Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Gilbert Tile

4.6

(60) Verified Reviews

With Angi since March 2004

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA010192
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1450 Greenmount Ave

Pittsburgh, PA 15216

http://www.gilbert-tile.com

Description

Gilbert Tile was started in 1990, since that time we have strived to build relationships with other local companies. We are also proud of the fact that we are involved with Habitat for Humanity. We use a licensed subcontractor for jobs that require a licensed plumber....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(60) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

45

4

7

3

4

2

3

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.5

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

tile installation (46)home remodeling (35)plumbers (13)flooring (10)drywall (7)woodworking (6)lighting (5)countertop installation (4)electrician (3)ceiling fan installation (2)floor cleaning (1)window replacement (1)
Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews
1.0

05/29/2020


David M.

Contractor refused to schedule an appointment

Description of Work
Bath Remodel

Category remodeling,woodworking

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the way we conducted business during a worldwide pandemic. It was almost impossible to give a firm date since we were under strict restrictions. All things considered we did our very best. Have a wonderful day.
5.0

10/07/2019


M V.

Stub floor and bathroom to be replaced or repair isn't chek kitchen floor need to be leveled 139 the Boulevard Pittsburgh PA 15210

Description of Work
Bathroom stub floor

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor,plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2019

5.0

02/07/2019


Angie M.

The job went smoothly and was completed in 7 working days. New walls, subfloor, ceramic floor, new ceramic shower stall, plumbing, sink, toilet -- they even hung a window treatment for me. The work is beautiful; owner Bill Gilbert and his partner Bob explained and asked my input for each step in the process. To gild this particular lily, the cost was remarkably reasonable -- about 60% of the highest bid I received for this project.

Description of Work
Complete gut and remodel of 1950s bathroom

Category ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,lighting,plumbing,home remodeling

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] it was a pleasure to work for you.
5.0

10/16/2017


Daniel R.

The job was estimated to take 10 days, but was completed in 8.5 and on budget! Bill showed up everyday at 8:30, as discussed, and worked a full day each day, while continuously providing updates. He was very diligent and respectful during every step of the project. He communicated clearly where there were hiccups and what he had done to correct them. Being that our house is a bit older, we expected some surprises, but Bill made sure he explained to us what he had come across and showed us the issues, so that we could be certain that we weren't being taken for a ride, so to speak. I'd say Bill went above and beyond to make sure that we were happy with the progress and work that was being done, which was very relieving. The bathroom went from an old pink and green to a new, bright, and updated room that we love and actually enjoy. I would definitely recommend Gilbert Tile for anyone looking to remodel their bathroom.

Description of Work
We had a bathroom remodel completed for our small, main bathroom in our 60+ year old house. This included taking down tile from all of the walls, removing a bulk head that created a 'cove' above the bathtub, and of course, replacing all fixtures, and re-tiling the walls in the shower/tub area, tiling the floor, installing a new vanity light, painting, and installing new baseboards.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. I am very happy that you love your new bathroom I look forward to working with you in the future with any remodeling you may want to do in your home. Thanks again. Gilbert Tile and Home Remodeling
5.0

05/14/2017


Dale M.

Excellent communication and responsiveness. He was receptive to owner's design ideas. Bill was flexible with the project start date due to the delay of the arrival of ceramic tile. He cleaned up daily. At completion of project he responded same day to repair a small plumbing leak, not directly related to his work. He began on time and completed early. Pleased with final outcome.

Description of Work
Replace tub and surrounding shower wall

Category ceramic tile,plumbing,home remodeling

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

5.0

05/14/2017


Dale M.

A few small existing problems were exposed and addressed. Bill was excellent at communication before, during an immediately after completion of work. He made excellent suggestions regarding purchase of replacement tub and wall tile suppliers. I provided a template of the tile arrangement including insertion of accent pieces and corner shelves. He followed by design perfectly. He did forget to re-position the water control handle to waist height position from the traditional tub level, but we left it as it was. He responded same day to repair a small water leak that began in a connection near to the area of his work.

