Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

J A Sauer Co

4.8

(182) Verified Reviews

Founded 1981 • With Angi since February 2004

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA002055
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
Trade License Expiration
01/26/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 4:30 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

4559 Peoples Rd

Pittsburgh, PA 15237

http://www.jasauerco.com

Description

Welcome to JA Sauer, your full service Carrier factory authorized dealer. Our objective since opening in 1981 has always been to exceed our customers' expectations in heating and cooling installation and repairs. To this day we have upheld this promise: providing superior service to area families and businesses. We strive to ensure your peace of mind by sending only the most reliable professionals into your home. You can count on us to make the entire process as east, quick and efficient as possible by determining the best solution for your unique needs, sending trained experts in to do the job right the first time and following up to be sure that all your needs were met. J.A. Sauer -- providing peace of mind so you can enjoy your Home Sweet Home. Additional phone -N. Pittsburgh 724-935-0410, Squirrel Hill 412-521-5277....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(182) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

162

4

9

3

1

2

4

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (180)air duct cleaning (6)water heaters (4)plumbers (1)
Showing 1-10 of 182 reviews
1.0

10/07/2021


Jeremy S.

You will regret hiring JA Sauer. They did sloppy, unsafe work installing my furnace and then tried to extort money from me rather than fixing it: 1. They left a huge pile of rubble in my house after making a hole in the wall to run the vent pipe. No clean up, I had to clean up after them. 2. The guys who ran the thermostat wire did the sloppiest job I've ever seen: it wandered all over the basement, and was screwed into ductwork when making extra holes wasn't necessary. 3. They left the thermostat wire dangling in the middle of a closet, which is totally unsafe. When I asked them to come fix it, rather than immediately offering to fix it (the right thing to do), they told me I owed them $300 (even though I had already paid their invoice of $3,800 in full for the agreed on work) and they would only come fix it after I paid them more than we had agreed on. This company is sloppy, unprofessional and disrespectful to their customers.

Description of Work
Furnace installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $3,800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], I am the installation manager for J.A. Sauer Co. I would like to apologize on behalf of the entire team at J.A. Sauer Co. for the frustration that we have caused you. As you can tell from our previous reviews, this is not our standard when it comes to work quality and customer service. As a company the relies on "word of mouth" business and repeat customers, we are very disappointed with the fact we did not provide a positive experience.
5.0

12/19/2020


Christopher H.

J. A. Sauer was very quick to respond and come out fo ra quote. We chose another contractor, but they were very professional. I would contact them again if needed.

Description of Work
Quote for a new Furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2020

5.0

12/04/2020


Rick L.

The technician was very professional, neat, clean, and he wore his mask the entire time. Problem was corrected in a timely fashion. No problems at all.

Description of Work
10+ year old Humidifier malfunction causing the furnace to not get warmer than 60.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2020

5.0

05/05/2020


Sandra L.

They have been excellent and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They installed my HAC system and have serviced it since. I have used them for 10 years

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2020

5.0

11/11/2019


Richard W.

J A Sauer has well-trained, efficient, courteous installers. They communicate well, clean up after the work, take away removed equipment, and offer maintenance advice. We have used Sauer for about four years now and have a Mitsubishi Slim system and a Carrier AC system they installed. Very happy with the work--not the least expensive, I'm sure, but fair for the quality of work and equipment they offer

Description of Work
Replaced 13 year old AC system with new, energy efficient system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2019

5.0

02/15/2019


John S.

Peyton was excellent. He explained what was going on with our 20+ year old furnace. He spoke to my spouse on the phone too. He helped to arrange an appt with a salesperson to give us a quote on getting a new furnace. Our quote to get a new furnace deducts the price of this service call.

Description of Work
Service call

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2019

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback! We look forward to working with you in the near future!
5.0

01/25/2019


David A.

This location is awesome, great pricing, not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for, service, knowledge, a company that will stand behind there work, the install crew was awesome, kind, friendly, prompt, and professional. We had this company install a new HVAC system high efficiency, 16 sear unit, and two infinity wifi controls,, with zoning, new filter system, some duct work, with a 10 year parts and labor warranty. I choose J.A. Sauer because I know that they will still be there when you need them. I recommend this company to everyone.

Description of Work
A new HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2019

5.0

12/17/2018


KATHY D.

Workmen arrived on time, and completed the work during the day. They cleaned up the utility room space when done and also answered all my questions regarding the new furnace.

Description of Work
Install new furnace and new hot water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2018

5.0

09/05/2018


Ross T.

Long overdue review- this past week before Xmas we lost our heat. We called JA Sauer on a Saturday night. Within a couple of hours a technician was at our door. He found that we had actually had a fire inside the boiler that charred all the electrical. The next morning a crew showed up to estimate the damage. They made our situation a priority and had the project completed that week. JA Sauer makes it easy to do business with them. Every once in awhile you run across a contractor who has their act together. JA Sauer is one of them.

Description of Work
New boiler for our five BR home

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $5,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

08/09/2018


Kim W.

Polite. On time. Good communication from the home office. Good communication from the tech while at my house. Quick to take responsibility to resolve and fix a minor accident problem that occurred with a step on the job by the technician. I have used JA Sauer for years and have never had a negative experience. Will continue to use them in the future - good crew of folks.

Description of Work
routine a/c check up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2018

Services Offered

Residential, commercial boilers, gas furnaces, air conditioners, geothermal heat pumps, humidifiers, heat pumps, duct cleaning, carbon monoxide testing & sheet metal fabrications.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Ask for details
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Check
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Ask for details

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J A Sauer Co

How is J A Sauer Co overall rated?

J A Sauer Co is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are J A Sauer Co open?

J A Sauer Co is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 AM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

What payment options does J A Sauer Co provide

J A Sauer Co accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Check

Does J A Sauer Co offer free estimates?

No, J A Sauer Co does not offer free project estimates.

Does J A Sauer Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, J A Sauer Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does J A Sauer Co offer emergency services?

Yes, J A Sauer Co offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by J A Sauer Co?

No, J A Sauer Co does not offer warranties.

What services does J A Sauer Co offer?

J A Sauer Co offers the following services: Residential, commercial boilers, gas furnaces, air conditioners, geothermal heat pumps, humidifiers, heat pumps, duct cleaning, carbon monoxide testing & sheet metal fabrications.