • With Angi since August 2005

J Francis Company, LLC is a professional full-service General Contractor based in Pittsburgh since 1988. We are a one-stop design-build shop staffed with architects and designers. Our minimum job size is $75,000. We perform residential remodeling and renovation including kitchens & baths, additions, basements, whole house remodels, phased renovations, master planning, space reconfigurations, and outdoor living. We only build what we design; we only design what we intend to build. The success of your remodeling project lies in what you have experienced during the process. The quality of that experience defines our success....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Images

After

+27 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(52) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

48

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (26)basement remodeling (11)architect (11)woodworking (19)electrician (17)plumbers (16)lighting (16)drywall (16)countertop installation (16)interior painting (14)tile installation (14)concrete repair (13)
Showing 1-25 of 52 reviews
5.0

02/28/2022


Ruth C.

We used J. Francis Company for our basement and office renovation and would highly recommend them for home improvement projects. The whole process was very well managed and organized from the first meeting to the final completion. All the staff were extremely helpful and professional with regular updates throughout the entire project to make the process a stress-free as possible. We would most definitely use J. Francis for future projects!

Description of Work
Basement and Office Remodel

Category custom cabinets, concrete repair, flooring contractor, woodworking, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2022

Images

Review for J Francis Company LLC - 1410 High St, Pittsburgh, PA - 39642566

+1 More

4.0

11/30/2021


Brian K.

J Francis is a very professional and well organized company to work with. The quality of the work is top notch, with good communication throughout the process. The day to day builders and contractors were always very nice and accommodating to our family with young children. There were some early challenges with matching budget and scope, with great ideas presented to us that proposed expanding the scope of the project, but went beyond our fixed budget. However - this happened early enough in the process that we were able to adjust our plans accordingly without any surprises. We have not yet completed all of our original remodeling goals, but we are very happy with the work that has been completed (new patio with masonry wall, french drain system and repairs to the house frame). They continue to be attentive to concerns even after the work has been completed and clearly take pride in making sure the job is done to the highest standards.

Description of Work
Outdoor patio with masonry wall, french drain, framing repairs

Category concrete repair, decks, landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2021

5.0

07/28/2021


Robyn B.

J. Francis worked with us to design and build a complete basement remodel, plus two full bathrooms. They were knowledgeable about specific issues with our old home and all requirements that would need to be met to pass inspections. The paid attention to details and let us know immediately about any problems that would cause a change order (like unlevel floors, unique subflooring, plumbing issues, etc.). They're not cheap, and they use a lot of subcontractors to get the work done, but they do their best to find and hire quality people who truly care about the work they're doing. If something isn't perfect (or close to it), they fix it. If you want your project done well and efficiently, then give J. Francis a call!

Description of Work
Complete overhaul remodel of basement and two full bathrooms

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $207,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2021

5.0

01/31/2021


SUSAN H.

J. Francis did a mudroom addition and deck for us, and the quality of the work and materials was great. The crew was professional and polite, and adapted easily and quickly to some unanticipated issues discovered and some requested adjustments from us. They also had strong safety measures in place so that the project could be done amidst the Covid pandemic. The project management team was also very communicative, so we knew what had been completed, when issues arose, and what was planned to be done in the coming week. While the overall project cost ended up higher than expected, due in part to additional work we requested along the way, the work quality and the materials are top of the line so are worth the added cost.

Description of Work
mudroom addition and deck

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, remodeling, roofing, siding, woodworking, architect, house painters, doors

Cost $130,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2020

5.0

01/27/2021


Diane L.

Highly recommend J. Francis Co! We had a porch remodel & basement bathroom done, and the process from design to completion was surprisingly easy. Everyone was professional and easy to work with. Both projects turned out beautifully. The attention to detail is amazing. J. Francis has a customer for life!

Description of Work
Porch/basement bathroom remodel

Category concrete repair, decks, heating & air conditioning/hvac, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2021

5.0

07/25/2020


brad K.

Good for us. J. Francis is easy to work with; felt comfortable with having them in our home for 3+ months. No work as extensive as was performed in our home is going to be fun - but I say this unequivocally, I trust this company and J. Francis will correct any problem. Clearly a commitment to the customer is part of the J. Francis culture. It made a difference with us. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel and bathroom remodel

Category architect

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

5.0

06/10/2020


Darla S.

J Francis remodeled our basement, including playroom, built-ins, laundry room and a bathroom. We love the results. They were very professional: weekly meeting with our project manager, responsive via email, easily accepted changes to the plan and scope. Everyone who worked on the job was friendly. They were focused on providing top quality work. That said, it was not a cheap job. Overall, we were very pleased with J Francis.

Description of Work
Basement renovation

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

5.0

01/07/2020


Diane D.

J Francis have done several projects for us, most recently remodeling a master bath and a powder room. They are great to work with throughout the process, from design through completion.

Description of Work
Remodeled master bath and powder room

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2019

5.0

12/04/2019


jennifer H.