Description of Work
Remove existing tub and shower walls and install new including cement board, ceramic tile and Americast tub/fixtures. Replace a row of ceramic floor tiling

Category floor cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2017

5.0

02/04/2017


Mary Bethany B.

They're fantastic. They did a very good job, they don't leave messes behind or do the minimal amount. They will do whatever they need to do. They're very good, they don't leave you hanging.

Description of Work
They did both of my bathrooms. They remodeled my bathroom. They fixed them because one was leaking into the other. They're no longer leaking.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $7,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2016

4.0

08/30/2016


Pam K.

Bill was prompt in following up snd initiating the call. The scope of work was to regrout kitchen and eat in kitchen tiles. The area is a little over 12x16. Bill said they do no consider small jobs.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodeling and tile work

Category ceramic tile

5.0

08/29/2016


David M.

Bill Gilbert arrived for estimate two days after initial contact. House was built in 1956. Original owner installed 4" plastic tile in entire bathroom, including around tub/shower. Bill was the only remodeler I contacted who thought it possible to replace only the area around the tub/shower. His estimate was $3,000 less than closest.. One contractor wanted to gut entire bathroom at $12,000 +. Others wanted to do the tub surround system. Bill and Bob arrived on time and started to remove existing tile and plaster. After five minutes, it became apparent that the side wall was soaked through to the studs because original tile had not been sealed and no moisture barrier installed. Apprentice previous owners only took baths. Side wall plaster and studs were soaked up to a height of about 6 feet, and some moisture damage had started on back of bedroom wall, adjacent. After some consultation, we decided it was best to take out a small section of the bedroom wall and install extra studs beside the ones that had been water damaged. This added about 3 hours to the project total time estimate. Bill and Bob were fast, efficient and, I might add, great to work with. Funny guys. Project lasted 2 1/2 days. They tore out existing tile and walls, cut out a 3 x 5 section at the base of the bedroom wall, added insulation to the exterior bathroom wall, then installed cement board, including in the section of bedroom wall removed. Installed and ducted ceiling fan, which required working in the the tight. hot attic in 90-degree temps. Installed ceramic tile in tub/shower area. Installed new scald-proof faucet, shower head and faucet. Taped and sanded bedroom wall replacement section, making it paint-ready with no additional prep work required by me. Cleaned thoroughly. hauled away old materials. I would not hesitate to fire Bill again for any further kitchen/bathroom remodeling.

Description of Work
Tear down existing plaster walls and plastic tile surrounding shower, install ceramic tile. Install ceiling vent fan in bathroom.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,plumbing,woodworking,home remodeling

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2016

4.0

07/28/2016


Carrie Z.

I had a prompt response and received an estimate quickly. He was willing to build a closet in our bathroom as requested, but not willing to do any cut outs in the shower walls (for shampoo etc.). Also I have an awkward door into the bathroom that blocks the hall and wanted to find a way to make a some type of a sliding door, but he said I'm better off just keeping it as is. This is our main bathroom and I have some specific requests. I just dont think it was the right fit for what I'm looking for on this job

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel.

Category ceramic tile,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $7,000

Work Completed On 07/28/2016

Services Offered

Complete kitchen and bath remodeling, custom countertops, ceramic tile, marble floors, walls, entryways, foyers, shower stalls, tubs, laminate flooring & electric.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check
Warranties
One year warranty on labor

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Gilbert Tile

How is Gilbert Tile overall rated?

Gilbert Tile is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

What days are Gilbert Tile open?

Gilbert Tile is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

What payment options does Gilbert Tile provide

Gilbert Tile accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Does Gilbert Tile offer free estimates?

Yes, Gilbert Tile offers free project estimates.

Does Gilbert Tile offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Gilbert Tile does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Are warranties offered by Gilbert Tile?

No, Gilbert Tile does not offer warranties.

What services does Gilbert Tile offer?

Gilbert Tile offers the following services: Complete kitchen and bath remodeling, custom countertops, ceramic tile, marble floors, walls, entryways, foyers, shower stalls, tubs, laminate flooring & electric.