J Francis recently completed a total kitchen renovation. From design to demo, installation and project completion, everyone at J Francis was fantastic to work with and the outcome of the project was even better than we imagined. This was the second project we completed with J. Francis. Would highly recommend J Francis for your construction needs.

Description of Work
Total Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2019

5.0

08/24/2019


Chris S.

We did a long-distance, full-house remodel with J. Francis. Normally, that would be a recipe for disaster. But the professionals at J. Francis did an incredible job with every phase of planning and construction. They delivered what they said they would on time and on budget. The finished product is fantastic. I would give them the highest possible marks for all phases of the project, and would HIGHLY recommend them to anyone interested in a renovation project!

Description of Work
Full-house remodel.

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, architect, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2019

Images

Review for J Francis Company LLC - 1410 High St, Pittsburgh, PA - 38066389
5.0

06/19/2019


Elizabeth F.

We worked with J Francis Company to have our basement remodeled, Kortney was our project developer. Having a small growing family, our budget is pretty tight so we needed someone who was going to do the quality of work we wanted in stages that we could afford. We met with J Francis, explained what we wanted, the issue of budget, and they have been nothing but wonderful in working with us to make it happen! We wanted our basement updated so that there was a laundry room, a large family area, and a bathroom that we could add at a later time. Which was exactly what they did. Phase one has been completed and we are left we an awesome new space for our family to use. They closed off our laundry room, finished off our stairs, installed the plumbing into the concrete for our bathroom, created the space for the bathroom, and finished off the family area we wanted. We plan on working with them again next year to finish off the second phase, which we keep referring to as the pretty stuff (install the bathroom and all the pretty finishes such as paint and cabinetry). But even with the “rough” finished basement we have in this round, we seriously could not be more happy with their work and will recommend them to anyone completing a home project, and very specifically Kortney. We’re excited to work with her in the future!

Description of Work
Basement Remodel

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $42,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2019

Images

Review for J Francis Company LLC - 1410 High St, Pittsburgh, PA - 37937495

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! You have been so much fun to work with, and we are so happy that we were able to give you a space for your family to grow into. Seeing how "JaZzEd" ;) you were about Phase I (especially for the pocket doors) makes all of the hard work worth it! We are looking forward to Phase II!
5.0

04/24/2019


Todd B.

I highly recommend J Francis. J Francis remodeled our kitchen and bathroom and we are very happy with the work performed. One benefit of working with J Francis are the periodic follow-up walk throughs after the completion of the work. John, the owner, personally performs the walk throughs. There were a couple of issues that we pointed out to John at the 6 month walk through and without prompting, he immediately addressed the problems. It's hard to put a price on that level of service. Sometimes you get what you pay for and this is true with J Francis.

Description of Work
Kitchen and Bathroom Remodel

Category electrician, home remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2018

5.0

03/12/2019


Rob C.

Great team, very respectful high quality work.

Description of Work
Repaired water leaks, replaced windows. General contractor.

Category countertops, drywall, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2019

5.0

02/19/2019


Patricia R.

Upon retirement my husband and I decided to move back to PA into my 66 year old family home. We lived in the house for 2 years and interviewed many contractors for a whole house remodel. We became very disillusioned and frustrated. I continued my research and found J. Francis Co. You know the old adage "you get what you pay for". This was so true with this company. We thought the cost was high but after working with them for 3 months we couldn't have spent our money more wisely. This company is superb from the office staff to the construction crews. The work is beautiful and top quality. The time spent with us before the project started was unbelievable! No construction nightmares, no surprises and completed ahead of schedule. They were here Monday-Friday until the job was complete. So respectful of our property and our neighbors. As in life not everything was perfect but they came back right away and made it perfect!! I thought we will never see them again. I was so wrong. They even do a 6 month review and a year review to cover their warranty. Do yourself a favor and forget the headaches of a remodel and hire this amazing J. Francis. We promise you will not be sorry!!

Description of Work
Entire House Remodel

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter repair, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, architect, home remodeling, house painters, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2018

Images

Review for J Francis Company LLC - 1410 High St, Pittsburgh, PA - 37720740

+3 More

5.0

12/30/2018


Willie R.

Upon retirement my husband and I decided to move back to PA into my 66 year old family home. We lived in the house for 2 years and interviewed many contractors for a whole house remodel. We became very disillusioned and frustrated. I continued my research and found J. Francis Co. You know the old adage "you get what you pay for". This was so true with this company. We thought the cost was high but after working with them for 3 months we couldn't have spent our money more wisely. This company is superb from the office staff to the construction crews. The work is beautiful and top quality. The time spent with us before the project started was unbelievable! No construction nightmares, no surprises and completed ahead of schedule. They were here Monday-Friday until the job was complete. So respectful of our property and our neighbors. As in life not everything was perfect but they came back right away and made it perfect!! I thought we will never see them again. I was so wrong. They even do a 6 month review and a year review to cover their warranty. Do yourself a favor and forget the headaches of a remodel and hire this amazing J. Francis. We promise you will note be sorry.!! .

Description of Work
Whole House Remodel

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, architect, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2018

5.0

11/29/2018


Stanley B.

There are always somethings that go wrong of a larger job! J Francis did a good job of fixing mistakes and getting things done to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
This job started out as a new front porch but grew after finding a roof leak under our back deck. Since replacing the rubber roof under the deck required removing the deck, a new deck was installed. We also had some tiling work done in the bathroom, electrical work, plumbing work, and some concrete repair. The job was somewhat complex in that it required coordination of a number of subcontractors and interfaces between trades. J. Francis kept on the job with almost continuously, and worked with me to resolve the issues that did come up to my satisfaction.

Category ceramic tile, concrete repair, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, landscaping, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $90,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2016

Images

Review for J Francis Company LLC - 1410 High St, Pittsburgh, PA - 37579926

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for kind words and understanding that what counts is not the bumps in the road but how you handle them. You were a pleasure to work with.
5.0

06/29/2018


Rebecca S.

We did a lot of research when considering upgrades to our home. It didn’t take long for us to find J. Francis Company. After doing our due diligence online, we called them. J Francis Company took the time to look at the space, learn what materials we liked and disliked, and what elements were important to incorporate for day to day function. We were very comfortable and confident that we had chosen the right people for the job. Their professionalism, attention to small details, and communication couldn’t be any better. They thought of things we never even considered with the project but that were necessary to the overall success. We never had a moment where we didn’t know how the project was progressing and best yet, the timeline and budget were spot on. We couldn’t be happier! Thank you, J Francis Company - we finally have our dream kitchen!

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2018

5.0

03/22/2018


Paul N.

The project went extremely well. The project, which ran from December 2017 to early February of 2018, involved a 1,000 s.f. house. This was the second project that I used J Francis for.... the prior project was in 2016. J Francis has an excellent transparent process that assures that both you and J Francis are clear on the scope of the project, the design and materials to be used, the budget, and a construction schedule. In both of my experiences with J Francis, they hit the mark in every area. I recommend them highly. J Francis features friendly, highly competent people that are committed to your project and that speaks highly for the organization.

Description of Work
I did a substantial renovation/remodel of an older home.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, architect, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2018

5.0

03/21/2018


norm R.

I HAVE WORKED WITH J.FRANCIS FOR OVER 15 YEARS. THEY ARE EXTREMELY COMPETENT, PROFESSIONAL, TIMELY AND GIVE VERY QUICK SERVICE.

Description of Work
OVER THE LAST FEW YEARS THEY HAVE DONE MANY PROJECTS TO INCLUDE PUTTING IN NEW WINDOWS THROUGH OUT THE HOUSE AND NUMEROUS REPAIR PROJECTS.

Category remodeling, woodworking, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2018

5.0

01/29/2018


Michael S.

Perfection is the standard for J. Francis Company. No matter how high your standards, John McCloskey and his Team will exceed them. Professional. Friendly. Courteous. Expert. No item will be overlooked - They get every detail right, the first time. You will enjoy having John's Team work for you, in your home - And you will be amazed and proud of the improvements they will make for you. Thank You J. Francis!

Description of Work
Total renovation - from stem to stern - of a 68 year old colonial style house.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, concrete repair, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter repair, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, landscaping, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, architect, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $250,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]. You and your family were a pleasure to work with. You were remarkably unperturbed considering all of you were living in it while we tore it up around you. Thank you for inviting us into your home.
5.0

10/22/2017


Margaret A.

J Francis provided a complete solution from design through build-out. They were very easy to work with throughout the process and their craftsmanship, professionalism and overall approach was first-rate. I highly recommend J Francis.

Description of Work
We had our 20+ year old deck replaced with a covered living area and a pergola. J Francis provided a complete solution from design through build-out. They were very easy to work with throughout the process and their craftsmanship, professionalism and overall approach was first-rate. I highly recommend J Francis.

Category decks, remodeling, architect

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2016

5.0

10/09/2017


Lisa F.

They are knowledgeable , very high quality but most importantly, in my book, accountable and reliable. The engineers and carpenters are first class and I trust them in my home to make the right decisions. They are one of the most professional contractors and companies that we have worked with on any of our homes. I wouldn’t hesitate for one second to hire them for your job

Description of Work
Master Closet and Kitchen. Have done victorian porch and other projects for us as well.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, decks, flooring contractor, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, architect, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2017

Images

Review for J Francis Company LLC - 1410 High St, Pittsburgh, PA - 36402596

+3 More

1.0

06/09/2017


Noah P.

The receptionist I spoke to gave me a starting number per square foot that was within our budget so an estimate was scheduled. Not an hour later I received another call saying the original estimate was off by at least half and they had decided not to fulfill the appointment. Experiences like this make me glad I avoided such poor handling of my house before any ground was broken.

Description of Work
Kitchen addition

Category home remodeling